Morganton, NC 
Catawba Meadows Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11 (Taken 1/2015)
3 / 306ft.   3 / 306ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Blue/Red Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Catawba Meadows

5+    10/27/2012   8/21/2012
Review By: disctildeath
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/31/2012
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good location on scenic Morganton Greenway with bathroom and shower facilities and restaurants/bars within walking distance down the path past hole 10, easy to traverse, has 18 holes 11 holes with multiple tees (reds and blues), open fairway type course with intermittent pine trees, great for distance practice. One great advantage though is that the city has all hours access to the park (even bathrooms stay open at night) so glow golf can be done with the city's blessing, get in touch with a local for more info (we tried getting a night tourney together this summer but didn't have enough interest but still looking ahead, have charity tournaments in March and October that raise money and canned goods for the local food bank.
Cons: Course and club organizing are a work in progress and have struggled with many in the prime demographic of 18-35 are getting out of town due to economy, so there are only natural teepads and the course has only 1 trashcan after hole 9 and the only benches are near the holes close to the Greenway. Tried a couple of years ago to add extra mando's (can still see remnants on trees of blue arrows from tournaments) but people have called the city complaining about the two that were built in (11 and 17/long) much less new ones so the course is limited in terms of technical challenge. Also this park is used many times throughout the year for Boyscout events, concerts, etc. and the city lets them camp on the course so if your from out of town you may want to check with Morganton Parks and Rec to make sure there aren't any events going on so you don't waste a trip.

UPDATE: Due to a recent grant, we have been able to implement a series of upgrades, from the date of the Pumpkin Bowl on we have 6 x 12 trapezoid concrete pads with a kiosk, signs, and possibly more mandos and sleeves coming soon.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this park was a great step up from Bethel Park, and has potential, it just needs more involvement, the city is open to working with clubs and those looking to organize tournaments so while it's not perfect, there is definite potential here.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Simple, Rewarding course

1    5/27/2012   6/17/2012
Review By: dtomb
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well marked tee boxes, family friendly environment, easy course to get the hang of, usually well kept fairways, nice catchers.
Cons: Very little terrain variation, natural tee boxes have the potential to be muddy, running track crosses the course at points (can hold up the game).
Other Thoughts: Overall a wonderfully simple course that is exactly as it appears, many long straight holes for you to practice your driving. Great course for newcomers to the sport, but it probably won't be very challenging for experienced players.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Practice Makes Perfect

5+    6/2/2012   6/10/2012
Review By: WreckDirector
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Newly built, nice baskets, good for newcomers to the sport due to mostly open fairways, rarely have to wait, and easy to find.
Cons: Not much of a challenge (too open), no tee pads (muddy holes after a light rain), grass needs to be cut more often than not, and hole 16 can become a swamp after a descent rain.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course to practice on or to take new comers to the sport so that they can get use to it without losing their (or your) discs.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Still Growing Up

2-4    4/21/2012   4/24/2012
Review By: vonDrehle
Played: 46  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/15/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - This is a great course for beginners and those that want to work on specific parts of their game without the narrow fairways of most North Carolina courses.
- Several holes have long teepads and many of them not only add distance but they also require a different type of shot than you would use from the shorts.
- Nice practice basket with enough room to get some good practice putts in.
- The course is easy to navigate with tee signs at each hole and has nice DISCatcher Pro baskets.
- The course makes use of the occasional mando which keeps the course from getting too repetitive. (I'm told only to use the white signs for mandos the blue paint on trees are old)
- The course is in a very well kept park with nice facilities including some sort of rope course for the brave that I wouldn't dare attempt. Would be a great place to bring the family out for a round and a day at the park.
- The teepads are very nice and each allows you to take several routes for your drive.
- Each hole now has a very nice teesign at both the long and short tees. The signs give information about the hole as well as cool park information and disc golf tips for the particular hole in question.
Cons: - Many holes have different routes you can take but no holes really forced you to get out of your comfort zone with a different style of shot.
Other Thoughts: The courses name is Catawba Meadows so as you would expect you will be playing in an open field littered with trees. While it might not hold much challenge to the more advanced golfer it is still a great course to work on different aspects of your game. This course is still very new and overtime with some local love I see it getting even better. So if you are in the area I would definitely recommend stopping by and giving it a try.

