Disc Golf Store
Ripley, WV 
Cedar Lakes DGC Share
Uploaded By: indianawolf Hole #12 (Taken 9/2010)
3 / 208ft.   3 / 208ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Its still disc golf

1    10/7/2012   10/7/2012
Review By: Kveak
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete Tees
-Nice Baskets (Innova)
Cons: No signage

Map given at help desk is off with many of the holes.

Very crowded park

Out of 18 holes I could play 9, I couldn't find hole 11 at all with the map and several other holes had become parking lots. The blue tee for #10 was under a car.

While I was there, the grass on many of the fairways was quite high

Most of the shots are very short and open.
Other Thoughts: It is still disc golf but keep in mind that it would be better to go at a time when less people are there, maybe in the winter. I would recommend going with someone who already knows the course to avoid confusion. It may b e called Cedar Lakes but the lake does not play a huge role in the design of the course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Hidden gem

1    5/29/2012   5/31/2012
Review By: goingbohnkers
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.3 Years
Pros: Pull into the main building as soon as you turn in. They will give you the vitals.
You will need one disc for every throw imaginable.
Water is there but never too much of a factor unless beginner.
Mostly flat but creative measures taken to get elevation changes.
Stunning and clean park.
Well maintained.
No blind shots.
Cons: Course lacks signage.
Drove around park a few times to find hole one.
A lot of pedestrians and vehicles.
Poison ivy.
Other Thoughts: Hidden away in western west va, it is a gem. I don't know that I'll ever have a chance to get back out there and that saddens me. This would be a Course I would detour to every drive down that way. But the mountain you have to drive through to get to it makes you work for it. I wish all my dg friends could get a chance to play this well thought out and manicured course.

  Cedar :Lake DGC

5+    6/26/2011   6/26/2011
Review By: DiscVol
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Typically the park is kept up very well. Nice assortment of holes. Marked ranges on tee pads
Cons: When summer camps are going on, many pins are blocked or the kid's activities are in the way.
Other Thoughts: I suggest visiting in the spring or fall

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Be careful of others

2-4    5/25/2011   5/25/2011
Review By: cccp00a
Played: 23  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 5/26/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Two nice concrete baskets for each hole with distances painted on them
* Very nice Innova baskets
* Beautiful setting in a park/conference center with a variety of other activities (see cons - other)
* Good distance on a number of holes.
* Decent flow from hole to hole (but, may need a map in a few areas)
* A few benches/trash cans/bathrooms around course
* Course is well taken care of. Nice, recently mowed fairways (except where a great deal of water remained from recent heavy rains)
* About 8 minutes from Interstate 77 - if anyone is traveling and wants to stop for a round
* Good use of the available area, including limited use of the hills on the back side of the park.
* Very scenic park with a few ponds, covered bridge, old log homes
* Many, many other activities - mini golf, baseball field, sand volleyball, tennis, basketball, pool, horseshoe pits, fishing, walking, jogging, biking, picnic areas and more
Cons: * Beware, beware of other park users. Walkers, fisherman, bicyclists, horse shoes players, etc. etc. etc. may/will be in your way! I believe this is a prime location for locals to come on nice evenings and on the weekends. During the day would be the best time to use this course. I also had to improvise holes because of vehicles and people near the baskets. Hole 10, which is a nice hole beside the lake has a picnic table about 10 feet from the basket, Hole 11 is very near a prime parking spot when activities are going on and another hole has two horseshoe pits within 10 feet of the basket.
* Not a great deal of difficulty with the pin placement. A few shots require precision, but most are in the open or a few hazards.
* Also, as mentioned in a previous review, there is a very large (~100) flock of Canadian Geese that call this place home and beside the droppings they leave all over the course the can become aggressive if they have young ones near.
* When I played this year, it was after a recent period of very heavy rain and a few holes were swampy and one almost unplayable.
* No direction to next tee from the baskets
* A good bit of poison is around several holes and baskets.
* No tee pads for hole 11 - you just play from the sidewalk or road. Be careful of cars parked near the basket.
Other Thoughts: I come to Cedar Lakes once a year for a conference and look forward to playing this course. As, mentioned in the review I much rather enjoy playing it during the days than the evening (but, can't necessarily do that as much as I like) The parks primary focus is not disc golf and, even though it seems to be an after thought, at least they have it and maintain it. The office staff is very friendly and they have score cards and maps. You should print a map or pick one up as a few holes will be difficult to find with out one. You may not want to go a great distance to play this course, but, if you were in the area it would be good to check out. If you have your family with you there are plenty of other activities for them while you golf.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nothing else to do

1    7/23/2010   8/15/2010
Review By: murf1087
Played: 102  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: free to play, no one else was on the course, grass kept at good playing height, multiple tee locations. Discs available to purchase, although not of name brand or quality.
Cons: There's a flock of geese by the pond (I almost decapitated one of them) and unavoidable feces unless your a pro. Vehicles were parked between the tee and pin forcing me to create a tee. Lots of people, pets, and vehicles to avoid.
Other Thoughts: This course was definitely an after thought when this park was opened. There are few challenging holes and several that are simply straight shots with no elevation change.

