Hoffman Estates, IL 
Black Bear Park Share
Uploaded By: gregwil2 Hole #1 (Taken 12/2011)
4 / 240ft.   3 / 240ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Fun course

1    6/21/2013   3/14/2014
Review By: tengstrom
Played: 102  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Short course has technical shots that befuddle that big-throw players. It's fun for good up-shooters to outdo the bombers.
Easy to follow and well-marked. Good signage.
The water was an enjoyable challenge and present risk/reward shots.
It would be fun to play doubles on this course because of the birdie-or-die aspect. It's clear the locals enjoy the course.
Cons: It could use a few 400-foot holes just to mix it up.
Other Thoughts: I parked it on Hole 18 through a tight spot. This course would be a good course for teaching new players how to throw in woods, over water, around obstacles and such. Kudos to the designer.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Short but Risky

5+    11/20/2014   7/31/2013
Review By: mjs2055
Played: 103  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/21/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The distances may be short but it is mostly in the woods and is a short precision course. I enjoyed the course partially due to its privacy and multiple risk shots. There are many holes that can be aced. This is not a busy course and is mostly private, however there are a few houses that border the property. There is water on multiple holes which in my opinion make it a fun and challenging course. I will say that it is very easy to lose a disc in the water but it will be worth the risk. Some of the tee pads in the woods are nicely set up compared to the ones on the trail. There are wood chips in a lot of places which reduces the mud and erosion.
Cons: Be careful of the marsh on hole #4. I throw a disc I'm willing to lose on hole #4,#5 and #6 due to the water hazards. Do not throw right on hole #10. I would give this course a higher rating if it weren't for a couple of holes. Holes #7,#9 and #12 are too short. Hole #11 is fun but very difficult because it leaves virtually no room for error. There are not really any long holes which will frustrate some people. It is definitely possible to lose a disc here in the water or on the marsh holes so be careful.
Other Thoughts: This course is short but it is definitely fun and worth playing. It is mostly wooded with tight lines with some open shots that require you to throw over water. Like others have written previously, this is would be considered an intermediate course. It is too difficult for beginners and does not pose too much of a challenge to advanced players. I do like how the course is usually not crowded and mostly private. I would give this course a higher rating but there are a few ways they could have designed the course better. It is worth the trip if you are in the area or want a quick course to play that is right off of the expressway.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 No black bears here, Just good 'ol disc golf.

1    12/8/2012   12/11/2012
Review By: LeddZepp8687
Played: 82  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Solid teepads (Mostly pavement, Some astroturf)
-Innova DISCatcher baskets that are in great shape
-Nice signs at each teepad that illustrate each hole well and each sign has a little factoid about the park or something related to the outdoors which I thought was a nice touch.
-While there aren't any long holes (The longest being 301 feet) the course's shortness can be mostly overlooked due to the fact that almost all the holes are pretty wooded and technical enough to provide enough challenge for players of all skill levels.
-Some risk/reward shots with the water that comes into play on a couple of the holes.
-This course seems pretty well designed in regard to basket placements and maximization of available property. There isn't any room for any long holes in this park but the abundance and placement of obstacles in the fairways and around the baskets keeps things interesting enough.
-The course is set in a nice, quiet park in the back edge of a very nice neighborhood.
Cons: -While most holes are pretty well wooded there are a few holes that are short and wide open.
-Navigation is a little weird in a few spots. I played with a friend who had been here before so this was a non-issue for me but I could very clearly see this being somewhat of an issue for first time players here.
-Some fairways play a little close to other fairways or teepads and there are a few spots were a bad throw could end up over a fence and into someone's yard.
-As mentioned earlier in my review, there are no long holes here. To more experienced players longing for long, bomber style holes, this could be a deal breaker. Personally, I got over it quick and found myself having a lot more fun than I expected. I really enjoy short and technical courses and this one fit that bill. When I write these reviews I like to lay everything out on the table so people know exactly what to expect.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course. I like to throw putters and mids off the pad so this course was right up my alley. As much as I like to grip and rip some plastic, the short holes are a fun way to practice your finesse and midrange shots.This course is perfect for just that.

Bottom line-This course is a good play, One that I actually want to play again soon. The chicagoland area is plagued with tons of short, boring "neighborhood" style courses. This one may appear to be another one of those courses at first glance, but it isn't.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/27/2012   10/7/2012
Review By: Stankyjahnke
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -fun clean nice course
-good signage nice facts on them
-good course to work on skill shots and mid rangers
-lots of trees make u have to figure out tough lines
-layout is nice
Cons: -no real long holes to grip it and rip it
-swamp on hole 11 is a disc eater don't short it
-the walking path is on a couple holes just look out for people there nice and will wait
Other Thoughts: Park on the street in front of the playground park the first hole is behind the basketball court
If u end up in the swamp I seen a kid in waiters walking through it grabbing disc so u might get lucky if u lose one

