Morganton, NC 
Catawba Meadows Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17 (Taken 1/2015)
3 / 308ft.   4 / 570ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Blue Tee Sign



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Parklike, open course

1    5/10/2015   5/11/2015
Review By: jksenior
Played: 128  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful park with lots of activities, including ropes course.

Visually appealing with landscaping and a parklike setting. Sporadic large trees.

Very nice, large teepads.(see cons below)

Good signage and navigation.

The hole design was generally fair with the majority being fairly straight and pretty long. From the long tees, there were very few deuce or die holes. Most required an accurate tee shot of 300+ (or equivalent) to get a birdie.
The par 4's were generally pretty easily birdie-able with two decent shots. Some holes had a low ceiling which provided an additional challenge.

Well-maintained, you'd be hard-pressed to lose a disc.

The holes were generally good based on the terrain and number of trees. It's generally an open course with a few somewhat technical shots created by mandos or double mandos.
Cons: The teepads, while quite large and very nice, sometimes had a retaining wall around the side and/or back. This could create an issue for those who have a long run up or big strides.

Navigation and signage were good, but a few of the holes were using alt basket locations that were not represented on the signs.

A few of the holes were a little redundant, mid 300' open.

The use of mandos was done to create some more technical shots. Some were fine a couple seemed unnecessary, particularly hole 17.

There is potential for some overlap with other players, although it was not crowded at all when I was there on a Sunday Morning.
Other Thoughts: It's a long walk from the parking to all of the holes except for one.

Given the limitations of the property as far as elevation, they did a good job in creating some uphill and downhill shots.

I believe that based on the open nature of the course, wind could be an issue. But that would put some teeth into a generally pretty manageable course.

Definitely a course worth playing. It provides a nice leisurely round in a nice setting.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


2-4    4/11/2015   4/17/2015
Review By: johngarcia79
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well taken care of, well marked, good long layout. The tee boxes were great. The playground was great for the rest of the family. Restrooms available.
Cons: Not many cons, maybe some mando changes, but no real complaints at all
Other Thoughts: This is a good course that I will play again and recommend to others.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

An Absolute beauty of a beginner course

5+    12/13/2014   12/19/2014
Review By: splatbaseball51
Played: 95  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is one of the most well taken care of courses I've had the privilege of playing. The park that it is situated in has many nice amenities in addition to some really cool things you don't see in most parks (ropes and zip lines etc...)

The relatively new tee pads and associated retaining walls (where applicable) are exceptional. Concrete, adequately sized and many have masonry stone retaining walls that function as benches.

Beginners will love playing here. Not that I didn't fall in love with the game playing Richmond Hill, it's just that Catawba Meadows would have allowed me to play more frustration-free rounds as I was learning technique. The course is mostly open, with nothing more than a few large trees along fairways or near the basket on any given hole. It's mostly flat as well, with a few holes having some slight elevation change. There is virtually ZERO chance to lose a disc (exception being hole #2 ???) all while giving a novice player many chances to try discs out.

There are plenty of ace runs for the slightly more advanced players. I even hit basket in the most recent tournament on hole #6 (401' hole) which was a thrill. The course offers advanced players a chance to hone each disc on some of the longer bombs, while mostly catering to putt and approach from the tee. If your short game needs work, Catawba Meadows is the place to do it.

The course isn't without several long holes either. Although shorter on average, Harold Duvall doesn't make many Eager Beavers. You'll still pull out drivers on probably 4 holes, with hole 8 being the signature down the hill bomb which is a blast.

There is a huge picnic pavilion between hole 1 and the practice basket, providing a great place for tournament headquarters along with picnic area. Additionally, you'll find ample parking and bathroom facilities on your walk to hole 1.

There are also multiple tee pads on many holes, along with excellent tee signs to boot. The details didn't seem to be spared. Baskets are top of the line DISCatchers.
Cons: Perhaps a bit too easy to be taken too seriously by Advanced and higher. At the tournament I was at, nearly every Advanced and Open player finished better than -12 through 2 rounds, with Schultz shooting a -17 round two.