**Update 5/15/2013: Teepads and Benches added to the course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Bland.. but Bomberable

2-4    8/6/2011   8/6/2011
Review By: mx23ang
Played: 62  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/18/2016
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Starting off I like to let everyone know what Im personally looking for in a course. I love the scenic aspect of disc golf (this includes boulders, lakes, wildlife, and plantlife- I do study horticulture). With that being stated, I rate a course based on a combination of the scenic factor and the overall course aspects (this includes layout, fairway lines, divesity of holes, and amenities).
DISCatcher baskets
-Decent sinage giving length, no map but you dont need one just throw it straight! On like every hole haha where is the diversity??
-Two sets of tees with concrete now so I updated my review to a 3.0
-Bathroom and water fountain with a mini pro shop, very nice overall park
Cons: -No wooded fairways at all!!! Several pines dot the fairways but if you hit your line they really shouldnt come into play
-No epic/scenic factor here for me because of the overall flat land and no wooded/water/boulders in play
-Its like so strait and no difference in any of your shots, bland and really boring unless you can throw one like 350' dead strait then this is your ace run course.
-17 is a ridicuosly stupid hole, a 537' par 3(do what??!!) that has a mando which doesnt allow you to even have a chance at a 3, its not fair at all. If your gonna have a par 3 that long at least make it playable to air it out, were not all pro's.
-I began playing on super tight rather short courses so this is the polar opposite of what I look for in a dg course
Other Thoughts: It also felt like you walked a pretty good ways after every hole, to be wide open you would think the tees are in rather close proximity to the baskets
And if you are going to make trees obstacles, you should have them placed where the trunk comes into play, not the lower hanging branches like #1 is tucked under. Its rather stupid to have a good drive and have no chance at a birdie because the branches are so low they are blocking your view of the basket for birdie!

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great Park-Disappointing course

1    4/28/2011   5/12/2011
Review By: BobStutts
Played: 19  Reviewed: 18
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Great park with great amentities for everyone in family.
Cons: Bad signage. Water standing in tees two days after rain. This is a real course for those showing off their distance. Not much of a challenge as to types of shots etc.
Other Thoughts: This course is actually the only negative in a beautiful property. If you are there and have your discs play. Don't go to any great lengths to get there. This is actually the only time I have given a score this low.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Wide Open

5+    1/20/2011   1/24/2011
Review By: digital
Played: 68  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2015
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course for practicing different shots without worrying about trees. It's virtually wide open with old pines scattered throughout. Never gets too tight or technical, so you aren't forced to throw much of a variety. While it is open for the most part, there is good use of trees on many holes. You can rip it off the tee from the blues quite often. Several ace runs and good birdie opportunities on plenty of holes. A few par 4's that also provide a great chance for birdie, perhaps an eagle. While being open makes things easier, watch out of the wind picks up. This course can go from one that you'd expect to shoot under par in good conditions to a struggle in the wind.
Cons: Most old gripes have been solved over the past couple years. Very nice concrete pads have been installed. Some of the best I've seen or thrown from. Several benches have been installed and the concrete walls behind the large pads can also be used as benches on some holes.

Some of the big pines have fallen over time or been cut down. This will happen to even more trees in the future. But this issue has been countered with several new basket positions as well. Most of them add a degree of difficulty to holes, which is a good thing while keeping the original positions as well.

New trees have been planted and there was recently a fundraiser there to get more in the ground.
Other Thoughts: This course is just fun. Not as stressful as your typical more wooded course. You can build your confidence here and see the lines your discs fly on without much interference. I see it as a great place for beginners to come work on their game without being discouraged. It's also a breeze to play. I get through in an hour or so every time. Playing solo, you could get through within an hour.

