Charlotte, NC 
Nevin Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: 1978 Hole #17 (Taken 9/2010)
4 / 425ft.   5 / 581ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
My favorite in Charlotte

5+    10/18/2013   10/24/2013
Review By: doctharock
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I love this course. It has one of the best and hardest long layouts in Charlotte (besides maybe Renny Gold and The Web at hornets nest). The short tees are still quite formidable. The course requires every throw in the bag. From short finesse (hole 2 and 3) to big open bombs (12,14,18). This is such a great design and one of Stan's best. My favorite thing about this course is it's seclusion. Almost zero cars going by and never a random weirdo person lurking at the teepads or benches. There is almost never anyone on the course so you very rarely have to wait or let someone play through. There is almost no water (thankfully) and very little OB. Fairways are always pretty clear and very little poison ivy and underbrush even during the summer, unless you get really really deep into the woods. Hole number 5 is one of the most rewarding holes in golf if you can birdie it. I love that hole and hate it.
Cons: Not really a bail out route if you need to leave a round early or just want to play a few holes. You can bail at hole 12 but it is still a pretty good walk back to the car. (4-5 minutes, which i guess isn't awful by no means, just not a quick hop). Other than that I really don't have anything bad to say about this course.
Other Thoughts: Hole number 11 has changed, and for the better. It is a long dogleg left par 4 now, instead of that short par 3 across the jogging path.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Date: 10/29/2013 Designer Response by: 1978
Id suggest, if you were concerned with time, starting at hole 13 that plays you around a 6 hole loop, smaller than the 12 hole loop starting at 1.

Unpredictably fun and satisfyingly difficult (Beg/Int Review)

1    1/21/2013   1/22/2013
Review By: apparition
Played: 43  Reviewed: 37
This review was updated on 1/23/2013
9 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: + Unpredictably challenging and fun
+ Hole layout diversity
+ Easy to navigate with lots of wooden arrows pointing the way
+ Short tees that didn't make holes too easy, just slightly less frustrating
+ Ample pictures and videos of Nevin are online
+ All expected amenities are in place
Cons: - 11 didn't have a teebox; sure the hole will be finalized soon
- The transition from 11 basket to 12 tee required scaling a fairly steep ~15ft hill with only makeshift steps carved out of mud. Felt dangerous (not a big deal if dry).
- Hole 15(?) required driving between two mandos that most beginners and even some intermediate players can't throw on without sacrificing a lot of distance.
Other Thoughts: Nevin was a huge surprise for me. We played Nest in the morning, but I didn't budget (or anticipate) time for this awesome course because of what I've read about its level of difficulty and a high chance of losing discs for beginners. We decided to play Nevin anyway since it's so close to Hornets. The two accomplices I played the weekend with had never played disc golf before Friday. Nevin was very challenging for all of us, but it was still very rewarding and fun. And we didn't even come close to losing any discs. We may have had a much different experience if we didn't play Charlotte in the winter, though. I am so glad we did. My biggest piece of advice to anyone playing in Charlotte is not to skip Nevin even if you're a beginner!

One thing I want to note is that I loved watching the 2012 Men's Open World Championship videos online the day before playing Nevin. It was so cool to be throwing a hole and have the mental imagery of Barsby throwing the same hole and hitting a tree that I glided right passed :)

After playing seven courses in Charlotte in 3.5 days, I feel I have enough experience to say, in my opinion, Nevin's layout and course design is the second best in the area (I loved R.L. Smith). From the moment we started hole 1 we felt like we were in a forest secluded from the mainstream sports facilities where we parked our car. This very effective separation helped us keep focused on our round and consider each hole individually, rather than trying to navigate around a park full of people and other facilities (like the first 7 holes of Nest). The overall feel of the course was self-contained disc golf glory.

**Update**: Unlike Hornets Nest, I believe there isn't a primary aspect of discing that is emphasized at Nevin. Accurate driving off the tee on a calculated line is very important, but it's equally important to throw calculated approach shots. Putting here is easier than Renaissance, but only because you're not putting up to elevated baskets all the time. I didn't feel the course favored righty or lefty. Overall, this is a fantastically well-rounded course. I originally had 4.5 discs for this course, but after considering it over the past day and talking to the people I played the course with, I wholeheartedly believe it deserves 5.

Thanks for reading!

9 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Date: 8/16/2013 Designer Response by: 1978
Thank you for the review. 11s is the old hole 11 which played over a walking path. I could but might not ever use the short again. 11L is brand new, pictures will be up soon. We tried to level and set the pad frame. Pad will be poured in the next few weeks. EDIT PAD IS POURED You are correct, Nevin gets a bad rap for shule. It is not bad especially since some clearing for worlds.

I framed with 4x4's stairs a bit farther down on 11-12Long transition so it is not as steep a climb. If you follow the signs, they will lead you gradually to #12short's pad with no traversing of steep inclines.