There aren't any official benches, however as I mentioned, you'll find retaining walls on at least 4-5 holes which will allow you to rest if you didn't bring your stool.

There are a couple spots where you'll have a chance to throw into another tee pad/basket area if you aren't careful. Just be aware of other players/park-goers.

Other Thoughts: Honestly, I don't have a lot to complain about with this course. It is maintained at the top level among the best I've ever seen. The amenities leave nothing to be desired, the tee pads are excellent, baskets are top notch and the atmosphere is wonderful. I simply wish it offered a bit more challenge for higher rated players, other than that I'd be proud to have it as my home course.

If you get the chance to play here, definitely do it. You won't regret it and you'll likely have some chances at a few aces!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Very cool

1    12/6/2014   12/6/2014
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 57  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This is the perfect beginner/intermediate course in a nice more open place. If you have a decent arm and some accuracy, you will score under par for sure. I shot -7 and have okay accuracy and a big arm. This course is also beautiful if you play on a sunny day.
-Some trees around there to make it fun.
-I like the pads here! They are wider in the back so they allow you to play a hole pretty much how you want.
-Nice double chain discCatchers on the course.
-There are some really interesting/fun holes on this course! #7 and #8 both utilize elevation very nicely. #7 is an uphill ace run and #8 is a long downhill shot through a few trees. At 526' long, and the longest on the shorts, this seems like a difficult hole but it's a pretty easy birdie 3.
-#17 long, very unique par 4! This is a severe dogleg left with a mando pointing to the right. This is the hardest hole available here, birdies don't happen often but it's a great enough shot just to get to the short pad.
-Front 9 is really easy, I shot -5 on it. Back nine is average. #11 is another hard hole, it forces you to make a decision. Since there is a mando 275' from the tee, and the hole is only 306', you have to decide whether you'll lay up or try to go through it.
-Very nice practice basket around #1.
-I actually think the creek around #17 and #18 is a great addition to the course. Even if it has a disc eating problem.
Cons: -If I just rated this course for fun, I'd give it an easy 4.0. But face it, it's crammed in. A good shot can lead you to another fairway, plus you still have the capacity to get a REALLY easy par if you nail a tree and it goes to another fairway. Hole #8, I landed in #5's fairway and still managed to birdie this hole.
-There are some wooded areas, it wouldn't hurt to have a nice wooded hole. It would be great. #9 is slightly wooded and requires a low shot because of a lower ceiling but it isn't truly wooded, my accuracy needs work and I almost aced this hole, it's a good hole with some defense nevertheless. #18 is also slightly wooded, only hole here that won't accept a straight shot.
-There is graffiti on a couple of baskets, some of those stupid, pointy, bubbly, clowny white trash letters are put on one or two of the baskets.
-Needs both, more benches and trash cans.
-My run up is HUGE, like can't be less than 10'. Pads are a little bit short, but nothing bad.
-Few back tees just 20' behind the shorts, makes no sense. Why do you want another tee pad with all the limited space?
Other Thoughts: -If I found the time to play the longs, I would have for sure because they looked really fun too. This course is very fun, I loved it. I think the lack of variety and the fact that it's crammed in is why I gave it a 3.0. This course and layout itself rocks but if you aren't careful, you could get in somebody's way.
-From the longs, you will see more variety. Lengths range from 212' to 600' and there are more woods and still some of that great open area like holes 17 and 18 being more wooded and hole 10 being a really fun more open bomb!
-I had some cons with this course but I think my pros are far more important because all of my cons are nothing major. Like some holes here are majorly fun with a decent amount of elevation, and different lengths. Just play this course, it was well worth an hour drive. Problem was only that my GPS didn't work at first and I had no idea where I was going or where to stop when I stopped in Newton.

Favorite Hole: #8. Great downhill par 4!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Go early!!!

