Marietta, GA 
Southern Poly State University Share
Uploaded By: whalaw Hole #1 (Taken 12/2010)
4 / 319ft.   4 / --   3 / 319ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
That'll do

1    12/21/2013   12/21/2013
Review By: Duncanator
Played: 108  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Not a run-of-the-mill 9 hole course. There are elevation changes, hard left doglegs, straight shots, short shots and decent length uphill shots that can take a longer disc to reach (No 4). Trees are in play here, adding to the variety. This course is situated right near I75 and can be an easy get in and get out course or a one or two rounds over lunch course which is great for where it is. Good use of the available space.
Cons: Tee signs/pads are severely lacking. 1-4 have no marked location and 5-9 have some wooden stakes and noticeable wear spots in the dirt.
Several holes have no definite line. There is simply a starting point and an ending point with trees in the middle. You do whatever you want.
Being on a college campus, parking and tickets for not permits can be an issue, especially when school is in session. Check the SPSU website for updated parking maps or call their number if you can't figure it out.
Other Thoughts: The map is very nice to have on hand since there are some blind shots and lack of tee locations. Keep an eye out for pedestrians, though there are "Watch for Discs" signs around the course put up by the student council and SPSU. An easy course to mark of the list, and a little fun too. Definitely not a destination course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    7/5/2013   8/19/2013
Review By: Mortis Canyon
Played: 28  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course was not at all crowded. Not from the area but it didn't appear that many people had played this course

Couse plays through a small forest of trees making you use a few varieties of shots

Nice baskets for a campus course
Cons: Dirt tees

No tees signs whatsoever making it difficult to navigate

Course plays through several residence halls so be on the lookout for foot traffic. I played this course in July so there weren't many students on campus, but I could imagine the area being heavily crowded during the fall and spring school semesters.
Other Thoughts: Bring a course map. This course was extremely difficult to locate tees. Good thing I had my phone to located a course map which made things a little easier.

I doubt I will go back to this course as I'm not from the area and there are many course in Georgia where the fun factor would far exceed this.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Convenient & Quick

1    6/15/2012   6/15/2012
Review By: jdawg24
Played: 92  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 16.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is conveniently located just off I-75 near Marietta and the Cobb Galleria area, which is a major employment/lodging center within the Atlanta area -- making this one of the most viable lunchtime courses around Atlanta. To that point, it's also a very quick play.

The course is in a decently nice setting with large pine trees, rolling hills and plenty of shade.

Not crowded, played at 12pm and nobody on/near the course except us.
Cons: We had trouble figuring out where to park, and misplayed two holes even with the map in hand as the tee markers seem to have disappeared. Dirt tees, no tee signs, two holes where the basket you can see from the tee is not the correct hole ... so expect to misplay it.

The course is very short, making it appealing to raw beginners or a decent practice course. Most holes rack real fairways, with a few (e.g. hole 9) that are just throw and hope. Several safety issues with blind holes playing adjacent to walking paths that are on the RHBH side.
Other Thoughts: This course serves it's purpose as a place for college students in the adjacent dorms to play. It would have been nice to see the land used better, but it's OK as is. I will be back for a quick lunchtime round, but only because it's the only place i can possibly play at lunchtime due to its location.

Do not go out of your way to play this course, you will be disappointed.


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great place to slow down...

2-4    10/3/2010   10/3/2010
Review By: Chrisgeoguy
Played: 35  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is great for working on your short game. Layout, baskets
Cons: It takes a minute or two to find the beginning of the course, and some hole 2 turn to left is blind and on a sidewalk. Watch out for students!
Other Thoughts: Overall this course is short, but does require a variety of shots to get the job done. It also is laid out well for the limited space.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 For what it is...

1    8/30/2010   9/16/2010
Review By: Bakenstine
Played: 66  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Given that this is a 9-hole Campus Course with limited space in a high traffic walking courtyard, there is a great flow and intriguing play to this field, and it is not as bad of pedestrian hazard as one might think.
-Plenty of signage to make students aware of the players, as opposed to an assumption that students have the right of way and frolfers are invading public space.
-Simple color coded pars
-Easy to follow once Hole 1 is found, a simple spiral inwards.
-Excellent use of the small courtyard
Cons: -Kind of hard to find, tucked away, around, over, and down in the back. Students are nice about directions if needed, but basically it is past the main building at the core near the 'dorms'
-Short, but hey, work with what ya got is definitley the concept behind this course's construction
-9th basket is unusally short! Strange, but provides an interesting opportunity for a skip-ace
-Hole one is kinda hard to locate. Look at a map first for sure, but even that is somewhat misleading.
Other Thoughts: Directions: Basically, I parked next to the main building (not the first one you see, either entrance requires about a 1/2 mile wiggly drive, then a right at what turned out to be the main building. Course is beyond this, over and down a small hill, and past small lot with the Architecture building, which is actually an ARCH, on the left). You might be hard pressed to find parking within 100 yards of the course, the dorms were full when I went. Once you have located a couple baskets, head right, and first pad is unpaved in the grass right of the path, the basket about 150 feet to the left of the path.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice warm-up course

1    8/30/2010   9/3/2010
Review By: Dsplayname
Played: 51  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: My buddy and I played this course after a dawn outing at Oregon Park. It was a nice way to wrap things up and bring down the handicap a bit. I am not thrilled with the idea of nine hole courses, but I did like the campus setting(although I still think Berry college is the best campus course in GA). The course is set in the middle of the residential part of campus, and coils up on itself like a hot one. It was very easy to find, easy to navigate, and easy to play. The location makes this course better than it otherwise would be.
Cons: Its only nine holes. Some of the holes are hard to read at first, but you get the hang of it. The co-eds on campus were less than pleasing.
Other Thoughts: I liked it. It is a nice little course off I75 and 285. I wouldnt be excited to go out and play just it, but it is a nice addition to any other course you may play that day.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Southern Poly

