Morganton, NC 
Catawba Meadows Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #1 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 201ft.   3 / 345ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Red Tee Sign



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Change o' Pace

1    11/1/2013   11/11/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 176  Reviewed: 175  Exp: 3.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Plenty of space to air it out. For those that like the sight of a disc in flight, this a prime location. Though there are some shorter holes, they are all basically out in the open with that will impede a preferred flight path. Every shot is basically straight ahead, (It has to be, without fairways, if the pin was to the right or left of the teepad, then essentially it would just mean the tee was pointing in the wrong direction) so throwers can feel free to let their drives rip.

There is variety of hole, however, as distances range from under 300 feet(and under 200 from the short tees) to just about 600. It's an absolutely fantastic place to work on your drivers, learn them, and watch them fly. With the various distances, you should get a chance to use a bunch of them.

And even though the majority of the holes are in one field, it doesn't feel that way. It's a big field, and there is more than enough room. It helps that the scenery is so appealing. Imagine a perfectly flat meadow, scattered with old pines under a backdrop of rising mountain. It may not be the vision of a challenging disc course, but it's a pretty nice place to be and the majority of the park and course is just very well kept. Throw in fantastic tees. Huge trapezoids with fort-like, log, retaining walls. An absolutely joy to throw off of.
Cons: It's obviously not the most challenging course. Most holes don't feature a fairway as much as a direction to throw. It's also very flat, with only a few holes boasting even minimal elevation. While I do enjoy mixing it up with an open course now and again, they aren't typically the courses that I want to return to again and again. For advanced players, it will seem more like practice.

It could also use some next tee arrows. Generally the next tee is just the closest one. Finish a hole, spin around in a 360 and you will see the next tee. But there are a few places where there is more than one contender for the spinners destination. Even if there is one obvious choice, I'd rather not be wondering on the walk to the tee, as often happened here. (Even if I was correct most of the time.)
Other Thoughts: An awesome first course. Beginners will love learning to play here, as they figure out how to work discs in frustration-free environment. And when they master that, there are advanced tees to step up to. Glad I stopped here. It was a nice change of pace in-between Glenn Hilton and Richmond Hill. Would recommend it for both new players, and anyone that needs to step out of the woods, even if only for a single round.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

The anomaly course

1    7/7/2013   7/8/2013
Review By: New013
Played: 136  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Layout - It's a more open/sparse tree style course. Mostly straighter shots where you have a few options on how to maneuver the trees.

Two pads on 12 of the holes. The longer pad usually added some length and put you in a more awkward tee position cutting down on your options.

The pads were placed pretty well considering what they had to work with. Every shot is pretty much straight ahead with no real mixture but the tee placements made you consider which route you were taking and how you would work the disc.

I like how it mixes up some long bombs with shorter holes. NC has a severe lack of courses that let you rip so it's nice to find one.

There's some elevation change on a few holes, nothing really major though.

Course flows decently well, a few not short walks but nothing long. There is one part where you run in to 5 & 17's pad very close together that could cause confusion.

They used mandos to create more difficulty and mix it up a bit. I'm not sure I'm a fan but they had to do something.

Equipment - Might be the nicest concrete pads I've ever seen. They're huge trapezoids. The signs had pictures and info on each hole, they were nice.

Atmosphere - Really nice looking park overall, it's an open park with huge trees scattered about. The disc golf course seems to use a part of the park that is separate from the rest. There is a walking trail around it but that doesn't really come in to play that much. There's some other nice facilities including bathroom and water at the parking lot.
Cons: Layout - It's great you get to let the disc fly here but after a while it just gets boring. Every hole is pretty much the same design. There's a pad and a basket and maybe 3-5 tall trees in your way.

While you do have to mix in some interesting lines to maneuver the trees/branches in the end it just feels like the same hole again and again.

The lack of elevation here is confusing considering the location. They found a big flat field in the hills and put a course there, that's disappointing.

Some serious tweeners from the long tees. I had a ton of short upshots on the par 4's.

Atmosphere - There are some drainage issues in the field though keep in mind I played it after we've had some serious amounts of rain.

There was also damage from the bluegrass fest they just had on the grounds which took away from some of the beauty.
Other Thoughts: I wish they could of mixed up the course more. It's great they had this open area to create some good more open holes but if they could have gone in to the woods at all it would of really made this course shine.

As it sits now it's just kind of mundane. More trees have been planted so in the future it might be a bit more interesting but as of now it's a one trick pony.

If you're tired of playing the same technical style NC golf over and over again it's a nice change of pace. I recommend checking out at least once.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


5+    12/28/2012   5/1/2013
Review By: bradharris
Played: 70  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.2 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a very well maintained course, with excellent tee pads, informative signs (with additional pro tips and facts about the course), and mowed grass.

Although it is set in a large multi-use park, the course makes use of it's own plot of land so that there is no threat of interference from other park users.

The design does well to make use of what it has. Limited elevation is used to create a couple fun elevated tee shots. The trees are used to help force some different lines.
Cons: The landscape leaves a lot to be desired here. While the course does make use of a little bit of elevation, the majority of the course is flat. The trees help force some lines, but there is very little punishment for missing a line. The lack of any sort of undergrowth means that nearly every throw will land in grass with a clean stance and a nice recovery line towards the basket.
Other Thoughts: To me, Catawba meadows defines the "typical" course. It is well-kept, and certainly a lot of fun to play. But without any real identity or wow-factor, it's pretty forgettable.

