Disc Golf Store
Bellvue, CO 
Buckhorn DGC Share
Uploaded By: ryyedogg Hole #17 (Taken 8/2008)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Solid Private Course in the Rockies

1    4/2/2014   4/3/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 331  Reviewed: 329  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Some nice homemade baskets. I always admire any homemade and when they are well-done, I am impressed.
-It has slightly better tees than many of these private courses in the mtns.
-Map at the start aids in navigation.
-Some fun elevation. Ups and downs and a few side hills.
-I like the feeling of remoteness that you get when you drive up to this course and while playing this course. You are deep into the mountains. Odds are also good that you will be alone when you come out here. Take a seat on a log and enjoy the scenery and silence.
-Or you can take a seat on one of many benches throughout the course.
-Pretty decent variation of hole length. Some are longer and a few are potential ace runs based on how far you can throw.
-Decent variation of open and wooded holes. None felt too open or too wooded to me.
-The last 3 holes were a solid closer for me. Up and then down twice.
Cons: -It takes a long time to get here. As this site says, it's only like 17 miles from Ft. Collins but the drive is a long one. Fill up on gas, food, and water before you head up here.
-Straying from fairways can lead to lost discs and scratched up hands and legs. Best to just keep it on the fairway if at all possible.
-Tees could have been better, especially on the longer holes where you really need to get a solid run-up or x-step in.
-I always love signage and this course didn't really have any beyond the map at the start.
-Pay to play- I understand that this is some guys private land and can't hold it against him for wanting to benefit a little for all the hard work and money that he's put in.
-As others have mentioned, the wow factor isn't quite there as you might expect from a Colorado mountain course. I was kind of getting bored until the last 3 holes which I found to be fun.
Other Thoughts: -I have to say that I had fun here. I am easy to please. However, I don't think that I would come here again. It is so far up here and the time and gas that it takes to get here isn't quite worth the experience (at least again, I don't regret it)
-Discs are more stable up here
-Like I said earlier, prepare for this course by bringing anything you need as there is nothing up here in the way of stores or really even people.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun, but not Elite

1    8/18/2013   8/18/2013
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 116  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 5.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Secluded and beautiful area west of Fort Collins
-The best homemade baskets I have ever seen. They catch well, and are well marked with a yellow sign and hole number on top.
-The course is easy to navigate for the most part, the next tee-pad is usually really close to the last hole. There are a few spots that have a somewhat long walk to the next hole, but take a picture of the map at the first hole, and you won't have any issues navigating the course.
-The course has a lot of good elevation changes, (most holes feature either uphill or downhill shots. Several holes have both up and downhill incorporated into them.
-The course makes good use of the woods it plays through. There are a lot of tightly wooded fairways on the course.
-The course has a good variety of holes (wooded, some wide open, and then some holes that incorporate both wooded and wide open into them).
-The course has a good amount of distance on it and there are definitely some opportunities to let your big drivers rip on the course.
-Benches on most holes
Best Holes include-
Hole 9- This is a tight fairway enclosed by trees, and is quite beautiful and a lot of fun to play
Hole 12- A long downhill shot, through a tunnel of trees down to the basket situated in a nice meadow.
Hole 18- Great way to end the course. It felt like the longest hole on the course and is a long bomber shot downhill through a big meadow, down to the basket guarded by a few trees.
Cons: -A lot of the fairways on this course are quite overgrown, with lots of sticky, prickly plants and tall grass. You will definitely spend some time looking for your disc and I suggest wearing long pants to avoid the prickly itchy grass.
-While the tee-pads are rubber, they were way too short and the area behind the tee-box weren't always conducive to good run-ups. The tee-pads on this course definitely need some improvement.
-Wish there were tee-signs as it can be hard to judge how long a hole is due to the elevation changes. You can't always see the basket from the tee-pad, so it would be nice to have a tee-sign with the layout of the hole.
-This course is a very far out of the way and pretty much in the middle of nowhere. It is 11 miles up a dirt road that takes a bit of time to drive up- Make sure you give yourself plenty of time to drive-up to and back from the course, if you are trying to fit this one into a road trip.
-A couple of the holes have crossing fairways. The course wasn't very crowded when we played so it wasn't a big deal, but this could be a problem if the course got crowded.
-A couple holes felt a little repetitive after a while.
-None of the holes really had much of a wow factor to them.
Other Thoughts: This was a fun course, it just didn't have the wow factor or feeling that I get when playing a 4.0 or higher rated course. While I enjoyed the course, I don't think the long drive out to the course is worth it, when there are better courses that are much more easily accessed.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/6/2013   7/10/2013
Review By: Radioactiveman
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a work in progress that seems to get better every trip up. The course sits around 8500 feet up so expect your disc to be a bit more stable. The owners continue to make strives to better the course and their effort is shown. The course has a good variety of hyzers, anhyzers, flex shots and tunnels which adds to the enjoyment. My friend and I donated rubber teepads which are now installed and while they are a little short they are much more playable than the rough natural pads from before. The fairways have been cleaned up a bunch thanks to the owners and many volunteers which was definitely needed. The wild flowers and views are amazing right now at this course. Overall this is definitely a fun course that anyone in northern colorado should check out.
Cons: Beware of bees and cow poop! Tee signs with various pin locations would be cool. Also due to the clean up there are some large brush piles that your disc can end up in.
Other Thoughts: Make sure to pay either the owner if he is home or place money in the box under the course map on hole one. Also any gates you open make sure to close as the owner keeps cows on the property. Also everyone I have met and played with at this course have been very cool and laid back so keep the good vibes going as this is what really makes this course a gem.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