1    2/14/2010   2/14/2010
Review By: Fender088
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 7.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The actual location of this course is one of the most convenient ones that I've ever played in the metro Atlanta area. It only took about three minutes to get to Southern Poly from I-75, and the campus was fairly easy to navigate. Therefore, you don't have to take a lengthy detour to get there if you're just passing through on your way to Atlanta or Chattanooga.
The course plays through the center of campus, and is pretty close to the dormitories. This is ideal for student use. You will definitely see students here, but every single person I met was helpful and extremely friendly. Some holes go across sidewalks, but nothing ridiculous. There are great signs warning pedestrians of flying discs, and the natives I met were surprisingly aware of their surroundings.
The course layout is simple, but most holes have a few trees in place that can prevent them from being all ace-runs. Hole one is a perfect example of this. There's an open fairway near the tee, but the hole is surrounded by large trees. Most of the holes are short, so this is a perfect course to work on your midrange and putter drives. There's a decent mix of downhill throws, uphill throws, hyzers, and anhyzers. I actually thought the land they were allowed to work with was a really cool area. There's a drainage basin on hole four that could possibly be considered a shot over the water if it's been raining a good bit, but it was dry when I was there and not really a factor. The baskets are currently new and catch great!
Cons: Although the course does have tee box numbers on the ground like ball golf courses, they aren't always the easiest things to find if you don't have a map with you. You will DEFINITELY need to bring a map with you. The baskets don't have numbers on them, and it can be ridiculously confusing trying to figure out the course. Hole two looks like it's a long, straight shot to the basket, but it 's actually a blind hyzer shot (RHBH) around the corner of the building. It's really short and kind of ridiculous. I understand that they don't have tee signs, and that's not terrible, but that makes numbers on the baskets even more vital.
I was also pretty disappointed with the course layout. I thought a lot more could have been done with the land. Although the course does offer a diverse selection of shots, some of the fairways cross over one another, and some of the tees are too close to the previous baskets. These don't give the course a very nice flow. It's not a problem if you're the only group out there though, as I experienced.
Other Thoughts: I can only see this course being a practice facility. It doesn't flow well enough or offer enough length or difficulty for any kind of competition. It's extremely convenient for students, but all visitors should definitely bring a map or find a guide. In the absence of numbers on the holes, someone definitely needs to use some tape to indicate the hole numbers for people without maps. I plan on doing this on my next trip through if someone doesn't beat me to it.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/21/2009   11/21/2009
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/5/2009
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a decent recreational course that serves its intended purpose pretty well. It weaves itself through the heart of the Southern Polytechnic State University campus in Marietta Georgia. It's a mainly open course that dabbles in some wooded shots, three blind shots and one dogleg. Overall it offers a pretty decent medley considering its only nine holes.

This is a short course with most if not all holes coming in under 300. Unless you are looking for a bomber course it can be a really fun little course! Most people will have fun trying to ring up as many two's as possible. Ace runs are also abundant and are fun to go for as well. It's also a compact course and it's great for a quick lunch break round.

If you are just starting out, this will be a great course. You can get a good feel for disc golf and not have a need for multiple discs. In fact, you could just about play the entire course with one disc. For the more experienced players, this could be a great course to work on new shots and work on your approach shots.

The course has new Innova Discatcher baskets and they are clearly visible from the tees. The pads are marked with painted and numbered 4X4 blocks and while they are hard to find at first, they serve their purpose pretty well. Speaking of the pads, they are natural and are in perfect shape with no erosion or wear at all.
Cons: The first thing you'll notice is that you are in the middle of a college campus. The relaxing feeling you can get playing out in nature is not here. If you are playing during the week then you can expect to see lots of non disc golf activity that will be pretty distracting.

There are no tee signs and the baskets are not marked. Simple numbers on the baskets could do wonders for course navigation. Once you figure the course out it won't be a problem but it took me as long to walk the course and figure it out as it did to play it.

Hole two can be confusing. From the tee pad, you can see the basket for nine and it even looks as though it could be the right basket to shoot for. The actual basket for two is blind so some sort of indication would be nice. Also hole two is potentially dangerous due to its blind shot. A spotter would be ideal. Be careful

The fairways cross sidewalks multiple times so you may have to wait for pedestrians from time to time.
Other Thoughts: The designers did a great job based on the land available for this course. A couple little bells and whistles could really make things better. Marking the baskets and some tee signs would be a good start.

If you live in the area a trip to the course would be worth it but if you are visiting the north Atlanta area I would recommend looking into some of the other area courses. Again, this is really nothing more than a recreational course on a college campus and is not meant to be anything more. On the other hand, if you play it for what it is you can have a great time. Enjoy!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good small short course on campus

1    11/9/2009   11/10/2009
Review By: Part-Time Ninja
Played: 54  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/13/2009
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The baskets are brand new. For the small area they have to use, they did a good job with it. There is some elevation changes and light tree cover to add some difficulty to the course. Layout is not bad.
Cons: Tee markers are short (ground level) and can be difficult to locate your first time out. You have to kinda find your way around to the next tee but again being small its not horrible. no defined tee pads. Baskets should be numbered.
Other Thoughts: I would like to see better markers marking the next tee. Also, not sure this course needs cement pads but a better defined pad would be nice. Student do/will cut through the fairways to get to class but the interruption is very quick.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.