Morganton, NC 
Catawba Meadows Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #8 (Taken 11/2009)
4 / 526ft.   4 / 526ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Red/Blue Tee



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Go early!!!

1    8/23/2014   8/26/2014
Review By: Patton82
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is nice...AMAZING concrete tee pads!! All of shots are one opportunity to just launch it as hard as you can...2 shots are 450ft+.
Cons: Absolutely NO shade, so either go early or bring plenty of water and sunscreen.
Other Thoughts: Great course for touching up on your distance as well as accuracy!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Let 'er rip

1    7/13/2014   7/14/2014
Review By: jeffboi
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 0.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wide open and tons of fun ripping it. Excellent tee pads and baskets - well maintained all the way around. Remember to look for the next tee on the sign before you tee off - then navigation is easy too. Great course for beginners, and fun for advanced players - you will spend almost no time looking for lost disks.
Cons: A bit on the easy side

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Wide Open NC

1    11/1/2013   11/7/2013
Review By: pfpro
Played: 46  Reviewed: 36
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great signs, if you are just starting out, some tips and information about the biology of the park. If you're there for the DG, it has distance, major obstacles and direction to the next tee.
- Park is super clean, and almost only for DG. There is a walking path, but it doesn't really come into play. The "meadow" was mowed, no real issue with losing discs in long grass.
- Nice tees, retaining walls serve as benches in the first half.
- Practice putting basket, restrooms and drinking fountains where you park. Playground equipment if you have younger kids.
- Decent flow - only a few holes are confusing (because you can see several baskets from the tee). Once you play it once, I'm sure it's not a problem.
- Decent use of elevation.
Cons: - It gets boring (I'm from the Raleigh area, and have grown up on trees). If you can throw 300' with some aim/consistency, at least half of the holes are pretty much wide open. There really is no "rough" - if there were brush, or if they didn't flay mow the meadow, you could maybe shape some fairways, island greens, etc.
- It is kind of far off the interstate, probably 10-15 minutes depending on lights. It's not necessarily a course you could jump off the interstate, play a quick round and jump back on.
Other Thoughts: I played this course with two friends who don't play a ton. It was right about their speed. I shot a par, even though I had several throws where I didn't have a great tee shot. This is not pitch and putt, you can use drivers (and actually can rip them since there are very few trees). If you were learning, this is a forgiving course where you can feel good (although it may give a false sense of security before playing the "typical" NC course). I did like the run of holes 15-18, they were slightly different as the trees came into play (having to shape shots to avoid some of the lower limbs). I would stop and play here again. I "inflated" my score by 1/2 due to the very nice signs and general cleanliness of the park.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Practice Makes Perfect

5+    6/2/2012   6/10/2012
Review By: WreckDirector
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Newly built, nice baskets, good for newcomers to the sport due to mostly open fairways, rarely have to wait, and easy to find.
Cons: Not much of a challenge (too open), no tee pads (muddy holes after a light rain), grass needs to be cut more often than not, and hole 16 can become a swamp after a descent rain.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course to practice on or to take new comers to the sport so that they can get use to it without losing their (or your) discs.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Still Growing Up

2-4    4/21/2012   4/24/2012
Review By: vonDrehle
Played: 43  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/15/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - This is a great course for beginners and those that want to work on specific parts of their game without the narrow fairways of most North Carolina courses.
- Several holes have long teepads and many of them not only add distance but they also require a different type of shot than you would use from the shorts.
- Nice practice basket with enough room to get some good practice putts in.
- The course is easy to navigate with tee signs at each hole and has nice DISCatcher Pro baskets.
- The course makes use of the occasional mando which keeps the course from getting too repetitive. (I'm told only to use the white signs for mandos the blue paint on trees are old)
- The course is in a very well kept park with nice facilities including some sort of rope course for the brave that I wouldn't dare attempt. Would be a great place to bring the family out for a round and a day at the park.
- The teepads are very nice and each allows you to take several routes for your drive.
- Each hole now has a very nice teesign at both the long and short tees. The signs give information about the hole as well as cool park information and disc golf tips for the particular hole in question.
Cons: - Many holes have different routes you can take but no holes really forced you to get out of your comfort zone with a different style of shot.
Other Thoughts: The courses name is Catawba Meadows so as you would expect you will be playing in an open field littered with trees. While it might not hold much challenge to the more advanced golfer it is still a great course to work on different aspects of your game. This course is still very new and overtime with some local love I see it getting even better. So if you are in the area I would definitely recommend stopping by and giving it a try.