1    8/23/2014   8/26/2014
Review By: Patton82
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is nice...AMAZING concrete tee pads!! All of shots are one opportunity to just launch it as hard as you can...2 shots are 450ft+.
Cons: Absolutely NO shade, so either go early or bring plenty of water and sunscreen.
Other Thoughts: Great course for touching up on your distance as well as accuracy!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Let 'er rip

1    7/13/2014   7/14/2014
Review By: jeffboi
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 1.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wide open and tons of fun ripping it. Excellent tee pads and baskets - well maintained all the way around. Remember to look for the next tee on the sign before you tee off - then navigation is easy too. Great course for beginners, and fun for advanced players - you will spend almost no time looking for lost disks.
Cons: A bit on the easy side

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Change o' Pace

1    11/1/2013   11/11/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 228  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 3.9 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Plenty of space to air it out. For those that like the sight of a disc in flight, this a prime location. Though there are some shorter holes, they are all basically out in the open with that will impede a preferred flight path. Every shot is basically straight ahead, (It has to be, without fairways, if the pin was to the right or left of the teepad, then essentially it would just mean the tee was pointing in the wrong direction) so throwers can feel free to let their drives rip.

There is variety of hole, however, as distances range from under 300 feet(and under 200 from the short tees) to just about 600. It's an absolutely fantastic place to work on your drivers, learn them, and watch them fly. With the various distances, you should get a chance to use a bunch of them.

And even though the majority of the holes are in one field, it doesn't feel that way. It's a big field, and there is more than enough room. It helps that the scenery is so appealing. Imagine a perfectly flat meadow, scattered with old pines under a backdrop of rising mountain. It may not be the vision of a challenging disc course, but it's a pretty nice place to be and the majority of the park and course is just very well kept. Throw in fantastic tees. Huge trapezoids with fort-like, log, retaining walls. An absolutely joy to throw off of.
Cons: It's obviously not the most challenging course. Most holes don't feature a fairway as much as a direction to throw. It's also very flat, with only a few holes boasting even minimal elevation. While I do enjoy mixing it up with an open course now and again, they aren't typically the courses that I want to return to again and again. For advanced players, it will seem more like practice.

It could also use some next tee arrows. Generally the next tee is just the closest one. Finish a hole, spin around in a 360 and you will see the next tee. But there are a few places where there is more than one contender for the spinners destination. Even if there is one obvious choice, I'd rather not be wondering on the walk to the tee, as often happened here. (Even if I was correct most of the time.)
Other Thoughts: An awesome first course. Beginners will love learning to play here, as they figure out how to work discs in frustration-free environment. And when they master that, there are advanced tees to step up to. Glad I stopped here. It was a nice change of pace in-between Glenn Hilton and Richmond Hill. Would recommend it for both new players, and anyone that needs to step out of the woods, even if only for a single round.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Wide Open NC

1    11/1/2013   11/7/2013
Review By: pfpro
Played: 50  Reviewed: 39
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great signs, if you are just starting out, some tips and information about the biology of the park. If you're there for the DG, it has distance, major obstacles and direction to the next tee.
- Park is super clean, and almost only for DG. There is a walking path, but it doesn't really come into play. The "meadow" was mowed, no real issue with losing discs in long grass.
- Nice tees, retaining walls serve as benches in the first half.
- Practice putting basket, restrooms and drinking fountains where you park. Playground equipment if you have younger kids.
- Decent flow - only a few holes are confusing (because you can see several baskets from the tee). Once you play it once, I'm sure it's not a problem.
- Decent use of elevation.
Cons: - It gets boring (I'm from the Raleigh area, and have grown up on trees). If you can throw 300' with some aim/consistency, at least half of the holes are pretty much wide open. There really is no "rough" - if there were brush, or if they didn't flay mow the meadow, you could maybe shape some fairways, island greens, etc.
- It is kind of far off the interstate, probably 10-15 minutes depending on lights. It's not necessarily a course you could jump off the interstate, play a quick round and jump back on.
Other Thoughts: I played this course with two friends who don't play a ton. It was right about their speed. I shot a par, even though I had several throws where I didn't have a great tee shot. This is not pitch and putt, you can use drivers (and actually can rip them since there are very few trees). If you were learning, this is a forgiving course where you can feel good (although it may give a false sense of security before playing the "typical" NC course). I did like the run of holes 15-18, they were slightly different as the trees came into play (having to shape shots to avoid some of the lower limbs). I would stop and play here again. I "inflated" my score by 1/2 due to the very nice signs and general cleanliness of the park.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Love this course

