Morganton, NC 
Catawba Meadows Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #14 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 212ft.   3 / 336ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Red Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Go early!!!

1    8/23/2014   8/26/2014
Review By: Patton82
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is nice...AMAZING concrete tee pads!! All of shots are one opportunity to just launch it as hard as you can...2 shots are 450ft+.
Cons: Absolutely NO shade, so either go early or bring plenty of water and sunscreen.
Other Thoughts: Great course for touching up on your distance as well as accuracy!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Let 'er rip

1    7/13/2014   7/14/2014
Review By: jeffboi
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 0.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wide open and tons of fun ripping it. Excellent tee pads and baskets - well maintained all the way around. Remember to look for the next tee on the sign before you tee off - then navigation is easy too. Great course for beginners, and fun for advanced players - you will spend almost no time looking for lost disks.
Cons: A bit on the easy side

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Change o' Pace

1    11/1/2013   11/11/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 204  Reviewed: 202  Exp: 3.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Plenty of space to air it out. For those that like the sight of a disc in flight, this a prime location. Though there are some shorter holes, they are all basically out in the open with that will impede a preferred flight path. Every shot is basically straight ahead, (It has to be, without fairways, if the pin was to the right or left of the teepad, then essentially it would just mean the tee was pointing in the wrong direction) so throwers can feel free to let their drives rip.

There is variety of hole, however, as distances range from under 300 feet(and under 200 from the short tees) to just about 600. It's an absolutely fantastic place to work on your drivers, learn them, and watch them fly. With the various distances, you should get a chance to use a bunch of them.

And even though the majority of the holes are in one field, it doesn't feel that way. It's a big field, and there is more than enough room. It helps that the scenery is so appealing. Imagine a perfectly flat meadow, scattered with old pines under a backdrop of rising mountain. It may not be the vision of a challenging disc course, but it's a pretty nice place to be and the majority of the park and course is just very well kept. Throw in fantastic tees. Huge trapezoids with fort-like, log, retaining walls. An absolutely joy to throw off of.
Cons: It's obviously not the most challenging course. Most holes don't feature a fairway as much as a direction to throw. It's also very flat, with only a few holes boasting even minimal elevation. While I do enjoy mixing it up with an open course now and again, they aren't typically the courses that I want to return to again and again. For advanced players, it will seem more like practice.

It could also use some next tee arrows. Generally the next tee is just the closest one. Finish a hole, spin around in a 360 and you will see the next tee. But there are a few places where there is more than one contender for the spinners destination. Even if there is one obvious choice, I'd rather not be wondering on the walk to the tee, as often happened here. (Even if I was correct most of the time.)
Other Thoughts: An awesome first course. Beginners will love learning to play here, as they figure out how to work discs in frustration-free environment. And when they master that, there are advanced tees to step up to. Glad I stopped here. It was a nice change of pace in-between Glenn Hilton and Richmond Hill. Would recommend it for both new players, and anyone that needs to step out of the woods, even if only for a single round.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Wide Open NC

1    11/1/2013   11/7/2013
Review By: pfpro
Played: 47  Reviewed: 37
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great signs, if you are just starting out, some tips and information about the biology of the park. If you're there for the DG, it has distance, major obstacles and direction to the next tee.
- Park is super clean, and almost only for DG. There is a walking path, but it doesn't really come into play. The "meadow" was mowed, no real issue with losing discs in long grass.
- Nice tees, retaining walls serve as benches in the first half.
- Practice putting basket, restrooms and drinking fountains where you park. Playground equipment if you have younger kids.
- Decent flow - only a few holes are confusing (because you can see several baskets from the tee). Once you play it once, I'm sure it's not a problem.
- Decent use of elevation.
Cons: - It gets boring (I'm from the Raleigh area, and have grown up on trees). If you can throw 300' with some aim/consistency, at least half of the holes are pretty much wide open. There really is no "rough" - if there were brush, or if they didn't flay mow the meadow, you could maybe shape some fairways, island greens, etc.
- It is kind of far off the interstate, probably 10-15 minutes depending on lights. It's not necessarily a course you could jump off the interstate, play a quick round and jump back on.
Other Thoughts: I played this course with two friends who don't play a ton. It was right about their speed. I shot a par, even though I had several throws where I didn't have a great tee shot. This is not pitch and putt, you can use drivers (and actually can rip them since there are very few trees). If you were learning, this is a forgiving course where you can feel good (although it may give a false sense of security before playing the "typical" NC course). I did like the run of holes 15-18, they were slightly different as the trees came into play (having to shape shots to avoid some of the lower limbs). I would stop and play here again. I "inflated" my score by 1/2 due to the very nice signs and general cleanliness of the park.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Love this course

