Cottage Grove, OR 
North Regional Park Share
Uploaded By: jeverett Hole #14 (Taken 1/2010)
3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee: Basket in A position



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Don't Underestimate This Course...

2-4    6/14/2013   6/15/2013
Review By: prettyboyfloyd
Played: 14  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The best use of the property given
- Used most discs in my bag
- Trees, elevation, water, ditches, & raised baskets...
- Good new signage on most baskets
- Benches at all teepads
Cons: - Lack of garbage cans
- Some holes with no signs
- Spotters absolutely necessary on some holes
Other Thoughts: I will start out by saying that, for the land that they were given to use, the people who made this course did a very creative job. It is not Milo McGiver, but given a bunch of property next to the Cottage Grove sewage treatment plant, spot up job.

This course is of the type where groups of holes have a similar layout, yet every hole really has it's own identity. The most notable holes:

Hole 3: Around 200 feet. Either go through a tunnel around 5 - 8 feet wide, or do what everyone else and the teepad says: go left, which is an anhyzer/hyzer flick bomb for RH players, or a backand hyzer bomb for us LH guys. I have never seen a hole like this at another course.

Hole 4: 370 foot shot straight across water (winter)/tall grass marsh in summer.

Hole 5: 300 foot low right to left shot, with ditch/stream on the right. Low ceiling, tricky shot both right or left handed.

Hole 7: The most ridiculous 90 degree angle (right to left) hole I've ever seen. I'd pay $20 to anyone that birdies this hole. Love it.

Hole 8: Signature hole. Funnels from open to closed (trees) from the teepad to the multiple basket positions. Pretty hole.

Holes 9 & 10. Tricky tree placements between teepad to basket, which makes for creative disc choices and shots. Low ceilings.

Holes 12 - 15: These holes are a complete change in landscape from the rest of the course. They most remind me of the elevated wooded holes at Dexter. You definitely need spotters on both 12 &13 if you don't want to chance loosing discs, both extreme uphill and downhill wooded shots.

Hole 17: Elevated tee to equally elevated basket, about 340 feet away, no trees.

I live in Corvallis, and from time to time, like to get out of town to different courses. This is one of my favorites, maybe more than Dexter. Any course that offers an unique, individual challenge at each hole, even without being the most scenic, is great in my book.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


2-4    1/14/2013   1/16/2013
Review By: MCW5379
Played: 46  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 3.3 Years
Pros: Really like the layout and the use of the natural obstacles. Uphill, downhill, lefts, rights it has every shot in the book. It was dry when I played but there is water that comes into play on 4, 5, 6, & 8. Nice and clean grounds. Concrete tee pads. And the Ace Pole is a great touch!!
Cons: No water. No bathrooms except at tee 1. Water is a possible disc eater so be prepared. Not all holes have complete signage.
Other Thoughts: All in all I enjoyed my day/2 rds.
Lots of OB to increase difficulty.
I'd make the hour drive again.

 Up and comer

1    8/10/2012   8/12/2012
Review By: huckit541
Played: 58  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 15.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Shot variety
Dedicated disc golf park
locals are manicuring the course every day it feels like a DG mecca
Cons: Right next to the town treatment facility
I had a tweaker ask me if he could borrow my discs. But other than that no complaints here. Water on the right of hole 7 or 8 is a garanteed lost disc.
Other Thoughts: I showed up on a tourney night about 4 hours before the event. A local played with me and shared all of the courses history with me. He told it like the town has dedicated this park to disc golf, I don't know if he was right. But it sure feels like they have carte blanche out there. Basicly a very fun course which has a little somthing to challenge you on every hole. I will be stopping here every time I am passing by.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course neer Eugene

