College Corner, OH 
Disctractions DGC Share
Uploaded By: kingjames1014 Hole #9 (Taken 11/2012)
3 / 255ft.   3 / 275ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
A little slice of the Northwest, here in the Midwest

1    5/23/2015   6/2/2015
Review By: numbernine
Played: 57  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If at the end end of the day, this course is anything, it is definitely hard. It's a technical, shot shaping master work , set on a resort, in the middle of the woods by a beautiful lake. Truly, I can't think of a better place to be playing disc golf. That's the summary. Now on to the specifics.

Targets - The baskets are new and catch wonderfully. no vandalism or rust happening on any of the beautifully placed targets yet.

Tee pads - there are two tee pads on most holes. There might even be two pads on every hole, but we only played from the A pads. All of the pads we played from were level, well thought out concrete launching areas for our disc golf pleasure.

Shots - From sweeping anhyzers, to giant, downhill hyzer shots, to tunnel bombs that require pinpoint accuracy, this course almost has it all. I love the idea that I can't just take a small bag to a course. You need everything you own for this place.

Signs - There are signs there, but not the best ones I have ever seen. However, there are signs that explain each shot and show you where the basket is relative to the hole. They could be better, but I am listing it as a pro, as they are there. There are also signs on every hole that show you where the next tee is. I see that other people say that navigation is tough on this course, and I don't find that to be the case. Snag a map at the cabin, and then follow the "next tee" signs around"

The x factors - Lots of elevation changes on the front nine, and some of the back. Maybe some of the most beautiful shots that I have ever seen. Old growth pine trees that stand as sentinels on many baskets.
It sits on a resort property and it's still free to play!
Cons: Finding the start of the course was harder than it should have been. Find the the little group of trees with basket 19 under it, and head into the woods from there. There needs to be a sign or announcement board or something there to show you where to go.

The signs need a lot of work. In some cases, the signs are hand drawn and don't really give a ton of information.

The course is rough in some places. I am assuming that the resort maintains a lot of the work. There were places on the back, in the woods, away from the walking trails where it looked like no one had been yet this year.

The course is in the middle of nowhere. It's interesting that this would be a con, but we thought about this as we were in the Cincy area playing; This course is a road trip for almost everyone that wants to play it. And because of that, I wonder if there are almost no locals that care for this course.

Other Thoughts: This place is supposed to be 27 holes in the near future. I am super curious to see it get there. Because while this course is an hour and a half from where I live, I would totally drive there to play a lot.
to be super honest, I find this to be one of the better courses that I have played in Ohio. I don't hear it hyped up enough, but I really did love my experience here.
If you need a technical challenge, go here and play!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Hueston, we don't have a problem

1    2/7/2015   2/8/2015
Review By: Derek B
Played: 119  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 13.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Beautiful scenery
2) Elevation changes on front 9
3) Concrete tees
4) Ace runs
5) Foot bridges
Cons: 1) Signage in certain areas
2) Navigation in certain areas
3) Repetitive at times from B tees
Other Thoughts: Scenery: 4/5
Difficulty v Fun factor (5/5 is best mix): 3.25/5
Tees: 3.5/5
Signage: 2.5/5
Navigation: 3/5

Tip: As soon as you see the lodge, turn right at the first opportunity into the parking lot and stay to the far right of the lot. The practice basket is underneath some pine trees. You'll see where to go from there.

I played the B tees, which are the shorter tees, so my review is based upon the B tees only. When I go back, I will play the A tees and update my review accordingly.

The whole course plays in dense, mature forest. The first 7 holes are on incredible property. There are fairly significant elevation changes here. Hole 1 is probably one of my favorites. It plays downhill and you get a nice view of the lake in the background.

After hole 7, you cross the road and continue with hole 8 on the other side. The whole rest of the course is on this other side. The property isn't quite as impressive here...not as many elevation changes, and it plays away from the lake and the lodge. That said, it's still peaceful and gorgeous back in there.

The concrete tees are adequate, although I found myself at times wishing they were a little longer, but that's probably because I'm 6' 5". They should be just fine for a normal sized individual.

The tee signs started out being very uniform and consistent, with giant full color metal on poles with maps, tee numbers and distances, but started to degrade as I got further into the course. After I crossed the road, some tee signs consisted of a permanent marker on a wooden pole. Some signs had no distance. One thing that is consistent are the "Next Tee" signs that lead you to the next tee for both the A and the B tee. This was very helpful for navigation. That said, I still recommend bringing a course map because I noticed myself whirling around just looking for the Next Tee sign on occasion. As it turns out, bringing a course map was also helpful because on the map is a notice that "Holes 23-27 serve as holes 14-18 until phase 2 of the course is completed." I wouldn't have known that little fact and would've been very confused had I not had that map. They have handwritten the proper tee number next to the printed number on several of the signs, but it would've been confusing as hell without the map.

