College Corner, OH 
Disctractions DGC Share
Uploaded By: kingjames1014 Hole #16 (Taken 11/2012)
3 / 320ft.   4 / 275ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Yeah Buddy!

1    6/22/2014   6/23/2014
Review By: RlemontW
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I loved the layout and the fact that they did not remove many trees. Completely in the shade, great on a hot summer day. With a little tender care this can be an AWESOME place to play.
Cons: A little damp but expected after the rain we had and that the course is completely in the shade. After the 7th hole I think it was the postings for each hole was missing. The post was there so someone drew the path on the post.
Other Thoughts: Ran into the guy that is taking care of the course. Nice guy very talkative. Seems passionate about making the course better. Says in a couple of months it will be more to his liking but still a ways to go. He wants to cut more but is not allowed.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Troll's Review

5+    8/30/2013   10/5/2013
Review By: Eric troll Biscuits
Played: 31  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 26.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Around Miami U. where they uninstalled a course recently..
18 holes
wooded and shaded
right in the park, by the lodge
it has it challenges, but nothing "disc fearing"
Neutral course, wont favor right of left handed players.
Cons: No mix up in the lay out, at all... just walking in the woods. No grass anything...
Other Thoughts: If you've ever played with Hank, you should not be surprised by this 18 hole super wooded course he designed. I first met him in 1991 at Winton woods. Super beast, we watched him drive old scorpions across the baseball fields. He had great control too, and then, of course, he doesn't miss a putt

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

DISCtractions DGC

5+    9/28/2013   10/5/2013
Review By: joshtrum
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 1.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Shaded course
- Well maintained
- New Baskets
- Challenging
Cons: - Fairways still need some work(other thoughts)
Other Thoughts: I feel some of the fairways could be better defined. Some holes you don't have a clear line for a shot. I find myself shaping shots through the trees and either making it through, or hitting a tree and it is not a skill issue. It is simply some shots you have to make are unavailable due to one or two extra trees in the way. I do like that this course is designed for more technical skill than just bombing out drives, but a few cut down trees would make this course still very technically challenging while helping new players learn to use different shots and be rewarded for hitting proper lines. In my opinion a course should challenge pros or players of higher skill, while also having well defined fairways so that new players can learn properly what ways to throw and why. This only applies to a few holes as you can see the course designer(Hank) has put in a lot of work and this course shows it. Overall I gave the course a 4 because these issues are outweighed by the beauty, overall design, and just natural fun of the course. I have only played the A tees so far, but next time I get out I will be playing the B placements. I look foward to playing here in the future.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Hueston woods still tweaking?

1    11/10/2012   11/11/2012
Review By: kingjames1014
Played: 84  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Newer chainstar baskets
-Mature trees and elevation changes
-Concrete pads in excellent shape
-Offers a wide variety of shot selections
-Dual teepads for All types of players
-"Next tee" signs on nearly all holes
Cons: -Lots of trash around when i played.Trash buckets were full and were torn down or missing.
- Tee signs on holes 8-16 gone.(see other thoughts)
- Listed as 27 but only 18 playable.(see other thoughts)
-Chainstar baskets are difficult to see in the woods. Maybe the park could put flags on top for better visibility?
Other Thoughts: There were no tee signs on holes 8-16. At first i thought they were vandalized, but the screws holding them on were missing too. it appears they were removed and being updated i guess. the teesigns on 17 and 18 were listed as holes 26 and 27.
I only played 18 holes because i couldn't find the other 9. it was only as I was leaving the area that i saw some Innova Discatchers in the woods north of the current course. I parked the car and investigated this area. it apprears they are not being used. there were no posts or signs and the teepads and baskets looked like they haven't seen any use for a while. there was a lot of debris in the fairways also. I'm not sure if this area will be incorporated into the other 18. i emailed the Cincinnati Disc golf club asking about it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Excellent course!

1    10/13/2012   10/22/2012
Review By: fritzaj4
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Great course in a beautiful state park.
-Multiple teepads and in great condition.
-Fairly well maintained, even in the fall.
-Well shaded course.
-challenging enough course to make it enjoyable.
-perfect way to spend a few hours while camping at Hueston Woods.
-lots of slopes
Cons: -little confusing finding hole at 8.
-needs more signs and images of the holes like a few of the early ones have.
-needs better signs for the second teepad
-needs holes with wider fairways and more variety
Other Thoughts: This is an excellent course and while I was playing, I ran into the creator of the course and he was a very nice, enthusiastic, and informative man. He told me that there are big plans for the course, including maintenance and expanding the course to 27. He also told me that they are planning to create mutliple locations to switch baskets on each hole and they will change the basket placement twice in a day, which encourages multiple plays in one day.
I recommend to anyone at hueston woods, go to Miami University or live near the area. Great course

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Woods, Lake, College town: whatís not to like?

2-4    9/23/2012   9/24/2012
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 164  Reviewed: 141  Exp: 3.1 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Disctractions DGC in Hueston Woods state park is a challenging woods course near the lodge on Acton lake, featuring dual tee pads on every hole, of which 18 are established, and 9 more are in the works. For me (a Rec level player), the difference from the long tees to the shorter ones makes up 8 to 10 strokes per round, so there is enough variety to keep player of several skill levels interested. Most of the holes have been cleared well enough to establish a choice of realistic flight lines to the 'greens', and there is a good variety of left/right, uphill/down, and shorter/longer holes. Holes 1-7 play on the sloped lake side of the main driveway, and the rest are only a few steps across the road to the 8th tee. In all, a fairly well balanced course for the Intermediate disc golfer (plus or minus a division).