1    6/9/2012   8/9/2012
Review By: humchris85
Played: 114  Reviewed: 79  Exp: 9.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - A well designed course with a nice variety of holes, some lefts, some rights, uphill's, downhill's, and shots from one raised area to another.
- Concrete tee pads
- Drainage ditch runs along some holes making another challenge to the course
- Hole distances range from short and sweet to very long in the longest positions
- Nice variety between wide open holes and tightly wooded ones.
- Some holes have multiple routes that you can choose to go for the basket.
- I think the raised baskets like on hole 2 are fun and add a bit of danger to your putting
- Ace pole near hole 1 is a great idea to keep people from tagging baskets and signs when they get an ace
- Most of the holes are ace-able, but require some good distance and a very controlled shot
- Multiple pin positions on some holes
- Some benches around the course
- There are easy spots to make quicker loops if you don't have time for the whole course
- Close to I-5
- Raised basket on hole 2 causes you to really have to think about your putt
- Garbage cans around the course
- Multiple tee pads on some holes
Cons: - No tee signs on most of the holes
- When you are going from hole 4s pin to hole 5, the closest and most obvious tee box is actually hole 11, follow the path to the right to find hole 5. A good reason to have a guide for this course.
- Blackberry bushes make up a lot of rough around the course
- Non disc golfers walking through areas of the course, though most seemed to welcome the disc golfers as we have cleaned up that park
- Waste treatment facility can cause quite a stink on a couple of holes
Other Thoughts: A great 18 hole course between Eugene with Dexter, and Roseburg with Whistlers Bend. Though both of those are better courses Cottage Grove is still a challenging and fun course and well worth a stop if someone is traveling through the area. From what I saw there is also a lot less traffic on this course than Dexter. The holes are all pretty fun with a nice variety. There are open holes, tightly wooded holes, a nice amount of elevation change, short holes, long holes, and a good amount of lefts and rights. You will need your whole bag of tricks to shoot well out here. It starts and finishes in a field without a lot of trees, but then when you get to the back part of the course there are a lot more trees. Near the end you also end up working your way up and down a tightly wooded hill. With some more work this could be one of the best courses in the state. It's really a course that beginners and pros alike can both have fun on. With solid signage around both for tee signs as well as next hole signs this course could easily be a 4.

If you can't find a guide for this course then make sure to take the map that's here on the site. It will help immensely.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  A solid Oregon course

1    7/28/2012   8/3/2012
Review By: Bwells18
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - It isn't Dexter. Now, North Regional is definitely not better than Dexter, and if you want a world class course you should head there. However, North Regional is a nice break from playing the same course over and over again.

- The course is extremely efficient. Each hole maximizes the minimal space allotted for the course.

- The forest holes (12-15) are a nice break from the flat and give the course a nice, somewhat rustic feel
Cons: - Call me odd, but I'm not a fan of randomly raised holes. Hole 2 is the prime example of this.

- Odd smell from the waste water treatment plant on occasion.

- No water or bathroom on the course

- The course is common recreation area, so throw with caution
Other Thoughts: A solid course overall. I would recommend it as a stop if you are in the area, and I would even recommend it for all you Eugenians who are tired of Dexter and despise Westmoreland. The course is a great example of how to maximize unused land to the public's benefit.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/5/2012   3/16/2012
Review By: plastic cannon
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -good mixture of open/wooded holes.
-great quality baskets.
-concrete tee pads
-good mix between long and short holes.
-good local crowd.
Cons: -short tee boxes on a few holes.
-next to a water treatment plant. can get smelly.
Other Thoughts: all in all a really great course. you can get two rounds of 18 holes in in about 3 hours. plays fast. there is a "ace post" by hole one to display aces that have happened there. the local crowd keeps the place pretty clean, and there are trash cans on the course should you need them. i play this course about once or twice a week and love it. there is also glow golf out there quite a bit.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Eugene Area Alternative