One of my favorites

5+    8/15/2012   8/16/2012
Review By: Steelo
Played: 83  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/2/2013
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Fun and challenging shots. The course will never get old, it will just age like a fine wine.
Good use of elevation and risk/reward. For example, hole 18. Off the tee you must decide to either land short of an OB ditch and have a longer approach or throw a driver over the ditch thus making you approach much easier. Several other holes have similar situations without using OB as a penalty but the rough is bad enough to make you decide to go for it or lay up. Hole 11 in the longs is one of my favorite holes.
Cons: Not a beginner freindly course, which is only a con if you prefer more open and/or shorter holes.
Other Thoughts: If I could live next door to any course in Charlotte, this would be the one. Playing disc golf at Nevin will make you better.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Date: 8/16/2013 Designer Response by: 1978
Thank you for your review.

The following holes have benches (17 of 24 pads, 14/18 holes).
1s, 1L, 3L, 4-9, 10L, 11, 12 L/S, 14, 17L/S, 16L, 18.

The following tee pads will not get benches at this time because of location or fairway obstruction issues.
2S, 3S, 10S, 13, 15, 16S

All future potential Long holes get benches when they are completed.

 Flatland View of Nevin

2-4    3/5/2011   3/7/2011
Review By: tombraiderchuck
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 3/14/2011
6 Helpful / 21 Not
Pros: Are you able to throw 260 feet? When you release the disc? The right direction?
The course is clear and clean and Fair!!!!
Plenty of Fairway must throw drivers to obtain a Five.
The Course is LONG. LONG means 2 Great Drives and you have a layup 3. 4 putt 5 in.
really long. You have to love the long. 2-3 drives to get near the basket on about 8 holes. Honestly, on the second round, I walked up to the tee and said why is this hole like this? LONG FAIR Holes. Plenty of elevation. Any more than 2 rounds and you are a trooper.
Cons: A couple more garbage collection. They have garbage cans on about every 4 holes from my experience.
I needed more cans for some reason.

you just finished a 580 ft hole. walk to the next box, 635 ft hole, next hole 520 ft. It can wear you down arm and body.
Other Thoughts: Do you have the mental fortitude? Your body will wear out on 2 rounds.

6 of 27 people found this review helpful.

 Notorious Evil Vanguard Is Nasty

1    1/1/2011   1/7/2011
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.4 Years
22 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Ranks at the top of the most challenging disc golf course layouts I have ever played. I loved Nevin in all it's punishing glory because it exposed my flaws and my score rose from my mistakes not from some other means like other difficult courses. This wooded beast has ample fairways that invite you to throw your driver, and you should throw your driver. The difficulty comes from the long but FAIR lines that must be hit to achieve a respectable score. Let me repeat you should drive through the woods here...if you don't you will be playing bogey golf with no chance at par. Thats the kind of disc golf I enjoy. Demanding you to hit your lines to achieve par. Punishes laying up as the distance is too great to go mid-range to mid-range yet woodsy enough to punish errant drives. The high scores are derived from player mistakes and NOT rollaway greens, elevated baskets, unavoidable ravines, OOB, excessive water, wind, or too tight fairways. When you play these holes you have that feeling that you can achieve par each time but it's a matter of will you be able to execute. Luck really isnt a factor as much as decision-making and skill.
This was my favorite amongst the higher rated Charlotte courses. Iron Hill in DE and Nockamixon in PA are the only similiar courses I have ever played to this beast. It's not that the course kicks your ass it's more that you kick yourself for messing up....thats good design in my book.
This course does provide a slew of excellent par 3s that will challenge you, frustrate you and feed your addiction with moments of ecstasy and agony. Many looong layouts lack this mix of fun yet difficult par 3s.
For a wooded course the footing was excellent and there were minimal if any thorns...I was off the fairways quite often.
I really enjoyed the use of fast greens which were not over the top but allowed for conservative play if you wanted to add a stroke for laying up vs demanding you triple putt with a gimmicky high basket. (yeah I'm slamming the other Charlotte courses but this one gets it right...If I punk out I should take a stroke for playing safe and not be forced to triple quadruple putt from OOB for missing a forced putt due to no lay-up option)
OOB was minimal....really it's not even needed here as the course derives the difficulty and not silly mandos and contrived OOB. There were some oob and mandos but they added to the experience and were there for obvious safety concerns.
Avoids park congestion...other than a shot near horseshoe pits and 2 over a walking path I felt like I was deep within a PA state park playing real woods golf.
Elevation and Woods used in conjunction to create a masterpiece of forward thinking design and not forgetting what makes disc golf fun.
I make no bones about my love for wooded fairway driving and my disdain for placement landing golf but holes 12 and 14 are all about landing safely and setting up your second shot. I enjoyed these shots as it tempered the wide open holes with some punishment for recklessness.
The short holes provided enough trouble to make a 3 feel earned and a deuce was something special.
The longer par 4s and 5s were often filled with difficult lines, crazy looks, and wtf moments but never did I feel like it was impossible to achieve.
Holes 5 and 10 might be the most challenging woods holes I have ever played.
Dual fairway on hole 8 was a treat and offered a true decision-making off the tee.
The final 3 holes classify as spectacular finishers with reasonable fairways and attainable pars if you can play within your means and do not mess up.
The flow of the course was excellent with paths and signage adequate. Just when you're weary of arduous long woods you are met with an interesting par 3. Just as your sick of open air your back in the woods.
18 ranks in my top disc golf holes and truly is a masterpiece that is well earned after one grueling round of disc golf.
Dual Tees on many holes and perfectly textured concrete on every hole.
I love hearing the top pros bitch and lose it about a course....this one should make for some hilarious moments at 2012 Worlds. I'd camp out on holes 5 and 10 and laugh myself silly all day long at Worlds if I was a local.
For the record I played terrible at Nevin but am sure I could do better and am drawn back to Charlotte solely for this course alone. This is the one I want some revenge on. Utopian mix of difficulty and fun! Good Job Guys.
Cons: I really only have one issue with Nevin and that is the lack of landing areas and/or recovery zones on a few of the longer holes. North Carolina has a challenge that northern designers do not have to encounter and that is the thickness of the undergrowth under even the highest canopy. This makes for absolutely no option if your even 10 feet off the fairways at Nevin but to pitch out and redrive. I like the risk reward of trying an overhand or some ridiculous line through the woods rather than merely pitching back to the fairway each time. On shorter holes I can see the importance of keeping the integrity of the fairways but once a hole is over 500 feet the designers have to do something to allow some more creativity from players than constantly just merely pitching out....this aspect bored me at Nevin and I wanted to take a chance at some crazy recovery but it was never there...not once.
I would have rather been tempted to tomahawk rather than putting backwards to the fairway over and over. With the length and size of Nevin it will never be played as much as Reedy nor will players ever land in the same areas over and over as there is so much area to be beaten in. The course needs to be thinned out along some fairways to allow for some dramatic and fun recovery...in no way would this weaken the difficulty of the course or make it play easier.....it would just add another element of shot-making and fun to what already is one of my favorite courses to date.
Other Thoughts: I played Nevin in January and to me it was perfect. It may play more difficult in summer and for this I hope some additional thinning of schule is eventually undertaken.
Regardless this is the ONE course I will reccomend to traveling players when they visit Charlotte.
It's Iron Hill plus fun and Nockamixon minus the bad footing.

