Charlotte, NC
Nevin Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: 1978 Hole #8 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 329ft.   3 / 329ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee Sign



Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 Next >
  Great Course

1    1/6/2010   1/10/2010
Review By: tabascobh
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Great Course for Charlotte, It reminds me of the back nine at Hornest nest with a Renny flare. Go play it and have fun
Cons: A little raw right now but in time it will smooth itself out with foot traffic
Other Thoughts: Another great course from Stan and Co.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  What a gem

1    12/27/2009   12/28/2009
Review By: hunter
Played: 87  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.6 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of the toughest courses that Charlotte has to offer. It is up there with Renny Gold and the Web.

You are tested right from the start with a tough par 4. Most of the front 9 is in the woods. There is a good mix of elevation and mixture of shots. You must have a sidearm on some of these holes (or a good turnover shot). Although it is still new (played it just after Xmas), the fairways are still fair, especially on the drives for the par 4's and par 5's. It gets more technical on these holes for your 2nd and 3rd shots. The greens utilize the elevation really well (some "putt of deaths"). The back nine opens up a little more, but when it does you must keep your disc in play (cart paths and double mando). The finishing holes were really tough (16 and especially 17) with accuracy being a must.
Cons: The course is still new so the tee boxes are not poured yet (but they were framed and were filled with gravel - i only slipped once). Once the concrete is poured, it will be money. The signs gave you the yardage and an idea of where the basket is. We had no problem in finding the next tee from the basket as there were trees and flags leading you.

If you got off the fairway, there were some thick areas. This is def. not a beginner course. Some of the approaches on the par 5's were a little tight. When the club focuses their attention on this course, it will be top notch.
Other Thoughts: This is my first review of a course on this website, and I am from Virginia. I have played alot of courses in both states (and plan on to start reviewing the ones I've played), but this course has inspired me to start my DGCR reviews. I also played the Elon course and thought that this one was a little better, so I gave it a 4 now with 4.5 around the corner.

Score : -1 (65)

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Early Nevin after a lot of rain

1    12/14/2009   12/15/2009
Review By: thebear021980
Played: 23  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 19 Years
This review was updated on 4/19/2010
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course with fair but challenging fairways. Nice use of distance without constantly having to heave a driver, good mix of control drives with a couple of tough long drives, generally it was a nice day in the woods playing DG. Oh yeah, and the par 3's were fun and tough, I also liked the unique hole designs (the us eof some right angles and dog-legs. I am a player who usually "goes for it", I didn't here and it payed off. This course demands control.
Cons: all of my previous cons have been fixed with continued construction, not to mention all the holes that have changed recently did so for the BETTER
Other Thoughts: solid, very fun course

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Hit your line or else

1    11/14/2009   11/14/2009
Review By: 1978
Played: 148  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 3/1/2012
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course will be one of the most challenging in Charlotte. Fairways will be mostly wooded. The par 4's require at least 1 technical shot where you have to hit a line. Many of the par 3's have some pretty good risk and reward. Nevin will challenge you to use almost every shot you can think of. Very balanced course. The par 4's will have 1 shape shot off the tee then a different shape for the upshot. This will be a great course to challenge the charlotte Pro's and favor accuracy over length. Some of the holes here are absolutly beautiful. There aren't any courses in Charlotte that have the large hardwood forest like you see here. Leaves are going to be the disc swallowers; not thorns and vines.

Although you may not realize it there are 3 bathroom areas spaced evenly around the park (near holes 1, 6/8, 13) and can be reached from the course.
Hand drawn tee signs have been added to every hole to aid in direction.
Cons: I do not think that this will be a beginner or Am friendly course for a long time, they might continue to just play Hornets Nest. Woods can be thick and gaps tight but they are fair. This course doesn't make a perfect figure 8;you cant just play 9. Once you are started you basically have to play 12 hole or 6 hole loops. 1-12 or 13-18. After playing with a bunch of lefty's I think I might say it is a righty friendly course.
Other Thoughts: Nevin DGC uses an entire rim of a large wooded sports complex. Most of the transitions are under 100 ft. There are a few though that are a little lengthy but take you through pretty woods. At a par 68 now, it will be expanded in the future. It will also be part of the 2012 Worlds Rotation. When the original design was updated to a par 68 righty hyzers were needed. We might have added a few too many especially on the harder holes. All the par 5's start with a righty hyzer. I throw forehand and I actually use that shot instead. If you dont have a flip hyzer or a turnover backhand as a lefty some of the harder holes are even harder. 5,10, 17, 15, 11. With this being said; second and third shots on the par 5's favor lefty's but usually its the first impression that counts.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.