5+    12/4/2011   12/5/2011
Review By: Matt B.
Played: 46  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 22.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Concrete tees
-Good baskets
-Good variety
-Par 4's on two holes in long setting
-Multiple pin placements for most holes
-Water in play on several holes
-Ace Pole!
Cons:
-Plays along a multi-use recreational path
-No bathroom or drinking water
-Some tee pads are a little short
-No tee signs on most holes
-Not a beautiful park

Other Thoughts:
The course at North Regional Park is the best thing to happen for disc golf in the Eugene area since Dexter was built over ten years ago. There is finally another 18 hole course in the area to give players an alternative to just playing Dexter as well as take some of the pressure off of that course. And "The Grove" is a worthy alternative. It is a very fun course with some unique holes and a little bit of everything from tight and technical to air it out big. Plenty of birdie opportunities and plenty of punishment for missing your line, including o.b., water, and areas you really don't want to go.

The course was designed and installed on a very accelerated timeline from most installations and it probably would have benefitted from a play-in period to test the layout and configuration. Still, it is well laid out and has a pretty good flow, especially considering the odd shape of the park space available, which is mostly along a multi-use bike and hike trail. The shape of the course is long and narrow, with two "loops" - one at the far end of the space and one in the middle - and several holes bringing you out from and back to the parking lot.

Hole 3 is a short but sharp left -right hole unlike any others I can think of in the State. Hole 4 requires carrying seasonal water or going the long way around for a safer par. Even when it is dry, the wet area is o.b. and has some dense disc-eating grass. Hole 5 is a short left-right with seasonal water all along the right side and trees on the left. All three of these holes can be birdied, or your whole round can be ruined. I like that!

Hole 8 is probably the signature hole of the course, especially in the longest setting, when it is a par 4. The long pin is tucked into a small landing area with a creek on one side and dense blackberry, willows, and brush on the other. It takes a good placement drive, and a great upshot to yield a putt for three.

Holes 12-15 are probably my favorite part of the course with the holes situated on a forested hill away from the multi-use path. Thes holes are short but tight and fun up and downhill shots which once again can yield birdies or pain for inaccuracy. Hole 17 is a unique hole which tees off a huge round elevated teepad and throws over flat ground to a huge mound of what I think at one time was fill material. Just one tree on the right side of the fairway, but a very fun shot to bomb at the pin. Hole 18 is a long open shot to bring you back to the parking lot with an o.b. fence off to the far right and some trees along the length of the hole to punish bad placement. In the long setting it is also a par 4.

This course has a lot of replay value and is very fun. Because of the odd shape, the multi-use path running through most of the course, and the not exactly beautiful setting it isn't an awesome destination disc golf course overall. But it is definitely worth a stop, very convenient to I-5, and for the locals who had only one 18 hole course to play for over 20 years it is the best thing since sliced bread.

One final note: this course was built, funded, and maintained all by volunteers, local club members, and the community. It was and is a lot of work by a few people and is a great example of disc golfers pulling together.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Stop Off The Freeway

1    7/7/2011   7/13/2011
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 219  Reviewed: 206  Exp: 11.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: North Regional is an unexpectedly good course with a good amount of variety. The starting holes and ending holes are pretty open and most of the course goes back and forth between moderate woods, heavy woods and lightly wooded holes.

My favorite section of this course is the very wooded section between holes 12 through 15 which is also where all of the elevation change comes into play here. Hole 12 is an uphill right to left short hole with a low ceiling and a tight line with little rocks all over the ground on the fairway and hitting the ground here can have a random skipping effect on your disc that could be good or bad. 13 is a great double fairway hole that is also downhill with the RHBH anhyzer route being more open and the end but tighter at the start with the RHBH hyzer line being the exact opposite. I really hope they aren't considering trimming any branches on this hole or the other tightly wooded holes on this section, I think it is really good as it is right now.

I played the course during the Summer and the water holes were all dried up sadly. I think these holes would play harder on your mind knowing you have to hit your gap and make your shot or you go out of bounds and are searching for your disc. I played the "B" positions and most or all of the holes and I really like hole four with the large grassy ditch in front of you that is probably wet in the Winter, really plays on your mind and is a long throw to clear but with a safe route for newer players.

