Disc Golf Store
Morganton, NC 
Catawba Meadows Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #10 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 226ft.   3 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Red Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Awesome course in a NICE park.

5+    12/29/2012   12/29/2012
Review By: ill4mation
Played: 32  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 23.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I have been playing this course alot in the last 2-3 months. I just wish I had found it sooner.

CM is laid out in a very nice, well kept, park. That being said, the course is also very well kept, they even have brooms hanging on some tee signs to brush off the teepads if needed. Speaking of the teepads, they are quite possibly the NICEST I have ever teed off of. They give you plenty of runup, are flat as they should be, and some have retaining walls where needed.

The course itself is a mostly open, field type course with old growth trees and some elevation for that extra challenge. I did just say that it is a mostly open course but there are trees to hit if you throw an errant shot and a creek that runs behind hole 2 and through holes 3, 17, and 18 that can come into play also. New tee signs have been put up recently which are a nice addition. If you are on the fence about going out of the way to play this course, DO IT! Its well worth the trip.
Cons: The only con I can think of is there are no restrooms once you leave hole 1 so you better handle that before you head out.
Other Thoughts: This course is like a walk in the park because, well, it really is.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    12/18/2012   12/18/2012
Review By: JLudlam
Played: 28  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 5/18/2013
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First I feel it important to say this is my home course, I'm currently the local club president, and personally poured every tee pad with help from other club members. It has been a joy watching our little club & course grow. With the city's support and a grant from Blue Ridge Parkway Foundations Kids in Parks program a impressive renovation has recently been concluded. Upgrades/improvements include trapezoid shaped tee pads, with a launch point six feet wide tapering out to twelve feet wide at the rear and twelve feet of run up. Addition of benches and retaining walls around the tee pads that required them also make great seats as well. Kiosk located between am/pro #1 tee pads houses top notch scorecards with a map of the course & score card on one side & pictures of indigenous fauna and flora on the other.
On to the course review, It's very open, it's where I learned, so imagine my surprise when I played a wooded course. Still all in all a great place to "drive for show". Oh, I still hit these trees too. I've either seen or heard of aces on 1,2,3,9,11,14,16 & 18 so it can be done. Course & club host several charity tourney's each year and a PDGA "C" tier event is currently being held each year also. City planted some trees last year which will come into play as they grow & fill out. Things are looking up at Catawba Meadows!
Cons: Currently no bathroom once you have begun your round & left parking lot area, however it has been tossed around by city Parks & Recreation to add a restroom.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Catawba Meadows

2-4    9/23/2012   9/24/2012
Review By: Hornberger
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very nice course to step back and throw it hard! It's a lot of fun to work on your distance and technique, while still having trees to consider when picking your lines. Holes 4 - 18 are field with tree holes. The grass was freshly mowed when I played, making for ease when looking for my discs. Course is well laid out. Very nice, flat course! Reach back and bomb it!
Cons: Would love to see true tee pads vs. ground and markers. Markings were sometime difficult to find the first go through
Other Thoughts: I happened on this course by chance while planning a zip line tour for my kids. The park, itself, is a ton of fun, if you have kids. And, if your kids like to play disc golf, Catawba Meadows is a gold mine.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Catawba Meadows Review

