Longmont, CO 
Clark Centennial Park Share
Uploaded By: orion487 Hole #3
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   3 / 490ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Solid

5+    10/25/2013   10/29/2013
Review By: jon_boi
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good use of trees.
Regularly rotated pin placement.
Good mix of short and long holes.
Nicely manicured park.
Good teepads.
Cons: Can be issues with sharing the space with the public.
Other Thoughts: I'm glad this place exists. Really nice, the river is a challenge but usually allows you to recover a lost disc.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Classy municipal park course

1    6/23/2013   6/24/2013
Review By: Shmacka
Played: 19  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Mature trees in an established neighborhood. Good shade, and diverse hole selction for a municipal 9 holer.

Makes a good partner for Loomiller Park- close, different feel.

There is a fenced in utility shed on the course, if you catch the lawnmower at the right time, and in a good mood, he may flip you a disc that has landed inside :)

Fairly easy to navigate without help.
Cons: Multi use park- you do need to be aware and on good behavior.

I wish there were more to throw on!
Other Thoughts: Around the park courses are generally circular. Centen (as the locals call it) varies this pattern to good effect. I can't wait to get back there.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Where's Lewis...

1    3/2/2013   3/3/2013
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 122  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 5.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice good sized concrete tee-pads
-Lots of length for a nine hole course, most of the holes have pin positions of over 350 (and three or four of the holes have pin positions ranging from 400 to just over 500 ft)
-Creek/stream comes into play on holes 1, 2, 4, and 6
-Baskets are new, in good shape and painted bright orange. They are really easy to see and it is easy to know which basket you are shooting for.
-Good use of the available trees in the park, aa several of the baskets are guarded by the mature trees in the park.
-Practice basket and map of the course at the beginning of the course.
-Nice tee-signs that are in good shape, that show the layout of the hole, the pin positions, the distance and point you toward the next tee-pad.
-Each hole has multiple pin-positions.
-Well taken care of park
-They made pretty good use of the available obstacles they had available for the course.
-The course flow is easy to follow and except for one spot, it is easy to find the next tee-pad (see cons below).
Cons: -Lots of holes have sidewalks that cut right through them, meaning there are a lot of times where you have to wait for non disc golf park users to pass by before teeing off or throwing.
-Several of the holes use the sidewalk as a tee-pad, which adds to some more of the conflict with non disc golf park users.
-The stream/creek was moving pretty well, if it had enough water in it you could potentially lose a disc.
-The first time playing it can be really confusing to find hole 2. Hole 2 is on the opposite side of the fenced off pond near Hole 1.
-The course gets quite crowded at times.
-Long walk back to the parking lot after hole 9 and the quickest way back crosses the fairways of several other holes.
-I wish the course had a little more variety, maybe a short hole or two, because at times it feels like the course is just a longer shot to a basket guarded by a tree or a few trees.
Other Thoughts: While I wish this course had a little more variety, this is a great example of how to do a nine hole course right. Instead of trying to force 18 holes into the space they had, they created nine solid fun holes that have more distance than usual in a 9 hole course. If you are in the area this is a fun course that is worth a stop at.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Clark Centennial Creek Course!

1    7/18/2012   7/21/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/29/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'm officially proposing a name change for this course. As I see it, the creek is such a major factor in the early holes here, I propose adding it the official title. This is your typical green grassy, scattered mature trees, lovely city park course. The creek seemed to be a little wider and deeper and definitely comes into play on 3 of the first holes. The threesome ahead of us spent about 20 minutes wading the creek looking for their discs. CCCC has these neat orange baskets. I thought I remember the pads as being natural and they seemed to be very serviceable for this course. I have been informed the pads are concrete which is even better. The creek, however, is still water. I found rollers to work well on many of the holes. Also they took the creek out of play for me.

I liked # 7 as the signature hole on the course. It's probably 350' to a basket tucked in a grouping of mature trees. There are two smaller park buildings (electrical/ultility type) lying about 175' down the fairway. There is just enough gap between them to try to drive through. It's a really pretty hole with a challengingly quality to it.
Cons: I'm sure some would say the creek is a Con. At certain times of the year, it might be kinda ugly.
There's only nine holes here. That's too bad.