If you're in the area and looking for a place to play, you will not be disappointed, but it's not a course I would go out of my way to play.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Wide Open

5+    1/20/2011   1/24/2011
Review By: digital
Played: 53  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/27/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course for practicing different shots without worrying about trees. It's virtually wide open with old pines scattered throughout. Never gets too tight or technical, so you aren't forced to throw much of a variety. While it is open for the most part, there is good use of trees on many holes. You can rip it off the tee from the blues quite often. Several ace runs and good birdie opportunities on plenty of holes. A few par 4's that also provide a great chance for birdie, perhaps an eagle. While being open makes things easier, watch out of the wind picks up. This course can go from one that you'd expect to shoot under par in good conditions to a struggle in the wind.
Cons: Tees get pretty muddy. Basically unplayable from the tee after a good rain and it lasts for days. I find myself throwing just beside the tee more often than not. Some mulch or fine gravel would do wonders for this place. That's me asking for a simple solution. 16 tends to get pretty muddy around the basket as well compared to any other spot on the course. If it's a heavy rain, you don't want to leave a putt inside 15 feet or you're getting your feet wet.

There is one trash can that I can recall on the actual course, which is after 9. That's the ideal spot for the can but a few more would be nice. There are people lazy enough to leave trash on the course. Trash cans being visible and more accessible would help.

No benches. But there is one on the walking path near 12? Makes no sense. I suppose folks who are exercising like to sit more than disc golfers? No, I don't.
Other Thoughts: This course is just fun. Not as stressful as your typical course. You can build your confidence here for sure. I see it as a great place for beginners to come work on their game without being discouraged. It's also a breeze to play. I get through in an hour or so every time. Playing solo, you could get through within an hour. Doesn't seem that the city put much money into this project. I will give some credit to folks doing their own work out there. Somebody put up some bag hangers on the signage. It looks like the locals care about the course, just not enough funding. This place has more potential than it currently shows, so I feel that my score has room for improvement as well. As-is, I can't give it much more. Regardless, if you want to practice your shots or perhaps make up your own course, that too is possible. It's wide open. Lots of possibilities. I only see it getting better.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/20/2010   4/20/2010
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 160  Reviewed: 156  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/23/2011
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun, open course in a great athletic complex.
- Course is mostly open. Biggest obstacle on course is trees, with baskets/tees/fairways strategically aligned to create challenging shots. Course is mostly flat; although, it's nice 2 of the 3 (slightly) downhill tee shots are on longer holes. Thick brush & creek come in to play for several holes (#2, 3, 17 & 18), as well as mandos on several holes, which is both a good and bad thing.
- There are some really good holes on the course. #17 long for me stands out as the course's signature hole. 537 ft dogleg left, with the creek/brush hugging the right side of the fairway the entire length of the hole. There's a perfectly placed mando, keeping players from cutting the corner. Basket is protected by several trees, forcing players to make 2 good throws to get within putting range. The other holes that play near the basket are also good.
- Course is not overly difficult, but it does require definite shot-making to score low, especially from the long tees. Short tees are going to present plenty of birdie chances.
- Course is definitely beginner-friendly. Lack of obstacles, length (from short tees) will appeal to newbies.
- Great amenities and aesthetics. Very nice, clean park. Even though majority of holes run along road, plenty of nature feel around you. Park, as a whole, has anything and everything you'd want. Along the DG portion of the park, you'll come across restrooms, large picnic shelters, and a walking trail.
Cons: Only a few issues, but they all make a real impact on the course.
- A real lack of variety for the holes. I don't mind the course being relatively wide open when compared to most of the wooded courses in the region. It's a nice change of pace. The issue is that too many of the holes are straight. There are very few doglegs. As mentioned, course uses its limited elevation as good as possible.
- Course overuses, or misuses, the mandos. There are 2 double mandos in a 3 hole stretch (#9 & 11). Mandos can be used in a better way, such as creating doglegs, which is used to perfection on #17 long. Instead of using the mandos for more straight shot, they could have been used to create/force several more doglegs, leading to more variety.
- Course needs teepads and tee signs. Dirt tee pads are in good condition on most holes, but they're uneven on enough, that's it's noticeable. On most holes, multiple baskets are visible, so tee signs would fix the problem. On one hole I threw to the wrong basket because two baskets were visible, about the same distance away from the tee pad.
- The grass/rough is too tall. The grass has been cut short on some holes to create fairways. Other holes, it hasn't been cut at all, meaning these "fairways" have grass the same height as the rough on other holes. On some holes, the grass is tall enough that you're spending extra time searching for discs, not being able to see them until you come upon them.
Other Thoughts: This is a great, change of pace course for those looking for a break from all the wooded courses. It still presents enough challenges that you won't feel like you're wasting your time.
- If the course improves any of the problems listed above (tee pads, signs, tall grass, etc), it'll be even better. A positive aspect of not having teepads is that there's opportunity for some holes to be moved/changed with it being a major problem.
- There are a couple holes that you can empty the bag to practice throwing drives - #1, 6 & 8.
- The short tee pads will probably be too easy for advanced players, but perfect for beginners. I played the longs and had enough birdie chances and scramble to save par holes that I felt it was a great mix.
- Anyone driving down I-40 should make a stop here. It's also close enough to Charlotte, Asheville and the Triad to make the trip. Playing this course and Glenn Hilton in Hickory 30 minutes away would make for a great 1-2 punch for a DG outing.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.