Markleeville, CA 
Turtle Rock Park Share
Uploaded By: markleedisc Hole #1 (Taken 2/2012)
3 / 337ft.   3 / 380ft.   3 / 405ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Course Kiosk



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Best course in Tahoe

5+    8/12/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: MrAnderson7
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Lots of variety in the holes - from straight, technical tree shots to long downhill slopes and everything in between. Each hole is very well maintained. Each hole has a rubber tee pad, a bench, and an accurate map of pin positions. There are clearly marked paths from EVERY pin position on each hole. Most holes have three pin positions and some have four. A few pin positions are changed around every week or so. The course is very clean - there is hardly any trash on the ground and the fairways are clear of loose rock. This course is also very secluded. Most of the time you will be the only one(s) on the course, and the only other people are campers at the nearby campground.
Cons: The brush is cleared away from most of the fairways but make sure to keep track of your throw. Recommend a spotter on hole 3.
Other Thoughts: Turtle Rock is a challenging yet rewarding course that is a blast to play every time you go. It's worth the longer drive for the secluded location, hole variation, and high quality course features.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing!

5+    7/27/2011   5/27/2012
Review By: ashmgee
Played: 53  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14.6 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course is a large course with several par 4s and a par 5.

Creek wonders through and is in play on several holes.

It has a good mix of tech shots and long drives that will challenge most players.

Located in scenic Alpine County.
Cons: Rocky terrain that will chew up discs so use premium plasic.

Rocky terrain is also tough to walk around on so hiking boots would be recommended.
Other Thoughts: If you get a chance to play this course, do it! You will not be disappointed. There is a great campground there at the course and Grover Hot springs are just down the road. This course is well maintained by locals and there are multiple pins for all holes.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 In true spirit of disc golf

5+    6/4/2011   7/4/2011
Review By: NevadaDisc
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This is only the second course I've rated and it deserves to be recognized. I created the first course in the Lake Tahoe Area 35 years ago. There were not baskets at that time and there were no specialized discs. But we always had fun and enjoyed bring outside. The sport has come a long way since then, not all of it good. This course brings back the fun we had just going out and throwing the disc around. This course is clean, very well maintained and well designed. It has all of the new stuff that makes disc course better these days, but it also has a lot of stuff that just makes it fun, and in the long run that's all that counts. It's a great day to spend romping around Hope Valley and on the way home play a few holes of disc golf.

Great job.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet Mountain Lovin

1    3/24/2010   3/25/2010
Review By: Peterb
Played: 70  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 21.7 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - gorgeous setting in the eastern sierra.
- campground on site
- excellent course design: easy to find next tees and the pins
- maps available at the course kiosk
- varied shots in the forest
- creek in play on several shots
- championship level course, with a true par 5, and a couple of par 4s.
- big time shots for big arms
- a few nice ace runs.
- multiple pin locations allow for variations
- a great volunteer crew
- excellently constructed 6'x12' rubber pads
Cons: - no working bathrooms, at least in March when the course is playable and the campground is closed. But I suspect this wouldn't be a problem for much of the year.
Other Thoughts: This place is sick. Long shots will challenge everyone, even top pros. Shorter shots are technical and fun. Here are some highlights:

Today was prescribed burn day at the course, and hole 6 was literally on fire this morning. We threw the hole anyways. Never had a fire hazard like that before I'll bet. My disc landed in fire, and I had to take a stroke (unplayable lie).

Hole 4 is a nice 400 some odd foot downhill bomb in which you have a choice between going straight at it, or possibly going over the initial row of trees.

Hole 7 is a sweet RHBH turnover shot to an island like green.

9 is a big downhill anny with water behind the pin. There is a direct ninja route available, but I didn't try it.

11 is truly a beast. At 777 feet, it's not the longest hole in the state, but it sure feels like it. Basically, if you don't throw perfectly straight off the tee to the obvious fairway/landing area, you're hosed. The trees are very thick. If you do have a great drive, then your second shot has to also be pimped perfectly. Not easy with the amount of trees here. Then your third shot has to get near the pin to get a 4, which is a birdie.

Hole 12 is also a bomb, but a bit easier. 13 is a long turnover with a double mando (maybe not officially, but in reality) right off the elevated tee.

Hole 14 has the stream in front of the basket. Very easy to put your drive in the drink here.

Hole 17 forces a RHBH hyzer off the tee, then a long upshot to get a 3.

18 is a long bomb uphill, and I don't think anyone could get it within 100 feet of the basket off the drive.

All in all, I highly recommend getting out to Markleeville to check this course out. There are hot springs 10 minutes away from the course at grover state park. Stay a while and play the course a few times. You won't regret the ambiance, and the challenge, of this championshp caliber mountain course.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Great, long, technical course.

1    6/3/2012   3/18/2010
Review By: cjskier
Played: 38  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/4/2012
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great tee-pads on every hole.
-Markers after each basket to find the next tee-pad.
-great mix of shots, dog legs both directions, and mix of distances.
-Great use of the available space, no holes play across each other.
-Nice cleared paths to each tee.
-Not all par 3's, some nice long holes that can be a par 4 or 5.
-All 18 holes have 3 pin placements, which changes par for the course.
-Never going to be a crowded course.
-For a mountain course, it is fairly easy to find your disc. Exception being the long down hill shot on 4, you could get way off course if your throwing over the trees.
-great tee signs
-very nice paths from hole to hole.
-great camping right in the middle of the course.
Cons: -it's brutal? Not really a con to me.
-Location? Kind of far out there, but it is beautiful country.
-it does need more trash cans on the course.
Other Thoughts: I love this course! This course is truely the gem of lake tahoe disc golf. This is a true professional level course that will challenge any golfer. If it was any closer I would play it weekly.

beware holes 11 and 16. Legit part fives. 11 will make you hate the game but 16 can be a great spirit lifter if you play it right.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.