Green Valley, CA 
Green Valley Community DGC Share
Uploaded By: Smelvis Hole #4 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 299ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Haggard Back Country

2-4    2/22/2014   2/22/2014
Review By: F. Howl
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.3 Years
Pros: ·Tight fairways that punish errant throws.
·Empty. Been here three times, and the only other people on the course were the people who set it up.
·Nice setting amongst the scrub oaks.
·Good course to work on shot shaping with putters and slower mids.
·Locals were friendly. They were surprised when we rolled up, asked how the hell we had found the place (this was back in 2003 I think), but showed us around.
Cons: ·Thick brush! Luckily its short enough to get a pretty good idea of where that shite throw went, but scrub oaks and chapparral eat discs.
·Way out in the sticks. Unless you're escaping from Palmdale or Lancaster its way out of the way to bother with
Other Thoughts: I thought the most helpfull review for this course was the guy who warned about snakes and thorny brush, yet he was voted down for it. Wear pants, watch out for snakes, poison oak, and bee hives. We stirred one up our first time out here.

Pleasant surprise

1    11/10/2013   11/19/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 766  Exp: 12.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a wooded brushy park. There doesn't seem to be any interference with any other activities. The baskets seemed like they might be homemade, but they caught just fine. I liked the semi-portable base idea that allows for pin movement without making them easy to steal or blow away.

There are enough trees here that you have to hit some tighter lines of various shapes to score well. I was surprised at how technical the course played, and enjoyed the mix of left and right turning shots. There is enough underbrush to punish errant shots and make you scramble to save par, but it's not so thick in most spots that discs are too hard to find.

There are a few shots that bring some fun elevation into play. A couple fun downhill shots let you watch the disc fly, and a couple more interesting pin placements offer rollaways if you're not careful in your short game.
Cons: Navigation is a little tricky here, with no tee signs and nothing to indicate which of several visible paths leads to the next tee. We were eventually able to figure out all the holes but it definitely took some wandering. The tees are a mix of slippery wood palettes and rutted out natural pads, none of which provide all that great of footing.

There are a couple holes that have odd lines to the basket that don't really match up with the way discs fly. A little trimming or slight changes in basket and tee placement would make much more interesting challenges.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this course pretty tough and punitive, but not so frustrating they can't have a good time out here. More experienced players will enjoy some fun challenging shots and some opportunities to scramble after any missed shots. If you're in the area, this course is definitely worth a stop.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/17/2009   12/17/2009
Review By: Danger
Played: 87  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/20/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Portable DisCatcher baskets are in descent condition.
-Fun mountain, middle of nowhere vibe. It IS in the Angeles National Forest.
-Paths make course navigation manageable to figure out. Discs we thought were lost were actually very easy to find.
-Great use of the provided land; hills, ravines, and trees all make each hole a unique challenge.
-Most holes turned out to be pretty long for a 9 hole and a few even had some cool pin protection.
-Yellow trash cans at most tees make them easy to spot, even though there are no signs.
-The course is somewhere to go if you are stuck in Green Valley!
Cons: -For the drive, I wish it was 18. Looks like there is room.
-Hard to navigate, no signs.
-Dirt/natural tees.
Other Thoughts: This is a rural 9 hole course that seems home-made, making it the only one in LA county with that 'backwoods' vibe to it.
Before we headed out, we made sure to make a crude drawing of the map to bring with us. This proved to be absolutely essential; as we were able to find our way around just fine without a guide or local. Without a map we would have been lost.
The course was deserted, I don't even think we legally parked; just kinda in the middle of a dirt lot that turned out to be the fairway for hole 3. Oops!
Some fairways cross, but I don't think this course is ever busy so I doubt it ever gets in the way.
Holes 2, 3, 4, 5, and 8 had a little metal marker on the log marking the tee indicating what hole number it was. The rest did not, but with the map, we knew we were in the right spot.
Almost every shot looked like we would have trouble finding our discs, but this never ended up being the case. Shots look a lot more 'dangerous' from the tee than they actually are, which added a fun scary element to the course.
The course is VERY out of the way unless you are in Green Valley, and except for the sake of 'checking out a new course,' you are not going to get the opportunity to stop by when you are on your way somewhere. Make no mistake, this is as rural as so cal gets! I don't think their goal is to get random non-locals out playing it.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Green Valley Community DG

5+    11/15/2009   11/16/2009
Review By: Smelvis
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/2/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Course map reqd for first and even second visit. Ck out course map I made using GPS Visualizer and Google maps.
- Course design is good with many obstacles.
- Lots of terrain variaton.
- Baskets are in good condition (portable).
- Hole 9 is the best. There is a long and short tee position. The long tee is difficult to find, look for a path that goes up the hill.
- Benches at most tees.
- Course nicely sheilded from wind.
- Not crowded. Not a well known course.
- Outdoor basketball court and horseshoes avail.
Cons:
- No pro shop
- Tee pads are dirt and may or may not be marked. Tee pad may have a single piece of lumber.
- Easy to lose discs. Lots of brush and trees.
- Course maintained to some degree. Paths are well worn to help find way around course. Very little maintenance of foliage.
Other Thoughts: It appears the Green Valley Community Hall maintains the course. Not sure if there are bathrooms available to the public inside the Hall.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.