Cottage Grove, OR
North Regional Park Share
Uploaded By: jeverett Hole #3 (Taken 1/2010)
3 / 187ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket: View from fairway



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Don't Underestimate This Course...

2-4    6/14/2013   6/15/2013
Review By: prettyboyfloyd
Played: 14  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The best use of the property given
- Used most discs in my bag
- Trees, elevation, water, ditches, & raised baskets...
- Good new signage on most baskets
- Benches at all teepads
Cons: - Lack of garbage cans
- Some holes with no signs
- Spotters absolutely necessary on some holes
Other Thoughts: I will start out by saying that, for the land that they were given to use, the people who made this course did a very creative job. It is not Milo McGiver, but given a bunch of property next to the Cottage Grove sewage treatment plant, spot up job.

This course is of the type where groups of holes have a similar layout, yet every hole really has it's own identity. The most notable holes:

Hole 3: Around 200 feet. Either go through a tunnel around 5 - 8 feet wide, or do what everyone else and the teepad says: go left, which is an anhyzer/hyzer flick bomb for RH players, or a backand hyzer bomb for us LH guys. I have never seen a hole like this at another course.

Hole 4: 370 foot shot straight across water (winter)/tall grass marsh in summer.

Hole 5: 300 foot low right to left shot, with ditch/stream on the right. Low ceiling, tricky shot both right or left handed.

Hole 7: The most ridiculous 90 degree angle (right to left) hole I've ever seen. I'd pay $20 to anyone that birdies this hole. Love it.

Hole 8: Signature hole. Funnels from open to closed (trees) from the teepad to the multiple basket positions. Pretty hole.

Holes 9 & 10. Tricky tree placements between teepad to basket, which makes for creative disc choices and shots. Low ceilings.

Holes 12 - 15: These holes are a complete change in landscape from the rest of the course. They most remind me of the elevated wooded holes at Dexter. You definitely need spotters on both 12 &13 if you don't want to chance loosing discs, both extreme uphill and downhill wooded shots.

Hole 17: Elevated tee to equally elevated basket, about 340 feet away, no trees.

I live in Corvallis, and from time to time, like to get out of town to different courses. This is one of my favorites, maybe more than Dexter. Any course that offers an unique, individual challenge at each hole, even without being the most scenic, is great in my book.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    1/14/2013   1/16/2013
Review By: MCW5379
Played: 37  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 2.9 Years
Pros: Really like the layout and the use of the natural obstacles. Uphill, downhill, lefts, rights it has every shot in the book. It was dry when I played but there is water that comes into play on 4, 5, 6, & 8. Nice and clean grounds. Concrete tee pads. And the Ace Pole is a great touch!!
Cons: No water. No bathrooms except at tee 1. Water is a possible disc eater so be prepared. Not all holes have complete signage.
Other Thoughts: All in all I enjoyed my day/2 rds.
Lots of OB to increase difficulty.
I'd make the hour drive again.

Up and comer

1    8/10/2012   8/12/2012
Review By: huckit541
Played: 58  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 14.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Shot variety
Dedicated disc golf park
locals are manicuring the course every day it feels like a DG mecca
Cons: Right next to the town treatment facility
I had a tweaker ask me if he could borrow my discs. But other than that no complaints here. Water on the right of hole 7 or 8 is a garanteed lost disc.
Other Thoughts: I showed up on a tourney night about 4 hours before the event. A local played with me and shared all of the courses history with me. He told it like the town has dedicated this park to disc golf, I don't know if he was right. But it sure feels like they have carte blanche out there. Basicly a very fun course which has a little somthing to challenge you on every hole. I will be stopping here every time I am passing by.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great course neer Eugene

