Morganton, NC 
Catawba Meadows Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #11 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 306ft.   3 / 306ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Red/Blue Tee: Mando gap right before you reach the basket



Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Love this course

5+    8/5/2013   7/31/2013
Review By: Warthog
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2013
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice mix of holes some long and some short. Not so many trees as to be a wall. Local to Morganton. Removed enough from walking track as to not be an issue. Mix of hills and flat. well marked. Score cards usually on site. Nice tee pads. Close to coffee shop and restaurant which are on boardwalk less than half mile away. Lots of parking, picnic shelters, restrooms, water fountain and play area for kids.
Cons: Few benches however some of the first 9 have low walls that can serve as benches. Watch your step many hidden holes in ground can turn an ankle real easy I did so going from #10 to #11. Hole 17 has a disc eating problem on right I have lost 3 all on this hole. There are no real problems with this course when the weather is pleasant.
Other Thoughts: Of only 5 played this is my favorite. The target on hole #8 has recently been moved back into the usual position. The problem during the rainy summer has resolved itself and the course is once again loads of fun to play.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Ball Golf style course done well

1    5/14/2013   5/15/2013
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 100  Reviewed: 98  Exp: 7.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I want to preface this review by stating that this course is atypical of NC courses. It's mostly open in a park-style setting. An impeccably manicured lawn dotted with great, old pines. This is the best ball golf style DG course I've ever played, save for Winthrop Gold layout (I'd personally would rather play here more often than not).

The tees and signage are immaculate. The people that built them are well-deserving of sexual favors. Seriously, these concrete tees were plucked from my trees and installed here. Not only do they function superbly but just look nice. Many holes have separate tees for red or blue and these are easy to find and differentiate from afar thanks to the posts being painted red or blue accordingly and the paths to the tees from the holes being mowed as short as the fairways. The surrounding 'rough' is meadow type fare that really frames the fairways. It's not very tall and difficult but probably not impossible to lose a disc in.

The course is mostly open. This will irk many a NC golfer that associates high-level disc golf with the tight wooded courses of Charlotte. I'm generally of that ilk but I appreciate variety and to me this course is a great example of an open course done properly. It has good length and use of what elevation there is. Mandos here and there help force certain lines to break up the monotony of just ripping hard without fear of consequences. The course itself is mostly separated from other park users so you don't have those distractions.
Cons: I wish the course used mandos a little bit more to force certain lines because this course does suffer a lot from 'straightness' and also to persuade throws away from other tees/golfers.

Big arms are going to find this course nonchalant and easy, probably pitch and putt variety. If the rough could somehow be more punishing or maybe even OB, that would greatly boost the challenge of the course for advanced and better players. Not sure how you'd make it more punishing because I rather enjoy finding my errant throws amidst a sea of bluebells. Maybe strategic planting of bushy trees here and there would help.

Maybe more trash cans?
Other Thoughts: I'm bullish about this course. Sometimes it's nice to get out of the tight woods and air discs out. Courses like this are great for those without fields to practice in b/c it is really difficult to improve your form when you're worried about missing that tight gap between the trees. Tees, signs, flow, navigation, etc this course hits it out of the park. I'd be ecstatic if the guys that put these tees down would come to my local courses and do the same.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Catawba review

1    11/29/2012   11/29/2012
Review By: burnin4
Played: 53  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.7 Years
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Catawba Meadows is a jewel of a course that is spread out over a beautiful peice of geography, green grass and large trees. It plays very casual, little to no elevation, flows nicely from one hole to the next.....and no leaves to lose your discs. The course has freshly paved tee pads that are GIGANTIC and spectacular, quite possibly the best I've ever seen! Better pads then any Charlotte course. This course allows you to comfortably break out your distance drivers and send hyper bombs on a lot of holes, no fear of losing a disc anywhere on this course except on hole 2 and 17.
Cons: There are only a few cons, all fairly minor. the first is about the lack of signage/direction. Fortunately I found some locals to help guide me but I can imagine this course would be confusing at times. I'm used to playing in the woods so I typically look for a worn path, but CM is one giant field with trees and baskets. Also, there are almost no benches and no restrooms anywhere on/around the course.
Other Thoughts: I would highly recommend taking the time to go out of your way to play this course. It was refreshing and unique, look forward to playing again soon.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Catawba Meadows

5+    10/27/2012   8/21/2012
Review By: disctildeath
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/31/2012
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good location on scenic Morganton Greenway with bathroom and shower facilities and restaurants/bars within walking distance down the path past hole 10, easy to traverse, has 18 holes 11 holes with multiple tees (reds and blues), open fairway type course with intermittent pine trees, great for distance practice. One great advantage though is that the city has all hours access to the park (even bathrooms stay open at night) so glow golf can be done with the city's blessing, get in touch with a local for more info (we tried getting a night tourney together this summer but didn't have enough interest but still looking ahead, have charity tournaments in March and October that raise money and canned goods for the local food bank.
Cons: Course and club organizing are a work in progress and have struggled with many in the prime demographic of 18-35 are getting out of town due to economy, so there are only natural teepads and the course has only 1 trashcan after hole 9 and the only benches are near the holes close to the Greenway. Tried a couple of years ago to add extra mando's (can still see remnants on trees of blue arrows from tournaments) but people have called the city complaining about the two that were built in (11 and 17/long) much less new ones so the course is limited in terms of technical challenge. Also this park is used many times throughout the year for Boyscout events, concerts, etc. and the city lets them camp on the course so if your from out of town you may want to check with Morganton Parks and Rec to make sure there aren't any events going on so you don't waste a trip.

UPDATE: Due to a recent grant, we have been able to implement a series of upgrades, from the date of the Pumpkin Bowl on we have 6 x 12 trapezoid concrete pads with a kiosk, signs, and possibly more mandos and sleeves coming soon.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this park was a great step up from Bethel Park, and has potential, it just needs more involvement, the city is open to working with clubs and those looking to organize tournaments so while it's not perfect, there is definite potential here.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

5+    11/23/2010   11/23/2010
Review By: swoop disc
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: To be fair this is my home course. I learned the sport on this course with my family, lot of sentimental value. The course is open on the front nine. mildly wooded 12-18. This course is a good course to learn on and also grow in the sport. Favorite hole is hole 8. The design of the course takes full advantage of the terain that it was given.
Cons: Needs benches, and trash cans, Natural tee pads, Mandos on 2 and 9 are cheesy, not really necessary to play though. The city has events sometimes and blocks off the parking lot and hole 1,2, and 18. WIsh they did not do that. If it is a disc course than it is a disc course not a camp ground.
Other Thoughts: This is the kind of course that keeps you comng back. This course is great to learn on, and is big enough to realy develope all parts of your game.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.