Disc Golf Store
Morganton, NC 
Catawba Meadows Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #16 (Taken 11/2009)
3 / 257ft.   3 / 350ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Basket



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Catawba Meadows

2-4    9/23/2012   9/24/2012
Review By: Hornberger
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very nice course to step back and throw it hard! It's a lot of fun to work on your distance and technique, while still having trees to consider when picking your lines. Holes 4 - 18 are field with tree holes. The grass was freshly mowed when I played, making for ease when looking for my discs. Course is well laid out. Very nice, flat course! Reach back and bomb it!
Cons: Would love to see true tee pads vs. ground and markers. Markings were sometime difficult to find the first go through
Other Thoughts: I happened on this course by chance while planning a zip line tour for my kids. The park, itself, is a ton of fun, if you have kids. And, if your kids like to play disc golf, Catawba Meadows is a gold mine.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Catawba Meadows Review

5+    9/5/2012   9/7/2012
Review By: billtvshow
Played: 42  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/1/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My background on this course: This is my home course, which I have played 100+ times.
-Baskets: The baskets are Innova Discatcher Pros. They are very visible, in good shape, and catch quite well.
-Tees: The tee pads are brushed, gigantic trapezoid concrete slabs. With run-ups perhaps a bit more important on this lengthy course, the size of these pads is a bonus. These tees are brand new as of October 2012. They were funded by the city and installed by the local club. Many of them have retaining walls that can serve as a bench.
-Signage: Each teeing area has a painted post (red for amateur, blue for pro, both for shared) with a sign attached to it. The signs have a nature trail theme with information about various topics and have nice maps of each hole. These sign posts also have brooms hanging from them in areas where pine needles are an issue.
-Maintenance: The course is pretty well maintained and is mowed on a reasonable schedule, especially given the size of the area to be mowed. In early 2013, a tremendous amount of poison oak and undergrowth was cleared around holes 16 and 17. When the basket on hole 8 was destroyed by a falling tree, it was replaced in a very timely fashion, so there is an effort on the part of the Parks & Rec department to really keep the course in playable shape.
-Local Support: There is a local disc golf group who helps maintain the course as well. They assist in clearing the course of debris after storms and with construction projects on the course. They also were responsible for erecting the practice basket.
-Design: The course has a lot of wide open space, but almost every tee shot has some sort of obstacle to navigate and the course will often leave you with the feeling that you played a slightly more wooded course than it would have seemed upon first glance. In other words, the designer did an exceptional job in utilizing the property available to him.
-Tee Selection: Having amateur tees helps make the course a bit more beginner friendly, as the pro tees heavily favor players who can consistently throw over 300 feet. I have observed a tremendous amount of beginners playing the course off of the red tees, so this is a positive aspect in growing the sport in this area.
-Alternate Pins: Three holes (1, 3, 17) have seen the addition of alternate pins, which helps break the monotony for those of us who play the course frequently, giving us new shots to attempt.
-Other Amenities: The course is located in one of the nicest parks in the region. There are three massive shelters right next to the first hole, in fact one of the shelters falls right between the practice basket and first tees and is an ideal place for staging tournaments. There's also a men and women's bathroom building near the parking area / playground. The practice basket itself is a nice green rimmed Discatcher located in the most logical location it could have been placed; out of the way of other people in the park, but not too far from the first tees. There is also a huge kiosk with course information and fantastic scorecards. The nearby office for The Beanstalk Journey zipline course has a small assortment of discs for sell, but it is only open intermittently, mostly on the weekends. Lost discs are often turned in / kept there as well. The course itself contains 4 benches on Holes 4/17, 8, 12, and 16 and a trash can on Hole 9.
Cons: -Navigation: While there is a nice map of the course located on DGCR, the course can still be a bit difficult to navigate for first time players. The new tee pads should get you pointed in the right direction toward the baskets, but occasionally it can be difficult to find the next tee correctly.
-Nature: The area around 17 tee / 4 tee / 16 basket floods even after moderate rainfall and sometimes the basket on 16 cannot be reached without getting your shoes wet. Consequently, mosquitoes are abundant here. Consistent mowing has eliminated a lot of the poison oak in the open spaces of the course, but it still thrives on the occasional tree and in the brushy areas along the stream. The city recently installed a ton of new trees, quite strictly following the original grid of the tree nursery that this course is built around. In a few cases, trees were added that significantly impacted the course, most notably on the tee shots of holes 6 and 15. If these trees survive the inevitable beating they will receive and successfully grow up and fill out, they will more or less block the originally intended tee shot lines completely. At some point in the distant future, this may have to be addressed.
-Other Amenities: Since the course is a full 18 hole loop, you do not return to the bathrooms until the end of the round. Some people have mentioned this as a con. I would say it is a minor one, but there has been discussion about how and where to put some sort of bathroom in the middle of the course.
-Outside Interference: With this being a public park, you may occasionally find some non-disc golfers on the course. This happens most frequently around Hole 1, when people who rent the nearby shelters spill their activities over into the area around the practice basket and even into Hole 1 fairway. Hopefully the new kiosk will help disseminate information about disc golf and reduce this impact. It is worth noting that the course is usually closed for apx. a week leading up to and during the City's Bluegrass Festival. Visit this site to find out the dates: http://redwhiteandbluegrassfestival.com
Other Thoughts: Mandos: There are only 2 officially recognized and signed mandos on the course (a double on #11, and one on #17), indicated by white arrows. Any blue arrows you see spray painted on the trees are mandos used by the club for various events, so you are not required to play those. There are two yellow blocks installed into the ground denoting the drop zones for both of these mandos.
Least Favorite Hole: I'm saying #11 mainly because the mando is borderline unnecessary. Holes #13 and 15 feel both the most bland and most similar of any two holes on the course and would get my vote otherwise.
Favorite Hole: I love hole #8. It is one of the few holes with a significant elevation change and has a beautifully framed, tight tee shot that opens into more or less a meadow, perhaps invoking the namesake of the course.
Outlook: The course has shown much improvement recently and its outlook is exceptional. There are some minor things that could be addressed, such as placing some sort of arrows or markers on the baskets to show where the next tee pads are.
Most of the greatest courses in the world have an amazing balance of wooded to open and hilly to flat holes, among other things. Catawba Meadows will always be mostly flat and mostly open and that is the character of the course and that can't really be changed, consequently I feel that this aspect somewhat limits the maximum score that the course can achieve.
The course has recently experienced, significant upgrades and is approaching a level of quality that it is going to be hard pressed to move beyond within the scope of a public course. I encourage previous reviewers to revisit this course and update your reviews.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Catawba Meadows

