Longmont, CO 
Clark Centennial Park Share
Uploaded By: orion487 Hole #6
3 / 385ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Fun round, despite foot traffic.

1    11/21/2016   11/28/2016
Review By: enragedmullet
Played: 41  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - practice basket

- decent baskets (i'm not a connoisseur of baskets, but they're in good shape)

- multiple pins

- decent signage showing hole diagram, distance, pin placements

- trash bins every few holes

- fair variety of FH/BH's, and a decent use of the area's features - creek/trees/buildings
Cons: - no next tee signs (bring a map)

- some fairways play almost on top of each other

- some baskets are so close together it can get confusing as to which you're aiming for

- not much in the way of amenities (restrooms or benches) that I saw
Other Thoughts: - concrete tees, and where there isn't one, it's marked on the sidewalk w/ spray paint

- no real elevation, course is not QUITE a loop

- a lot of the holes are straightforward Bomb-Layup-Putt's - not a ton of finesse needed straight off the tee. That said, "Bomb" may not be appropriate as some of the holes only need a midrange off the tee.

- I played on a Monday morning around 9 AM - I had the course to myself in terms of players but there were plenty of people walking around w/ each other, walking their pets, etc. Plenty of kids running around too - I had to wait on a couple holes before teeing just to be on the safe side. As such, I can see the place being very busy quite often, especially weekends. If there are several DG groups I can see how cross play would be an issue as well as it being crowded on the tees.

- The local club here seems to be doing a good job of keeping the two courses I played this day in decent shape as far as DG goes, and the one local I encountered was indirect, but they were kind enough to call me when they found a disc I had forgotten. Not a destination course but if you're in the area it's certainly worth a stop.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Lucky to have close by

5+    9/25/2016   9/27/2016
Review By: bkelso
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Lots of long, difficult holes
- Well maintained, clean, attractive
- Local players are usually friendly and helpful
- Soccer/Football field right next to the first tee is a great place to warm up and measure how far your throws are going.
- Good use of terrain, well-marked holes, all concrete tees (some on sidewalk)
- Practice tee
Cons: - Lots of long, difficult holes ;-D
- four different holes right next to a strong flowing creek. VERY easy to throw discs in the drink. And there is a lot of tall foliage on the banks, so finding lost discs can be a time-consuming, frustrating experience. Plus you have to get wet, obviously.
- A few shorter holes, or more obvious white tees, would be nice, as would a couple of non-straight holes.
- Lots of other activities going on in the park sometimes. You need to make sure you don't hit unsuspecting people.
- A couple of holes where it is not at all obvious where the next hole is (holes 2 and 7 come to mind). Plus the baskets for holes I think 5, 7, and 8 are very close to each other, to the point where it's easy to play the wrong hole.
- Can get pretty busy on a Saturday afternoon. Discs are flying everywhere.
- LOTS of trees on some holes, to the point where throwing a driver is almost pointless
Other Thoughts: I'm giving this a 4.0 because of the well-maintained holes and tees, good signage, and supportive local club. It is also highly challenging. For the recreational player, getting a par is a real accomplishment. But I like a challenge. Also, if you show up early in the morning on weekends (like before 9:30) you will have the place to yourself.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great 9 hole course

5+    9/10/2015   9/26/2015
Review By: CBass
Played: 116  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 11.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As far as 9 hole park courses go, this is one of the best in the state! Green manicured grass, tall shady trees, nice hole signs, and concrete tees throughout. The level of difficulty is fairly high when the pins are in certain positions, there are long bombs, straight shots, turnovers, tunnels, and an ever present creek to contend with all while avoid the large tree canopy. There are some bathrooms at the ballfields and in the youth center if they are open. It is always nice to have a practice basket to warm up on as well.
Cons: Be careful of the creek when it runs high because it will swallow your discs.
Other Thoughts: The local club has put some serious effort into keeping things maintained and they seem to move the baskets around frequently to keep things fresh. There are lots of walking paths here so, as always, keep an eye out for pedestrians. There is a Play It Again Sports store in town if you need some new plastic, I hear they have a lost and found as well.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Real gem

1    4/4/2015   4/5/2015
Review By: bcos4life
Played: 31  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 4.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Very clean. Considering this course doesn't have a playground and gazebo's all over the place, no one that isn't playing golf or jogging seems to use it in the golf area.

