Galena, OH 
The Player's DGC Share
Uploaded By: A.Mutt Hole #1 (Taken 3/2010)
3 / 231ft.   3 / 231ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 

1    7/27/2013   7/27/2013
Review By: philio37
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Scenic
Good Variety (Distance, Location)
Clearly Labled Tee and Pin Locations
"Next Tee -->" signs
Cons: Very dangerous water hazards (not for beginners or the un-"clutch")
Too many small trees and obstacles to hit
Other Thoughts: Very enjoyable, but it can easily discourage

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Tight, unforgiving, and fun. Continually improving!

5+    3/28/2013   3/28/2013
Review By: Puckstopper
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 14.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/2/2015
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All basic amenities present including concrete teepads for long tees and all but 2 of the short tees, bathrooms, abundant parking and high quality baskets

Bonus amenities include a water fountain on the course and a convenience store a mile up the road that sells discs.

Good use of available elevation and water adds an element of interest

As of 7/1/15 10 holes have 2 concrete tee positions, and 2 holes have 3. 1 hole has a second tee made of gravel, and it appears plans are in place to add concrete here too.
Cons: Course is in need of a very minor amount of pruning, as certain holes feel like a crap-shoot as opposed to a test of skill. Update: This has been mostly fixed with recent work done too the course.

Two of the short tees don't have concrete teepads, but the dirt has been replaced with carpet, so that's an improvement.

Layout is somewhat chopped up due to recent redesign caused by expansion of the nearby boat ramp. Course forces you to cross the parking area twice, which could be a problem if you aren't attentive.

The course didn't buy me dinner before it f@#ked me.

7/1/15: The new concrete tees are 1-2' shorter than the originals. Given that they are mainly set in longer positions than the original tees and are also slightly elevated, this is a MAJOR drawback.
Other Thoughts: This tightly wooded course is certainly one of the toughest in the Columbus area. There are no truly wide open holes, every one has at least a few trees to force you to hit a certain line. You will need every shot in your bag to have success here. As I mentioned in my Cons, there are a few holes that need to be reconsidered slightly as there are scrub trees that are clogging up already small openings between mature trees (again this has been mostly fixed...)

While the course is challenging even from the short tees, it does lack what I would call a signature hole. Despite this, many of the holes will reward you with a memorable shot if you have the skill to hit it.

As I jokingly alluded to in my cons, this course roughed me up badly, and has continued to do so over time. Overall this is a great course to separate the skilled players in your group from the "lucky chuckers" as it's almost impossible to get lucky 18 times.



Update: After some trees were removed last fall the course seems to be a little more open. There are still a couple "chuck and pray" holes, but they are now few and far between.

3/15 Update: The local club has been doing WORK!!! Many of the downed trees have been cut up and stacked along the fairways of several back 9 holes. These serve to force you to shape shots on some holes, but help keep you out of a nasty swampy area on the 2 holes that play along it. Overall this change is very positive. Otherwise the course is still quite challenging. Bring your A game, you'll need it.

7/1/15 The new tee positions required additional clearing of trees and brush and this is a major positive for this course. The new tee positions are worth a half point bump, and I'm deducting half a point due to the tees being too short. Overall I'm raising my score on this course by half a point due to the clearing of brush that was done in conjunction with the new tees, and the fun new shots the tees open up.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Ohio Course

1    8/8/2010   8/10/2010
Review By: SteveHalsell
Played: 31  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.6 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This was a great course. There was a great variety of holes in length, complexity, and variation of dogleg right and left. The course flowed pretty easily too. The pin of one hole is close to the teepad of the next one, and if they aren't obvious there are signs. This is a huge positive.

The fairways might be considered slim by some, but I really liked the challenge. The growth on sides of the fairways weren't overcrowded or thick with weeds of shrubs, so if you miss the fairways you should be able to find the disc pretty easily.

I also really enjoyed the course layout at the park. Others mentioned this, but it is really great to have the course designed in a figure eight pattern. Also, it is great to have open plains, deeper woods, and water coming into play all on the same course. You'll have both skill shots and ones you can grip and rip.

Finally, the environment was great. It was a pretty crowded park, but it never hindered my play on the course. Good to see a lot of people out on the lake on Saturday afternoon. Also, since the water comes into play it is nice to play alongside.
Cons: There are a few cons here that kept this from a 4.5 rating.

- No benches and trash cans along the course with and consistency.
- Bathroom facilities are not well maintained and the one at the beginning of the course could literally be the grossest bathroom I have ever used.
- No maps or scorecards available. Each hole has a map, but there was no big map at Hole 1 showing the course layout.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a nice course. Good layout, nice scenery, concrete teepads, professional baskets, and no fee to play.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Work on your accuracy first....

5+    7/27/2010   7/28/2010
Review By: thebuckeyeguy
Played: 109  Reviewed: 15
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great mix of shots; 18 concrete pads (from the longer selection); good use of water holes (2 over water, although water is potentially in play on 6 holes); mostly wooded, so nice shade in summer months; tight fairways but they offer a chance; pretty easy to navigate; not a long round time-wise; recently mowed and well-maintained; one of the courses in the 2010 PDGA Am Worlds; plays well for locals, as to really get this course you have to play it multiple times; never seen a crowd; hole 6 turns into a beautiful hole as you approach the pin...in fact, there is a fair amount of nice scenary with sailboats and jetskis.
Cons: If you are a little bit off, you will hit a lot of trees (but again, even though some holes are very difficult, there is a fairway); in the wet season, there is a bit of a flooding issue (not enough to make it unplayable, but count on getting muddy. I won't play it at all next spring); can be frustrating playing in the woods so close to water, as an unlucky strike on a tree can send you into the reservoir; lack of trash cans, benches, water, and updated signs.
Other Thoughts: This is the closest course to my house, so therefore the course I play the most. As an "experienced" Alum Creek player, take this advice: throw as far as you can WHILE STAYING ON THE FAIRWAY, and be aggressive on the water holes! Ive seen more lost discs from timid throws than anything else. As far as a road trip, this is not that course, but it is a fun addition to the growing central-Ohio scene. Considering this course went into the ground last November, it is in excellent shape. And for my money, it is the most difficult "Columbus" course (maintained by MOODGolf, not CFDGC).

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.