Disc Golf Store
Galena, OH 
The Player's DGC Share
Uploaded By: Brall Hole #12 (Taken 9/2011)
5 / 360ft.   5 / 360ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Short Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Near water and ugly

1    8/3/2014   8/3/2014
Review By: gabetaviano
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Concrete pads, nice baskets. Challenging.
Cons: Hard to find 1st tee from parking lot. Way too many downed trees. For amateurs, a few of the holes are impossible / unplayable.
Other Thoughts: Won't drive up from Westerville to play the course again, when there's Brent Hambrick DGC at Hoover.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful lakeside wooded course

2-4    7/26/2014   7/27/2014
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 159  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Players DGC in Alum Creek State Park is a challenging, intermediate level course that features wooded lanes and a couple of tricky water carries, utilizing nice, level concrete tees and quality discatcher baskets. They've undergone a bit of a redesign in the last couple of years, because the park extended and improved the boat ramp and parking area that divides the course. Along with the removal of numerous ash trees during 2013-14, the course actually opened up a bit to make formerly brutal woods lines more reachable, but still the kind of holes where a well-executed shot can give you a deuce opportunity, but a tree kick can leave you scrambling to save a four.

What makes this fun is the chance to challenge yourself in a beautiful, lakeside, wooded setting. You won't have much opportunity to bomb long drives, so bring your technical game here. Holes range from just under 200 feet to a handful just shy of 300, three under 400, and one 600 footer. Holes 5, 6, 9, 10, 11, & 13 all risk wetting your disc, with 6 being the feature challenge when the wind is coming at you, where you'll need to clear over 250 feet of lake to stay dry.

There are opportunities to shape shots left to right, right to left, S-shapers, and fair, but guarded approaches. What's interesting is that the holes on the East side of the boating lot (9-18) don't have an excessive amount of undergrowth to hide an errant shot. That's not to say you shouldn't keep an eye on some of the other holes (or send a spotter ahead), particularly on holes 1 (if you go long), 2 (right), 5 (right), & 6 (left).

There are some picnic tables, benches, and logs out on the course to sit and take a breather, there is a course sign and practice basket in the middle where the front and back nine loop nicely together, at least three bathrooms adjoining the course, and plenty of parking for easy accessibility. There really don't appear to be any trash cans out on the course itself, so carry in, carry out, please. Finally, there are plenty of activities here in the state park for the non-disc'ers in your party to enjoy a visit.

In all, this is a fun course when they've made it tourney ready (like this past weekend), and it will draw a lot of Intermediate level players who enjoy a technical challenge.
Cons: Though I've drawn up a new Aerial map for dgcr, the pictures (as of July, 2014) are dated, and out of synch with the current hole layout and numbering. Presently, tee signs are simple PVC pipes with hole, par and distance painted on them, so they're visible and basic, but the distances are slightly different than listed here on dgcr (so that, and new pictures, need to be a priority for members who live in the Columbus area to update).

The flow of the course leads to a couple of long walks between basket and tee, particularly on 7 to 8 and 8 to 9. Hole 18 shoots out through the trees just left of the 17th basket and the practice basket, where the likely tree kicks may be a risk to folks on those greens. Use caution going for the big throw on 2 (and 8), because the fairways parallel, and errant shots could spell trouble).

The low lying areas (I'm talking to you, holes 3, 4 & 5) can be a harbor for mosquitoes and other insects in the rainy season.
Other Thoughts: Some courses tend to be a little unsatisfying because you always get a similar result (a hole just out of your reach will always yield a three, for instance, once you've steadied out your game). The Players course is fun, because it's not unusual here to have a great, accurate shot on particular hole one time through, and a tree kick leaves you in trouble on the same hole the next time you play it. The fun comes when it works the other way around!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good layout, needs maintenance

2-4    3/21/2014   3/21/2014
Review By: Rlyehable
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 35.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Concrete pad for all holes. Layout is very nice. Wooded and open holes. Water comes into play on several holes.
Cons: Not all holes with short and long tees have both marked, and few have both tee pads. Listed tee distances are questionable. Course needs maintenance (fallen trees, vandalized signs, etc.).

