Kent, WA 
Lake Fenwick Share
Uploaded By: shawnc65 Hole #14 (Taken 3/2015)
3 / 156ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  

5+    5/10/2012   5/11/2012
Review By: parkerj667
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.7 Years
Pros: Very good challenging course. Since they updated this course from the dual tee course to the strict 18 hole course it has improved greatly. Alot of trees that you need to figure out how to weave in and out of. It can get tough and frustrating but will help improve your game.
Cons: Lots of dirt (lots of mud when wet),
Bushes eat your discs
Other Thoughts: One of my favorites.

 The New Fenwick

5+    7/31/2011   7/31/2011
Review By: GiggleWorks
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Such a fun and highly technical course. When they redisigned this, they really thought it through and did a great job. A must play for any serious disc golfer
Cons: Lots of bugs. The undergrowth in some areas SWALLOWS your discs. Of course, its super muddy after any rain. Do not play this course if you got bad knees....or at least skip holes 3 and 4 if you do....big uphill marches with a treacherous downhill from 4 to 5 that is dangerous when it's wet out!
Other Thoughts: If my wife enjoyed this course, I would be playing it at least once a week. I like it almost as much as White River

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/10/2011   5/10/2011
Review By: Petey
Played: 39  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.9 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great variety of shots, some technical others more open. The course has an awesome landscape and fairly well maintained.
The course has been updated lately and now has a full 18 baskets.
The course map posted in the parking lot is very halepful and acurate, uf you take a picture of it with your phone you shouldnt have any problems finding the next hole.
Cons: Some dense wooded areas and mud
Other Thoughts: All in all a fun course with a great variety of shot type and distance.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great potential, will go back

1    9/7/2010   9/7/2010
Review By: Czech21
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Wooded, technical
Cons: damp, muddy, disc eater.
Other Thoughts: this is probably more ideal in mid summer or after a good dry spell. I wish that I could have read the map at the beginning of the course. Someone who knows the course should repaint it! Also a printable version could be posted here. It is a tad confusing for someone who has not been there seeing as you use a lot of the same baskets for different tees. Good course though, had fun.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Lake Fenwick DGC

2-4    4/24/2010   4/24/2010
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 206  Reviewed: 191  Exp: 16.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/12/2012
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Lake Fenwick DGC is located on a 15 acre plot of land on the west side of Kent, buried along a hillside facing due east. The course currently has 15 baskets all in good to excellent condition with anywhere from 21-27 tee pads. A course map is located near hole one at the kiosk which provides the course layout as well as upcoming local tournaments in the near area. For first timers, I recommend taking a picture of the course map as it can get a bit confusing to navigate at times. Be sure to look on the ground as you play to help with navigation issues as there are several markers and signs indicating where the next tee is located.

The current course design is fairly similar to the old layout in regards to players ending in the same general vicinity as where they begin. However, with the addition of some of the new holes (#10 and the three bonus holes above hole #11), players will have to hike up a gravel road about 100 feet in order to play the next three holes and then either backtrack down the gravel road or follow the steep trail down toward hole #11. Each hole, for the most part, has a well defined fairway with little underbrush with the exception of hole #5 and #9/#18. Stinging nettles and blackberries are abundant, but as long as you can keep your disc on the fairway there should be no issues.

Elevation is present all throughout Lake Fenwick DGC, with the addition of the three new holes as well as many others such as holes #10, #11, #15, etc. Although there are no epic holes on the course, there were several which I would consider good or even great. The course varies in hole distances, challenge, and tight technical and open bomb shots. Overall, appropriate for all skill levels.
Cons:
This course is got to be the muddiest course in the entire state of Washington, which is no easy task. Because the entire course is surrounded by hill sides with a large pond directly in the middle, irrigation is extremely poor and when it rains, the water just flows down on to the course. Adding woodchips down the fairways and around each tee box and pin would quickly improve this course.

The tee pads on this course are in some serious need of some TLC as well. Some are cement and crumbling, some are dirt with large puddles in the middle, some have wooden frames elevated with nothing but mud and water in the middle, and there is even one that is 3x3 with little to no room to move. If the local club could find a way to fix these pads by adding new level cement pads, this too would quickly improve the course.

Parking is a major issue too, with only a small lot which holds no more than six cars; I am not sure what would happen if they held a non sanctioned tournament here. I am guessing that most people wind up parking out on the road, although there is not much room.