5+    8/5/2013   7/31/2013
Review By: Warthog
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2013
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice mix of holes some long and some short. Not so many trees as to be a wall. Local to Morganton. Removed enough from walking track as to not be an issue. Mix of hills and flat. well marked. Score cards usually on site. Nice tee pads. Close to coffee shop and restaurant which are on boardwalk less than half mile away. Lots of parking, picnic shelters, restrooms, water fountain and play area for kids.
Cons: Few benches however some of the first 9 have low walls that can serve as benches. Watch your step many hidden holes in ground can turn an ankle real easy I did so going from #10 to #11. Hole 17 has a disc eating problem on right I have lost 3 all on this hole. There are no real problems with this course when the weather is pleasant.
Other Thoughts: Of only 5 played this is my favorite. The target on hole #8 has recently been moved back into the usual position. The problem during the rainy summer has resolved itself and the course is once again loads of fun to play.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

The anomaly course

1    7/7/2013   7/8/2013
Review By: New013
Played: 138  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 4.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Layout - It's a more open/sparse tree style course. Mostly straighter shots where you have a few options on how to maneuver the trees.

Two pads on 12 of the holes. The longer pad usually added some length and put you in a more awkward tee position cutting down on your options.

The pads were placed pretty well considering what they had to work with. Every shot is pretty much straight ahead with no real mixture but the tee placements made you consider which route you were taking and how you would work the disc.

I like how it mixes up some long bombs with shorter holes. NC has a severe lack of courses that let you rip so it's nice to find one.

There's some elevation change on a few holes, nothing really major though.

Course flows decently well, a few not short walks but nothing long. There is one part where you run in to 5 & 17's pad very close together that could cause confusion.

They used mandos to create more difficulty and mix it up a bit. I'm not sure I'm a fan but they had to do something.

Equipment - Might be the nicest concrete pads I've ever seen. They're huge trapezoids. The signs had pictures and info on each hole, they were nice.

Atmosphere - Really nice looking park overall, it's an open park with huge trees scattered about. The disc golf course seems to use a part of the park that is separate from the rest. There is a walking trail around it but that doesn't really come in to play that much. There's some other nice facilities including bathroom and water at the parking lot.
Cons: Layout - It's great you get to let the disc fly here but after a while it just gets boring. Every hole is pretty much the same design. There's a pad and a basket and maybe 3-5 tall trees in your way.

While you do have to mix in some interesting lines to maneuver the trees/branches in the end it just feels like the same hole again and again.

The lack of elevation here is confusing considering the location. They found a big flat field in the hills and put a course there, that's disappointing.

Some serious tweeners from the long tees. I had a ton of short upshots on the par 4's.

Atmosphere - There are some drainage issues in the field though keep in mind I played it after we've had some serious amounts of rain.

There was also damage from the bluegrass fest they just had on the grounds which took away from some of the beauty.
Other Thoughts: I wish they could of mixed up the course more. It's great they had this open area to create some good more open holes but if they could have gone in to the woods at all it would of really made this course shine.

As it sits now it's just kind of mundane. More trees have been planted so in the future it might be a bit more interesting but as of now it's a one trick pony.

If you're tired of playing the same technical style NC golf over and over again it's a nice change of pace. I recommend checking out at least once.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Ball Golf style course done well

1    5/14/2013   5/15/2013
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 102  Reviewed: 99  Exp: 7.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I want to preface this review by stating that this course is atypical of NC courses. It's mostly open in a park-style setting. An impeccably manicured lawn dotted with great, old pines. This is the best ball golf style DG course I've ever played, save for Winthrop Gold layout (I'd personally would rather play here more often than not).

The tees and signage are immaculate. The people that built them are well-deserving of sexual favors. Seriously, these concrete tees were plucked from my trees and installed here. Not only do they function superbly but just look nice. Many holes have separate tees for red or blue and these are easy to find and differentiate from afar thanks to the posts being painted red or blue accordingly and the paths to the tees from the holes being mowed as short as the fairways. The surrounding 'rough' is meadow type fare that really frames the fairways. It's not very tall and difficult but probably not impossible to lose a disc in.

