Disc Golf Store
Kent, WA 
Lake Fenwick Share
Uploaded By: DGtourist Hole #7
3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Good Fun for Everyone

1    7/6/2014   7/8/2014
Review By: 53Clubs
Played: 22  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 0.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Challenging, but not intimidating
-People (I usually note people as a toward the end 'pro' if I encountered good people there - I found the people at this course to really be exceptional, helpful, advocates of the sport and of this course specifically, so they are near the top).
-Great elevation change holes with some 'uh oh' areas if you miss bad, leaving you chasing a disc down a long hill, but not likely to lose it even in those cases.
-Great shape to holes, uphill, downhill, right turn, left turn, good varying distances (nothing to rip your arm out of its socket) and obstacles are used very well.
-You are in the woods, but the underbrush is well worn as a good mature course should be so you get to deal with the 'obstacles' and not the 'garbage'.
-Navigation is reasonable, and any nav difficulties are well mitigated by the great people who are welcoming and ready to give you a point toward the next basket or tee.
-Typically wet areas (none were wet as I was there in a dry July) have raised wooden walking paths and physical bridges.
-There is at least one seating bench at each tee number.
-Woods provide good shade if it is a sunny day - nice alternative to some nearby 'out in the open' courses that can be real scorchers.
Cons: -There is parking, but its not hugely abundant and you might end up parking in a (safe) area up or across the road.
-Navigation is not 'readily apparent' so if you visit for your first time and it is not a typically 'good DG day' (i.e. there is a chance you will be there alone) I could see it being hard to find your way around.
-Tee signs indicate distance, but not direction or shape, so you can find yourself continuing walking even after arriving at the teebox in order to identify the location of the target.
Other Thoughts: My 13 year old daughter (learning the game and how to throw) and I (ridiculously overconfident and tend to be in 'trouble' a lot) both enjoyed this park immensely. We played Lakewood, then found our way south to Fenwick and had a blast at each. Being in the woods on a hot day, it made for very 'muggy' conditions, but it was a great contrast to Lakewood where you are very 'exposed' to the sun.
If you want a fun, wooded course that is simultaneously challenging and unintimidating, this is a great option. The only place you might be disappointed is if you are looking for 500'+ shoulder ripping wide opens - you won't find any 'wide-open' here, so 500' would just be a missed opportunity to have 2 great 250' holes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Forest course? Yes please!

1    6/22/2014   6/30/2014
Review By: Krome
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 0.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Firstly, if you're looking for a course smack dab in the middle of a forest, this is it. Which means...

- it's extra challenging. Some might not like this, but I had a blast... And I'm fairly new to this whole thing!
- Obviously being in the forest means you'll encounter lots of trees and brush, so this is a good course that will help shape your technical shot.
- Elevation is an added element here, with the first 4 holes going uphill. Definitely a challenge, but a lot of fun.
- Holes loop you around to the beginning of the course by hole 18. Very handy.
- I had little trouble with finding the next hole, it was relatively easy to figure out. Most of the baskets had the hole number on it.
Cons: - Excessive trees and brush can be a nuisance to some, but honestly, why go here if that's the case?
- Easy to lose a disc, although that hasn't happened to me yet. I would suggest using discs that are bright colored.
- No signs that point to the next hole. It wasn't really an issue with me personally, but I can see it being annoying for some.
Other Thoughts: Distances vary, but most of the holes are either short or medium range, which I prefer. There are a couple of longer ones too, but I think the goal that's in mind here is not distance but rather strategy in getting to the basket.

There was only 1 water hazard that I could see, and it was pretty minor and out of the way. Nothing too much to note in that department.