Other Thoughts: The local course rat, a teen by the name of Chris, kinda adopted me as I walked up to the # 1 tee. I quickly acertained that he was a creek diver and would be great insurance in the likely event that one of my discs should somehow find it way into the shadowy waters of Clark Creek. I deftly managed to avoid the creek and Chris served as my personal guide and historian through CCCC's nine holes. Although ear plugs might be recommended. But thanks anyway Chris!

Disc players living around here are fortunate having both Clark Creek and Loomiller in such close proximity. These are two enjoyable little nine-holers.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

2-4    7/7/2011   1/7/2012
Review By: jdw80550
Played: 49  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very nic 9 hole course that is easy to play an navigate. Nice variety for the terrian. It is a fast play, but not an easy play.
Cons: 9 holes only, easy to lose a disc in the creek that runs along side the coure, lots of pedestrians.
Other Thoughts: Nice to have a course in Longmont, not as busy a Loomiller.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great practice 9-holer

5+    9/24/2011   9/24/2011
Review By: Chiefstang
Played: 75  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/7/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete tee-pads or sidewalk tees at every hole.
-Multiple basket locations on each hole. They change the positions very frequently, and it really changes the challenge of the course. One day is birdie golf, and the next round beats you up.
-Very well maintained course, with new baskets, signs, and trashcans at every tee.
-A creek on holes 1, 2, and 4 add a touch of risk to the course. It's knee deep and clear, so getting your disc back just means wet feet.
-Very beginner friendly with most holes being open and around 300' in length.
-Good use of mature trees as fairway obstacles.
-Course is lit at night, allowing for late rounds!
-Ample parking and a practice basket near hole 1.
-A decent mix of anhyzer and hyzer holes.
Cons: -Shared park, so non-discers are an issue, especially between 3-5pm when school lets out.
-Hole three often has to be skipped, due to it playing over a practice field. The local fix is to throw from the tee-pad of 8, to the basket on 6, giving you a complete 9 hole round, and leading you back to the parking lot.
-It's not the most inspiring course, visually. It's mostly open, with a scattering of large trees to work with. That said, it plays well.
Other Thoughts: Clark Centennial and it's neighbor, Lomiller are both fun courses in a close area. It's worth the stop to play both. They're beginner friendly and the multiple basket locations change the course enough to make it worth coming back.

This course is within walking distance of me, and I've been playing it quite a bit. It doesn't get stale, and it's a great practice course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Another Great Longmont Nine Holer

1    7/8/2010   7/26/2010
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Clark Centennial Park is the newer and slightly more demanding brother to Loomiller Park down the road. Like Loomiller Park, there are large concrete tees (or walking path tees), multiple pin placements, tee makers indicating the length of each pin position.

The layout, though mildly confusing, is good and incorporates the drainage ditch on three of the nine holes. The ditch is a disc eater when the water is high, and makes for some challenging shots for even good players. The course is also well maintained with parks and rec. people out on their golf carts spraying trees, laying mulch, and mowing, which made the place feel very safe.

BEST HOLE/S: #4
Cons: Unlike Loomiller's easy to spot and read DisCatcher pins, Clark Centennial has Kingpin baskets. I love the orange and blue Broncos colors, but their quality seems much lower. However, these are brand new, so most won't notice a thing.

Make sure you print a map, because the Kingpin baskets also don't have the number posted on top of them so it can get confusing. Note the transition between #1 and #2 and stay left of the ditch, and then you'll come back over the bridge after playing #3. Even though one plays the water it almost looked like they ran out of space, so they just put two holes on the other side of everything else. Note there is only one bridge, so don't screw up and throw your disc over to the other side or you're in for a long walk.

Holes #6 and #7 play by the youth center, so get ready to have a bunch of kids in that area. They were mildly annoying in typical teenager fashion. Besides the occasional comment, they kept to themselves, but keep an eye on your discs.

WORST HOLE/S: #3
Other Thoughts: Although not quite as polished as Loomiller Park, I can see most people enjoying this course more because of the more interesting layout, water play, and incorporation foliage on many holes. I would imagine after a few years, the course will get a little more broken in it will come into its own.

Granted its only nine holes, but the equally good Loomiller Park is right down the road - making it the best one two combo north of Denver. In my opinion, Edora Park in Fort Collins, and Oxbow DGC in Windsor are better individual front range courses, but I would be happy to have Longmont and Clark Centennial Park or Loomiller be my home course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.