Navigation is fairly easy even without tee signs and I did it without a course map. You may have to walk the hole first because there are a couple of baskets that aren't visible from the tee pads. The tee pads are concrete and long enough for just about anyone.

I as well really like the laminated cards made for people who have gotten an ace and it is fun to see which holes they got and which discs they are using. The pole is really neat and it seems that they are doing their job because I looked for tags on the baskets and did not find any.
Cons: Hole number ten was the glaring hole that just didn't make sense to me. There is a tee pad and a route through a bunch of little trees and a green grass on the other side and brush line on the right. Instead of having a fun little throw with multiple routes they have decided to move the basket far to the right around the brush line and out of vision from the tee pad. I like a challenge as much as the next guy but just making a hole hard for no reason doesn't make sense if the hole is worse. I'm not sure if there is another pin location for this hole but there needs to be.
Other Thoughts: This is a really nice option between Eugene and Roseburg and this is a solid course. Though there isn't a giant challenge or any big par four holes this is a solid all around course for intermediate to advanced players. Going in the Summer, like I said will keep you from playing the water holes as they are all dried up. I'm a little sad I didn't get to play with the water in. This isn't too far from Dexter DGC either and you can do both in one day.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 It's coming up!

5+    5/10/2011   5/12/2011
Review By: warrenhol
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well designed, especially with new locations of baskets. Technical course with many Out of Bounds opportunities to help work the game to a more concise level of play. It is actually growing into a very beautiful course that will soon be quite nice.
Cons: No signs to indicate basket placement. It is pretty easily defined but still necessary. Tee pads are a wee bit short and could use a little love. Be careful on 17 when its wet.
Other Thoughts: A year ago this would have been a 3 at best. I really didnt like it. The lands it was built on were just not ready. But here it is now and it has matured. And, beautifully I must add. I encourage everyone to pop in and play Cottage Grove.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The Grove is real.

5+    1/24/2011   1/24/2011
Review By: weaktit
Played: 32  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 15.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/16/2011
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Free to play 18 hole course with concrete tees and Innova DISCatcher Pro baskets.
Large parking area and easily accessible from I-5.
Discs available at the local Chevron.
Many small stores and eateries within two miles.
Practice basket.
Two basket positions for holes #1, #4 - #7, #10 - #14, #16 and #18.
Three basket positions for holes #8 and #9.
Water hazards on holes #4, #5 and #8 (all right side) but generally easily recoverable.
Elevated basket on hole #2.
Adequate mix of left and right hole placements.
Good mix of open and wooded holes.
Elevation is in play on holes #12 - #15.
Ends within 300' of where it begins.
Ace pole with contact info.
Adequate garbage cans throughout course.
Makeshift seating available on five holes, dispersed throughout the course.
- Porta-potty has been added.
Cons: No signage for hole length, layout or navigation.
Adjacent to water treatment plant which may be aromatic in the summer months.
The area between holes #2 and #18 are used for streetsweeper & landfill dumping.
Well used, paved walking path for non-disc golfers.
Poorly groomed grounds play into holes #2 and #16 - #18.
Can be somewhat muddy / puddley in the winter months.
Other Thoughts: This young course is within 17 miles of the major metropolitan area(s) of Eugene / Springfield. It is moderately short having only one hole over 600' (#18) with the rest less than 400'. The cons mentioned are only slightly detracting and most could be considered pros in the right context of thought. The in-city location and proximity to I-5 make it convenient and easy to play on a daily basis. There are many opportunities for aces and birdies but some holes will challenge your shot skills and can easily turn a birdy into a bogey or worse. Be sure to reverse directions after hole #4 to reach tee #5 instead of following the apparently logical walkout toward what is actually the tee for hole #11. I like this course more each time I play it and I think even par is within my realm.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.