Marietta, GA 
Southern Poly State University Share
Uploaded By: craigd Hole #3 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 245ft.   3 / 245ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee: Basket is straight ahead between the first and second telephone poles

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
So much potential!

2-4    6/23/2016   6/23/2016
Review By: WhaleParty
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.8 Years
Pros: This is a nice and quiet disc golf course on University Property. The baskets are nicely laid out and the trees provide a bit of a challenge. This course would be a beautiful beginners course if a few small improvements were made.
Cons: No parking! I'm pretty sure every time I've played I've parked in permit only parking. I haven't been harassed about parking but I haven't played on a weekday.
No tee pads on this course, instead the tee are marked with small yellow markers in the ground. Many of these tee pad markers have been broken or are missing. Many tee spots are not marked or very difficult to find!
Other Thoughts: With a little bit of tinder loving care, new tee markers, and markers to the next tee point, this course would be a very nice 9 hole course.

Kennesaw State University

2-4    5/29/2016   6/2/2016
Review By: lazrman778
Played: 79  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Natural tees were flat and fair to drive from

Good mix of open and wooded fairways with some elevation changes


Had whole course to myself on a Sunday evening
No tee signs

Some of the tee markers are no longer present but there are some worn areas in the grass - refer to the pictures to find the actual spots of the tees

No next tee signs - can be confusing to the first-time visitor

Course design needs improvement - hole #9 tee is in hole #4 fairway and hole #9 basket is almost in hole #6 fairway

Nasty rough in the retention ditch on hole #4
Other Thoughts:
Southern Polytechnic State University consolidated into Kennesaw State University in 2015. This is a nice recreational course to practice on. You'll get a chance to throw some bombs as well as work on your short game. I recommend coming out on a weekend as I haven't seen any players out here, very few students, and parking won't be an issue. Be careful not to throw your disc into the sewer opening on hole #1.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

5+    12/4/2015   12/4/2015
Review By: Codiferus
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Simple course.
-Very fun.
-Lots of variety, some holes are straight forward while other might take a while to figure out.
Cons: -Only 9 Holes.
-Tees can be hard to find but there are marker, but they are small and on the ground in the dirt/grass. Good luck, definitely bring a map.
-Students can get in the way a lot. (Play on weekends to avoid this.)
-Hole 4 has a thick shrubbery pit that if you aren't careful you can lose your discs in.
-Lots of trees.
Other Thoughts: I live on campus and have played this course more than 50 times so I might be a bit biased.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not Worth the trip

1    7/7/2015   7/11/2015
Review By: Foyboy89
Played: 19  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: its a course,
it has Disc Catcher pro baskets
Cons: the layout crosses over itself multiple times.
the tee pads are hard to find on all holes and I'm convinced completely missing on a few.
there is no signage about the hole or hole info
Other Thoughts: a few hundred bucks in paint and signage would make this a really fun rec course. there are miles of Sidewalk and patios surrounding the course so there would not need to be any new construction or concrete just paint visible tee pads for each hole on the already existing concrete. and a few arrows pointing to the next tee pad. But as it is now don't bother driving more than 10 min to get to the course its Its a waste of time.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

needs some love

1    5/8/2015   5/8/2015
Review By: dbern
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ok little place if you can walk there. And decent for folks at the college to learn the game.
Cons: I walked around confused the entire time and almost left a couple times even though you can pretty much see all the Baskets when you first drive in. It is because there are almost no markings for the T boxes at all. There looks like maybe there used to be some sort of markings for some but I never found anything for a few.
Other Thoughts: With a little love it could be worth playing...

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 That'll do

1    12/21/2013   12/21/2013
Review By: Duncanator
Played: 145  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Not a run-of-the-mill 9 hole course. There are elevation changes, hard left doglegs, straight shots, short shots and decent length uphill shots that can take a longer disc to reach (No 4). Trees are in play here, adding to the variety. This course is situated right near I75 and can be an easy get in and get out course or a one or two rounds over lunch course which is great for where it is. Good use of the available space.
Cons: Tee signs/pads are severely lacking. 1-4 have no marked location and 5-9 have some wooden stakes and noticeable wear spots in the dirt.
Several holes have no definite line. There is simply a starting point and an ending point with trees in the middle. You do whatever you want.
Being on a college campus, parking and tickets for not permits can be an issue, especially when school is in session. Check the SPSU website for updated parking maps or call their number if you can't figure it out.
Other Thoughts: The map is very nice to have on hand since there are some blind shots and lack of tee locations. Keep an eye out for pedestrians, though there are "Watch for Discs" signs around the course put up by the student council and SPSU. An easy course to mark of the list, and a little fun too. Definitely not a destination course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    7/5/2013   8/19/2013
Review By: Mortis Canyon
Played: 31  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course was not at all crowded. Not from the area but it didn't appear that many people had played this course