The course has a lot of ace runs for a densely wooded course. In tandem with this statement is the fact that many of the targets are straight ahead from the tee, which made the course feel repetitive at times. To its credit, even though the targets were straight ahead a lot of the time, you have to go around obstacles to get there, which create the illusion of a dog leg. There's still plenty of challenge for a beginner/intermediate player from these tees, which is the target audience for these tees. I can't wait to go back and play the A tees though, because it appears from the map that there are more turns from those tees.

I found myself wishing that they had been able to incorporate a couple of water holes. Holes 2 and 3 have their tees down by the water. I wish that at least one of those were reversed, with the target by the water. It's a shame that there's a giant lake right there, but it's not even a factor at all. Even so, it's still fun to play the way it is.

I gave the course an average of 3.25/5 over all the areas. I'll make it 3.5 just because I liked the setting so much and in anticipation of playing the A tees next time.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Yeah Buddy!

1    6/22/2014   6/23/2014
Review By: RlemontW
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I loved the layout and the fact that they did not remove many trees. Completely in the shade, great on a hot summer day. With a little tender care this can be an AWESOME place to play.
Cons: A little damp but expected after the rain we had and that the course is completely in the shade. After the 7th hole I think it was the postings for each hole was missing. The post was there so someone drew the path on the post.
Other Thoughts: Ran into the guy that is taking care of the course. Nice guy very talkative. Seems passionate about making the course better. Says in a couple of months it will be more to his liking but still a ways to go. He wants to cut more but is not allowed.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Troll's Review

5+    8/30/2013   10/5/2013
Review By: Eric troll Biscuits
Played: 31  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 27 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Around Miami U. where they uninstalled a course recently..
18 holes
wooded and shaded
right in the park, by the lodge
it has it challenges, but nothing "disc fearing"
Neutral course, wont favor right of left handed players.
Cons: No mix up in the lay out, at all... just walking in the woods. No grass anything...
Other Thoughts: If you've ever played with Hank, you should not be surprised by this 18 hole super wooded course he designed. I first met him in 1991 at Winton woods. Super beast, we watched him drive old scorpions across the baseball fields. He had great control too, and then, of course, he doesn't miss a putt

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

DISCtractions DGC

5+    9/28/2013   10/5/2013
Review By: joshtrum
Played: 15  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Shaded course
- Well maintained
- New Baskets
- Challenging
Cons: - Fairways still need some work(other thoughts)
Other Thoughts: I feel some of the fairways could be better defined. Some holes you don't have a clear line for a shot. I find myself shaping shots through the trees and either making it through, or hitting a tree and it is not a skill issue. It is simply some shots you have to make are unavailable due to one or two extra trees in the way. I do like that this course is designed for more technical skill than just bombing out drives, but a few cut down trees would make this course still very technically challenging while helping new players learn to use different shots and be rewarded for hitting proper lines. In my opinion a course should challenge pros or players of higher skill, while also having well defined fairways so that new players can learn properly what ways to throw and why. This only applies to a few holes as you can see the course designer(Hank) has put in a lot of work and this course shows it. Overall I gave the course a 4 because these issues are outweighed by the beauty, overall design, and just natural fun of the course. I have only played the A tees so far, but next time I get out I will be playing the B placements. I look foward to playing here in the future.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Hueston woods still tweaking?

1    11/10/2012   11/11/2012
Review By: kingjames1014
Played: 84  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Newer chainstar baskets
-Mature trees and elevation changes
-Concrete pads in excellent shape
-Offers a wide variety of shot selections
-Dual teepads for All types of players
-"Next tee" signs on nearly all holes
Cons: -Lots of trash around when i played.Trash buckets were full and were torn down or missing.
- Tee signs on holes 8-16 gone.(see other thoughts)
- Listed as 27 but only 18 playable.(see other thoughts)
-Chainstar baskets are difficult to see in the woods. Maybe the park could put flags on top for better visibility?
Other Thoughts: There were no tee signs on holes 8-16. At first i thought they were vandalized, but the screws holding them on were missing too. it appears they were removed and being updated i guess. the teesigns on 17 and 18 were listed as holes 26 and 27.
I only played 18 holes because i couldn't find the other 9. it was only as I was leaving the area that i saw some Innova Discatchers in the woods north of the current course. I parked the car and investigated this area. it apprears they are not being used. there were no posts or signs and the teepads and baskets looked like they haven't seen any use for a while. there was a lot of debris in the fairways also. I'm not sure if this area will be incorporated into the other 18. i emailed the Cincinnati Disc golf club asking about it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent course!

1    10/13/2012   10/22/2012
Review By: fritzaj4
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Great course in a beautiful state park.
-Multiple teepads and in great condition.
-Fairly well maintained, even in the fall.
-Well shaded course.
-challenging enough course to make it enjoyable.
-perfect way to spend a few hours while camping at Hueston Woods.
-lots of slopes
Cons: -little confusing finding hole at 8.
-needs more signs and images of the holes like a few of the early ones have.
-needs better signs for the second teepad
-needs holes with wider fairways and more variety
Other Thoughts: This is an excellent course and while I was playing, I ran into the creator of the course and he was a very nice, enthusiastic, and informative man. He told me that there are big plans for the course, including maintenance and expanding the course to 27. He also told me that they are planning to create mutliple locations to switch baskets on each hole and they will change the basket placement twice in a day, which encourages multiple plays in one day.
I recommend to anyone at hueston woods, go to Miami University or live near the area. Great course

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Woods, Lake, College town: whatís not to like?