5+    9/5/2012   9/7/2012
Review By: billtvshow
Played: 42  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/1/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My background on this course: This is my home course, which I have played 100+ times.
-Baskets: The baskets are Innova Discatcher Pros. They are very visible, in good shape, and catch quite well.
-Tees: The tee pads are brushed, gigantic trapezoid concrete slabs. With run-ups perhaps a bit more important on this lengthy course, the size of these pads is a bonus. These tees are brand new as of October 2012. They were funded by the city and installed by the local club. Many of them have retaining walls that can serve as a bench.
-Signage: Each teeing area has a painted post (red for amateur, blue for pro, both for shared) with a sign attached to it. The signs have a nature trail theme with information about various topics and have nice maps of each hole. These sign posts also have brooms hanging from them in areas where pine needles are an issue.
-Maintenance: The course is pretty well maintained and is mowed on a reasonable schedule, especially given the size of the area to be mowed. In early 2013, a tremendous amount of poison oak and undergrowth was cleared around holes 16 and 17. When the basket on hole 8 was destroyed by a falling tree, it was replaced in a very timely fashion, so there is an effort on the part of the Parks & Rec department to really keep the course in playable shape.
-Local Support: There is a local disc golf group who helps maintain the course as well. They assist in clearing the course of debris after storms and with construction projects on the course. They also were responsible for erecting the practice basket.
-Design: The course has a lot of wide open space, but almost every tee shot has some sort of obstacle to navigate and the course will often leave you with the feeling that you played a slightly more wooded course than it would have seemed upon first glance. In other words, the designer did an exceptional job in utilizing the property available to him.
-Tee Selection: Having amateur tees helps make the course a bit more beginner friendly, as the pro tees heavily favor players who can consistently throw over 300 feet. I have observed a tremendous amount of beginners playing the course off of the red tees, so this is a positive aspect in growing the sport in this area.
-Alternate Pins: Three holes (1, 3, 17) have seen the addition of alternate pins, which helps break the monotony for those of us who play the course frequently, giving us new shots to attempt.
-Other Amenities: The course is located in one of the nicest parks in the region. There are three massive shelters right next to the first hole, in fact one of the shelters falls right between the practice basket and first tees and is an ideal place for staging tournaments. There's also a men and women's bathroom building near the parking area / playground. The practice basket itself is a nice green rimmed Discatcher located in the most logical location it could have been placed; out of the way of other people in the park, but not too far from the first tees. There is also a huge kiosk with course information and fantastic scorecards. The nearby office for The Beanstalk Journey zipline course has a small assortment of discs for sell, but it is only open intermittently, mostly on the weekends. Lost discs are often turned in / kept there as well. The course itself contains 4 benches on Holes 4/17, 8, 12, and 16 and a trash can on Hole 9.
Cons: -Navigation: While there is a nice map of the course located on DGCR, the course can still be a bit difficult to navigate for first time players. The new tee pads should get you pointed in the right direction toward the baskets, but occasionally it can be difficult to find the next tee correctly.
-Nature: The area around 17 tee / 4 tee / 16 basket floods even after moderate rainfall and sometimes the basket on 16 cannot be reached without getting your shoes wet. Consequently, mosquitoes are abundant here. Consistent mowing has eliminated a lot of the poison oak in the open spaces of the course, but it still thrives on the occasional tree and in the brushy areas along the stream. The city recently installed a ton of new trees, quite strictly following the original grid of the tree nursery that this course is built around. In a few cases, trees were added that significantly impacted the course, most notably on the tee shots of holes 6 and 15. If these trees survive the inevitable beating they will receive and successfully grow up and fill out, they will more or less block the originally intended tee shot lines completely. At some point in the distant future, this may have to be addressed.
-Other Amenities: Since the course is a full 18 hole loop, you do not return to the bathrooms until the end of the round. Some people have mentioned this as a con. I would say it is a minor one, but there has been discussion about how and where to put some sort of bathroom in the middle of the course.
-Outside Interference: With this being a public park, you may occasionally find some non-disc golfers on the course. This happens most frequently around Hole 1, when people who rent the nearby shelters spill their activities over into the area around the practice basket and even into Hole 1 fairway. Hopefully the new kiosk will help disseminate information about disc golf and reduce this impact. It is worth noting that the course is usually closed for apx. a week leading up to and during the City's Bluegrass Festival. Visit this site to find out the dates: http://redwhiteandbluegrassfestival.com
Other Thoughts: Mandos: There are only 2 officially recognized and signed mandos on the course (a double on #11, and one on #17), indicated by white arrows. Any blue arrows you see spray painted on the trees are mandos used by the club for various events, so you are not required to play those. There are two yellow blocks installed into the ground denoting the drop zones for both of these mandos.
Least Favorite Hole: I'm saying #11 mainly because the mando is borderline unnecessary. Holes #13 and 15 feel both the most bland and most similar of any two holes on the course and would get my vote otherwise.
Favorite Hole: I love hole #8. It is one of the few holes with a significant elevation change and has a beautifully framed, tight tee shot that opens into more or less a meadow, perhaps invoking the namesake of the course.
Outlook: The course has shown much improvement recently and its outlook is exceptional. There are some minor things that could be addressed, such as placing some sort of arrows or markers on the baskets to show where the next tee pads are.
Most of the greatest courses in the world have an amazing balance of wooded to open and hilly to flat holes, among other things. Catawba Meadows will always be mostly flat and mostly open and that is the character of the course and that can't really be changed, consequently I feel that this aspect somewhat limits the maximum score that the course can achieve.
The course has recently experienced, significant upgrades and is approaching a level of quality that it is going to be hard pressed to move beyond within the scope of a public course. I encourage previous reviewers to revisit this course and update your reviews.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Simple, Rewarding course

