Cottage Grove, OR 
North Regional Park Share
Uploaded By: jeverett Hole #8 (Taken 1/2010)
3 / 297ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee: Basket in A position



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Huge Improvements

5+    5/22/2011   8/16/2010
Review By: demongund
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/23/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has come a LONG way in the last year. The mud and debris that dominated the course during last summer has had time to grow over with grass.

The new, longer, pin positions for #1, #7 and #10 change would-be easy birdy holes into a real challenge.

* Nice and quiet despite being close to I-5.
* Both open and wooded holes offer shot variety.
* Tees have been completed for all holes.
Cons: * Located near a waste treatment facility so, at times, the smell can be distracting.
* This course is unforgiving about stray drives. A little too far to the left or right could mean a lot of time spent hunting through briars or pulling your disc out of the water.
* New players should throw from a closer position on #4 due to the miriad of water hazards. A good spot is where the grass path meets the concrete bike path on the right.
Other Thoughts: * Recently cleared brush has really opened up the course.
* Lots of effort went into clearing out the poison oak last summer but the winter didn't kill it all off. Watch where your discs land!
* There is an area near hole #9 where young bikers sometimes hang out. I've seen them being loud/rude and riding in front of people. I hear there are plans to flatten out the area, but it hasn't happened yet.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  

2-4    7/31/2010   8/1/2010
Review By: Discplayerderick
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was a fun course that definitely has a lot of potential. The holes varied in length which kept the round interesting. The baskets are all brand new and it's fun to see the "Ace pole" at the beginning of the course.
Cons: The first time playing North Regional can be very confusing. It took me and my buddy quite a while to figure out where to go. Also, this course has a sewage drain on the side of a few holes that can be a bummer if the disc goes in. There are blackberry bushes all around the course which make it tough. The final con is that the course still wasn't finished when I played it. Some of the tee boxes weren't even in place yet.
Other Thoughts: Overall, North Regional is a fun course. It can be a tad confusing for first timers but the hole layout is great. Once the course is complete I think it will be great to play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Course With Some Serious Design Flaws!

1    5/30/2010   6/9/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: North Regional Park plays between a freeway and a Waste Treatment plant. A few holes play along a open area (partly a field) while most of the course plays through woods and next to a drainage ditch. The tee pads 1-16 are textured and taper down in the front. They're great! There are no signs yet. The baskets are new. One feature that I really liked here, although I'm worried about vandalism, is an "ACE POLE" they have near the first tee. It's a pole with people's aces typed on laminated cards and attached to the pole. Much better than players signing the baskets.
Cons: I think there are a couple of fairly major flaws with this course. Three holes in a row play with this ugly drainage ditch looming on the right side. There is a very small fairway here so the chance of going into this ditch is very high. We thought # 7 was borderline silly with the basket just a few feet from the ditch and nowhere to throw. We just picked up our discs and skipped this hole. The risk/reward of getting down into the ditch was just not worth it. # 12 was another hole that I was not too keen on. It's a blind, uphill throw with a very narrow little fairway. We saw lots of beginner/novice type players on the course the day we played and these holes are just impossible for them.

My final con is that the area on the final couple of holes was just an eyesore. It looks as though there's been some heavy machinery driving through mud here. I'm left with the opinion that this is not a particularly pretty course.
Other Thoughts: There are some nice things about this course, pads, some of the terrain, etc. But then again there are some serious design flaws in my opinion. This is one of those courses that could and should be a nice little recreational course but the designers have tried to challenge it up and in doing so, I think they've lost what should be their target audience, the casual recreational player. The course they should be trying to emulate here is Riverfront Park in Roseburg. That's just a nice little city park course that doesn't try to compete with the big boys like Whistlers, Dexter, Milo or Adair. It just uses the terrain they have very effectively!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  