5+    10/27/2012   8/21/2012
Review By: disctildeath
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/31/2012
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good location on scenic Morganton Greenway with bathroom and shower facilities and restaurants/bars within walking distance down the path past hole 10, easy to traverse, has 18 holes 11 holes with multiple tees (reds and blues), open fairway type course with intermittent pine trees, great for distance practice. One great advantage though is that the city has all hours access to the park (even bathrooms stay open at night) so glow golf can be done with the city's blessing, get in touch with a local for more info (we tried getting a night tourney together this summer but didn't have enough interest but still looking ahead, have charity tournaments in March and October that raise money and canned goods for the local food bank.
Cons: Course and club organizing are a work in progress and have struggled with many in the prime demographic of 18-35 are getting out of town due to economy, so there are only natural teepads and the course has only 1 trashcan after hole 9 and the only benches are near the holes close to the Greenway. Tried a couple of years ago to add extra mando's (can still see remnants on trees of blue arrows from tournaments) but people have called the city complaining about the two that were built in (11 and 17/long) much less new ones so the course is limited in terms of technical challenge. Also this park is used many times throughout the year for Boyscout events, concerts, etc. and the city lets them camp on the course so if your from out of town you may want to check with Morganton Parks and Rec to make sure there aren't any events going on so you don't waste a trip.