1    5/27/2012   6/17/2012
Review By: dtomb
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well marked tee boxes, family friendly environment, easy course to get the hang of, usually well kept fairways, nice catchers.
Cons: Very little terrain variation, natural tee boxes have the potential to be muddy, running track crosses the course at points (can hold up the game).
Other Thoughts: Overall a wonderfully simple course that is exactly as it appears, many long straight holes for you to practice your driving. Great course for newcomers to the sport, but it probably won't be very challenging for experienced players.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice pines and meadows

1    11/19/2009   5/31/2010
Review By: Olorin
Played: 303  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.2 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
*Terrain beauty. Most of the course is played in grassy meadows with old scattered pines, and some of the fairways also have a carpet of pine needles. I really like this kind of terrain that has trees to throw around but without punishing undergrowth.
*Layout variety. 2 sets of tees.
*Length variety. Blue tees: 5 of 230-290/ 9 of 300-400/ plus some longer holes of 485, 535, 560, 610.
*Good map and scorecard online.
*Very nice, new, clean restroom
Cons:
-Highway noise. On holes 3-10 you can hear lots of traffic from a busy road and this detracts from the natural serenity of the course.
-Repetitive terrain. As much as I like the terrain, it's all the same throughout the whole course, so most of the holes look similar.
-Low fairway shape variety. Too many straight holes. Blue tees: 13 Straight/ 3 Left/ 2 Right
-Long grass. There's lots of grass and the "fairways" are mowed shorter, but the longer grass can hide discs so watch your drives carefully.
-Personally, I thought that the double mando near the basket on 11 was gimmicky
Other Thoughts:
Blue tees Course Level: Blue (most suited for Advanced players rated 950)

~There are some moderate elevation changes, ranging from 2 to 15 ft, but half of the holes are flat. Blue: 9 Flat/ 2 Up/ 7 Down.
~Tees. Since the course is new it's a wise practice not to put in permanent tees so that adjustments and tweaks can be made. Nonetheless, the current tees were inadequate. Only the front of the tee is marked. Also, they're grass and dirt, so they can get muddy if wet. I imagine that they'll eventually put in better tees after the course settles in more.
~Tee signs. Only colored posts, with a sign at hole 1, but hopefully better signs will come with time. They may well be waiting until the tees are finalized to make better signs.
~I think that the mando on 17 would be more fair if it was moved 40 ft to the left.

This is still a new course, so it has potential to get even better. Since I like this kind of terrain I'd like to play it again. It's the kind of course that's worth driving up to an hour to play, or if you're driving by on I-40 it's definitely worth stopping to get in a round.

Note: To have my reviews delivered to your Inbox join the Yahoo group "DG Course Reviews" . More detailed "Overall Rating" notes and "Hole-by-hole Ratings" are also available there in the Files section.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  

1    1/15/2010   1/17/2010
Review By: shankopotamus
Played: 26  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of open flight potential. Good use of mando's - ups the challenge level - but can easily be played casual as well.
Common sense will get you from hole to hole with ease.
Clean park! Keep it that way.
Cons: Natty pads. Need Trash cans throughout course. A bench or two would be a plus.
Other Thoughts: Really looking forward to playing this course again in the spring and summer. I live and play in Charlotte as often as possible, but will make the 90 minute drive to catch a breathe of fresh air anytime.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Room to grow

1    12/5/2009   12/6/2009
Review By: Cmdrmack
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very Clean area

Opportunity for big drives on several holes

Mandos on a number of tight shots require accuracy

A good number of forehand-friendly holes

Two different tees (Red and Blue) provide for multiple levels of difficulty

A very good use of predominantly flat terrain. The elevation changes that do exist are used very well.
Cons: Layout gets a little confusing around hole 7, doesn't flow well for the next few holes after that.

Tee Boxes are currently just two PVC Pipes stuck in the ground. This is great if you've got a big run-up, but if there's been any kind of weather slipping on the drive becomes an issue.

Mandos are inconsistently marked. Some have orange flagging tape around the trees, some are rows of little orange flags, only one hole has actual arrows.

Grass on the course is not mown often enough, can make discs difficult to find.
Other Thoughts: I'm very glad to have this 18 hole course so close to my home (less than a mile). This is a very new course with lots of room for improvement, but the play itself is top-notch. Almost every time I pass this course there is somebody playing, and frequently there are 4-5 different groups moving throughout the course.

The popularity of the course suggests to me that the City of Morganton will further invest in this course and address the concerns the public has voiced about it.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.