Markleeville, CA 
Turtle Rock Park Share
Uploaded By: CptSaveAPar Hole #18 (Taken 12/2011)
4 / 492ft.   4 / 531ft.   4 / 540ft.   4 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Do They Vacuum Too?

1    8/2/2014   8/2/2014
Review By: djlynch902
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Clean. Everywhere. The tee pads each have their own broom. Baskets are easily seen with new flags. Map at every tee box with distance. Plenty of seating.

Clearly marked signs to next holes and formal paths to the next tee

Holes are challenging but not stupid. You are rewarded for making a good shot and some tree love comes into play at times.

Some good elevation changes - up and down and even some gradual slopes to make the longer holes even longer.

Course can play long if all baskets are set back but it was a good mix.

Campground adjacent to park/course look nice and clean
Cons: These are nitpicky:

Shadows make it tough to find discs at times
The course is out of the way and probably requires some planning.
Other Thoughts: Looking forward to making a weekend trip and camp overnight. Nearby Markleeville has some restaurants and could probably get down to Tahoe for an afternoon round

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

One of my favorites

2-4    5/10/2014   5/13/2014
Review By: Fntsygamr
Played: 32  Reviewed: 25
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great use of land and elevation
Tee boxes are in great shape
Shot selection is a must
More technicial and less grip and rip type of course
Uphill and downhill shots
Baskets are in great shape
Locals are friendly
Popular course, but you hardly see any other players on the course
Quiet and peaceful location
Benches for relaxing after a few holes
Trash recepticles at holes to keep this looking nice
Donation box at the front for those that like to donate to keep this looking as good as it is
Cons: If you make one of those oops kind of shots, you may have to look around to see where it actually landed. There is the potential for rollers or discs that will hide in the bushes. Campers in the area usually don't come into play, but if they aren't always paying attention.
There are a few par 5 holes that are super long, especially the 777 footer. Most holes are not that far.
Other Thoughts: This is always going to be on my favorite list. It is fun to play and if you can get a camping spot, you will be able to get several rounds in. I will always come back to play this course when in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/16/2012   11/1/2012
Review By: frolfer97
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Good signage at each hole
-Very serene
-Nice elevation changes
-Excellent scenery
-Uncrowded
Cons: -Very rocky (although that could be a pro for some people) which will chew up your discs
-Some spots are really brushy which can make it hard to find discs
Other Thoughts: A little bit out of the way to get to but well worth the trip.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 "Luxury in the high desert"

1    7/18/2012   7/20/2012
Review By: nickrew1
Played: 71  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Accurate tee-signs and pin indicators.
Arrows and tee sign indicators that direct golfers to next holes.
Outstanding serenity, quiet and clean.
Camping on site
Cons: Definitely off the beaten path
Bear Country- Signs at hole 1 warn of them.

Other Thoughts: Extremely well laid out course in the middle of nowhere. Multiple pin positions with accurate indicators that let you know which position it's in. Considering that the course is extremely long, with multiple par 4 and 5's, the footage helps you navigate the course. Just enough elevation to make you alter your drives and upshots. Possibly the best course in the Lake Tahoe area, and that's saying a lot.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Out of nowhere, an immaculate disc golf course

1    6/30/2012   7/9/2012
Review By: rootofthechord
Played: 38  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The best course conditions I have ever seen. The tee signs are descriptive and clearly state pin positions, and the orange-white-and-green "next hole" navigators stand out extremely well. The teepads are rubber, but there's a broom at every tee if you need to sweep off the dust.

This course has an interesting feature of being both open and technical. A good example of this is hole 11, a seemingly endless 777-foot chunk in the long pin position. While heavily forested, there is a clearly established fairway, and there's enough room between trees to work out a shot should you find yourself off-fairway.

Finally - Turtle Rock. Legend of Zelda fans will understand what I mean here.
Cons: Apparently, loose rocks here are an issue of concern. Given the problems that I've seen on other DG courses, if this is the largest issue they have, that says something.

Being in the middle of nowhere, the terrain is rough and amenities are limited. Dust, rocks, and brush will leave their mark on your discs, and you'll want to bring your own water for the back 9.

No smoking allowed on the course (fire hazard), and there's a sheriff's substation next to the first tee.
Other Thoughts: On a family vacation to the eastern Sierra, I figured we'd drop by and play a round just to see how it was.

Holy smokes.

I was met with a challenging, immaculate, pristine disc golf course that we pretty much had to ourselves. Two-and-a-half hours of hiking and throwing later, I had completed one of the most satisfying rounds I'd ever played.

While it is a ways from anything, Turtle Rock's rural location gives it tons of advantages. Theft and vandalism are nonexistent. Chuckers etc. are completely out of the picture, as almost everyone who hoofs it out here has a serious intent of playing. This is a seriously good disc golf course with serious players only - a disc golf haven, or heaven if you will.

At the kiosk before hole 1, visitors are encouraged to "feed the turtle" to help with course maintenance. I donated before the round, and again afterwards, because this course deserves it. I give it my highest recommendation, and would love to play it again if the chance comes up.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Freakin Awesome

1    4/30/2011   5/1/2011
Review By: tdonovanj
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent rubber teepads
Excellent Tee Signs with accurate hole location
Excellent signage to next Tee box
Great mix of shots off tee
Great mix of distance and tech skills
Locals
Cons: Just a bit outside the beaten trail (or is this a pro?)
Bear Country (how cool is that?)
Other Thoughts: First off let me preface by saying I am a complete novice with maybe 30 rounds played. However, I have played some very highly rated courses in CA, OR , and AZ. The Turtle hangs. It is so well designed that it keeps your head on your throws rather than on where the next tee is. Signage is the best I have ever seen. The mix between short technical holes and huge bombers is perfect. It allows a beginer like me to rebound from devastation nicely after taking an 8 on a 650ft hole! (2 tree thunks and a creek)
The setting is stunning with pines and boulders and creeks aplenty! Running in to the designer and another pro right before my round was very cool as well. Its this kind of course and attitude that has completely hooked me on the sport. Playing The Turtle capped a full day of skiing at Kirkwood. This will be my Spring Skiing routine for years to come!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.