2-4    9/23/2012   9/24/2012
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 225  Reviewed: 211  Exp: 3.9 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Disctractions DGC in Hueston Woods state park is a challenging woods course near the lodge on Acton lake, featuring dual tee pads on every hole, of which 18 are established, and 9 more are in the works. For me (a Rec level player), the difference from the long tees to the shorter ones makes up 8 to 10 strokes per round, so there is enough variety to keep player of several skill levels interested. Most of the holes have been cleared well enough to establish a choice of realistic flight lines to the 'greens', and there is a good variety of left/right, uphill/down, and shorter/longer holes. Holes 1-7 play on the sloped lake side of the main driveway, and the rest are only a few steps across the road to the 8th tee. In all, a fairly well balanced course for the Intermediate disc golfer (plus or minus a division).

There are some ravines, particularly on holes 1-7, you want to avoid (and are deemed as OB during tournament play). You definitely want to avoid going long on #1, so the clearing has left a bit of a wall (fallen timber) as a backstop. I leave this as a positive because most higher level players seem to enjoy the challenge.

The flow of the course is relatively intuitive for the blue tees, but where needed, the course has 'next tee' signs. Even if some of the dual tee positions might make these a little confusing, following the fairly straightforward map will keep you on track for the finished 18. It looks like the nine holes being added are likely to go further into the woods between holes 8 and 9 (?), so there might be a little bit of confusion with some of the hole numbering during the transition.

Most elements of the infrastructure, such as bridges, etc., are excellent and solid, and there are trash receptacles (some need more frequent emptying) and benches scattered throughout the course. The best bench is behind the long tee on 3, overlooking the lake: a beautiful view!

The park, of course, has a huge variety of activities for the non-DG members of the family, from nature trails to horseback riding, a quality ball golf course, camping, and, of course, the lodge. Check the state park website for kid's classes, such as archery, and other events.
Cons: A very few of the 'fairways' aren't yet clear enough to really call 'em 'fair' (most folks have issues with the 18th not offering an obvious lane from the long tee, but there is also a 'U' shaped hole that seems to be going through some clearing which might make it more fun for a very clean and well thrown hyzer (rhbh) shot, in the near future.
Other Thoughts: This is a fantastic course to play in the summer heat because it plays almost entirely in the shade.

"Disctractions" is only minutes outside of the (Miami University) college town of Oxford, OH, so there are some really nice places to go and enjoy your "19th hole". And with the college course being modified (in fact, temporarily closed) due to construction, it's the only game in town.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Ohios Addison Oaks

2-4    8/25/2012   8/25/2012
Review By: preludedrew
Played: 67  Reviewed: 43
This review was updated on 10/7/2012
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Excellent Wooded course, though some tees need better green signs, the scenery is gorgeous, the drives are nice and long with a few short ones, great view of the lake on the first few holes.
Cons: Need signs and pictures for the rest of the holes, like the first few do.
Other Thoughts: Takes a while to drive to the lodge where the course is located, but worth it.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Disctractions in the Forested Realm of Hueston Woods SP

2-4    7/1/2012   7/1/2012
Review By: hipster
Played: 83  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 34.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is played entirely in the woods on scenic state park property. A shady course on sweltering summer days is akin to the proverbial "manna from heaven". The first 5 holes have elevation then the course levels out for the remaining holes. Clean, spotted very little litter during my round.
Next Tee signs throughout this wooded realm show the way to well laid concrete tees. Each hole has two tees which provide two distinct tee shots for each hole as opposed to the run of the mill long tee vs short tee.
Accuracy, variety of shot skills, and a little tree love are needed to do well here. Noodle armed players can neutralize the cannon armed players on this course provided the noodlers hit fewer trees.
There is adequate signage for each hole that provides an accurate map to the basket. Navigation and course flow have improved tremendously in the past year and course is beating in quite well.

Cons: I am hard pressed to con this wooded course considering it is located in the boon docks.
There is wooded debris throughout that can get in the way. Course could use a few more benches. Could not locate distances on some of the latter holes, but, it wasn't too bothersome.
Lacks a signature hole IMO.
Other Thoughts: Disctractions is great addition to Ohio State Park disc golf family and the course in now worthy of its great name.
Be prepared, bring water, bug spray and TP. Port O Pot is located by the paint ball area after the last hole.
Played the day after a vicious summer storm and there were downed trees. Behind basket 1, on the way to hole 2, there was a huge tree that was blown over the brook and took out some good sized limbs on the way down. A lone park maintenance worker was just starting to take a chain saw to the massive mess.
Hank and his crew deserve an mighty round of applause for building and maintaining such a fine course. Disctractions is now a favorite of mine and i plan to play it more often.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.