**Update 5/15/2013: Teepads and Benches added to the course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

bland.. but bomberable

2-4    8/6/2011   8/6/2011
Review By: mx23ang
Played: 48  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/26/2012
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: DISCatcher baskets
decent sinage giving length, no map but you dont need one just throw it straight! On like every hole haha where is the diversity??
-Two sets of tees with concrete now so I updated my review to a 3.0
bathroom and water fountain with a mini pro shop, very nice overall park
Cons: -No wooded fairways at all!!! Several pines dot the fairways but if you hit your line they really shouldnt come into play
-No epic/scenic factor here for me because of the overall flat land and no wooded/water/boulders in play
-Its like so strait and no difference in any of your shots, bland and really boring unless you can throw one like 350' dead strait then this is your ace run course.
-17 is a ridicuosly stupid hole, a 537' par 3(do what??!!) that has a mando which doesnt allow you to even have a chance at a 3, its not fair at all. If your gonna have a par 3 that long at least make it playable to air it out, were not all pro's.
-I began playing on super tight rather short courses so this is the polar opposite of what I look for in a dg course
Other Thoughts: It also felt like you walked a pretty good ways after every hole, to be wide open you would think the tees are in rather close proximity to the baskets
And if you are going to make trees obstacles, you should have them placed where the trunk comes into play, not the lower hanging branches like #1 is tucked under. Its rather stupid to have a good drive and have no chance at a birdie because the branches are so low they are blocking your view of the basket for birdie!

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/22/2010   11/23/2010
Review By: catfishhunter
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide open course, good place to rip some drives, some nice "ace runs" holes. Long and short tee pads. Playing the long tees feels like a completely different course from the shorts which I think is great.
There are also lots of fields on the property which makes it a great place to practice. I like to go out and practice in the field and then play a round or two. There are restrooms and water fountain also well.
Cons: Most holes from the short tee pads are straight. You don't really need a variety of shots to play well here. In the summer time the grass can grow pretty high which is a little bit annoying
Other Thoughts: The tee pads are natural which I actually prefer but they can get very wet and muddy after it rains. I bought some cleats for $15 which solves the problem.

I only rated this course a 3 because it's pretty basic. It's not very technical. If you've got a big arm you'll most likely find it a little easy. Some of the holes can seem a little long for a beginner but there aren't a lot of places to get in trouble.
This is my home course and I enjoy playing here but I consider it more of a practice course. If I want to really challenge myself I'll play at Glen Hilton Park in Hickory or go down to Charlotte. However, if you're in the area you won't be disappointed.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Holy Mando

2-4    3/5/2010   5/5/2010
Review By: _.-Dut-._
Played: 50  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 15.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Very attractive course with good course design that takes advantage of the parks elevation changes.
- Great use of Mandos, there is alot of double mandos on this course but they are all very fair and add to the challenge of the course quite a bit.
- Easy to navigate, and multiple Teepads for several holes.
- Clean bathrooms and a nice gazebo right at hole one.
- Great for beginners and more advanced players alike.
Cons:
- Natural teepads.
- Lack of Benches and trashcans throughout course.
- The teesigns are sufficient but could use an upgrade.
Other Thoughts: At first glance I was afraid that this course was going to become repetitive as most of it is set out in a field, with what appears to be few trees. I was pleasantly surprised to find that this isnt the case at all. The course designer did a great job at using everything the park gave him, and put in several mandos that increased the challenge of the course. I would reccommend playing it to anyone thinking about it.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 more open than most in the area

