Course Extinct
Marshallton, DE
Carousel Park Share
Uploaded By: Tolbert Hole #2
3 / 275ft.   3 / 420ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket (hole #1 basket in background)



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Welcome to a real course

1    4/20/2013   4/28/2013
Review By: zirex007
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Absolutely beautiful park. Good map available online. All tees are marked.
Cons: Be ready for some hills!
Other Thoughts: This was the first full 18 hole course i've played and it was definatlly a shocker. especially with one hole 750+ feet. but i would have to say unlike some of the other courses i have looked at in Delaware this one was free to play and was very clean.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Wasn't Impressed

1    3/30/2013   3/30/2013
Review By: zewski12
Played: 36  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Wide Open, you can really see how much of an arm you have here.
Cons: -To start this course was VERY difficult to navigate. i spent more time trying to find the next hole then playing.
-Signage (if it existed) was horrible. I'm not a fan of the Google earth areal view with lines on it. The lines weren't even accurate. Every hole is so long that you cant see where the basket is you just throw and pray you are throwing in the right direction.
-"Tee Boxes" consist of 2 concrete box buried flush with the ground with a number painted on it. Very difficult to find.
Other Thoughts: I can't believe there is a PDGA event here annually. The course has potential but it doesn't look like the owners of the farm plan on putting any work into it.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable and Challenging

1    11/17/2012   11/20/2012
Review By: Thenshaw
Played: 43  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.9 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice, Relaxing Scenery. No fee in Delaware. Enjoyable elevation changes. Not crowded on a Saturday afternoon.
Cons: Extremely hard to navigate. I spent a lot of time looking for next tees and having to backtrack because I had walked in the wrong direction. I had a map and was still lost on holes 6, 8 and 13.
Other Thoughts: I am definitely an amatuer and have no arm whatsoever. A 250' foot drive is an especially good one for me. That being said, I still enjoy a challenge and some of my favorite courses are said to be truly tough. I really enjoyed the course overall and had fun playing through the scenery. However, I became frustrated at times with so much distance on the holes and felt I had to play the gold tees because they were easier to find. Adding to the frustration was the inability to navigate well and, for me anyway, definitely dampened my experience. I did, however really enjoy a few holes and 3 and 12 really stand out despite having lost a disc to the creek on my approach @ 12. The wooded holes, though very few, were also nicely placed and enjoyable. The maintenance was good for a mid fall day with a lot of down leaves. Not many other players around, but alot of dog walkers and joggers. Had to keep an eye out for them as they were apt to cross fairways often. Carousel is a nice course overall and I look forward to playing through again soon in hopes the experience is better because of some famialiarity with the layout.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Don't be hungover!

2-4    8/15/2012   8/21/2012
Review By: iHitTree
Played: 38  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 11.9 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is really scenic with hills, streams, lakes, horse obstacles and fences, fields, and woods. It is a great course for the difficult end of the spectrum as its pars are very challenging and its distances are huge. Delaware seems a DG Mecca between Carousel, Brandywine, White Clay, and Iron Hill all right in Wilmington area (haven't hit Camby yet). Carousel is a great mix of field and wood and gives an even slice of each, so you'll use all of your shots and discs here most likely. A lot of walking makes this a workout as well as a DG round--a plus for me, as sometimes when solo, I play a running round if the course isn't crowded. FREE. Rarely ever more than a handful of golfers on the entire course (most cars I've seen in the lot is 4). Holes 3, 5, 8, 12, 13, and 14 are A+ holes due to beauty, difficulty, design, and length. They are not only the highlights of this course, but some of the best holes I've seen in the sport so far.
Cons: A lot of chances to lose a disc here, be careful and come with a handful of distance drivers for your first round here. As big as this course is, the fairway grass is long, and I spent 10 minutes searching for a blast on hole 5 that was a great throw. Hole 3 is a 500+ foot par 3...a little much, but I like the difficulty overall, and this course demands parked approached and one putts to hit par, so this is only a borderline con. There should be a few more birdie opportunities on this course. There are little to none. For those golfers starting after work, there is only a short few month span to fit a round in here on a week night if you can't get there before 5:30-6 since it takes 2-3 hours to play. No scorecards or tee boxes. Tees are colored stones in the ground. Signage is okay at best. Markers to point out next hole could be improved. Lots of first timers get lost here.
Other Thoughts: This course chews you up and spits you out! The pars are definitely designed for very experienced players. I've been playing for 10 years and throw pretty well. On open tees, 300-350 feet is no sweat RHBH, and interestingly enough, I approach extremely well LHFH (probably due to a left handed baseball swing which essentially combines RHBH and LHFH as you swing through the strike zone and I'm a lifelong ball player). However I have yet to hit par on this course in the 4 times I have played it. I have shot +2 to +6 here and it is my mission to even out on this puppy! This round will take 2-3 hours depending who and how many you're playing with, so think standard ball golf outing time wise for this one!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