Absolutely get a course map from the office by holes 1 and 16. Some tees and pins are difficult to locate even with the map in hand.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Eighth Wonder of the World

2-4    4/9/2010   4/12/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 359  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/14/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Two teepads per hole, flush with the ground. Distance painted onto teepad.
Cons:
No signs at teepads, so difficult to find - MUST have the map. A few baskets play close to walking paths, parking lot (long tee #10 is in the middle of a parking lot!), fishing pond, outdoor meeting area, buildings, road, etc.
Other Thoughts:
Most of the course plays along the outer edge of the property forming the Cedar Lakes Convention Center, "composed of a large variety of guest lodging styles with indoor meeting spaces. Cedar Lakes Conference Center provides year-round facilities in a natural setting that enhances any type of program - educational, inspirational, or recreational" , although some the middle holes play near buildings and other parts of the facility.

Other than up-slope on #7, up-n-over slope on #8, and then downhill/across field on #9, the course is quite flat. From the short tees, the distances range from 200'-350', averaging about 250', while from the long tees, which, well, mostly just add length (on only about four holes do the long tees also change the look angle), the distances range from 225'- nearly 500', averaging about 330'. Never did find tee #11 - used the manhole cover for the long tee, and from a gap in the fence near the water for the short tee. The long tee for #16 is behind the CEDAR LAKES sign. Fair blend of left/straight/right shots needed off the tee, with more rights early, and the lefts more prevalent toward the end. #13 is a classic either/or - basket about 225', clump of trees 50' in front of basket.

Favourite holes: #15 is a long, slow left-turner, with a tree-lined river to your right, and a line of flowering trees to your left. While the fairway on #18 is big, flat, and wide, the left turn at the end places the basket near a small amount of water, and a red-painted covered-bridge behind and to the right - very picturesque!

Suitable for a wide range of players, from beginners (hopefully avoiding people and water) to advanced (plenty of birdie opportunities from the short tees, plenty of challenging shots from the longs)

The title? The distance on every hole ends with an '8'!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/1/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: Darth Bob
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Alot of straight shots.
Cons: Some water!!!! BEWARE!!!!
Other Thoughts: My first run here was the best game for me so far. Throwing red tees and assuming all par 3s, I threw a personal best 6 under par. Came in at 2 over on a short game of 13 before I had to call it a day. I really like this new course!!!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

1    12/14/2009   12/14/2009
Review By: ishkeener
Played: 42  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: New catchers. Concrete tee pads. Course map and score card available in the park office.
Cons: This course is unmarked and hard to locate the next hole location on certain holes. The course par is also unnamed.
Most of the holes are flat and straight. The concrete pads are small, however, better than not having them.
Other Thoughts: Decent course. Glad to see one in the area. Lots of buildings and man-made structures all throughout the course, which is different from many other courses I have played (can be annoying at times).

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Cedar Lakes Golf Course

5+    11/15/2009   11/18/2009
Review By: BenevolentWind
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are both short and long tee pads for every hole. All pads are concrete pads. Great view of the lakes and various water sources. Some great open field shots for bomb shots. With the different pads, it allows from beginner to experts to still be challenged.
Cons: Not a great variety of shots available, with most of the shots on level playing field. Hole 2 has a large tree lying across the flight path. Hole 9 Has many discs in the adjacent lake.... Hole 11 has no official launch pads, with the long tee being the triangular shaped part of the sidewalk beside the road, and the short tee being another patch of sidewalk with little white marks at its edge. Many shots are alongside water and if you throw RHBH and happen to flip your disc, your going swimming.
Other Thoughts: During the holiday season, especially now near christmas(2009-2010), sponsor signs have blocked and altered many of the shots that would have been taken otherwise with the signs not present. Hopefully they'll disappear once the holidays do :) all in all, out of the 5 or so courses i've played, it is a good course- worth playing. I'd place cedar lakes in my top 3.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Cedar Lakes

5+    11/16/2009   11/16/2009
Review By: airforcechck
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/1/2009
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is spread throughout a park. There are long distance tee pads and short distance tee pad. You get an opportunity to navigate around trees, buildings and water sources.
Cons: The water sources and trees make it easy to loose disk. My husband and I have gone fishing for our disk many times now. I think its hole 11 there is not a launch pad easily seen. But the launch pad for it is on the side walk barely marked with white chalk or paint marks.
Other Thoughts: Right now there is a tree that fell at hole two and it makes it virtually impossible to make it in one or two throws.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.