I Told The Cows Not To Poop On The Teepad!

1    7/19/2012   7/23/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 662  Reviewed: 606  Exp: 36.2 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The first thing you must realize about Buckhorn is that it is going to take you a spell to get there. It's about a 20-25 mile trip to get to the dirt road which leads up to the course. Then it's a 11 mile (35 minute) drive up the winding unpaved road to the course itself.
The course is very much on the rustic side with natural pads, these clever homemade baskets and very simple tee signs. There are simple benches at every hole. The course is recreational in nature and to me, had more of the feel of a normal wooded course feel, rather than that of a high mountain course. The natural beauty and scenic vistas were just not there. The course is very technical in nature.

Rather you had cows grazing in the fairways and leaving their piles on two of the teepads. I gave them a stern scolding about this breech of mountain disc course etiqueette. This just stared at me blankly. Not even a courtesy moo.
The course is actually a bit swampy in places and the July 2012 fires actually burned some of the benches and teepads. In a couple of instances, I was actually walking through charred, blackened earth. It must have been terrifying a few short weeks ago.
Cons: Although the course features a decent challenge, it lacks the wow factor. Too many uphill holes, too many others lacking any real excitement. Other than the final hole, it doesn't offer any other big downhills. The amenities are private course rudimentary and basic.
Other Thoughts: I sincerely believe that Buckhorn DGC is the recipient of PCB (Private Course Bias) where reviewers tend to get all excited about private courses and inflate their ratings. After playing Beaver Ranch with it's incredible mountain scenery, unmatched amenities and challengingly but fair layout, Buckhorn falls way short in comparison. Buckhorn DGC is a nice 3 to 3.5 star course a very long drive up here in the mountains. And I absolutely am not deducting any points for any damage or course problem caused the recent wildfires. I'm just thankful the damage was as minor as it was and that no-one here was injured during the fires.

And there was no-one home but a friendly kitten so I left a donation at the front door of the first cabin. Thanks for the experience.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Factor high

1    10/2/2010   10/5/2010
Review By: JeffThroW
Played: 177  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 9 Years
This review was updated on 12/29/2010
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Driving thru Buckhorn Canyon you start to realize that the course is goin to be in a very pretty area.Aspens Pines an grassy plains surrounded by mountains is what your in for.Great use of the land an elevation change.Really enjoyed the course maybe more then Sundance an Beaver Meadows probably because its shorter then those two an I played it third. Definately the easier of the three.
Cons: The drive from Ft.Collins is around thirty plus miles but the road is very slow once you enter the buckhorn dirt road.Scenic but slow.High grasses made my girl itch.Cows roaming freely could give you a surprise under your feet.
Other Thoughts: Shooting under par here is a must for seasoned disc golfers, not too much trouble to perform well here hole 17 is the only longer hole and its downhill in a more open area for ya.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Northern Colorado's Greats

1    7/9/2010   7/22/2010
Review By: trenken0103
Played: 27  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 13.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a great set up! The pin placements are set up to perfection. Not very much elevation changes but just some great dog legs and a few up hills or around them. Every basket is homemade and they work great. They set up a few water holes which are good for some tougher shots. Hole 8 is right on the water so make sure you either chuck it past it or lay up. Great down hill shot on 17 and a nice around the hill for 18. A few blind shots but just have a spotter ready for those ones. If you don't have a spotter you could be searching for discs. The course is in the middle of nowhere so make sure to get directions from the owner.
Cons: Google maps was way off. Ask owner for directions. The loud "BONG" when your disc hits below the basket. A few different tweeks and this could be the best course in Northern Colorado.
Other Thoughts: This course is a great stop by if your playing the Northern Colorado Circuit. The owners are very nice and willing to play a couple of holes with you if you want. Benches and trash cans on a lot of holes. Keep it clean.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the trip!

