Bedford, PA 
Bedford School District DGC Share
Uploaded By: Jimb Hole #4 (Taken 3/2010)
3 / --   3 / --   3 / 265ft.   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Approach from Mando Shed



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Leaves much to be desired.

2-4    6/15/2012   10/17/2012
Review By: ThumbMan12
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good use of the land considering its on the grounds of a Middle school and High school.
Cons: Ridiculous placement of several baskets. A few holes have the baskets literally inside of the woods with no paths or anything to get to the basket.
Other Thoughts: Alot of the course was really messed up due to construction. Took over and hour to navigate the course without playing. Tee boxes are non existent so you just have to make up your own. Leaves very much to be desired but overall i could say i atleast enjoyed myself.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Currently Unplayable Course

1    6/5/2012   8/7/2012
Review By: dm734593
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -A few of the baskets are still up and can be used for practicing one's putting.
Cons: -Construction is going on and overgrowth has taken over this course.
Other Thoughts: -The course looked like it had some potential but missing multiple baskets and no visible tee pads currently.
I was bummed out when I drove and found this out, but only 15 minutes away is Shawnee State Park where there was 9 playable holes, so it wasn't a total loss.

Since this is an opportunity to practice putting currently, I give the course a 0.5 instead of a 0.0 even though its unplayable as a full course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Low Man On Totem Pole

1    6/26/2010   7/3/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 359  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
The good-qualty map is essential ...
Cons:
... because the small, in-ground stones marking the natural tee locations would be nearly impossible to find without it.

Due to a football practice, unable to play #1 (they were using the field), #4 (they parked all about the basket), nor #5 (they parked all about the tee area).

Baseball/softball games would prevent 7/8 being played. Track meet would prevent 8/9 being played.

Basket 6 still missing. Basket 5 nearly overgrown with neighbouring bushes.

Flat as they come.
Other Thoughts: Wide-open hucks on 1,6,7,8,9, while 2-5 make you work on your touch/right-turn game.

Difficult to recommend for a traveller, because you'll never know how much of the course will be available for play.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Back Stream and Track Team are obstacles!

1    5/2/2010   5/10/2010
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Interesting use of space. A stream comes into play on the first 6 holes. Providing plenty of thought when your approaching. The stream adds character and beauty that few 18ers could rival. There is also plenty of length with 3 holes around the 600 foot mark. The green for hole 3 is phenomenal....a peninsula surrounded by a healthy but not disc eating deep creek. There is one tight hole (5) to counter all that ripping. Plenty of danger upon approach here with fences, running track oob, streams, and tree guarded greens providing a delicate shot. I actually threw a lot of drives here at full throttle. Many of the shots were right turning which made things interesting. A few risk/reward situations such as hole 4 with alternate paths to pin and all the risky oob. POrt-o-potty and close to highway. Best play would be a Sunday morning or any other non school/non sports event hours. Set in a pretty little pennsylvania town in a picturesque valley. The best holes are 1-5.
Cons: It's completely flat despite the surrounding mountains. Tees are natural grass with simple stone markers (which work based on low volume) A high percentage of throws favor lhbh or rhfh without any true rhbh/lhfh holes to counter. The most glaring weakness is that the course plays throughout the athletic complex. Hole #1 across a practice football field,Holes #4,5 skirt a tennis court area and hole 6 flies across the outfield of a softball field.(6 was unavailable as of May 2010 due to bridge construction) THen it gets really hairy as hole 7 plays directly across a baseball diamond, hole 8 basically is a hyzer over a different baseball field and hole 9 finishes by throwing over an entire track and field complex over the track 2x and across the infield of the 400 M track before finishing your day. Holes 6-9 could potentially cause huge conflicts. There were people walking the track and the damage a disc could do to a maintained baseball infield as well as a person could jeopardize the course.
Other Thoughts: Played during the right time this was a fun and surprisingly interesting course. If I was a local I would play the first 6 holes then play them backwards and forwards and back to make a perfectly balanced lefty 6 righty6 lefty6 righty 6 24 hole circuit w/o the silly danger of the final 3 holes.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Quite the Watering Hole for the Bedford Bisons!