Also, it should be noted I played this on a dry, sunny day. There were no wetlands or swampy like features to note (other than above), but that might be different when playing in the rain.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice time by sun drenched lake

1    4/14/2014   4/14/2014
Review By: Slateclubsupporter
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.7 Years
Pros: Good use of elevation
Water Sort of in play
Nice use of hill and open space
2 Pin and Tee areas
Very Clean.
Cons: Still a little over grown on some of the back holes
No warm up area
Mud ( Most likely better during the summer!)
Poor use of water
Other Thoughts: It is a good course for the area it uses. It is out of the way somewhat. If you have the time play it. When I played my round I saw a frog and a blue jay. Need some people to pack out there trash. If you are not an advanced player, The back area might be a +10 on each hole. The water is mostly on the hole end of 13 and down the right hand side of 14, unless you really mess up you shot then I could see it in the water. You really should not be in the water, and it is not a clear body of water. The course name sake is across the road.

Fenwick Bailiwick

2-4    11/7/2013   11/7/2013
Review By: ohtobediscing
Played: 164  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 35.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/11/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: From previous reviews, I guess I'm lucky to not have played this course in its earlier incarnations.
Set in a tight bowl of a valley that only opens to the east, Fenwick is a short-course woodsy wonderland of tall firs, giant maples, skinny alders, endless ferns, vine maple and devils' club, with a bit of grassy/open space to give you hope. A swampy pond lies between #8 and #15 but it doesn't come into play unless your drives really turnover/meathook badly. A few spiffy houses lie high to the north and west, but you'll only notice them on a sunny winter day[as if!].
Along with the intricacies of vegetation, constant elevation changes help shape a lot of one-option lanes---if a lane exists at all [#s 10, 13, 14]. Almost every hole has either an elevated tee or pin, or a steep uphill/downhill. Or steep sideslopes. Or dropoffs.
A few holes give you a break from all this: #s 5, 6, 17, and 18 traverse mostly through the fields/flats, with a large trunk or two to keep you worthy.
The course travels clockwise, but loops back on itself several times. The Discatcher baskets are still in great shape, and all tees are now cement, though there's some slight variation in dimensions. The signs are simple but very readable, and it becomes fairly obvious where the next tee is. 1st tee is out by the road. Benches on most holes. Trashcan in parking lot.
I wouldn't choose to bring noobs here, unless they're patient, aware and perpetually upbeat.
Cons: Fairway crossovers have been eliminated. However, pins are often too close to other tees[example: pin #1 and tee #s 2, 5, 17], some throwing lanes pass closely head-on to others, and paths to next tees sometimes parallel lanes of other holes. Pin #4 to tee #5 has a risky descending switchback/stairs. Due to the size of the park, these aren't likely to change without another severe recoursing.
Much has been made of the mud, but the course itself [except for the flat areas on holes near the swamp] is mostly sandy/rocky glacial till. The smallish parking lot, however, is 4x4-worthy. Don't bring your BMW when its wet.
Pictures are from the old layout and need to be updated.
Other Thoughts: Store 2 miles back on 272nd. Fenwick Park across the road with fishing, boating, bathrooms, playground.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Crazy Technical

1    7/1/2012   7/25/2012
Review By: RomePK
Played: 20  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very Technical course requiring many different shots. Concrete tees and nice baskets. Very good use of the space and course layout.
Cons: Lots of elevation and slim walking trails. Not the course for you if you have a hard time getting around. Can get frustrating losing disc and watching your disc roll down hill shot after shot, but makes you a better player.
Other Thoughts: Very different and difficult course, but exactly the type of course you would imagine in the pacific NW. If you want to improve your game on a course that requires you to flex your technical game, come give this place a try.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    5/10/2012   5/11/2012
Review By: parkerj667
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.7 Years
Pros: Very good challenging course. Since they updated this course from the dual tee course to the strict 18 hole course it has improved greatly. Alot of trees that you need to figure out how to weave in and out of. It can get tough and frustrating but will help improve your game.
Cons: Lots of dirt (lots of mud when wet),
Bushes eat your discs
Other Thoughts: One of my favorites.