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Central Ohio's Gem Course

5+    8/22/2013   8/23/2013
Review By: ChuckinDeucesACE
Played: 20  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course will require every shot in your bag. It plays very technical and tight with a few breathing holes. Not for the faint of heart and could scare the beginner but boy is it fun. Woods! And, lots of them. Water also comes into play and frames some of the more scenic holes on the course. The baskets are in good condition. The tee pads are in good condition. But, they should be at every tee position similar to the Brent Hambrick Memorial DGC.
Cons: Slight over growth in some areas, although I can imagine up keep on this course would be quite the chore. There are also some holes that could use downed trees cleaned up. Use them to line some of the tunnel shots and fairways. The course can be muddy after weather but that's to be expected. The tee signs are also a little vague. They aren't signs but more of a general direction of the pin.
Other Thoughts: It'd be nice to see a course map on the course welcome sign near the practice basket.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    7/27/2013   7/27/2013
Review By: philio37
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Scenic
Good Variety (Distance, Location)
Clearly Labled Tee and Pin Locations
"Next Tee -->" signs
Cons: Very dangerous water hazards (not for beginners or the un-"clutch")
Too many small trees and obstacles to hit
Other Thoughts: Very enjoyable, but it can easily discourage

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Tight, unforgiving, and fun

1    3/28/2013   3/28/2013
Review By: Puckstopper
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/5/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All basic amenities present including concrete teepads for long tees and all but 2 of the short tees, bathrooms, abundant parking and high quality baskets

Bonus amenities include several water fountains on the course and a convenience store a mile up the road that sells discs.

Good use of available elevation and water adds an element of interest
Cons: Course is in need of a very minor amount of pruning, as certain holes feel like a crap-shoot as opposed to a test of skill. Update: This has been mostly fixed with recent work done too the course.

Two of the short tees don't have concrete teepads, and other than the tee sign there is no well defined natural tee area.

Layout is somewhat chopped up due to recent redesign cause by expansion of the nearby boat ramp. Course forces you to cross the parking area twice, which could be a problem if you aren't attentive.

The course didn't buy me dinner before it f@#ked me.
Other Thoughts: Update: After some trees were removed last fall the course seems to be a little more open. There are still a couple "chuck and pray" holes, but they are now few and far between.

This tightly wooded course is certainly the toughest in the Columbus area. There are no truly wide open holes, every one has at least a few trees to force you to hit a certain line. You will need every shot in your bag to have success here. As I mentioned in my Cons, there are a few holes that need to be reconsidered slightly as there are scrub trees that are clogging up already small openings between mature trees (again this has been mostly fixed...)

While the course is challenging even from the short tees, it does lack what I would call a signature hole. Despite this, many of the holes will reward you with a memorable shot if you have the skill to hit it.

As I jokingly alluded to in my cons, this course roughed me up badly, but I look forward to challenging it again and improving my score. Overall this is a great course to separate the skilled players in your group from the "lucky chuckers" as it's almost impossible to get lucky 18 times.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

review after the changes

5+    10/4/2012   10/4/2012
Review By: AceWraith
Played: 61  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Concrete tee pads
-Discather baskets
-Good course flow
-Difficulty in holes
-Long bombers and short finesse shots
-Lots of water hazard/Great use of the water
-Half wooded Half mostly open
-If you're not afraid to get wet you can retrieve your disc
-Scenic
-Good use of what little elevation is available
Cons: -No trash cans or benches
-A lot of the back 9's baskets are right next to the water, one hit off a tree and bye bye disc
-No 'Next Tee' signs
- If it rains a lot I have seen 2 baskets underwater
Other Thoughts: This course just got a facelift due to a growing marina which the course plays around. Hole one is now on the other side of the road from the practice basket and is kind of all by itself considering you have to cross the road again to play the rest of the front 9. But all in all this is definitely worth the drive, hole 6 (use to be 7) is a shot where the fairway is the lake! And hole 15 (use to be 16) is an island by OB out of the woods. AWESOME! On that note this course is not a 'learn to play' on but more so for someone who has played a few good rounds.

This course will test you! I was on fire with -4 up till hole 10 and finished out at +4! the front 9 has nice fairways with some great aceruns, the back 9 has wooded fairways with no relief but if you hit the right line it will pay out nice. Also on the back 9, as stated up top, a lot of the baskets are located on the waters edge and being wooded there is a decently big risk of ricocheting in the water. now the water isnt that deep up to 13' feet out so fishing for your disc inst that hard.