1    6/9/2012   8/9/2012
Review By: humchris85
Played: 109  Reviewed: 74  Exp: 8.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - A well designed course with a nice variety of holes, some lefts, some rights, uphill's, downhill's, and shots from one raised area to another.
- Concrete tee pads
- Drainage ditch runs along some holes making another challenge to the course
- Hole distances range from short and sweet to very long in the longest positions
- Nice variety between wide open holes and tightly wooded ones.
- Some holes have multiple routes that you can choose to go for the basket.
- I think the raised baskets like on hole 2 are fun and add a bit of danger to your putting
- Ace pole near hole 1 is a great idea to keep people from tagging baskets and signs when they get an ace
- Most of the holes are ace-able, but require some good distance and a very controlled shot
- Multiple pin positions on some holes
- Some benches around the course
- There are easy spots to make quicker loops if you don't have time for the whole course
- Close to I-5
- Raised basket on hole 2 causes you to really have to think about your putt
- Garbage cans around the course
- Multiple tee pads on some holes
Cons: - No tee signs on most of the holes
- When you are going from hole 4s pin to hole 5, the closest and most obvious tee box is actually hole 11, follow the path to the right to find hole 5. A good reason to have a guide for this course.
- Blackberry bushes make up a lot of rough around the course
- Non disc golfers walking through areas of the course, though most seemed to welcome the disc golfers as we have cleaned up that park
- Waste treatment facility can cause quite a stink on a couple of holes
Other Thoughts: A great 18 hole course between Eugene with Dexter, and Roseburg with Whistlers Bend. Though both of those are better courses Cottage Grove is still a challenging and fun course and well worth a stop if someone is traveling through the area. From what I saw there is also a lot less traffic on this course than Dexter. The holes are all pretty fun with a nice variety. There are open holes, tightly wooded holes, a nice amount of elevation change, short holes, long holes, and a good amount of lefts and rights. You will need your whole bag of tricks to shoot well out here. It starts and finishes in a field without a lot of trees, but then when you get to the back part of the course there are a lot more trees. Near the end you also end up working your way up and down a tightly wooded hill. With some more work this could be one of the best courses in the state. It's really a course that beginners and pros alike can both have fun on. With solid signage around both for tee signs as well as next hole signs this course could easily be a 4.

If you can't find a guide for this course then make sure to take the map that's here on the site. It will help immensely.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    3/5/2012   3/16/2012
Review By: plastic cannon
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -good mixture of open/wooded holes.
-great quality baskets.
-concrete tee pads
-good mix between long and short holes.
-good local crowd.
Cons: -short tee boxes on a few holes.
-next to a water treatment plant. can get smelly.
Other Thoughts: all in all a really great course. you can get two rounds of 18 holes in in about 3 hours. plays fast. there is a "ace post" by hole one to display aces that have happened there. the local crowd keeps the place pretty clean, and there are trash cans on the course should you need them. i play this course about once or twice a week and love it. there is also glow golf out there quite a bit.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Stop Off The Freeway

1    7/7/2011   7/13/2011
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 187  Reviewed: 182  Exp: 10.8 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: North Regional is an unexpectedly good course with a good amount of variety. The starting holes and ending holes are pretty open and most of the course goes back and forth between moderate woods, heavy woods and lightly wooded holes.

My favorite section of this course is the very wooded section between holes 12 through 15 which is also where all of the elevation change comes into play here. Hole 12 is an uphill right to left short hole with a low ceiling and a tight line with little rocks all over the ground on the fairway and hitting the ground here can have a random skipping effect on your disc that could be good or bad. 13 is a great double fairway hole that is also downhill with the RHBH anhyzer route being more open and the end but tighter at the start with the RHBH hyzer line being the exact opposite. I really hope they aren't considering trimming any branches on this hole or the other tightly wooded holes on this section, I think it is really good as it is right now.

I played the course during the Summer and the water holes were all dried up sadly. I think these holes would play harder on your mind knowing you have to hit your gap and make your shot or you go out of bounds and are searching for your disc. I played the "B" positions and most or all of the holes and I really like hole four with the large grassy ditch in front of you that is probably wet in the Winter, really plays on your mind and is a long throw to clear but with a safe route for newer players.

Navigation is fairly easy even without tee signs and I did it without a course map. You may have to walk the hole first because there are a couple of baskets that aren't visible from the tee pads. The tee pads are concrete and long enough for just about anyone.

I as well really like the laminated cards made for people who have gotten an ace and it is fun to see which holes they got and which discs they are using. The pole is really neat and it seems that they are doing their job because I looked for tags on the baskets and did not find any.
Cons: Hole number ten was the glaring hole that just didn't make sense to me. There is a tee pad and a route through a bunch of little trees and a green grass on the other side and brush line on the right. Instead of having a fun little throw with multiple routes they have decided to move the basket far to the right around the brush line and out of vision from the tee pad. I like a challenge as much as the next guy but just making a hole hard for no reason doesn't make sense if the hole is worse. I'm not sure if there is another pin location for this hole but there needs to be.
Other Thoughts: This is a really nice option between Eugene and Roseburg and this is a solid course. Though there isn't a giant challenge or any big par four holes this is a solid all around course for intermediate to advanced players. Going in the Summer, like I said will keep you from playing the water holes as they are all dried up. I'm a little sad I didn't get to play with the water in. This isn't too far from Dexter DGC either and you can do both in one day.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 It's coming up!