2. Well designed. This course seems to be the course of choice for the better players in town. I saw a bunch of good players, and you can see why. The no holes are easy, and they use the layout they have and the trees EXTREMELY well. I commonly see people just throw a pin location into a bunch of trees. The designer of this course actually cares about line options.

2. The creek usage is perfect. Doesn't dominate the round, but makes it fun. Also, it isn't too deep, so you can get your disc in case of a mishap.

3. I mentioned it earlier, but considering this part of the park is almost exclusively for dg'ers and runners, you don't have to avoid high volume areas.
Cons: 1. I see potential for at least 3 more holes, if not a full 18... and on top of that, the second half of the holes are a little smashed together.

2. Neither course in town is really beginner friendly in terms of hole length. Either Loomiller or Clark Centennial needs to shorten up the pins for our friends that can't hit 300+ every drive. I understand the big arms (and key holders) like to throw deep, and 300 is short for them, but I saw almost every hole at its long location.
Other Thoughts: Hidden gem. The low reviews of this course is surprising, but it might keep them low key.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Longmont Combo Pack

1    4/8/2014   4/10/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 364  Reviewed: 357  Exp: 8.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice orange baskets are easy to see and catch well.
-Concrete pads (or sections of sidewalk) are long and have a good surface.
-Some nice large trees to play around and to provide shade.
-Multiple pin positions on every hole.
-Creek provides obstacle without eating discs. It is fairly clear and shallow, you just might get your feet a little wet.
-A few ace runs without being too easy.
-Like Loomiller, this park is clean, safe and well maintained. Longmont's parks dept deserves a high five.
-Good local club- Long's Peak Disc Golf Club
-This is a course that beginners can approach while being long enough to entertain most better golfers.
-Good length for a park course.
Cons: -The flow was pretty bad. Bring the map for sure so that you know where you are going. After one, you walk between the stream and the fence to #2 and after 3 you walk around the same fence and then over the creek to find both 4 and 6's tee box.
-Not a lot of elevation here.
-Lots of paths that are near baskets or next to fairways. You may have to wait for other park users.
Other Thoughts: -This course provided me with a moderate challenge and moderate fun level. It wasn't anything special but living in Longmont and playing this course and Loomiller wouldn't be too bad. They are both alright and worth the trip here at least once.
-This course is also near a school, it might get crowded after school and lunch.
-This is one of those courses that is alright and there isn't much to say about it as far as good or bad. It is in a park and is similar to hundreds or thousands of others throughout the country.
-I have read that there is supposed to be an 18 hole course in Longmont, hopefully this year. I hope that it is a different style than Longmont's current courses to provide a good variety.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Length Is Important

1    11/16/2013   11/23/2013
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 112  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 8.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park this course sits in is very nice with many other amenities, more specifically geared towards the sports enthusiast. Baskets were in good shape. Cement tee pads were nice. There was a good deal of nice long holes and some short ones mixed in well, better than most courses of this number of baskets. There are a few unique shots that cannot be repeated elsewhere on the course. There is a good amount of risk and reward on the holes with water. I did rather enjoy the challenge of this course and had a good time playing it. If the park is not being used by anyone else, there are an additional 9 temporary holes that can be set up for an even more interesting round, unfortunately this will almost never be the case as it really monopolizes the park space. A good local club that really cares about this course.
Cons: The layout is not perfect as it appears the designer was more focused on good holes over functionality. There were several walking paths that came into play and on a busy day would provide for a lot of pedestrian traffic. There are some good walks from one hole to the next and from the last basket back to the parking lot. Several tee boxes are near each other making navigation difficult between holes. A lack of bathroom facilities unless the one bathroom near the softball fields happens to be open, which is not always the case.
Other Thoughts: I did rather enjoy my round here and the park is a very nice park. Going for glory on course design really sets this course back as navigation becomes tough. You will really want to have a map with you when you play here to make things easier. I was really impressed with the length of the baskets on this course which makes it stand out above and beyond most 9 basket courses. I really hope that the local club puts in the effort to keep this course as there a number of pitfalls to the current design. The entirety of the space used for the course is not ideal for disc golf though there are spots and a few baskets that really make you think there is something special here. It really is one of those things that makes you want to rate the course higher, but the navigation does not allow that to happen. The course is on the South end of the main parking lot and the practice basket should be very easy to find and help in bringing you to the right spot.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Solid