1    5/15/2010   5/18/2010
Review By: Disc-o Flyer
Played: 23  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A new course with a lot of potential. A mix of very tight and open shots. Every hole was well thought out and genuinely challenging.
Cons: It was hard to find my way through without a map, but was fortunate enough to meet some locals who were nice enough to show me the way. Still really just barely cut out in several areas, spotters highly recommended.
Other Thoughts: This looks like what will be a great course soon, just needs a few more paths worn through, and a couple more tee pads.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 North Regional Park

5+    2/27/2010   3/4/2010
Review By: jeverett
Played: 22  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/5/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Preface: North Regional Park is still under construction, so I will be updating this review as course improvements happen. To rate this course I used the Disc Course Rating System described here: http://spreadsheets.google.co...bVE&hl=en

Beauty/Peaceful (4/6) - Although North Regional Park plays alongside a waste-water treatment plant and is near to the Interstate 5 highway, the course is surprisingly peaceful and tranquil. Only a few holes are in view of the waste-water plant, and highway noise is only noticeable on one hole. Views of the wooded hillside the course plays through are quite pretty.

Shot Shape Variety (6/6) - Nearly every hole requires a different shot shape. Good mix of hyzers and anhyzers, uphill and downhill shots, and guarded and open baskets, with multiple defined route options on many holes.

Tight/Open Variety (5/6) - While the course is more open than wooded, holes make very effective use of available trees. Several holes play through very tight tunnels, and nearly all open holes border woods or water. Hole 4 is open but plays over OB, and hole 18 is an open ripper hole.

Multi-Shot Holes (4/6) - Most holes are in the 300-350ft. range, with only a few holes longer than 400ft. With an accurate drive, you will be putting on the second throw. Hole 8 C position is a ~470ft. par 4 with a very tight fairway and creek OB to the right. Hole 18 is a no-elevation-change ~680ft. Par 4, but is not technical or risky.

Elevation (4/6) - Most of the course is fairly flat, but holes make effective use of the elevation changes available. Holes 11-15 play up and down a wooded hillside, and steep-sided drainage ditches are in play on several holes. The hole 17 basket is on a huge ~10ft. tall mound of earth built up from the fairway.

Water (4/6) - Several creeks and drainage ditches run through the course, and form the fairway boundaries for holes 4,5, and 8 (B and C positions). The chances of actually losing a disc to water are low, however losing a disc by throwing into the thick rough beyond a creek or ditch is possible. There is now a bridge to cross the creek to recover discs.

Tee Pads (4/4) - Textured concrete tee pads of ample length, tapered with the narrow end toward the basket. Tee pads are now poured for all 18 holes.

Maintenance (4/4) - While the course is not yet clear of debris, and landscaping and woodchips are incomplete, the maintenance and upkeep of the course is exceptional. Every week I have played the course there has been new work done that week.
Cons: Signs (1/4) - While there are some directional markers (painted arrows on stones) and defined walk-out paths between holes, there are currently no tee signs. The basket number labels are correct, however. The course is not exceptionally difficult to navigate, but I would recommend having a guide the first time playing.

Restrooms (0/3) - No restrooms or water.
Other Thoughts: Approximately the same distance from Eugene, OR as the Dexter Reservoir course, the two courses are often compared. North Regional Park is technically easier than Dexter, with better-defined and more open fairways and routes. While the rough on a few holes is very challenging to play out of, in general missing the fairway is less punishing at North Regional Park than at Dexter, with less risk of losing discs. North Regional Park also has a few unique features, including elevated baskets and water hazards.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/27/2010   2/28/2010
Review By: Bobby
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course still needs some work but has a really nice layout. It is easy to navigate, having concrete slabs on the ground with arrows pointing the the next tee. Four out of the 5+ times I've played, the baskets have been in different locations. The tees have some texture on them allowing for better traction when throwing.
Cons: The course is a little muddy, and has some huge mud pits near 18 tee. The tee for 17 is not in yet but is marked off with a rattle can. Currently the 18th tee is the second tee backwards.
Other Thoughts: The course in general is fun and takes about one an a half hours to go through for two people if playing at a steady pace.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center