22 of 24 people found this review helpful.

 Top 5 favorite courses

1    8/14/2010   8/18/2010
Review By: philman
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.7 Years
3 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: I loved this course. It was long, it was hard and it was fun. I think this is the best course in Charlotte period. My friends and I played Renaissance,Hornets nest and this. I love NC golf, and Nevin is well worth the drive.
Cons: I can't play it on weekends because I live in Cincy.
Other Thoughts: Keep up the great work.

3 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Hit your line or else

1    11/14/2009   11/14/2009
Review By: 1978
Played: 181  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/1/2012
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course will be one of the most challenging in Charlotte. Fairways will be mostly wooded. The par 4's require at least 1 technical shot where you have to hit a line. Many of the par 3's have some pretty good risk and reward. Nevin will challenge you to use almost every shot you can think of. Very balanced course. The par 4's will have 1 shape shot off the tee then a different shape for the upshot. This will be a great course to challenge the charlotte Pro's and favor accuracy over length. Some of the holes here are absolutly beautiful. There aren't any courses in Charlotte that have the large hardwood forest like you see here. Leaves are going to be the disc swallowers; not thorns and vines.

Although you may not realize it there are 3 bathroom areas spaced evenly around the park (near holes 1, 6/8, 13) and can be reached from the course.
Hand drawn tee signs have been added to every hole to aid in direction.
Cons: I do not think that this will be a beginner or Am friendly course for a long time, they might continue to just play Hornets Nest. Woods can be thick and gaps tight but they are fair. This course doesn't make a perfect figure 8;you cant just play 9. Once you are started you basically have to play 12 hole or 6 hole loops. 1-12 or 13-18. After playing with a bunch of lefty's I think I might say it is a righty friendly course.
Other Thoughts: Nevin DGC uses an entire rim of a large wooded sports complex. Most of the transitions are under 100 ft. There are a few though that are a little lengthy but take you through pretty woods. At a par 68 now, it will be expanded in the future. It will also be part of the 2012 Worlds Rotation. When the original design was updated to a par 68 righty hyzers were needed. We might have added a few too many especially on the harder holes. All the par 5's start with a righty hyzer. I throw forehand and I actually use that shot instead. If you dont have a flip hyzer or a turnover backhand as a lefty some of the harder holes are even harder. 5,10, 17, 15, 11. With this being said; second and third shots on the par 5's favor lefty's but usually its the first impression that counts.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.