 The New Fenwick

5+    7/31/2011   7/31/2011
Review By: GiggleWorks
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Such a fun and highly technical course. When they redisigned this, they really thought it through and did a great job. A must play for any serious disc golfer
Cons: Lots of bugs. The undergrowth in some areas SWALLOWS your discs. Of course, its super muddy after any rain. Do not play this course if you got bad knees....or at least skip holes 3 and 4 if you do....big uphill marches with a treacherous downhill from 4 to 5 that is dangerous when it's wet out!
Other Thoughts: If my wife enjoyed this course, I would be playing it at least once a week. I like it almost as much as White River

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/10/2011   5/10/2011
Review By: Petey
Played: 37  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.9 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great variety of shots, some technical others more open. The course has an awesome landscape and fairly well maintained.
The course has been updated lately and now has a full 18 baskets.
The course map posted in the parking lot is very halepful and acurate, uf you take a picture of it with your phone you shouldnt have any problems finding the next hole.
Cons: Some dense wooded areas and mud
Other Thoughts: All in all a fun course with a great variety of shot type and distance.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great potential, will go back

1    9/7/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: Czech21
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Wooded, technical
Cons: damp, muddy, disc eater.
Other Thoughts: this is probably more ideal in mid summer or after a good dry spell. I wish that I could have read the map at the beginning of the course. Someone who knows the course should repaint it! Also a printable version could be posted here. It is a tad confusing for someone who has not been there seeing as you use a lot of the same baskets for different tees. Good course though, had fun.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Lake Fenwick DGC

2-4    4/24/2010   4/24/2010
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 192  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/12/2012
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Lake Fenwick DGC is located on a 15 acre plot of land on the west side of Kent, buried along a hillside facing due east. The course currently has 15 baskets all in good to excellent condition with anywhere from 21-27 tee pads. A course map is located near hole one at the kiosk which provides the course layout as well as upcoming local tournaments in the near area. For first timers, I recommend taking a picture of the course map as it can get a bit confusing to navigate at times. Be sure to look on the ground as you play to help with navigation issues as there are several markers and signs indicating where the next tee is located.

The current course design is fairly similar to the old layout in regards to players ending in the same general vicinity as where they begin. However, with the addition of some of the new holes (#10 and the three bonus holes above hole #11), players will have to hike up a gravel road about 100 feet in order to play the next three holes and then either backtrack down the gravel road or follow the steep trail down toward hole #11. Each hole, for the most part, has a well defined fairway with little underbrush with the exception of hole #5 and #9/#18. Stinging nettles and blackberries are abundant, but as long as you can keep your disc on the fairway there should be no issues.

Elevation is present all throughout Lake Fenwick DGC, with the addition of the three new holes as well as many others such as holes #10, #11, #15, etc. Although there are no epic holes on the course, there were several which I would consider good or even great. The course varies in hole distances, challenge, and tight technical and open bomb shots. Overall, appropriate for all skill levels.
Cons:
This course is got to be the muddiest course in the entire state of Washington, which is no easy task. Because the entire course is surrounded by hill sides with a large pond directly in the middle, irrigation is extremely poor and when it rains, the water just flows down on to the course. Adding woodchips down the fairways and around each tee box and pin would quickly improve this course.

The tee pads on this course are in some serious need of some TLC as well. Some are cement and crumbling, some are dirt with large puddles in the middle, some have wooden frames elevated with nothing but mud and water in the middle, and there is even one that is 3x3 with little to no room to move. If the local club could find a way to fix these pads by adding new level cement pads, this too would quickly improve the course.

Parking is a major issue too, with only a small lot which holds no more than six cars; I am not sure what would happen if they held a non sanctioned tournament here. I am guessing that most people wind up parking out on the road, although there is not much room.

Since the course has duel tee pads, many times you will find players throwing toward the same basket as you. This can be a bit of a safety issue, especially since there are a lot of holes which have blind baskets. The crossing fairways, extremely dense foliage off to the sides of EVERY hole, and difficulty with navigation at times can all make for a frustrating round, so just beware and make sure you use a spotter!
Other Thoughts:
This course has a lot to offer, and with some minor improvements, could rate much higher. This course though could really benefit from what I mentioned above. The first thing that stood out to me, besides the friendly locals, was how vibrant and beautiful the course was. They have a good thing going at Lake Fenwick, but it just seems to be outdated. I look forward to continued growth of this course and hope to come back someday and see that changes have been made for the better.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.