2-4    11/26/2009   1/24/2010
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played this course thinking that it would be a simple pitch-and-putt experience since it's on the grounds of a high school. I certainly didn't expect so many water hazards or mega drives in the excess of 400-500 feet. Ultimately, however, it's still a typical high school disc golf course and has its limitations.

The most idiosyncratic element of the course is the water hazards. Holes 2 and 3 are anhyzer throws that have pin placements dangerously close to a small creek! Even a putt with too much zip on it will send your disc swimming.

The first, sixth, seventh, and ninth holes are wide open holes of decent lengths and test your arm strength and the effectiveness of your distance driver. The first hole is a good place to practice your roller shots.

#6 is a massive 652 foot drive playing parallel to the creek. Can you focus on hurling you disc this far without worrying about it going in?
Cons: Water hazards notwithstanding, the course doesn't really have much in terms of variety; it's also very, very flat. Hole #5 is the only "wooded" hole on the course, and plays a short 239 feet with some tree obstacles on the way to the basket.

#9 plays over the school's running track. I found this one to be quite awkward and it seems more like you're playing safari than a true dg hole. Another problem with this hole is that the basket plays very close to the road, and an errant throw will be going into traffic.

The natural tees are not the best for footing, and there's virtually no signage telling you where to go. Study the map before you go and you should be fine.

Since this is a school district course after all, athletic and school events will most likely relegate this course to weekends and the summer. In fact, I think this would be a great summer course because I'm sure that creek dries up in June-August!
Other Thoughts: As a high school teacher looking to implement a disc golf club/team and course on my own school's grounds, I found this place to be an enlightening field trip. If the humble Bedford High can make a neat course like this, any school can! All in all, I think they used the available land well and balanced the mundane nature of the constant open-air throws with water hazards and chances to air out your throws. If the school would scrap #9, add nicer tees and signs, and include a few more wooded holes, this would be one one heck of a place to play!

* Note - I'll try to add some photos the next time I'm here. *

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great job with available land.

2-4    11/21/2009   11/22/2009
Review By: Jimb
Played: 73  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/1/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy to access off of US 220 in Bedford, PA. In a nice area. Lots of places to eat very close-by in Bedford (That one's for you Greg.). There's a porta-pottie beside tee #1. Brand new Innova chains. It's only 15 minutes from a totally different 9 at Shawnee State Park.

Length that will let you really grip and rip it on a few holes. I got to throw five 100% tee shots and three nearly 100% "driver" approaches. In spite of the open ground that makes up a lot of the course, the pin placements make your shot selection important. There are several right turning holes that really make this "RHBH" player work to get close to the pins. So there are opportunities for me to throw a forehand (if I learn it better) and rollers too.

A creek comes into play along several fairways and pins. Pins #2 & 3 basically sit on peninsulas and the proximity of the other pins to fences, the creek, etc. make accurate approach shots critical. You have to work your tee shots & approaches around the OB blue track on #8 & 9.
Cons: Because of the available ground, the course is almost totally flat and there's only one hole that would be called "wooded." In different sports seasons, the whole course could basically be unplayable since it plays around, on and over practice and playing fields.
Other Thoughts: This course was basically set up for a school disc golf club and I think that this is fantastic. In spite of some of the limitations posed by the grounds, I really enjoyed this course a lot and will defintely play it again and again. I was fortunate and had the designer as a guide the first time I went around. (Thanks B.) I would definitely print the map to help find your way around the course. Or P.M. if you like.

Highlights: #2 & #3 pins are lot of fun to get close to without getting wet. #5 is the only wooded hole and it gives you several routes into the pin. #6 for the sheer joy of getting to rip two 100% drives.

If you're driving along the PA Turnpike at Bedford, you shouldn't pass up the opportunity to play this course. It's only about 5 minutes into town.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.