Kent, WA 
Lake Fenwick Share
Uploaded By: Aragorn Hole #1
3 / 190ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 A fun technical course

2-4    8/10/2009   8/10/2009
Review By: JEREMSTER
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 15.4 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fenwick has great hole variety. The holes are fairly well marked. Most of the holes are technical but not overly hard. There are a couple of long holes #3, #9, #15 and #19 (I think) but there are also a few holes with good birdie opportunities. And the concrete tee pads are always a plus.
Cons: About three or four holes have some pretty dense brush which makes it easy to lose discs. But if your a more determined disc searcher you'll find one or two. One thing I don't like about the course is that you play a few of the same baskets over again from different tee pads.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy this course and the great hole layout will keep me coming back.
There is this big white owl that must live somewhere near hole #3, I've seen him out there twice now.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/24/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 201  Reviewed: 193  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/19/2012
6 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: There are some tight, technical fairways that will challenge your accuracy off the tee. Not very busy when I visited the course with disc golfers or other park users. Lots of shade keep it cool during the summer months. I didn't lose a disc.
Cons: Extremely nasty disc eating course! Being a disc eater wasn't bad enough it had to be very hard to navigate as well. This place gets extremely muddy in the winter months or after any rain. There are three 'extra' holes on the top part of the course that lead to nowhere and aren't worth playing. The layout is less than simple and there are lots of filler holes.
Other Thoughts: I appreciate the people who put in the effort and hard work to put in courses and to them I am sorry but I just didn't have a good time here and I wouldn't go back.

6 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course but go early

5+    5/22/2009   5/26/2009
Review By: python6114
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging course with a lot of teas, you have to share some baskets and some tees but it doesn't become a hassle. Good mix of easy to difficult holes. Also great for bird watching, including an owl that lives on the front side of the course.
Cons: The course is at the base of the West Hill of Kent, this means that the sun sets early, so it gets dark quick. Also don't go after it rains because this course is very muddy.
This course is heavily wooded and easy to lose a disc, especially number 5 hole where pretty much anywhere you throw the disc is going to be a challenge to find. But if you like a course where power players that can't keep it straight will be punished and slow and steady will win then this is it.
Other Thoughts: This is worth a play, I got my first birdie here, but it is not my favorite course in the king county area. It is really important to go in a group so you have more then yourself watching where your disc lands and helping eachother find stray discs.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Technical Corse

7/22/2008   7/22/2008
Review By: tchase
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very challenging and technical wooded course. It is a fun area to practice shooting between tight trees and going for occasional ace runs. The course wraps around a large pond and is very scenic. The course upkeep has gotten better lately.
Cons: The course can be very wet in the fall and early spring. This leads to a lot of muddy areas and slippery throws. The course also becomes a jungle in the summer and can be very overgrown. I enjoy technical courses but some of the holes are so narrow it is tough to see a path to the basket.
Other Thoughts: Overall Fenwick is a solid course that everyone should play at least once if you live in western Washington. There are many other courses close by and it makes a good quick 18 after one of the other local courses (White River, Sea-Tac, or Lakewood).

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Still working on course layout?

2-4    6/29/2008   7/2/2008
Review By: Aragorn
Played: 36  Reviewed: 19
This review was updated on 1/1/2011
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Like most courses around Puget Sound - a neat woodsy setting. Some fun technical holes. Although it can be dense most holes have a defined fairway.
Cons: The course layout is pretty confusing. Some tees are not numbered and it can be confusing to find the next tee. The first time I played I had to ask someone where the first tee was! I guess if I wandered around long enough I would have found it.
Other Thoughts: This course is now up to 12 baskets and supposedly 27 tee pads. Some are merely alternate tees while others are placed far enough away to effectively make a new hole. Hole #15 is an example. I believe it throws at basket #6 but it is far enough up the side of a hill that it makes it a different hole. On the other hand #9 and #18 are the exact same hole with the tee pads a few feet apart.

The course layout appears to be morphing so I don't know what it will wind up being. Adding the extra tees is a cool way to add more holes to the course IF it is not crowded. The flipside is two groups playing two holes but throwing at one basket. That sounds like a mess.

Before I had ever played this course some people had talked it down to me. I guess my expectations were low enough that I was set up to be pleasantly surprised. I found the short technical nature of the course to be fun. I have also only played it when it is relatively empty. The confusing layout + crowds could equal not so much fun.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Tough course to learn on.