Course has improved quite a bit overall due to nice new pads, fairly new signage, new baskets, etc. I bumped it up a full point. Go check it out for yourself!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


5+    11/22/2010   11/23/2010
Review By: catfishhunter
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide open course, good place to rip some drives, some nice "ace runs" holes. Long and short tee pads. Playing the long tees feels like a completely different course from the shorts which I think is great.
There are also lots of fields on the property which makes it a great place to practice. I like to go out and practice in the field and then play a round or two. There are restrooms and water fountain also well.
Cons: Most holes from the short tee pads are straight. You don't really need a variety of shots to play well here. In the summer time the grass can grow pretty high which is a little bit annoying
Other Thoughts: The tee pads are natural which I actually prefer but they can get very wet and muddy after it rains. I bought some cleats for $15 which solves the problem.

I only rated this course a 3 because it's pretty basic. It's not very technical. If you've got a big arm you'll most likely find it a little easy. Some of the holes can seem a little long for a beginner but there aren't a lot of places to get in trouble.
This is my home course and I enjoy playing here but I consider it more of a practice course. If I want to really challenge myself I'll play at Glen Hilton Park in Hickory or go down to Charlotte. However, if you're in the area you won't be disappointed.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

5+    11/23/2010   11/23/2010
Review By: swoop disc
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: To be fair this is my home course. I learned the sport on this course with my family, lot of sentimental value. The course is open on the front nine. mildly wooded 12-18. This course is a good course to learn on and also grow in the sport. Favorite hole is hole 8. The design of the course takes full advantage of the terain that it was given.
Cons: Needs benches, and trash cans, Natural tee pads, Mandos on 2 and 9 are cheesy, not really necessary to play though. The city has events sometimes and blocks off the parking lot and hole 1,2, and 18. WIsh they did not do that. If it is a disc course than it is a disc course not a camp ground.
Other Thoughts: This is the kind of course that keeps you comng back. This course is great to learn on, and is big enough to realy develope all parts of your game.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice pines and meadows

1    11/19/2009   5/31/2010
Review By: Olorin
Played: 362  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 37.4 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
*Terrain beauty. Most of the course is played in grassy meadows with old scattered pines, and some of the fairways also have a carpet of pine needles. I really like this kind of terrain that has trees to throw around but without punishing undergrowth.
*Layout variety. 2 sets of tees.
*Length variety. Blue tees: 5 of 230-290/ 9 of 300-400/ plus some longer holes of 485, 535, 560, 610.
*Good map and scorecard online.
*Very nice, new, clean restroom
-Highway noise. On holes 3-10 you can hear lots of traffic from a busy road and this detracts from the natural serenity of the course.
-Repetitive terrain. As much as I like the terrain, it's all the same throughout the whole course, so most of the holes look similar.
-Low fairway shape variety. Too many straight holes. Blue tees: 13 Straight/ 3 Left/ 2 Right
-Long grass. There's lots of grass and the "fairways" are mowed shorter, but the longer grass can hide discs so watch your drives carefully.
-Personally, I thought that the double mando near the basket on 11 was gimmicky
Other Thoughts:
Blue tees Course Level: Blue (most suited for Advanced players rated 950)

~There are some moderate elevation changes, ranging from 2 to 15 ft, but half of the holes are flat. Blue: 9 Flat/ 2 Up/ 7 Down.
~Tees. Since the course is new it's a wise practice not to put in permanent tees so that adjustments and tweaks can be made. Nonetheless, the current tees were inadequate. Only the front of the tee is marked. Also, they're grass and dirt, so they can get muddy if wet. I imagine that they'll eventually put in better tees after the course settles in more.
~Tee signs. Only colored posts, with a sign at hole 1, but hopefully better signs will come with time. They may well be waiting until the tees are finalized to make better signs.
~I think that the mando on 17 would be more fair if it was moved 40 ft to the left.

This is still a new course, so it has potential to get even better. Since I like this kind of terrain I'd like to play it again. It's the kind of course that's worth driving up to an hour to play, or if you're driving by on I-40 it's definitely worth stopping to get in a round.

Note: To have my reviews delivered to your Inbox join the Yahoo group "DG Course Reviews" . More detailed "Overall Rating" notes and "Hole-by-hole Ratings" are also available there in the Files section.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.