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best of the NW

5+    6/1/2012   6/7/2012
Review By: Chicagolandlefty
Played: 79  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 17.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good variety of wooded and water holes and short and medium length.
Very good signs and directions make it easy to get around for the most part.
Some challenging tee shots and clever hole locations.
Pretty park and a new course.
Cons: If you're somewhat of a beginner water comes into play on 4-6 holes. One of my friends has lost a disc each of the three times he's played here, but he only got serious about the sport a few months ago.
If you care about score the pars on here are easy, but that shouldn't effect the level of enjoyment.
It's not a very long course so if you really want to let loose this isn't for you.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course with some challenging shots and variety, but overall it's pretty easy. The only thing it's missing is some elevation. The first hole and one other have you tee from elevation otherwise it's a flat course. Definitely one of my favorites in the Chicago area, certainly for someone in the north or northwest suburbs.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Park

5+    4/10/2012   4/20/2012
Review By: Aceseekr
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Great Course, long, short, water and wooded holes. Never crowded, always maintained. Wind is never a factor and the pictures on this page don't do the course justice.
Cons: Swamp on hole 4 and 10 may have 5 of my discs in there.
Other Thoughts: I drive 50 min every Saturday to play here.

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Wooded, water and short holes

5+    12/24/2011   12/25/2011
Review By: gregwil2
Played: 55  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/30/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very good signs for each hole (I took pictures of each an uploaded them), challenging use of trees and some water throw overs or avoidance shots. Must use a lot of different shots and precision throws to get around trees. All tee pads either used the walkway or had a raised teebox with AstroTurf.
Cons: The course layout was confusing and didn't flow very well. There were markings on sidewalks and signs to help out. Navigating to the next hole on some did required you to walk through other fairways though, luckily it wasn't that busy when we went or people on the paths. The pars listed and the distances (even on some very open holes) were pretty easy. Many of the holes only required the use of a putter and not many holes needed more than a mid-range. A few holes played pretty close to each other and could be bad if there were a lot of people playing close by and there were any errant throws.
Other Thoughts: Even though the layout wan't the best, it wasn't too bad to navigate for my first time playing. The pars listed and the distances (even on some very open holes) were pretty short. The pars and distance made me think that it was a beginner course, but the trees and water made it almost too difficult for a beginner. I would recommend if in the area especially if you want to work on short range shots.
Played this course again and changing my rating from 2.5 to 3.5. It is really a nice course and have definite replay value. Being more experience now made me need less discs but helped work on the mid and short game.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  

1    8/14/2011   8/14/2011
Review By: kreulr
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: It has some very challenging holes on it. I have never played a course where the water holes play in to play so much. It is a fun course to play. Wear lots of bug spray in the summer time.
Cons: The carpet on tee boxes are slick when wet. You have to watch your footing when wet.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Easy

1    7/12/2011   7/14/2011
Review By: steven2361
Played: 175  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 6.6 Years
6 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Various tee surfaces all offer good footing including the walking path black top and astro turf.

Large helpful signs

18 holes in an area stuffed with 9 holers

Several fun technical woods shots

Works your approach game.

In a nice neighborhood

Good Innova Discatcher Baskets
Cons: Exetremely short, (The only time I took out a driver was for flicks and spikes)

Not Chalenging, deuce or die. There are too many holes under 200 feet and a few of them have absolutely no obstacles.

There is some water but the course design does not really utilize it well so it doesn't come into play.

Some awkward walks.
Other Thoughts: This would have been a thousand times better with 9 or 12 holes and a better and more chalenging design. The course design is just lame with many short putter approach holes. IMO design could be improved with added distance through the woods, better putting green placements, and some par 4s at least.

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 A Gem!

2-4    7/6/2011   7/6/2011
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 101  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 10.6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course makes great use of a very scenic park. The holes offer challenging lines for players to hit, a feature that is absent in many suburban disc golf courses. It is also uncommon for suburban disc golf courses to have 18 holes, which gives Black Bear an edge over many courses. This is a perfect place to practice making tight straight throws that can be applied at high caliber tournament courses.

The tee signs here are accurate and as of right now, they're all in place. The baskets are brand spanking new and are full of loving chains. If you're looking for a moderate challenge, then this course is a great place to play.

Favorite holes: 11, 18
Cons: This course falls just short of being a very highly rated one for a few reasons:

*It does not offer much distance challenge. If you are an experienced disc golfer, you will not need your drivers at Black Bear

*Hole 12 is a 166 ft. more or less wide open shot... a hole that wouldn't be found on a lengendary course

*After hole 17, you have to cross hole 3s fairway to get to the tee of hole 18

Other Thoughts: *Mixture of cement and astroturf teepads... I know this is often listed as a "con," but it didn't really seem to affect the overall experience

*There is more water to the left of hole 11s fairway than I expected, be sure to keep your discs away!

Overall, I'd say that this course is definitely going a bit out of your way to visit. It certainly challenges finesse, but if you play well, you will be rewarded with a great score!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.