5/18/2008   5/18/2008
Review By: LanceInTacoma
Played: 35  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 24.2 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I enjoyed this course for the most part. The signage (when it was up) was pretty good. There was definitely a variety of hole types considering the fact that we are only dealing with 9 baskets. I realize it is a tough job to carve a course out of a wooded area like this one.
Cons: While I consider myself an "advanced" player (I have been playing off and on for 10 years or so), I dragged my wife and two of our nephews (ages 11 and 15) with us. None of the three of them are anywhere near as serious about this sport as I am. They each made it through the first three holes before they gave up and just walked with me while I played. The undergrowth is so severe and there are so many sticker-type bushes that they each had a "lost" disc (though we eventually found all three) during the first three holes, and they were afraid that they would lose one for good if we kept playing. Not to mention, they just don't like tromping through that many stickers to play. For this reason, I would say this course is probably better for more advanced players, or at least people that are more serious. Also, there seemed to be a lot of trash on the course. There were some bags at some of the tee boxes, but most were full, and there was just a lot of trash strewn about in general. There was a sign near the beginning saying something like "Pack it in, pack it out." but I don't think a lot of people paid much attention.
Other Thoughts: If you are a good player and want a decent challenge, I think this course provides that. I did have a couple of deuce putts (neither of which I made, unfortunately), but I certainly wouldn't consider this an easy course (which I do consider many of the 9-holers I play). Also, considering the difficulty, and the setting, there were quite a few players out today, so I am sure that bodes well for the future of this course, provided some of those players help with a leadership aspect of course management and maintenance.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 You're an Ace-Hole

3/23/2008   3/23/2008
Review By: crimescsemirc
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This course was great. What she lacks in distance she makes up in shot variety and plain good looks. Nice, challenging, beautiful. I skip-aced on this course after calling my shot (somewhat).
Cons: I only aced once on this course. Also, there were paint-ballers hanging out.
Other Thoughts: Apparently this course is good for murdering too?

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Emerald Paradise

9/18/2007   3/12/2008
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11.2 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Not being from the NW, this is the type of lush, tree filled course I expected to encounter. The counter clockwise layout makes for good shot variety. Lots of technical stuff. Someone has gone through the trouble of making very detailed signs by hand. This course took the best pictures.
Cons: Someone has gone through the trouble of vandalizing the very detailed signs.
Other Thoughts: I played Seatac just before this course and the short holes were a very welcome contrast. I feel that the other two reviews underrated this course some, I think it's a great hidden gem. Valkyrie Kid, thanks for that tidbit about the Green River killer, makes the place seem even more odd.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

The Bodies Are Gone! I Think?

1    10/21/2012   3/2/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 677  Reviewed: 607  Exp: 36.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/21/2012
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lake Fenwick is close and easy to reach half way between Tacoma and Seattle. The holes offer a nice variety of elevated shots, technical throws through the trees and around a little pond. It's a nice little challenge of a course. It's mostly in the shade for those infrequent Northwest sunny days.
The course has undergone many changes to the layout in the past five years since my intial review. New signs have been added to all holes. The layout has been changed and new holes have been added. There are now all concrete teepads. three additional holes have been added making it a 21 hole course.
Cons: Because the course sits in this basin, it always seems kinds of waterlogged to me. The baskets are covered with grime and mildew making them seem kind of grungy. The course is always going to suffer from drainage problems. Although there are signs of recent clean up attempts, I guess I would just like to see a little more general clean up. There's still a few old tires lying about and tons of broken branches that could be hauled away.
Other Thoughts: Went to play it once and the police had it closed. They were looking for a body buried in the 70's in the park by the famous "Green River Killer." Kinda creeped me out! I'm not sure if they found one or not.

Regardless of the dead bodies or not, I'm upping my previous rating. The improvements are nice. There are a lot of fun tunnel shots here. It's an enjoyable, challenging course, just one with that drippy rain forest feel to it.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  only place i've ever been

12/17/2007   12/17/2007
Review By: whatbutton
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: it's within 2 miles of Kent Station. there are usually buckets to trash at every tee.
Cons: during the wet times of the year some of the trail can get flooded or at least very muddy, wear boots!
Other Thoughts: please don't pee on the trail. please dispose of litter in the buckets by the tees and not on the ground.

THANKS!
~Former Volunteer Grounds Keeper

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.