UPDATE: Due to a recent grant, we have been able to implement a series of upgrades, from the date of the Pumpkin Bowl on we have 6 x 12 trapezoid concrete pads with a kiosk, signs, and possibly more mandos and sleeves coming soon.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this park was a great step up from Bethel Park, and has potential, it just needs more involvement, the city is open to working with clubs and those looking to organize tournaments so while it's not perfect, there is definite potential here.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Simple, Rewarding course

1    5/27/2012   6/17/2012
Review By: dtomb
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well marked tee boxes, family friendly environment, easy course to get the hang of, usually well kept fairways, nice catchers.
Cons: Very little terrain variation, natural tee boxes have the potential to be muddy, running track crosses the course at points (can hold up the game).
Other Thoughts: Overall a wonderfully simple course that is exactly as it appears, many long straight holes for you to practice your driving. Great course for newcomers to the sport, but it probably won't be very challenging for experienced players.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Practice Makes Perfect

5+    6/2/2012   6/10/2012
Review By: WreckDirector
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Newly built, nice baskets, good for newcomers to the sport due to mostly open fairways, rarely have to wait, and easy to find.
Cons: Not much of a challenge (too open), no tee pads (muddy holes after a light rain), grass needs to be cut more often than not, and hole 16 can become a swamp after a descent rain.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course to practice on or to take new comers to the sport so that they can get use to it without losing their (or your) discs.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Still Growing Up

2-4    4/21/2012   4/24/2012
Review By: vonDrehle
Played: 43  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/15/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - This is a great course for beginners and those that want to work on specific parts of their game without the narrow fairways of most North Carolina courses.
- Several holes have long teepads and many of them not only add distance but they also require a different type of shot than you would use from the shorts.
- Nice practice basket with enough room to get some good practice putts in.
- The course is easy to navigate with tee signs at each hole and has nice DISCatcher Pro baskets.
- The course makes use of the occasional mando which keeps the course from getting too repetitive. (I'm told only to use the white signs for mandos the blue paint on trees are old)
- The course is in a very well kept park with nice facilities including some sort of rope course for the brave that I wouldn't dare attempt. Would be a great place to bring the family out for a round and a day at the park.
- The teepads are very nice and each allows you to take several routes for your drive.
- Each hole now has a very nice teesign at both the long and short tees. The signs give information about the hole as well as cool park information and disc golf tips for the particular hole in question.
Cons: - Many holes have different routes you can take but no holes really forced you to get out of your comfort zone with a different style of shot.
Other Thoughts: The courses name is Catawba Meadows so as you would expect you will be playing in an open field littered with trees. While it might not hold much challenge to the more advanced golfer it is still a great course to work on different aspects of your game. This course is still very new and overtime with some local love I see it getting even better. So if you are in the area I would definitely recommend stopping by and giving it a try.

**Update 5/15/2013: Teepads and Benches added to the course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

bland.. but bomberable

2-4    8/6/2011   8/6/2011
Review By: mx23ang
Played: 48  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/26/2012
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: DISCatcher baskets
decent sinage giving length, no map but you dont need one just throw it straight! On like every hole haha where is the diversity??
-Two sets of tees with concrete now so I updated my review to a 3.0
bathroom and water fountain with a mini pro shop, very nice overall park
Cons: -No wooded fairways at all!!! Several pines dot the fairways but if you hit your line they really shouldnt come into play
-No epic/scenic factor here for me because of the overall flat land and no wooded/water/boulders in play
-Its like so strait and no difference in any of your shots, bland and really boring unless you can throw one like 350' dead strait then this is your ace run course.
-17 is a ridicuosly stupid hole, a 537' par 3(do what??!!) that has a mando which doesnt allow you to even have a chance at a 3, its not fair at all. If your gonna have a par 3 that long at least make it playable to air it out, were not all pro's.
-I began playing on super tight rather short courses so this is the polar opposite of what I look for in a dg course
Other Thoughts: It also felt like you walked a pretty good ways after every hole, to be wide open you would think the tees are in rather close proximity to the baskets
And if you are going to make trees obstacles, you should have them placed where the trunk comes into play, not the lower hanging branches like #1 is tucked under. Its rather stupid to have a good drive and have no chance at a birdie because the branches are so low they are blocking your view of the basket for birdie!