Couse plays through a small forest of trees making you use a few varieties of shots

Nice baskets for a campus course
Cons: Dirt tees

No tees signs whatsoever making it difficult to navigate

Course plays through several residence halls so be on the lookout for foot traffic. I played this course in July so there weren't many students on campus, but I could imagine the area being heavily crowded during the fall and spring school semesters.
Other Thoughts: Bring a course map. This course was extremely difficult to locate tees. Good thing I had my phone to located a course map which made things a little easier.

I doubt I will go back to this course as I'm not from the area and there are many course in Georgia where the fun factor would far exceed this.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Convenient & Quick

1    6/15/2012   6/15/2012
Review By: jdawg24
Played: 98  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 18.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is conveniently located just off I-75 near Marietta and the Cobb Galleria area, which is a major employment/lodging center within the Atlanta area -- making this one of the most viable lunchtime courses around Atlanta. To that point, it's also a very quick play.

The course is in a decently nice setting with large pine trees, rolling hills and plenty of shade.

Not crowded, played at 12pm and nobody on/near the course except us.
Cons: We had trouble figuring out where to park, and misplayed two holes even with the map in hand as the tee markers seem to have disappeared. Dirt tees, no tee signs, two holes where the basket you can see from the tee is not the correct hole ... so expect to misplay it.

The course is very short, making it appealing to raw beginners or a decent practice course. Most holes rack real fairways, with a few (e.g. hole 9) that are just throw and hope. Several safety issues with blind holes playing adjacent to walking paths that are on the RHBH side.
Other Thoughts: This course serves it's purpose as a place for college students in the adjacent dorms to play. It would have been nice to see the land used better, but it's OK as is. I will be back for a quick lunchtime round, but only because it's the only place i can possibly play at lunchtime due to its location.

Do not go out of your way to play this course, you will be disappointed.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great place to slow down...

2-4    10/3/2010   10/3/2010
Review By: Chrisgeoguy
Played: 42  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is great for working on your short game. Layout, baskets
Cons: It takes a minute or two to find the beginning of the course, and some hole 2 turn to left is blind and on a sidewalk. Watch out for students!
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is short, but does require a variety of shots to get the job done. It also is laid out well for the limited space.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 For what it is...

1    8/30/2010   9/16/2010
Review By: Bakenstine
Played: 72  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 10.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Given that this is a 9-hole Campus Course with limited space in a high traffic walking courtyard, there is a great flow and intriguing play to this field, and it is not as bad of pedestrian hazard as one might think.
-Plenty of signage to make students aware of the players, as opposed to an assumption that students have the right of way and frolfers are invading public space.
-Simple color coded pars
-Easy to follow once Hole 1 is found, a simple spiral inwards.
-Excellent use of the small courtyard
Cons: -Kind of hard to find, tucked away, around, over, and down in the back. Students are nice about directions if needed, but basically it is past the main building at the core near the 'dorms'
-Short, but hey, work with what ya got is definitley the concept behind this course's construction
-9th basket is unusally short! Strange, but provides an interesting opportunity for a skip-ace
-Hole one is kinda hard to locate. Look at a map first for sure, but even that is somewhat misleading.
Other Thoughts: Directions: Basically, I parked next to the main building (not the first one you see, either entrance requires about a 1/2 mile wiggly drive, then a right at what turned out to be the main building. Course is beyond this, over and down a small hill, and past small lot with the Architecture building, which is actually an ARCH, on the left). You might be hard pressed to find parking within 100 yards of the course, the dorms were full when I went. Once you have located a couple baskets, head right, and first pad is unpaved in the grass right of the path, the basket about 150 feet to the left of the path.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.