Kent, WA 
Lake Fenwick Share
Uploaded By: Aragorn  
Entrance sign



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Great work!

5+    2/27/2015   2/27/2015
Review By: shawnc65
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Work to improve any issues is constant and almost weekly and certainly monthly there is noticeable upgrades to either holes, paths, placements, etc.
There's more elevation change in this course than any of the other local courses and the challenges are unique and varied. Errant throws are costly. The course definitely rewards accuracy over distance. Not to say there's not a few holes that will test the longer throwers but even if playing with a pro that can regularly outdistance me by 100 ft., I usually have a chance to win the hole with accuracy.
Tee pads are mostly protected from surrounding hole play. Many have benches.
Cons: See: Errant throws are costly. For competition this is a pro, but for good clean fun it can be a detriment. Expect to spend some time searching for your discs. Underbrush can be very thick and there are a lot of places even a good shot can slide under it to be hard to find.
With the elevation differences come the dangers of that element. The course is often wet and even the main paths can become treacherous in the rain despite the efforts of the course managers. I wouldn't trade the 'Pro' for the 'Con', but you should be aware of the higher danger factor.
There could be more signage. It may not be easy for a player coming in for the first time to find the next tee and not all the baskets are in view from the tees. (I've tried to help this problem in the "Hole tips" section above).
The nearest restrooms are up the street a ways at the Park proper.
Other Thoughts: Parking is atrocious and it can be a busy course. This may be the reason there seems to be more garbage on this course than the others I've played. Please pack it out.
The pics here are out of date and I recognize few of the holes. None are numbered correctly. I hope to improve this later in 2015.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Forest course? Yes please!

1    6/22/2014   6/30/2014
Review By: Krome
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Firstly, if you're looking for a course smack dab in the middle of a forest, this is it. Which means...

- it's extra challenging. Some might not like this, but I had a blast... And I'm fairly new to this whole thing!
- Obviously being in the forest means you'll encounter lots of trees and brush, so this is a good course that will help shape your technical shot.
- Elevation is an added element here, with the first 4 holes going uphill. Definitely a challenge, but a lot of fun.
- Holes loop you around to the beginning of the course by hole 18. Very handy.
- I had little trouble with finding the next hole, it was relatively easy to figure out. Most of the baskets had the hole number on it.
Cons: - Excessive trees and brush can be a nuisance to some, but honestly, why go here if that's the case?
- Easy to lose a disc, although that hasn't happened to me yet. I would suggest using discs that are bright colored.
- No signs that point to the next hole. It wasn't really an issue with me personally, but I can see it being annoying for some.
Other Thoughts: Distances vary, but most of the holes are either short or medium range, which I prefer. There are a couple of longer ones too, but I think the goal that's in mind here is not distance but rather strategy in getting to the basket.

There was only 1 water hazard that I could see, and it was pretty minor and out of the way. Nothing too much to note in that department.

Also, it should be noted I played this on a dry, sunny day. There were no wetlands or swampy like features to note (other than above), but that might be different when playing in the rain.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Crazy Technical

1    7/1/2012   7/25/2012
Review By: RomePK
Played: 20  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very Technical course requiring many different shots. Concrete tees and nice baskets. Very good use of the space and course layout.
Cons: Lots of elevation and slim walking trails. Not the course for you if you have a hard time getting around. Can get frustrating losing disc and watching your disc roll down hill shot after shot, but makes you a better player.
Other Thoughts: Very different and difficult course, but exactly the type of course you would imagine in the pacific NW. If you want to improve your game on a course that requires you to flex your technical game, come give this place a try.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/10/2011   5/10/2011
Review By: Petey
Played: 39  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great variety of shots, some technical others more open. The course has an awesome landscape and fairly well maintained.
The course has been updated lately and now has a full 18 baskets.
The course map posted in the parking lot is very halepful and acurate, uf you take a picture of it with your phone you shouldnt have any problems finding the next hole.
Cons: Some dense wooded areas and mud
Other Thoughts: All in all a fun course with a great variety of shot type and distance.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A fun technical course

2-4    8/10/2009   8/10/2009
Review By: JEREMSTER
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 16.4 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fenwick has great hole variety. The holes are fairly well marked. Most of the holes are technical but not overly hard. There are a couple of long holes #3, #9, #15 and #19 (I think) but there are also a few holes with good birdie opportunities. And the concrete tee pads are always a plus.
Cons: About three or four holes have some pretty dense brush which makes it easy to lose discs. But if your a more determined disc searcher you'll find one or two. One thing I don't like about the course is that you play a few of the same baskets over again from different tee pads.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy this course and the great hole layout will keep me coming back.
There is this big white owl that must live somewhere near hole #3, I've seen him out there twice now.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 You're an Ace-Hole

3/23/2008   3/23/2008
Review By: crimescsemirc
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This course was great. What she lacks in distance she makes up in shot variety and plain good looks. Nice, challenging, beautiful. I skip-aced on this course after calling my shot (somewhat).
Cons: I only aced once on this course. Also, there were paint-ballers hanging out.
Other Thoughts: Apparently this course is good for murdering too?

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.