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Park-Disappointing course

1    4/28/2011   5/12/2011
Review By: BobStutts
Played: 19  Reviewed: 18
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Great park with great amentities for everyone in family.
Cons: Bad signage. Water standing in tees two days after rain. This is a real course for those showing off their distance. Not much of a challenge as to types of shots etc.
Other Thoughts: This course is actually the only negative in a beautiful property. If you are there and have your discs play. Don't go to any great lengths to get there. This is actually the only time I have given a score this low.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Wide Open

5+    1/20/2011   1/24/2011
Review By: digital
Played: 53  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/27/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course for practicing different shots without worrying about trees. It's virtually wide open with old pines scattered throughout. Never gets too tight or technical, so you aren't forced to throw much of a variety. While it is open for the most part, there is good use of trees on many holes. You can rip it off the tee from the blues quite often. Several ace runs and good birdie opportunities on plenty of holes. A few par 4's that also provide a great chance for birdie, perhaps an eagle. While being open makes things easier, watch out of the wind picks up. This course can go from one that you'd expect to shoot under par in good conditions to a struggle in the wind.
Cons: Tees get pretty muddy. Basically unplayable from the tee after a good rain and it lasts for days. I find myself throwing just beside the tee more often than not. Some mulch or fine gravel would do wonders for this place. That's me asking for a simple solution. 16 tends to get pretty muddy around the basket as well compared to any other spot on the course. If it's a heavy rain, you don't want to leave a putt inside 15 feet or you're getting your feet wet.

There is one trash can that I can recall on the actual course, which is after 9. That's the ideal spot for the can but a few more would be nice. There are people lazy enough to leave trash on the course. Trash cans being visible and more accessible would help.

No benches. But there is one on the walking path near 12? Makes no sense. I suppose folks who are exercising like to sit more than disc golfers? No, I don't.
Other Thoughts: This course is just fun. Not as stressful as your typical course. You can build your confidence here for sure. I see it as a great place for beginners to come work on their game without being discouraged. It's also a breeze to play. I get through in an hour or so every time. Playing solo, you could get through within an hour. Doesn't seem that the city put much money into this project. I will give some credit to folks doing their own work out there. Somebody put up some bag hangers on the signage. It looks like the locals care about the course, just not enough funding. This place has more potential than it currently shows, so I feel that my score has room for improvement as well. As-is, I can't give it much more. Regardless, if you want to practice your shots or perhaps make up your own course, that too is possible. It's wide open. Lots of possibilities. I only see it getting better.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/22/2010   11/23/2010
Review By: catfishhunter
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide open course, good place to rip some drives, some nice "ace runs" holes. Long and short tee pads. Playing the long tees feels like a completely different course from the shorts which I think is great.
There are also lots of fields on the property which makes it a great place to practice. I like to go out and practice in the field and then play a round or two. There are restrooms and water fountain also well.
Cons: Most holes from the short tee pads are straight. You don't really need a variety of shots to play well here. In the summer time the grass can grow pretty high which is a little bit annoying
Other Thoughts: The tee pads are natural which I actually prefer but they can get very wet and muddy after it rains. I bought some cleats for $15 which solves the problem.

I only rated this course a 3 because it's pretty basic. It's not very technical. If you've got a big arm you'll most likely find it a little easy. Some of the holes can seem a little long for a beginner but there aren't a lot of places to get in trouble.
This is my home course and I enjoy playing here but I consider it more of a practice course. If I want to really challenge myself I'll play at Glen Hilton Park in Hickory or go down to Charlotte. However, if you're in the area you won't be disappointed.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.