College Corner, OH 
Disctractions DGC Share
Uploaded By: Kenny53691 Hole #6 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 192ft.   3 / 195ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee B



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Troll's Review

5+    8/30/2013   10/5/2013
Review By: Eric troll Biscuits
Played: 31  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 26 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Around Miami U. where they uninstalled a course recently..
18 holes
wooded and shaded
right in the park, by the lodge
it has it challenges, but nothing "disc fearing"
Neutral course, wont favor right of left handed players.
Cons: No mix up in the lay out, at all... just walking in the woods. No grass anything...
Other Thoughts: If you've ever played with Hank, you should not be surprised by this 18 hole super wooded course he designed. I first met him in 1991 at Winton woods. Super beast, we watched him drive old scorpions across the baseball fields. He had great control too, and then, of course, he doesn't miss a putt

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Hueston woods still tweaking?

1    11/10/2012   11/11/2012
Review By: kingjames1014
Played: 82  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Newer chainstar baskets
-Mature trees and elevation changes
-Concrete pads in excellent shape
-Offers a wide variety of shot selections
-Dual teepads for All types of players
-"Next tee" signs on nearly all holes
Cons: -Lots of trash around when i played.Trash buckets were full and were torn down or missing.
- Tee signs on holes 8-16 gone.(see other thoughts)
- Listed as 27 but only 18 playable.(see other thoughts)
-Chainstar baskets are difficult to see in the woods. Maybe the park could put flags on top for better visibility?
Other Thoughts: There were no tee signs on holes 8-16. At first i thought they were vandalized, but the screws holding them on were missing too. it appears they were removed and being updated i guess. the teesigns on 17 and 18 were listed as holes 26 and 27.
I only played 18 holes because i couldn't find the other 9. it was only as I was leaving the area that i saw some Innova Discatchers in the woods north of the current course. I parked the car and investigated this area. it apprears they are not being used. there were no posts or signs and the teepads and baskets looked like they haven't seen any use for a while. there was a lot of debris in the fairways also. I'm not sure if this area will be incorporated into the other 18. i emailed the Cincinnati Disc golf club asking about it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Getting Better!

2-4    10/29/2011   10/30/2011
Review By: hooked312
Played: 34  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - This course is on a wonderful piece of property in Hueston Woods State Park. The front side is on the side of a hill with beautiful views of Acton Lake.
- Nice concrete tee pads with great signage directing you to the next hole.
- Never very busy, so it makes for a traffic free round.
- Great use of elevation changes on the first seven holes.
- Little trash buckets located at some of the tee pads and a few benches throughout the 18.
Cons: - As much as the first 7 holes are scenically beautiful it feels like they are very spread out and there is room to make more holes or change the flow somehow.
- The tee signs are only on some on the tee pads and they don't have the greatest illustrations.
- On holes 8-18 it feels like some more clearing should be done to create lines for tee shots.
Other Thoughts: The last time I played the course was the first time I could find 18 holes to play. The navigation and organization has definitely improved on this course.
This course has so much potential and every time I play it I am enjoying it more and more. It is a very technical course that challenges you to shape a variety of shots throughout.
Can't wait for future renovations and improvements on this course!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 I'll be back

1    5/29/2011   6/1/2011
Review By: clyderandall
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was a lot of fun to play. It makes you through with precision and accuracy. The distance isn't too far but not too short. You play completely in the woods which is nice to be in shade. The front nine are clearly marked with nice maps and reflective markers pointing you to the next tee.
Cons: The course does not seem to be finished yet. It says its 27 holes but most of the back half of the course is still being developed. With that said the back of the course is not clearly marked and some holes are over grown and need to be cleared.
Other Thoughts: While there we spoke to the designer of the course and owner of sweeteesdiscgolf.com. He told us about the big plan for the course and the schedule to have this course completed over this summer. Every hole will have multiple tees and is designed to be skill challenging versus power challenging. The people behind this course are very passionate and I'm excited to see what comes of it. Just needs a little time.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome beginning, disappointing ending

1    10/11/2010   11/1/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 813  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a hilly forest with nice mature trees. The first part of the course is a more open forest with limited underbrush, more elevation changes, and great views of a lake. The rest of the course is much denser, with smaller trees, lots of thick underbrush and flatter terrain. The elevation changes are used well to make some fun downhill shots and some tricky uphill holes.

There is a nice variety of hole shapes, with left and right turning holes and some straight shots. The first part of the course has a few holes that are a little longer, with shorter more technical holes at the end. There are two tees on every hole, adding a very different line on some holes for some more variety. There are nice concrete tees that are fairly new and in nice shape. The baskets are also pretty new and catch well. The signs that are in are decent with hole shape and distance.
Cons: The course doesn't feel finished at all. The signage starts out nice, then disappears for the rest of the course. The numbering is odd because only 18 of 27 holes are in, with a chunk of holes missing in the middle. Navigation can be a little tricky toward the end of the course with no signage and leaves covering many tees in the fall.

The first 7 holes are great, but the rest of the course gets pretty repetitive and isn't really finished yet. Once you cross the road, nearly every hole is short and a little pinbally, with lots of small trees, fairways that are really narrow and odd shapes, and extremely punishing and disc eating rough. There is lots of brush and dead branches still on these fairways adding to the unfinished feel.
Other Thoughts: If the whole course was like the beginning, it would be a really awesome place to play. It needs a lot of work, and hopefully more holes that are in the style of the beginning of the course. If that happened, and the signage was completed, I would love to come back and give this course a much higher rating. Beginners might find this course a little tough and punishing. More experienced players will find some fun challenges, though overall the course isn't really a test for better throwers.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 disctractions...

2-4    10/7/2009   11/20/2009
Review By: tatonka
Played: 58  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: it starts out great... the first 7 holes play through a hilly mature forest with tight, long fairways. a gorgeous park with a huge lake that, unfortunately and unbelievably, never comes into play, but the course does make good use of a couple of creeks and big elevation change.
the best part about this course is the multiple tee pads for each hole. on most of the holes one is quite harder than the other making the course friendly for players of all levels.
Cons: and then you cross the street... the next 11 holes lack some of the length and overall quality of the previous 7. most of these holes are under 250' and get repetitive. i understand that the course is still new and some of the fairways look like they were cut through some pretty heavy stuff*. but most of these holes are either easy 2's or the only route is to throw your putter 150 feet to a corner and then throwing it again 100 more feet to the basket for a simple drop in 3. there is one long hole but it has such a tight fairway that much less than a perfect drive will leave you in some of the most hilariously thick rough ever.
and oh yeah... no signs what so ever yet so good luck... im sure hanks working on that.
Other Thoughts: i guess hes adding 9 more holes that depending on where they go could be a great addition to this course. real potential here to be a great course, but still very rough around the edges... it is brand new.
one of the coolest things about this course are the giant mushrooms everywhere. once you get into the thick woods some of the holes have the most and biggest mushrooms ive ever seen.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.