Kent, WA 
Lake Fenwick Share
Uploaded By: Aragorn Hole #15
3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Good Fun for Everyone

1    7/6/2014   7/8/2014
Review By: 53Clubs
Played: 22  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 0.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Challenging, but not intimidating
-People (I usually note people as a toward the end 'pro' if I encountered good people there - I found the people at this course to really be exceptional, helpful, advocates of the sport and of this course specifically, so they are near the top).
-Great elevation change holes with some 'uh oh' areas if you miss bad, leaving you chasing a disc down a long hill, but not likely to lose it even in those cases.
-Great shape to holes, uphill, downhill, right turn, left turn, good varying distances (nothing to rip your arm out of its socket) and obstacles are used very well.
-You are in the woods, but the underbrush is well worn as a good mature course should be so you get to deal with the 'obstacles' and not the 'garbage'.
-Navigation is reasonable, and any nav difficulties are well mitigated by the great people who are welcoming and ready to give you a point toward the next basket or tee.
-Typically wet areas (none were wet as I was there in a dry July) have raised wooden walking paths and physical bridges.
-There is at least one seating bench at each tee number.
-Woods provide good shade if it is a sunny day - nice alternative to some nearby 'out in the open' courses that can be real scorchers.
Cons: -There is parking, but its not hugely abundant and you might end up parking in a (safe) area up or across the road.
-Navigation is not 'readily apparent' so if you visit for your first time and it is not a typically 'good DG day' (i.e. there is a chance you will be there alone) I could see it being hard to find your way around.
-Tee signs indicate distance, but not direction or shape, so you can find yourself continuing walking even after arriving at the teebox in order to identify the location of the target.
Other Thoughts: My 13 year old daughter (learning the game and how to throw) and I (ridiculously overconfident and tend to be in 'trouble' a lot) both enjoyed this park immensely. We played Lakewood, then found our way south to Fenwick and had a blast at each. Being in the woods on a hot day, it made for very 'muggy' conditions, but it was a great contrast to Lakewood where you are very 'exposed' to the sun.
If you want a fun, wooded course that is simultaneously challenging and unintimidating, this is a great option. The only place you might be disappointed is if you are looking for 500'+ shoulder ripping wide opens - you won't find any 'wide-open' here, so 500' would just be a missed opportunity to have 2 great 250' holes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice time by sun drenched lake

1    4/14/2014   4/14/2014
Review By: Slateclubsupporter
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.4 Years
Pros: Good use of elevation
Water Sort of in play
Nice use of hill and open space
2 Pin and Tee areas
Very Clean.
Cons: Still a little over grown on some of the back holes
No warm up area
Mud ( Most likely better during the summer!)
Poor use of water
Other Thoughts: It is a good course for the area it uses. It is out of the way somewhat. If you have the time play it. When I played my round I saw a frog and a blue jay. Need some people to pack out there trash. If you are not an advanced player, The back area might be a +10 on each hole. The water is mostly on the hole end of 13 and down the right hand side of 14, unless you really mess up you shot then I could see it in the water. You really should not be in the water, and it is not a clear body of water. The course name sake is across the road.

Fenwick Bailiwick

2-4    11/7/2013   11/7/2013
Review By: ohtobediscing
Played: 153  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 35 Years
This review was updated on 11/11/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: From previous reviews, I guess I'm lucky to not have played this course in its earlier incarnations.
Set in a tight bowl of a valley that only opens to the east, Fenwick is a short-course woodsy wonderland of tall firs, giant maples, skinny alders, endless ferns, vine maple and devils' club, with a bit of grassy/open space to give you hope. A swampy pond lies between #8 and #15 but it doesn't come into play unless your drives really turnover/meathook badly. A few spiffy houses lie high to the north and west, but you'll only notice them on a sunny winter day[as if!].
Along with the intricacies of vegetation, constant elevation changes help shape a lot of one-option lanes---if a lane exists at all [#s 10, 13, 14]. Almost every hole has either an elevated tee or pin, or a steep uphill/downhill. Or steep sideslopes. Or dropoffs.
A few holes give you a break from all this: #s 5, 6, 17, and 18 traverse mostly through the fields/flats, with a large trunk or two to keep you worthy.
The course travels clockwise, but loops back on itself several times. The Discatcher baskets are still in great shape, and all tees are now cement, though there's some slight variation in dimensions. The signs are simple but very readable, and it becomes fairly obvious where the next tee is. 1st tee is out by the road. Benches on most holes. Trashcan in parking lot.
I wouldn't choose to bring noobs here, unless they're patient, aware and perpetually upbeat.
Cons: Fairway crossovers have been eliminated. However, pins are often too close to other tees[example: pin #1 and tee #s 2, 5, 17], some throwing lanes pass closely head-on to others, and paths to next tees sometimes parallel lanes of other holes. Pin #4 to tee #5 has a risky descending switchback/stairs. Due to the size of the park, these aren't likely to change without another severe recoursing.
Much has been made of the mud, but the course itself [except for the flat areas on holes near the swamp] is mostly sandy/rocky glacial till. The smallish parking lot, however, is 4x4-worthy. Don't bring your BMW when its wet.
Pictures are from the old layout and need to be updated.
Other Thoughts: Store 2 miles back on 272nd. Fenwick Park across the road with fishing, boating, bathrooms, playground.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The New Fenwick

5+    7/31/2011   7/31/2011
Review By: GiggleWorks
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Such a fun and highly technical course. When they redisigned this, they really thought it through and did a great job. A must play for any serious disc golfer
Cons: Lots of bugs. The undergrowth in some areas SWALLOWS your discs. Of course, its super muddy after any rain. Do not play this course if you got bad knees....or at least skip holes 3 and 4 if you do....big uphill marches with a treacherous downhill from 4 to 5 that is dangerous when it's wet out!
Other Thoughts: If my wife enjoyed this course, I would be playing it at least once a week. I like it almost as much as White River

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course but go early

5+    5/22/2009   5/26/2009
Review By: python6114
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging course with a lot of teas, you have to share some baskets and some tees but it doesn't become a hassle. Good mix of easy to difficult holes. Also great for bird watching, including an owl that lives on the front side of the course.
Cons: The course is at the base of the West Hill of Kent, this means that the sun sets early, so it gets dark quick. Also don't go after it rains because this course is very muddy.
This course is heavily wooded and easy to lose a disc, especially number 5 hole where pretty much anywhere you throw the disc is going to be a challenge to find. But if you like a course where power players that can't keep it straight will be punished and slow and steady will win then this is it.
Other Thoughts: This is worth a play, I got my first birdie here, but it is not my favorite course in the king county area. It is really important to go in a group so you have more then yourself watching where your disc lands and helping eachother find stray discs.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Emerald Paradise

9/18/2007   3/12/2008
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11.4 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Not being from the NW, this is the type of lush, tree filled course I expected to encounter. The counter clockwise layout makes for good shot variety. Lots of technical stuff. Someone has gone through the trouble of making very detailed signs by hand. This course took the best pictures.
Cons: Someone has gone through the trouble of vandalizing the very detailed signs.
Other Thoughts: I played Seatac just before this course and the short holes were a very welcome contrast. I feel that the other two reviews underrated this course some, I think it's a great hidden gem. Valkyrie Kid, thanks for that tidbit about the Green River killer, makes the place seem even more odd.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.