The course is mostly open. This will irk many a NC golfer that associates high-level disc golf with the tight wooded courses of Charlotte. I'm generally of that ilk but I appreciate variety and to me this course is a great example of an open course done properly. It has good length and use of what elevation there is. Mandos here and there help force certain lines to break up the monotony of just ripping hard without fear of consequences. The course itself is mostly separated from other park users so you don't have those distractions.
Cons: I wish the course used mandos a little bit more to force certain lines because this course does suffer a lot from 'straightness' and also to persuade throws away from other tees/golfers.

Big arms are going to find this course nonchalant and easy, probably pitch and putt variety. If the rough could somehow be more punishing or maybe even OB, that would greatly boost the challenge of the course for advanced and better players. Not sure how you'd make it more punishing because I rather enjoy finding my errant throws amidst a sea of bluebells. Maybe strategic planting of bushy trees here and there would help.

Maybe more trash cans?
Other Thoughts: I'm bullish about this course. Sometimes it's nice to get out of the tight woods and air discs out. Courses like this are great for those without fields to practice in b/c it is really difficult to improve your form when you're worried about missing that tight gap between the trees. Tees, signs, flow, navigation, etc this course hits it out of the park. I'd be ecstatic if the guys that put these tees down would come to my local courses and do the same.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


5+    12/28/2012   5/1/2013
Review By: bradharris
Played: 74  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.5 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a very well maintained course, with excellent tee pads, informative signs (with additional pro tips and facts about the course), and mowed grass.

Although it is set in a large multi-use park, the course makes use of it's own plot of land so that there is no threat of interference from other park users.

The design does well to make use of what it has. Limited elevation is used to create a couple fun elevated tee shots. The trees are used to help force some different lines.
Cons: The landscape leaves a lot to be desired here. While the course does make use of a little bit of elevation, the majority of the course is flat. The trees help force some lines, but there is very little punishment for missing a line. The lack of any sort of undergrowth means that nearly every throw will land in grass with a clean stance and a nice recovery line towards the basket.
Other Thoughts: To me, Catawba meadows defines the "typical" course. It is well-kept, and certainly a lot of fun to play. But without any real identity or wow-factor, it's pretty forgettable.

If you're in the area and looking for a place to play, you will not be disappointed, but it's not a course I would go out of my way to play.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome course in a NICE park.

5+    12/29/2012   12/29/2012
Review By: ill4mation
Played: 32  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 23.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I have been playing this course alot in the last 2-3 months. I just wish I had found it sooner.

CM is laid out in a very nice, well kept, park. That being said, the course is also very well kept, they even have brooms hanging on some tee signs to brush off the teepads if needed. Speaking of the teepads, they are quite possibly the NICEST I have ever teed off of. They give you plenty of runup, are flat as they should be, and some have retaining walls where needed.

The course itself is a mostly open, field type course with old growth trees and some elevation for that extra challenge. I did just say that it is a mostly open course but there are trees to hit if you throw an errant shot and a creek that runs behind hole 2 and through holes 3, 17, and 18 that can come into play also. New tee signs have been put up recently which are a nice addition. If you are on the fence about going out of the way to play this course, DO IT! Its well worth the trip.
Cons: The only con I can think of is there are no restrooms once you leave hole 1 so you better handle that before you head out.
Other Thoughts: This course is like a walk in the park because, well, it really is.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    12/18/2012   12/18/2012
Review By: JLudlam
Played: 28  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 5/18/2013
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First I feel it important to say this is my home course, I'm currently the local club president, and personally poured every tee pad with help from other club members. It has been a joy watching our little club & course grow. With the city's support and a grant from Blue Ridge Parkway Foundations Kids in Parks program a impressive renovation has recently been concluded. Upgrades/improvements include trapezoid shaped tee pads, with a launch point six feet wide tapering out to twelve feet wide at the rear and twelve feet of run up. Addition of benches and retaining walls around the tee pads that required them also make great seats as well. Kiosk located between am/pro #1 tee pads houses top notch scorecards with a map of the course & score card on one side & pictures of indigenous fauna and flora on the other.
On to the course review, It's very open, it's where I learned, so imagine my surprise when I played a wooded course. Still all in all a great place to "drive for show". Oh, I still hit these trees too. I've either seen or heard of aces on 1,2,3,9,11,14,16 & 18 so it can be done. Course & club host several charity tourney's each year and a PDGA "C" tier event is currently being held each year also. City planted some trees last year which will come into play as they grow & fill out. Things are looking up at Catawba Meadows!
Cons: Currently no bathroom once you have begun your round & left parking lot area, however it has been tossed around by city Parks & Recreation to add a restroom.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.