Course Extinct
Marshallton, DE 
Carousel Park Share
Uploaded By: optidiscic Hole #11
3 / 395ft.   3 / 395ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Don't be hungover!

2-4    8/15/2012   8/21/2012
Review By: iHitTree
Played: 44  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 12.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is really scenic with hills, streams, lakes, horse obstacles and fences, fields, and woods. It is a great course for the difficult end of the spectrum as its pars are very challenging and its distances are huge. Delaware seems a DG Mecca between Carousel, Brandywine, White Clay, and Iron Hill all right in Wilmington area (haven't hit Camby yet). Carousel is a great mix of field and wood and gives an even slice of each, so you'll use all of your shots and discs here most likely. A lot of walking makes this a workout as well as a DG round--a plus for me, as sometimes when solo, I play a running round if the course isn't crowded. FREE. Rarely ever more than a handful of golfers on the entire course (most cars I've seen in the lot is 4). Holes 3, 5, 8, 12, 13, and 14 are A+ holes due to beauty, difficulty, design, and length. They are not only the highlights of this course, but some of the best holes I've seen in the sport so far.
Cons: A lot of chances to lose a disc here, be careful and come with a handful of distance drivers for your first round here. As big as this course is, the fairway grass is long, and I spent 10 minutes searching for a blast on hole 5 that was a great throw. Hole 3 is a 500+ foot par 3...a little much, but I like the difficulty overall, and this course demands parked approached and one putts to hit par, so this is only a borderline con. There should be a few more birdie opportunities on this course. There are little to none. For those golfers starting after work, there is only a short few month span to fit a round in here on a week night if you can't get there before 5:30-6 since it takes 2-3 hours to play. No scorecards or tee boxes. Tees are colored stones in the ground. Signage is okay at best. Markers to point out next hole could be improved. Lots of first timers get lost here.
Other Thoughts: This course chews you up and spits you out! The pars are definitely designed for very experienced players. I've been playing for 10 years and throw pretty well. On open tees, 300-350 feet is no sweat RHBH, and interestingly enough, I approach extremely well LHFH (probably due to a left handed baseball swing which essentially combines RHBH and LHFH as you swing through the strike zone and I'm a lifelong ball player). However I have yet to hit par on this course in the 4 times I have played it. I have shot +2 to +6 here and it is my mission to even out on this puppy! This round will take 2-3 hours depending who and how many you're playing with, so think standard ball golf outing time wise for this one!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice mix of terrains

1    5/1/2011   5/2/2011
Review By: paramaniac
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Like my title says, Carousel Park is a very nice mix of terrains. Wide open holes, water hazards, some wooded holes with nice elevation changes.The designers of the course used a beautiful park to make a great disc golf course!
Cons: The signage leaves a lot to be desired. While there are signs, some are missing, some are out of date or hard to read. There are also a few tee areas that arent marked (i dont remember what hole but the sign is there, but no tee box)
Other Thoughts: The park was busy with non golfers yesterday but none of them impacted our game. The rough between 13 & 14 is crazy thick and ate 2 discs from my group. Lots of fragrant trees and flowers around made the day smell nice!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    10/3/2010   10/3/2010
Review By: roadtrip
Played: 196  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 19.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful, challenging, peaceful
Cons: tough to navigate and easy to lose discs. Not many ace runs.
Other Thoughts: Variety (shots) - 4.5/5 - very creative paths. Lefts, rights, and straights, with woods, openness, briar-hazards, water-hazards, and pedestrian-hazards.

Variety (distance) - 2/5 - Most all of them are long. I like a course to have a few ace runs throughout the course.

Beauty - 4.5/5 - see for yourself

Trackability - 2/5 - Tees are just orange posts. You have to search for many of the baskets. You don't know where to go after every basket. However, I've played solo twice and I've figured out everything but 13. Directions to the course are accurate though I give extra points to courses that are close to interstates.

Lost-Disc-Hazard - 2/5 - I think the brush by basket #3 is the best pro shop in Delaware. I contributed an Orc, but I pulled out two new discs while searching. You can lose them in the grass, the water, the woods, and certainly the brush. Wind comes into play.

Vibe - 4/5 - peaceful and chill. The people you do see are all laid back dog walkers and joggers. Most holes give some sense of privacy. The times I've been, there haven't been any crowds.