carousel

1    5/19/2012   5/22/2012
Review By: vanzandt
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.7 Years
3 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: nice scenery and clean...thats it!
Cons: you cant play if you dont know where your going!the 6 maps they do have are the most confusing thing i ever saw.very inconsistant after hole one its like running around like a chicken with its damn head cut off.not worth going an hour out of your way too play..
Other Thoughts: The key word here is- POTENTIAL.This can be top 5 in the tri_state area.one day of making maps and arrows on every hole would make this 100% better..just make the course easy to navigate and its top 5 nuff said..very dissapointed

3 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Delaware Disc Golf

1    4/15/2012   4/16/2012
Review By: Disc Fiend
Played: 56  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/14/2012
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course is beautiful. I love the rolling hills and the constant elevation changes presented throughout the course. I like how water is in play for a couple holes and I also think there is a good balance of wooded and open holes. I Like that you can throw some bombs off the tee on most holes.
Cons: The course is hard to navigate sometimes. Some of the holes had no signage and it was sometimes hard for me to figure out where the hole was playing. The park was crowded with people, but I am sure it was because it was the first 80 degree day of the year and everybody was out enjoying it.
Other Thoughts: I am positive you will enjoy this course. You definitely have to play from the long tees to get the full experience but it is worth it, trust me.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Oh, what this could be!

1    11/9/2011   11/9/2011
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 197  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 5.4 Years
14 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course is set in a huge park that has a lake, a few ponds, some woods, hills, and lots of horse pastures. It a pretty cool place with some great land and scenery.

Good quality Discatcher baskets that are in a great shape. Yellow band helps to spot them in a few places.

Lots of open shots and distance where you can really let some discs fly.

A few really good disc golf holes and designs mixed into the course. Some tough shots and some fun shots.

Some good use of elevation. You will be throwing up and down hill. It adds some fun and challenge to the holes that are otherwise a little dull.
Cons: Tee pads are all over the place as far as quality goes. Some are natural and some have fly pads. Some are marked only by a couple posts in the ground, and some have basic signage. Improvements on the pads would help this course. Same with signs. Especially considering the length and number of blind shots that are here.

Navigation is a challenge. Bring a printed map. Course is long, and there are some walks between holes. While there are some next tee signs, it still can be a little hard to get around.

Too many straight open shots. Not much line shaping. The end of the course is a little dull and monotonous.

On hole 9 and 10 I had to wait for a few dog owners to clear the fairways. There is a dog park in the park, and these holes seem to be between the dog area and a parking lot. Beware of our furry friends when throwing on the holes.
Other Thoughts: I had mixed feelings about this course. I don't have the arm for the 700' bombs, especially when forced to throw them uphill. But I also thought there were some really good holes here.

# 1 is kind of nice with a downhill throw with a pond behind the basket. Cool hole to start on.

#3 was another fun, long downhill shot that finishes in a clearing in the woods. You need to dodge a scattered tree line on your approach. That approach is kind of a blind shot so lost disc potential could be high in the woods and weeds.

#5 is a fun downhill into the woods shot with the basket located on a relatively steep hillside. Pretty cool hole.

The wooded holes all seemed pretty good to me, but #12 is just about worth coming here all by itself. It a steep, tight downhill shot in the woods. The basket sits at the bottom with a creek behind the basket. It's a truly beautiful hole. Loved it. Just wish there was more here like it.

I really like about a 1/3 of this course. There are some really excellent disc golf holes. The rest of the course though is a little dull. If you want to play a course that allows you to throw drivers through open grass then this is a good place for you. I would recommend it as a great place to work on drives and distance. And as a bonus you get to play a few nicely designed wooded holes.

With a little work on pads and signs, and with some basket position tweaking this could be a very, very good course. As it is, it isn't bad. And every once in a while it is kind of fun to throw out in the open without worrying about accuracy. While some of the open holes finish in the woods, or use enough of the hills and trees to keep things fun, there is just a little too much length and openness for this to be considered an exceptional course.

