New Plymouth, ID 
New Plymouth DGC Share



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Pilgrims? I Didn't Even See The Indians?

1    7/21/2014   7/28/2014
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 632  Exp: 36.3 Years
Pros: The New Plymouth DGC plays on a very narrow piece of park (maybe 100 feet wide) which runs for probably four city blocks. This swatch of grassy park has numerous mature trees and seems to be watered frequently.
There are 8 baskets scattered over the length of the course. The missing basket must have sat about in the middle. The Innova baskets with the yellow ring are a little battered, some are rusty and all are set on 4' x 4' concrete pads.
There are maybe 7 concrete tee pads set about the park. Unfortunately, no-one seems to know which pads go with which baskets. there are no signs.
Playing back towards Plymouth St. I actually enjoyed the last two holes I played (I cleverly named them # 8 and # 9). My # 8 is just a short 175' little hyzer ACE run. Then my # 9 is a low, thread the needle, 190' shot under the trees.
Cons: Narrow strip of land doesn't leave much room for error.
Mostly wide open looks at baskets.
No signs.
Sketchy neighborhood.
Menacing neighborhood dogs charged at me too.
Other Thoughts: It wouldn't be all that difficult for someone to use the existing baskets (and replace the missing one) and make this a decent little 9 holes down and 9 back configuration playing each basket twice. Build a couple of patio block tee pads here and there and maybe install some very basic signs It still wouldn't be Delavegea but it would be the best in this neck of the world!

Pilgrims Had It Better

1    6/23/2011   1/21/2012
Review By: ohtobediscing
Played: 153  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 34.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/13/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I got stationed in Ontario for wildfire this year, and saw this was the closest course, so I headed over to play it. The grass was OK[barefoot risky though], the sprinklers will cool you on a hot day, and you can practice airing it out.That's it.
Cons: Despite the park-like grass of the median, there is no quality whatsoever to holes, and the short, unsigned tees seem randomly set when you accidentally find one. Baskets were good but show various stages/forms of abuse, like from a sledgehammer or chainsaw.
Sketchy neighborhood in places. Cars parked along the roads may come into play, as well as the risk of skipping into someone's yard with an errant throw, and being met at the gate by a chain-smoking granny with a shotgun.
No nearby amenities, no trashcans, no bathrooms. No one on the course but me and the local mutts [also sketchy].
No one cares.
Other Thoughts: Don't stop for any reason. I didn't rate this course as zero because I'm leaving room for something truly horrible.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Skip it!

1    4/30/2011   5/7/2011
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The New Plymouth course has a restricted width style layout (a la Aquatic Park in Berkeley) although instead of water lining the fairways, you have neighborhood roads on either side. I really just don't have much to say in terms of positives for this course. It lacks any features which would challenge golfers besides length and OB roads which are mostly out of play. From start to finish, it is pretty much a snooze-fest of wide open fields.
Cons: I've got a laundry list of con's about this course but the primary one is that only one or two of the holes has any real obstacles - the rest play through an entirely open grass strip in between two roads.

Shadiness: The area surrounding the park does not seem very nice at all. The park likewise is pretty trashy looking with broken baskets and garbage. At SEVERAL points during our round, we had aggressive dogs approach from nearby houses that were unleashed and unwatched.

Navigation: It isn't all that difficult, but you get no confirmation of correct hole numbers from tees/baskets so you just have to reason out which tee/basket is likely the next hole.
Other Thoughts: As the previous reviewer said, this is really a course that everyone should probably avoid. I like to play all sorts of courses from the lowliest little nine holer to the best championship course but if I knew beforehand what this place was like, I would have skipped it entirely!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Unique I Suppose

1    4/29/2011   5/2/2011
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 201  Reviewed: 193  Exp: 11.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well this certainly is one of the more unique courses I have ever played which is usually a good thing and can be fun, this course wasn't any of that. The course is located on this grass field that is actually the median to the street and it's cut in half by a couple of street blocks. So you park at one end and play your way up the street on this little piece of grass and then play your way back. I honestly am trying to find a redeeming quality about this course but it is testing me for sure.
Cons: The tiny strip of land that you play up and down the street is just too small, open and short to be challenging or fun. I don't really understand what they were thinking while putting in this course, I have to assume there are better spots for a disc golf course out in the country that have more space available. One of the baskets even looked like it had been hit by a car at some point and being so close to the street this isn't hard to imagine.
Other Thoughts: New Plymouth isn't a course I would recommend to anyone traveling through the area, even course baggers should skip this one as it's not worth the time or effort to find this place and play. Just skip on by and maybe visit Boise, there are some good courses there that are fun and challenging.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Its at least a "course"

1    4/25/2010   4/27/2010
Review By: Starwraith169
Played: 45  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/29/2010
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well, there werent too many, but it was a well maintained area, an island of grass between 2 roads in a residential neighborhood. Wasnt quite sure where to start from but I made 10 holes out of it anyway. Some trees came into play and there were some fairly long holes but mostly wide open. Would be worth playing if there was some signs and such.
Cons: The baskets had some vandalism abuse but still usable. No signs or marking on the tee pads made it confusing, lots of houses around made me leery of throwing anything 100%, very thin piece of land. If this course ever had more than a few groups playing at a time, it would get really dangerous as you basically play the course from one to the other and then throw the course in reverse.
Other Thoughts: Its worth the while to play at least five holes if you are road tripping through the area.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.