Galena, OH 
The Player's DGC Share
Uploaded By: A.Mutt Hole #5 (Taken 3/2010)
3 / 273ft.   3 / 273ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Basket to Tee

Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Slightly above average course, too wooded

2-4    5/10/2015   6/9/2015
Review By: zetterbeard
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -This course has one of the longer holes in the Columbus area. I personally like airing it out, and it's nice to see a hole that I can say is a relatively legit par 5 (hole 2) since there seems to be so few longer holes in the Columbus area.

-A few holes are very scenic, overlooking the lake. An added bonus too if you're toasty and want to cool off!

-The first 9 or 10 holes in this course are great and provide a good challenge without being too hard or easy.
Cons: -Some of the wooded holes are far too wooded. On 11-15, you're pretty much praying not to hit a tree, but it's nearly impossible. It was very difficult to locate a "fairway," and those holes felt like they were plopped in the middle of a forest without much thought to the design.

-Water comes into play a few times on this course. On 7 you're forced to either throw over a beach or around a dense underbrush in order to get to the hole. It's not the end of the world to get your disc in the water, it's a shallow sandy beach after all, but you can easily lose a disc if you don't see where it landed. Hole 10 also plays over a shallow inlet of murky water that I doubt you'd want to go into to retrieve a disc. Perhaps water is a plus for some, but I'm not looking to lose a 20 dollar disc.

-One of the times I played this course, it was so buggy on 4-8 that one of my friends had to wait until we were out of the woods. Depending on what part of the season you come, bring some Off or long sleeves if you can handle the heat.
Other Thoughts: -This course is very average, at best. I like that it tries to put holes in the woods, but they need some work. Perhaps cutting a few more trees down to at least develop a fairway would be a good idea.

-Try this course once or twice to say you did, but if you're already driving 25 minutes from Columbus to play it, do yourself a favor and drive 15 more and go to the course in Delaware State Park.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Fun, Fairly Technical

1    9/15/2014   9/15/2014
Review By: Jaysauls
Played: 66  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice course winding around a fairly picturesque lake. Most of the holes can be reached using mostly a control driver or midrange. I found that I mostly through a Roadrunner of Buzz around the course.

It is fairly technical, but for the most part fair. The underbrush is minimal so errant shots were easy to find.

Water does come into play on about 6 holes (sorry, didn't keep a list) but only one hole - maybe 7? which is a long throw over the edge of the lake. Providing you don't flip the disc, you should be safe.
Cons: Navigation isn't the easiest. Hole 1 wasn't marked, and I had no idea where hole 2 was. Found it across the road with the help of some local players. I found navigating to the back nine tough to find as well

There's a good bit of debris on laying around some of the holes which took my rating down just hint due to being kinda ugly in places
Other Thoughts: Found the course fun to play, add some course maintenance and better signage and definitely a 3.5 course. With a little practice on this course could easily shoot 5 down, so not all that of a tricky course

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Good layout, needs maintenance

2-4    3/21/2014   3/21/2014
Review By: Rlyehable
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 36.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Concrete pad for all holes. Layout is very nice. Wooded and open holes. Water comes into play on several holes.
Cons: Not all holes with short and long tees have both marked, and few have both tee pads. Listed tee distances are questionable. Course needs maintenance (fallen trees, vandalized signs, etc.).

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Going to be a nice course

1    7/4/2012   7/6/2012
Review By: bigMIKE05
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Tee boxes
*Makes you use every shot you have
*Water comes into play
Cons: **Recently had work done
*No signs
*Course cover with downed trees
Other Thoughts: This was the first time I had played the course. So first thoughts is that it is a nice course but needs some work. They have recently expanded the parking lot for the boat ramp and thus moving around the first couple holes. Holes 1, 2 and 3 were all different. We spent 10 minutes trying to find the first hole, and then the second. I understand that they are still working on it, so I gave it a 3. Lucky for me, I went with someone who had been there several times before. If he was not there it would have been very difficult to play. There were no signs on the entire course, all they had were tiny little flags with the hole number on it. We had no clue our distance or weather it was a par 4 or 3. So this made it difficult to keep track of the score. There were also trees and limbs down everywhere from a storm a couple weeks back. Will be nice to have them cleared to make easier to move through the course. But all in all, it was a decent course. I will probably go back and play again, but not until late summer or even fall. To give them time to do the final work that NEEDS to be done.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.