There are some ravines, particularly on holes 1-7, you want to avoid (and are deemed as OB during tournament play). You definitely want to avoid going long on #1, so the clearing has left a bit of a wall (fallen timber) as a backstop. I leave this as a positive because most higher level players seem to enjoy the challenge.

The flow of the course is relatively intuitive for the blue tees, but where needed, the course has 'next tee' signs. Even if some of the dual tee positions might make these a little confusing, following the fairly straightforward map will keep you on track for the finished 18. It looks like the nine holes being added are likely to go further into the woods between holes 8 and 9 (?), so there might be a little bit of confusion with some of the hole numbering during the transition.

Most elements of the infrastructure, such as bridges, etc., are excellent and solid, and there are trash receptacles (some need more frequent emptying) and benches scattered throughout the course. The best bench is behind the long tee on 3, overlooking the lake: a beautiful view!

The park, of course, has a huge variety of activities for the non-DG members of the family, from nature trails to horseback riding, a quality ball golf course, camping, and, of course, the lodge. Check the state park website for kid's classes, such as archery, and other events.
Cons: A very few of the 'fairways' aren't yet clear enough to really call 'em 'fair' (most folks have issues with the 18th not offering an obvious lane from the long tee, but there is also a 'U' shaped hole that seems to be going through some clearing which might make it more fun for a very clean and well thrown hyzer (rhbh) shot, in the near future.
Other Thoughts: This is a fantastic course to play in the summer heat because it plays almost entirely in the shade.

"Disctractions" is only minutes outside of the (Miami University) college town of Oxford, OH, so there are some really nice places to go and enjoy your "19th hole". And with the college course being modified (in fact, temporarily closed) due to construction, it's the only game in town.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Ohios Addison Oaks

2-4    8/25/2012   8/25/2012
Review By: preludedrew
Played: 67  Reviewed: 43
This review was updated on 10/7/2012
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Excellent Wooded course, though some tees need better green signs, the scenery is gorgeous, the drives are nice and long with a few short ones, great view of the lake on the first few holes.
Cons: Need signs and pictures for the rest of the holes, like the first few do.
Other Thoughts: Takes a while to drive to the lodge where the course is located, but worth it.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Disctractions in the Forested Realm of Hueston Woods SP

2-4    7/1/2012   7/1/2012
Review By: hipster
Played: 77  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 33.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is played entirely in the woods on scenic state park property. A shady course on sweltering summer days is akin to the proverbial "manna from heaven". The first 5 holes have elevation then the course levels out for the remaining holes. Clean, spotted very little litter during my round.
Next Tee signs throughout this wooded realm show the way to well laid concrete tees. Each hole has two tees which provide two distinct tee shots for each hole as opposed to the run of the mill long tee vs short tee.
Accuracy, variety of shot skills, and a little tree love are needed to do well here. Noodle armed players can neutralize the cannon armed players on this course provided the noodlers hit fewer trees.
There is adequate signage for each hole that provides an accurate map to the basket. Navigation and course flow have improved tremendously in the past year and course is beating in quite well.

Cons: I am hard pressed to con this wooded course considering it is located in the boon docks.
There is wooded debris throughout that can get in the way. Course could use a few more benches. Could not locate distances on some of the latter holes, but, it wasn't too bothersome.
Lacks a signature hole IMO.
Other Thoughts: Disctractions is great addition to Ohio State Park disc golf family and the course in now worthy of its great name.
Be prepared, bring water, bug spray and TP. Port O Pot is located by the paint ball area after the last hole.
Played the day after a vicious summer storm and there were downed trees. Behind basket 1, on the way to hole 2, there was a huge tree that was blown over the brook and took out some good sized limbs on the way down. A lone park maintenance worker was just starting to take a chain saw to the massive mess.
Hank and his crew deserve an mighty round of applause for building and maintaining such a fine course. Disctractions is now a favorite of mine and i plan to play it more often.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great summer course

2-4    6/29/2012   6/29/2012
Review By: Dettmerb
Played: 154  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 19.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is completely shaded with a high ceiling that rarely affects throws. Easy to spot "next tee" signs make navigation easy. Two concrete tee pads per hole. Each tee pad gives a different line, making course play differently. A substantial amount of clearing has been done. All 18 holes in great shape. Newer baskets in great condition. Nice views of lake on early holes. Lots of wildlife throughout the course.
Cons: Still listed as 27 holes, there are only 18 holes. Professional tee signs on first seven holes, but only hand drawn signs for last eleven holes. You will want to bring bug spray. Hole distances similar, no really long holes.
Other Thoughts: First 7 holes on one side of road. Remaining 11 on other side. Follow signs toward the lodge to find course. Practice basket most visible to the right of lodge. Hole #1 near practice basket. I feel this is best wooded course in Cincinnati area. Congrats to those who have put in a lot of work.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Challenge

5+    10/17/2011   4/17/2012
Review By: Devilduck discgolf
Played: 88  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 20 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: I like the risk and reward factors here, great views ,great teepads, and great basket placements
Cons: the fairways need to be cleaned up alittle and constant storm damage makes it tough , Not enough volunteer work goes into it ,
Other Thoughts: Great design !

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center