Safety - 4/5 - Teens run the trails alone. The parking lots are open and near the main road. I was shy about taking breaks but they have benches where you'll get the most privacy.

Total - 23/35 = 3.28 star rating

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 whoa

1    6/1/2010   6/10/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 105  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/23/2012
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This place is big and beautiful. You get woods, open, water, hills, wildlife, and great scenery all along.

-great variety
-NO fee unlike some other Delaware Parks
-challenging
-high risk/ reward with so many holes (which I love)
-well maintained and litter free
-so much to do for the rest of the family
Cons: Once the tee signs are in place this place will be even better. They use the park for cross country meets so do not follow their signs!

Other than that, watch out for goose poo near the water. It is a dog and horse park as well but the animal's waste is cleaned up pretty well.
Other Thoughts: Bring water and snacks because you will be happy you did. Thorns can get thick if you toss off of the fairway. Other reviews have covered the hole by hole analysis very well so I won't get into that. However, there are spots for different basket placements.
#1, # 12, #14 were my favoites. I will be back to see the improvements in the future!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Takes the Brass Ring!

1    11/19/2009   11/19/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/15/2010
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Suddenly theres a trinity of destination Disc Golf in Northern Delaware. Alongside of nearby Brandywine and Iron Hill I cannott fathom 3 better courses so close to one another. Designed by top pro Mike Moser, this course is different from those other 2 parks. Longer than infamous windy Brandywine and more open than infamously wooded Iron Hill. Set in a county park, so it's free, unlike most Pay to Play Delaware courses. Scenic course plays down and up rolling open hills with 2 ponds and 3 streams coming into play on 5 holes. The holes here are long, often well over 500 feet and there's dramatic elevation shifts on 16 of the 18. Woods come into play on 1/3 of the holes and the open holes all have elevation, distance and precarious pin placements with water oob, horse fence oob, protected baskets, fast green, or elevated pins. The blandest hole (8) is still a spectacular close to 800 foot drive with hedgerow left the entire way to a tucked away pin. Course starts dramatically with a 500+ bomb to the pond below and keeps the excitement coming all day long. #12 is a fun tight wooded shot with a 50 foot drop to a basket sitting in front of a healthy creek. #14 is a huge open drive, but the approach to a basket atop a dam with slope left and reservoir right with wind howling will challenge any disc golfer. Course is primarily open but with 8 holes theres OOB so shot placement will be tested. Enough woods to balance out the big arm feel. Course will require you to master your entire skill set. You must be able to tame the wind, negotiate the woods, conquer elevation up and down, Bring Big D and perform technically to score in the 60's here. I had a blast and want to take the Carousel for a few more rides. Not one filler hole...every hole brings it and surprises you in a unique way from the rest. Although many holes are L turning doglegs don't believe the righty bias rumours, this course has a ton of different looks and shots with equal danger R or L. Hole 11 is a masterpiece, a par 3 up and over hill shot that can be aced with a lucky massive blind drive but still challenging enough to garner bogies. Potties and dual tees. Maps available at office.
Cons: Natural Tees at this time, but they are well marked and will be replaced soon. Between some of the longer grass, the water, and some of the rougher rough (4 &13) disc loss is possible especially since huge often blind shots are required. (minimal however) I have some fear that the other users of the park (walkers, dog walkers, and horse riders) may come into conflict with disc golfers as many of the holes play near or over paths and horse riding routes, complete with leaping obstacles and steeplechase. I'd hate to see a horse spooked by a blind drive and someone get hurt. Saw 2 women on horses and the slightest movement rattled the horses. Please play safe and respect other park patrons. (Be especially aware of walking path on hole 14)
Other Thoughts: Be aware that there are 2-3 sets of tees per hole...w/o signs its not always obvious where the pro tees are. Take a glorious pristine and scenic piece of property and then breed it with a course design that utilizes every inch of land and maximizes it's potential and you have a Stud of a course. Delaware has done it again. Once tees are built and a Kiosk is present this will be a 4.5 possibly 5 rated course. America your next disc golf destination should be Northern Delaware! With the arrival of 2 world class free courses in DE I wonder what will become of the state park courses nearby with the grumpy rangers and $6 out of state fees?

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.