Since the course has duel tee pads, many times you will find players throwing toward the same basket as you. This can be a bit of a safety issue, especially since there are a lot of holes which have blind baskets. The crossing fairways, extremely dense foliage off to the sides of EVERY hole, and difficulty with navigation at times can all make for a frustrating round, so just beware and make sure you use a spotter!
Other Thoughts:
This course has a lot to offer, and with some minor improvements, could rate much higher. This course though could really benefit from what I mentioned above. The first thing that stood out to me, besides the friendly locals, was how vibrant and beautiful the course was. They have a good thing going at Lake Fenwick, but it just seems to be outdated. I look forward to continued growth of this course and hope to come back someday and see that changes have been made for the better.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 A fun technical course

2-4    8/10/2009   8/10/2009
Review By: JEREMSTER
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 17.8 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fenwick has great hole variety. The holes are fairly well marked. Most of the holes are technical but not overly hard. There are a couple of long holes #3, #9, #15 and #19 (I think) but there are also a few holes with good birdie opportunities. And the concrete tee pads are always a plus.
Cons: About three or four holes have some pretty dense brush which makes it easy to lose discs. But if your a more determined disc searcher you'll find one or two. One thing I don't like about the course is that you play a few of the same baskets over again from different tee pads.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy this course and the great hole layout will keep me coming back.
There is this big white owl that must live somewhere near hole #3, I've seen him out there twice now.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/24/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 239  Reviewed: 229  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/19/2012
6 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: There are some tight, technical fairways that will challenge your accuracy off the tee. Not very busy when I visited the course with disc golfers or other park users. Lots of shade keep it cool during the summer months. I didn't lose a disc.
Cons: Extremely nasty disc eating course! Being a disc eater wasn't bad enough it had to be very hard to navigate as well. This place gets extremely muddy in the winter months or after any rain. There are three 'extra' holes on the top part of the course that lead to nowhere and aren't worth playing. The layout is less than simple and there are lots of filler holes.
Other Thoughts: I appreciate the people who put in the effort and hard work to put in courses and to them I am sorry but I just didn't have a good time here and I wouldn't go back.

6 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course but go early

5+    5/22/2009   5/26/2009
Review By: python6114
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging course with a lot of teas, you have to share some baskets and some tees but it doesn't become a hassle. Good mix of easy to difficult holes. Also great for bird watching, including an owl that lives on the front side of the course.
Cons: The course is at the base of the West Hill of Kent, this means that the sun sets early, so it gets dark quick. Also don't go after it rains because this course is very muddy.
This course is heavily wooded and easy to lose a disc, especially number 5 hole where pretty much anywhere you throw the disc is going to be a challenge to find. But if you like a course where power players that can't keep it straight will be punished and slow and steady will win then this is it.
Other Thoughts: This is worth a play, I got my first birdie here, but it is not my favorite course in the king county area. It is really important to go in a group so you have more then yourself watching where your disc lands and helping eachother find stray discs.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Technical Corse

7/22/2008   7/22/2008
Review By: tchase
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very challenging and technical wooded course. It is a fun area to practice shooting between tight trees and going for occasional ace runs. The course wraps around a large pond and is very scenic. The course upkeep has gotten better lately.
Cons: The course can be very wet in the fall and early spring. This leads to a lot of muddy areas and slippery throws. The course also becomes a jungle in the summer and can be very overgrown. I enjoy technical courses but some of the holes are so narrow it is tough to see a path to the basket.
Other Thoughts: Overall Fenwick is a solid course that everyone should play at least once if you live in western Washington. There are many other courses close by and it makes a good quick 18 after one of the other local courses (White River, Sea-Tac, or Lakewood).

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Still working on course layout?

2-4    6/29/2008   7/2/2008
Review By: Aragorn
Played: 44  Reviewed: 19
This review was updated on 1/1/2011
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Like most courses around Puget Sound - a neat woodsy setting. Some fun technical holes. Although it can be dense most holes have a defined fairway.
Cons: The course layout is pretty confusing. Some tees are not numbered and it can be confusing to find the next tee. The first time I played I had to ask someone where the first tee was! I guess if I wandered around long enough I would have found it.
Other Thoughts: This course is now up to 12 baskets and supposedly 27 tee pads. Some are merely alternate tees while others are placed far enough away to effectively make a new hole. Hole #15 is an example. I believe it throws at basket #6 but it is far enough up the side of a hill that it makes it a different hole. On the other hand #9 and #18 are the exact same hole with the tee pads a few feet apart.

The course layout appears to be morphing so I don't know what it will wind up being. Adding the extra tees is a cool way to add more holes to the course IF it is not crowded. The flipside is two groups playing two holes but throwing at one basket. That sounds like a mess.

Before I had ever played this course some people had talked it down to me. I guess my expectations were low enough that I was set up to be pleasantly surprised. I found the short technical nature of the course to be fun. I have also only played it when it is relatively empty. The confusing layout + crowds could equal not so much fun.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.