14 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Could be a lot better

1    8/14/2011   9/13/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
15 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course offers a mix of wooded and open shots over rolling terrain. There are lots of nice elevation changes that offer some fun downhill and tough uphill shots. A creek and a pond come into play offering some risk/reward opportunities. The open shots form the majority of the course with some long bombers and scattered patches of thick rough. A few wooded holes are mixed in and offer technical shots and thick punishing rough.

Most of the holes offer plenty of length, you'll need long accurate drives to be successful here. The technical shots offer a mix of left and right turning holes to make you use some different shots. The baskets are pretty new and in good shape, and the tee signs that are still in place have hole maps and distances.
Cons: The course is really tough to navigate, with most of the signs missing or broken, and many of the tees are natural making it hard to find some of them. There are some long walks that aren't at all obvious where to go next. The course map online helps quite a bit, but it was still a struggle to figure out at times. Many of the tee shots were blind and long, making for a lot of extra walking to know where to throw.

The maintenance here was pretty bad. Several of the fairways were quite overgrown with thorns and weeds, there were times where discs could easily get lost in the middle of the fairways let alone in the extremely dense and thorny rough. Many of the natural tees were rutted out and not level. The wooded holes had lots of branches and brush on the fairways.
Other Thoughts: This course has some potential to be a lot better. Better maintenance and clearing, and signage at and between holes would go a long way. The course caters to big arms, so beginners aren't going to have a lot of fun on most of the holes here, especially with the high risk of lost discs. More experienced players will find some challenges, but the course can get a little repetitive with long open shots despite the creative use of elevation changes.

15 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Over rated

1    6/30/2011   7/2/2011
Review By: KniceZ
Played: 47  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.2 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - one of the pretties settings I've ever played - well cut horse pastures
- great course for those with 400+' drives
- no fee (Most courses I've played are free but since it's seems to be unique for Del I'll put that in the Pros)
- Good mix of terrain.
Cons: - Most of the holes over 400, I could not find a lot of the short tees
- As a first time player and no local to tag along with, I spent a lot of time walking up and back so I knew which way to throw.
- Also on several of the drives you will not see where your drives land due to the terrain. In the future I'd play with someone and have them posted 300' down to spot landings especially on the few wooded holes.
- Hole four is a real pain if you don't have a 250+' up hill drive. Anything less and you'll be looking through the brush and briars for your disc.
- Good thing I printed a map before I went. There's no way I could have found the tees and baskets without it. I only saw signs on maybe half the holes with even less "next tee" signs. I guess they disappeared since some of the previous posts.
- Virtually no tee pads, not even rubber pads. (Go check out Signal View near Front Royal in VA to learn how to set rubber pads in open mowed fields)
- Only four truly wooded holes. Several other holes either started or ended in the woods but the majority of most of the holes had open fields for fairways.
Other Thoughts: Maybe I'm too much of a NOOB to appreciate it but I don't understand why so many folks think this course is Excellent. It's a beautiful setting, BUT with all the listed con - it's Good at best in my book.

I doubt I'll go back till I can throw 350-400'

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Has potential

1    5/10/2011   5/10/2011
Review By: itsthedaubs
Played: 33  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is located in a very nice park in Delaware. One benefit is unlike most of Delaware's courses, this is free (no park fees) The wooded holes in the middle of the course make for a nice change of pace. Short and long tees are also a plus. Baskets are in very good condition.
Cons: Tee signs are minimal, and even when they are present they leave a lot to be desired. They indicate that there is a short and long tee and an A and B basket position, however it does not show you which placement the basket is currently in. Starting at hole 1 we had trouble finding the tee box. This remained a problem throughout the entire round. Hole 3's basket was almost impossible to find (even with the signage) and the surrounding areas were all sticker-bushes. The courses flow is very strange and sometimes results in long walks between holes. This course is LONG. many 600-700 ft holes even from the "short" tees. Tee pads are almost all natural, except for those in the woods, they are rubber and leave you wondering why they didn't use these throughout the course.
Other Thoughts: With some work this course could easily rate as a 4+ in my book. The most important thing that needs to be addressed is the signage. Teepads would also improve this course as well. Some of the 600-700 foot holes seem repetitive. It seems like you are throwing up hill the entire round. How about some long downhill shots where you can really just let it fly?

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.