Ripley, WV 
Cedar Lakes DGC Share
Uploaded By: indianawolf Hole #15 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 328ft.   3 / 428ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Hidden gem

1    5/29/2012   5/31/2012
Review By: goingbohnkers
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.7 Years
Pros: Pull into the main building as soon as you turn in. They will give you the vitals.
You will need one disc for every throw imaginable.
Water is there but never too much of a factor unless beginner.
Mostly flat but creative measures taken to get elevation changes.
Stunning and clean park.
Well maintained.
No blind shots.
Cons: Course lacks signage.
Drove around park a few times to find hole one.
A lot of pedestrians and vehicles.
Poison ivy.
Other Thoughts: Hidden away in western west va, it is a gem. I don't know that I'll ever have a chance to get back out there and that saddens me. This would be a Course I would detour to every drive down that way. But the mountain you have to drive through to get to it makes you work for it. I wish all my dg friends could get a chance to play this well thought out and manicured course.

  Cedar :Lake DGC

5+    6/26/2011   6/26/2011
Review By: DiscVol
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Typically the park is kept up very well. Nice assortment of holes. Marked ranges on tee pads
Cons: When summer camps are going on, many pins are blocked or the kid's activities are in the way.
Other Thoughts: I suggest visiting in the spring or fall

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Cedar Lakes Golf Course

5+    11/15/2009   11/18/2009
Review By: BenevolentWind
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are both short and long tee pads for every hole. All pads are concrete pads. Great view of the lakes and various water sources. Some great open field shots for bomb shots. With the different pads, it allows from beginner to experts to still be challenged.
Cons: Not a great variety of shots available, with most of the shots on level playing field. Hole 2 has a large tree lying across the flight path. Hole 9 Has many discs in the adjacent lake.... Hole 11 has no official launch pads, with the long tee being the triangular shaped part of the sidewalk beside the road, and the short tee being another patch of sidewalk with little white marks at its edge. Many shots are alongside water and if you throw RHBH and happen to flip your disc, your going swimming.
Other Thoughts: During the holiday season, especially now near christmas(2009-2010), sponsor signs have blocked and altered many of the shots that would have been taken otherwise with the signs not present. Hopefully they'll disappear once the holidays do :) all in all, out of the 5 or so courses i've played, it is a good course- worth playing. I'd place cedar lakes in my top 3.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Cedar Lakes

5+    11/16/2009   11/16/2009
Review By: airforcechck
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/1/2009
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is spread throughout a park. There are long distance tee pads and short distance tee pad. You get an opportunity to navigate around trees, buildings and water sources.
Cons: The water sources and trees make it easy to loose disk. My husband and I have gone fishing for our disk many times now. I think its hole 11 there is not a launch pad easily seen. But the launch pad for it is on the side walk barely marked with white chalk or paint marks.
Other Thoughts: Right now there is a tree that fell at hole two and it makes it virtually impossible to make it in one or two throws.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.