5+    8/5/2013   7/31/2013
Review By: Warthog
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2013
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice mix of holes some long and some short. Not so many trees as to be a wall. Local to Morganton. Removed enough from walking track as to not be an issue. Mix of hills and flat. well marked. Score cards usually on site. Nice tee pads. Close to coffee shop and restaurant which are on boardwalk less than half mile away. Lots of parking, picnic shelters, restrooms, water fountain and play area for kids.
Cons: Few benches however some of the first 9 have low walls that can serve as benches. Watch your step many hidden holes in ground can turn an ankle real easy I did so going from #10 to #11. Hole 17 has a disc eating problem on right I have lost 3 all on this hole. There are no real problems with this course when the weather is pleasant.
Other Thoughts: Of only 5 played this is my favorite. The target on hole #8 has recently been moved back into the usual position. The problem during the rainy summer has resolved itself and the course is once again loads of fun to play.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

The anomaly course

1    7/7/2013   7/8/2013
Review By: New013
Played: 150  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 4.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Layout - It's a more open/sparse tree style course. Mostly straighter shots where you have a few options on how to maneuver the trees.

Two pads on 12 of the holes. The longer pad usually added some length and put you in a more awkward tee position cutting down on your options.

The pads were placed pretty well considering what they had to work with. Every shot is pretty much straight ahead with no real mixture but the tee placements made you consider which route you were taking and how you would work the disc.

I like how it mixes up some long bombs with shorter holes. NC has a severe lack of courses that let you rip so it's nice to find one.

There's some elevation change on a few holes, nothing really major though.

Course flows decently well, a few not short walks but nothing long. There is one part where you run in to 5 & 17's pad very close together that could cause confusion.

They used mandos to create more difficulty and mix it up a bit. I'm not sure I'm a fan but they had to do something.

Equipment - Might be the nicest concrete pads I've ever seen. They're huge trapezoids. The signs had pictures and info on each hole, they were nice.

Atmosphere - Really nice looking park overall, it's an open park with huge trees scattered about. The disc golf course seems to use a part of the park that is separate from the rest. There is a walking trail around it but that doesn't really come in to play that much. There's some other nice facilities including bathroom and water at the parking lot.
Cons: Layout - It's great you get to let the disc fly here but after a while it just gets boring. Every hole is pretty much the same design. There's a pad and a basket and maybe 3-5 tall trees in your way.

While you do have to mix in some interesting lines to maneuver the trees/branches in the end it just feels like the same hole again and again.

The lack of elevation here is confusing considering the location. They found a big flat field in the hills and put a course there, that's disappointing.

Some serious tweeners from the long tees. I had a ton of short upshots on the par 4's.

Atmosphere - There are some drainage issues in the field though keep in mind I played it after we've had some serious amounts of rain.

There was also damage from the bluegrass fest they just had on the grounds which took away from some of the beauty.
Other Thoughts: I wish they could of mixed up the course more. It's great they had this open area to create some good more open holes but if they could have gone in to the woods at all it would of really made this course shine.

As it sits now it's just kind of mundane. More trees have been planted so in the future it might be a bit more interesting but as of now it's a one trick pony.

If you're tired of playing the same technical style NC golf over and over again it's a nice change of pace. I recommend checking out at least once.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center