1    2/17/2010   2/17/2010
Review By: ryyedogg
Played: 37  Reviewed: 30
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a beautiful course sitting in buckhorn canyon at around 8000 ft.. The scenery is great, and the course has a very navigable layout. A mix of open meadows, woods, and bushes makes this course challenging but nothing too lengthy or technical for a casual player. This course has some of my favorite holes like #17(downhill bomb with a great view!). The pads are nice being natural and the targets are very cool homemade goals made by the owners. If you want a peaceful and scenic round of disc golf, this is one of the best places for it!
Cons: Some of the pads are a little bumpy and rocky, but you can never expect natural pads to be perfect. A few holes are almost identical the way they are played. Lastly, and this may only be a con if you have a big arm, but there aren't any extreme long holes that you can rip.
Other Thoughts: If you get a chance, say hello to the owners and tell them what a great job they have done on the course. This quickly became one of my favorite courses in Northern Colorado!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/1/2009   12/24/2009
Review By: peteg
Played: 70  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.2 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great fun private mountain course. The atmosphere at this course is phenomenal. You will never see anyone out there other than the people you came with (and possibly the owners). The views on this course are some of the most beautiful in Colorado--rolling tree covered hills and valleys. Another thing I really like about this course is that you have all of the advantages of playing on a high altitude mountain course with very few of the disadvantages. I'm guessing the course is somewhere around 7000 - 8000 feet, so you're high enough to be in the heart of the mountains, but not so high that you have to scramble over boulders or do any hardcore hiking to play this course. It plays through a nice grassy valley for the most part. There are constant elevation changes throughout, but the design is good enough that you don't have any long or tough walks. The only "extreme" elevation shots are the extreme uphill 16 followed by epic downhill 17. You'll want to pause on 17's teepad to catch your breath and appreciate the awesome view.

None of the holes are super long--they are all in the 300-400 foot range. However, there are no gimme birdies out here. It is possible to shoot really hot on this course, but you really have to hit your lines. This is a course that really rewards creative shots. The course record is -10 (Pat Lien), and he shot it by throwing a lot of creative high sidearm shots through the woods on lines that no one else could think of. Navigating tricky woods and elevation shots is what this course is all about.

There is a high variety of shots on the course, from tubes through the woods to open meadow shots, both uphill and downhill. A sidearm comes in handy on this course, as does a good overhand shot.
Cons: The cons are the typical cons associated with any mountain course. Teepads are natural. Concrete pads are really not feasible in the mountains, and the natural ones on this course don't give me too many problems. Some are a bit rocky and uneven, but again, anyone who plays in the mountains a lot knows that this is standard fare. There are no tee signs or a map. The designers are constantly making improvements to the course though--I wouldn't be surprised to see these soon. The layout is pretty easy to follow anyway--it would be hard to get lost on this course. The only other thing I would like to see on this course are a couple of par 4, placement shot type of holes. While nothing on this course is a gimme, everything can be deuced with a good enough shot. Some of the holes are so rarely birdied that you might consider them a par 4, but there are no holes where you must place a good shot in a specific landing area and then make another good approach shot. These types of holes seem to be rare in Colorado in general.
Other Thoughts: All the baskets are custom-made perfectly to spec. The basket part is made of welded sheet metal, so when you miss a putt low, you're punished with a loud DONG! that really starts to hurt your pride after you hear it a few times. They are unique looking and truly awesome baskets with very solid chains--some of my favorite to putt on. They also have bright orange number plate medallions that improve visibility.

Also, the guys who put this course in are totally awesome. Not sure if everyone would consider this a pro or a con, but I have never played a completely sober round on this course. Everytime you're there, you're partying and having a blast. Fun times are always guaranteed on this course.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Rocky Mountain Gem

2-4    10/20/2009   11/24/2009
Review By: GDisc
Played: 58  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 6.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course nestled back in the Heart of the Rockies. Very secluded course with a good mix of difficulty. Hole 17 is Epic. Very good flow and benches at most(if not all) of the pads. For natural pads, they are in pretty good condition. Great mix of elevation and length. Great design and thought put into this one. Good mix of multiple doglegs and tight fairways with open bomber shots as well.
Cons: The drive from Fort Collins can take an Hour but it is a beautiful drive so not much of a con other than time consuming.
Other Thoughts: The atmosphere at this course is awesome. Very laid back. I've played this course during Colorado Autumn and the scenery is unbeatable. Hole 16 plays straight up a steep mountain incline where at the top you Tee off for Hole 17 which is a Huge bomber shot with a big drop in elevation. Bring drinks and snacks if you plan on playing for awhile because there is no convenience stores for miles(that i know of). If you are anywhere near this course it is definitly worth a stop. You'll need your whole bag for this one.This course easily ranks in my Top 3 played.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Awesome!

5+    9/7/2009   11/18/2009
Review By: augustwes
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenery and fun, technical holes. The designers have put a lot of work into this course and it shows in the quality of the homemade baskets. Plus, benches on every tee pad!! An A+ quality course.
Cons: Drive time.

1 of 17 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.