1    3/29/2010   5/1/2010
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 713  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Posts have been added to tees; with blue painted tops for long and red for short.
A solid 3 rated course; nothing brutal (like a number of the Charlotte courses); but, overall, a nice, ball golf type of feel.
Elevation and trees used well.
I enjoyed the mandos; and from what other reviewers have said; I believe we played all of them. (There are, of course, players who find mandos to be kind of gimmicky; and one of our group of four is one of these players....however, I'm the one who missed three of them off the tee; and I still enjoyed them). A just missed mado forced me to make a nicely executed, off hand (lefty for me), forehand shot to save par.
Missing a mando, will force you to execute some unique shots....
We played even holes long tees, and odd, short; thus, getting a feel for both. (Some tees same for both). Enjoyed both sets of tees. Somewhat of a bomber course from longs; and the youngest member of our crew made up ground on the long tees. (Half of the holes 350+ from long tees with 2 at 500+ and one 609 ft.)
Counting the mandos and some other tunnel line designs; Catawba has some definite signature type holes on it.
We did not really struggle with any navigational issues. Pathways to next basket must be worn in well enough....
No tall grass issues either; but we were here at the end of March...before it had a chance to grow much. I may imagine it would add another degree of toughness to upshots (shooting from tall grass inhibits your shots some times; and, I have enjoyed some designer's intentional use of this...but, I can be weird in this regard). I kind of feel a designer needs to use what he has to work with....
Cons: Natural tees were very muddy and slippery.
Course is somewhat plain, but this is relative to the great ones not far away. Most players would find Catawba comparable to a fairly top flight course; especially if mandos are played.....To sum this up; if you have a 300 foot drive or so dialed in; you are reaching most pins. Long tees, long shots; will be 300 ft. drive and upshot and a 3... Therefore, gold level players will not be impressed; and for blue level, course will seem moderately challenging and kind of plain. (We played best shot doubles here and were quite a bit under par; but, I also believe that of our group of four; two of us, 900+ rated players; that there is the possibility we all could have been over par from long tees; so, do not expect an easy course by any means.)
Other Thoughts: This course really does have a pretty nice ball golf type of feel to it. Rustic and yet manicured. The sign for the park kind of relays this info in a way. A very nice, and colorful sign; and yet, using natural stone....i.e. rustic and yet manicured....

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Park Course

2-4    11/15/2009   11/17/2009
Review By: DiscChainBasket18
Played: 78  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 10.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Clean, new park with large gazebos. Air conditioned restrooms with running water. Large parking lot. Nice new tee signs on red course placed out of the way of the tee pad. Brand new Innova DisCatchers. Easy walk with intuitive basket/tee box placement. There are many 'mando's to break up the repetition. The tee box markers are angled correctly towards the target on all holes. This makes it easy to spot the pin. A course map is handy but not totally necessary.
Cons: Grass/dirt tee pads. Tee signs on the blue course are a little weak compared to the red (hand-written cards stapled to a post). Course layout has many similar looking shots. Not much elevation change. Need benches & trash cans (although I didn't see a lot of litter). There seem to be a lot of 'mando' gaps to hit. But no 'drop zone' area for the shot if you miss the mando. Re-tee? On hole #2 there is a small creek with thick shule directly behind the basket. Dont throw too long! #17 blue is a par 3. This hole is marked at 537'. It should be a par 4 as it is very difficult to get to the basket in one throw from the tee pad. Blue tee pads throw over the red pads on some holes.
Other Thoughts: Very nice course with relatively easy navigation. The layout is about as good as it could be, given the available land & location. The walkways surrounding the course give a lot of exposure to non-golfers. My favorite hole: #8

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.