5+    10/25/2013   10/29/2013
Review By: jon_boi
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 18.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good use of trees.
Regularly rotated pin placement.
Good mix of short and long holes.
Nicely manicured park.
Good teepads.
Cons: Can be issues with sharing the space with the public.
Other Thoughts: I'm glad this place exists. Really nice, the river is a challenge but usually allows you to recover a lost disc.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Classy municipal park course

1    6/23/2013   6/24/2013
Review By: Shmacka
Played: 31  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 4.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Mature trees in an established neighborhood. Good shade, and diverse hole selction for a municipal 9 holer.

Makes a good partner for Loomiller Park- close, different feel.

There is a fenced in utility shed on the course, if you catch the lawnmower at the right time, and in a good mood, he may flip you a disc that has landed inside :)

Fairly easy to navigate without help.
Cons: Multi use park- you do need to be aware and on good behavior.

I wish there were more to throw on!
Other Thoughts: Around the park courses are generally circular. Centen (as the locals call it) varies this pattern to good effect. I can't wait to get back there.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Where's Lewis...

1    3/2/2013   3/3/2013
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 125  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 7.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice good sized concrete tee-pads
-Lots of length for a nine hole course, most of the holes have pin positions of over 350 (and three or four of the holes have pin positions ranging from 400 to just over 500 ft)
-Creek/stream comes into play on holes 1, 2, 4, and 6
-Baskets are new, in good shape and painted bright orange. They are really easy to see and it is easy to know which basket you are shooting for.
-Good use of the available trees in the park, aa several of the baskets are guarded by the mature trees in the park.
-Practice basket and map of the course at the beginning of the course.
-Nice tee-signs that are in good shape, that show the layout of the hole, the pin positions, the distance and point you toward the next tee-pad.
-Each hole has multiple pin-positions.
-Well taken care of park
-They made pretty good use of the available obstacles they had available for the course.
-The course flow is easy to follow and except for one spot, it is easy to find the next tee-pad (see cons below).
Cons: -Lots of holes have sidewalks that cut right through them, meaning there are a lot of times where you have to wait for non disc golf park users to pass by before teeing off or throwing.
-Several of the holes use the sidewalk as a tee-pad, which adds to some more of the conflict with non disc golf park users.
-The stream/creek was moving pretty well, if it had enough water in it you could potentially lose a disc.
-The first time playing it can be really confusing to find hole 2. Hole 2 is on the opposite side of the fenced off pond near Hole 1.
-The course gets quite crowded at times.
-Long walk back to the parking lot after hole 9 and the quickest way back crosses the fairways of several other holes.
-I wish the course had a little more variety, maybe a short hole or two, because at times it feels like the course is just a longer shot to a basket guarded by a tree or a few trees.
Other Thoughts: While I wish this course had a little more variety, this is a great example of how to do a nine hole course right. Instead of trying to force 18 holes into the space they had, they created nine solid fun holes that have more distance than usual in a 9 hole course. If you are in the area this is a fun course that is worth a stop at.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice neighboorhood park course with challenge

2-4    12/5/2012   1/9/2013
Review By: b_rosso
Played: 21  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is all types of challenges in this neighborhood park course. You might even need to throw a roller or two on a few of the tree guarded and longer holes. It is by far the better of the two longmont courses. Lots of hyzer and anhyzer shots for R backhanders.
Cons: There is a creek running through the first couple holes which may come into play. It is pretty dry in the winter months but haven't seen it in the summer yet. You might want to check out the map before you play as it might get confusing where to go next.
Other Thoughts: Just an update for Longmont Disc Golf players, most are well aware but there is a new course being installed at Dry Creek Park and should be ready to play in fall 2013 or spring 2014. The signs are up but nothing else. (I know this because I work for the city)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.