5+    5/10/2011   5/12/2011
Review By: warrenhol
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well designed, especially with new locations of baskets. Technical course with many Out of Bounds opportunities to help work the game to a more concise level of play. It is actually growing into a very beautiful course that will soon be quite nice.
Cons: No signs to indicate basket placement. It is pretty easily defined but still necessary. Tee pads are a wee bit short and could use a little love. Be careful on 17 when its wet.
Other Thoughts: A year ago this would have been a 3 at best. I really didnt like it. The lands it was built on were just not ready. But here it is now and it has matured. And, beautifully I must add. I encourage everyone to pop in and play Cottage Grove.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    7/31/2010   8/1/2010
Review By: Discplayerderick
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was a fun course that definitely has a lot of potential. The holes varied in length which kept the round interesting. The baskets are all brand new and it's fun to see the "Ace pole" at the beginning of the course.
Cons: The first time playing North Regional can be very confusing. It took me and my buddy quite a while to figure out where to go. Also, this course has a sewage drain on the side of a few holes that can be a bummer if the disc goes in. There are blackberry bushes all around the course which make it tough. The final con is that the course still wasn't finished when I played it. Some of the tee boxes weren't even in place yet.
Other Thoughts: Overall, North Regional is a fun course. It can be a tad confusing for first timers but the hole layout is great. Once the course is complete I think it will be great to play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 North Regional Park

5+    2/27/2010   3/4/2010
Review By: jeverett
Played: 20  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/5/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Preface: North Regional Park is still under construction, so I will be updating this review as course improvements happen. To rate this course I used the Disc Course Rating System described here: http://spreadsheets.google.co...bVE&hl=en

Beauty/Peaceful (4/6) - Although North Regional Park plays alongside a waste-water treatment plant and is near to the Interstate 5 highway, the course is surprisingly peaceful and tranquil. Only a few holes are in view of the waste-water plant, and highway noise is only noticeable on one hole. Views of the wooded hillside the course plays through are quite pretty.

Shot Shape Variety (6/6) - Nearly every hole requires a different shot shape. Good mix of hyzers and anhyzers, uphill and downhill shots, and guarded and open baskets, with multiple defined route options on many holes.

Tight/Open Variety (5/6) - While the course is more open than wooded, holes make very effective use of available trees. Several holes play through very tight tunnels, and nearly all open holes border woods or water. Hole 4 is open but plays over OB, and hole 18 is an open ripper hole.

Multi-Shot Holes (4/6) - Most holes are in the 300-350ft. range, with only a few holes longer than 400ft. With an accurate drive, you will be putting on the second throw. Hole 8 C position is a ~470ft. par 4 with a very tight fairway and creek OB to the right. Hole 18 is a no-elevation-change ~680ft. Par 4, but is not technical or risky.

Elevation (4/6) - Most of the course is fairly flat, but holes make effective use of the elevation changes available. Holes 11-15 play up and down a wooded hillside, and steep-sided drainage ditches are in play on several holes. The hole 17 basket is on a huge ~10ft. tall mound of earth built up from the fairway.

Water (4/6) - Several creeks and drainage ditches run through the course, and form the fairway boundaries for holes 4,5, and 8 (B and C positions). The chances of actually losing a disc to water are low, however losing a disc by throwing into the thick rough beyond a creek or ditch is possible. There is now a bridge to cross the creek to recover discs.

Tee Pads (4/4) - Textured concrete tee pads of ample length, tapered with the narrow end toward the basket. Tee pads are now poured for all 18 holes.

Maintenance (4/4) - While the course is not yet clear of debris, and landscaping and woodchips are incomplete, the maintenance and upkeep of the course is exceptional. Every week I have played the course there has been new work done that week.
Cons: Signs (1/4) - While there are some directional markers (painted arrows on stones) and defined walk-out paths between holes, there are currently no tee signs. The basket number labels are correct, however. The course is not exceptionally difficult to navigate, but I would recommend having a guide the first time playing.

Restrooms (0/3) - No restrooms or water.
Other Thoughts: Approximately the same distance from Eugene, OR as the Dexter Reservoir course, the two courses are often compared. North Regional Park is technically easier than Dexter, with better-defined and more open fairways and routes. While the rough on a few holes is very challenging to play out of, in general missing the fairway is less punishing at North Regional Park than at Dexter, with less risk of losing discs. North Regional Park also has a few unique features, including elevated baskets and water hazards.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/27/2010   2/28/2010
Review By: Bobby
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course still needs some work but has a really nice layout. It is easy to navigate, having concrete slabs on the ground with arrows pointing the the next tee. Four out of the 5+ times I've played, the baskets have been in different locations. The tees have some texture on them allowing for better traction when throwing.
Cons: The course is a little muddy, and has some huge mud pits near 18 tee. The tee for 17 is not in yet but is marked off with a rattle can. Currently the 18th tee is the second tee backwards.
Other Thoughts: The course in general is fun and takes about one an a half hours to go through for two people if playing at a steady pace.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.