Final Thoughts:
PLAY IT, LOVE IT, OWN IT

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Going to be a nice course

1    7/4/2012   7/6/2012
Review By: bigMIKE05
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Tee boxes
*Difficulty
*Makes you use every shot you have
*Water comes into play
Cons: **Recently had work done
*No signs
*Course cover with downed trees
Other Thoughts: This was the first time I had played the course. So first thoughts is that it is a nice course but needs some work. They have recently expanded the parking lot for the boat ramp and thus moving around the first couple holes. Holes 1, 2 and 3 were all different. We spent 10 minutes trying to find the first hole, and then the second. I understand that they are still working on it, so I gave it a 3. Lucky for me, I went with someone who had been there several times before. If he was not there it would have been very difficult to play. There were no signs on the entire course, all they had were tiny little flags with the hole number on it. We had no clue our distance or weather it was a par 4 or 3. So this made it difficult to keep track of the score. There were also trees and limbs down everywhere from a storm a couple weeks back. Will be nice to have them cleared to make easier to move through the course. But all in all, it was a decent course. I will probably go back and play again, but not until late summer or even fall. To give them time to do the final work that NEEDS to be done.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 over the 77 trees in the fairway, nothing but chains

1    9/24/2011   9/28/2011
Review By: Brall
Played: 41  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very beautiful and heavily wooded course. The forest here is thick and you feel like you are deep into nature once the road is out of site. The terrain is easy to walk on but because of a lot of roots and bumps you'll find rollers and skip shots hindered.
- Because this course is so technical you really will use a plethora (3 amigos!) of shots to keep yourself out of some of the thick rough and also to get yourself out of trouble once you're in these tight spots. This course has a mix of left and right turning fairways that will have you changing up your angles of attack constantly.
- The distance from all the concrete Tee's to Baskets is most likely around 5100' for 18 holes. The overall distance of this course is short but because of how technical this course is the short distance does not really hold back my rating.
- There are only a few flat holes; otherwise the course is in a constant state of small rolling elevation changes
- The course flows pretty well. Hole #18 ends where Hole #1 starts which is also right at the parking area. There are a few holes that can be confusing to transition to because of a longer walk or a strangely located Tee; #2 to 3, #6 to 7, #7 to 8, #9 to 10, #14 to 15. In those situations the map can be very handy.
- One concrete Tee per hole, all in good condition. Hole #1 also has one natural tee.
- Nice Tee Signs showing location of the pin along with a Next Tee arrow
- Excellent water hazards have you calculating risk vs. reward! Holes #6, 11, 12 & 14 throw directly at the water while holes #7 & 10 throw over the water. WOOT!
- The baskets are in excellent condition and well labeled
- The park had some decent upkeep. The grass was well mowed but there could have been a little more clearing in the heavily wooded areas. Maybe some debris removal and some mulch. The weedeating, however, was done well around the baskets.
- Lots of traffic around the disc golf course but you shouldn't run into too many non-disc golfers on the course itself as the course plays separate from other activities. I'd suspect that the disc golfer traffic is moderate to heavy.
- Signs at the entrance help direct you to the course
- There is a message board at Hole #1 but not much going on there
- Practice basket near Hole #18's basket. Keep your eye open for people driving off of #18's Tee.
- Plenty of parking from Hole #16's basket all the way down to Hole #1's basket.
- Bathrooms located at Hole #2 and Hole #9 (they are kinda nasty but at least they are there. Hold your breath or head to the woods)
- Amenities. This park has a lot! Kids nature walks, camping, beaches, swimming, marina, basketball, horseshoes, playgrounds, nature programs, dog park, hiking trails, rental equipment including golf discs… lots of stuff, etcetera.
- This park is just beautiful and full of nature. Old trees and lush green vegetation and it's all located 5 miles off the highway so it's easy to get to.
- Trashcan at Hole #1. Litter is a common complaint about this course but it was pretty clean when I was there, however, at least one or two more trashcans would help to keep it this way.
Cons: - Safety can become an issue on Holes #2 & #18. Hole #2 you are throwing at an intersection that is very busy with park traffic on nice days. Hole #18 has a clear straight and anhyzer path but the hyzer path to the basket could lead to big trouble as it goes over the parking area & putting basket and a long shot goes into the picnic area where golfers congregate. FORE!
- Map. Handy for your first time out but it is seriously outdated. It shows two tees per hole but only Hole #3 had two Tee's that I could find. Looking at the map these holes had only Long Tees; 2, 3, 4, 7 (center Tee only), 9, 10, 13, 14, 15 & 18. These holes had only Short Tees; 5, 6, 8, 11, 12, 16 & 17. Because of this the course could use a complete make-over on DGCR and possibly getting re-measured in the process would help as well.
- Signs were missing on Holes # 7 & #9.
- Drop Zone is not marked for Hole #16
- A few benches would be nice for those without a simian ::wink::
Other Thoughts: - This course has much more potential. Clear the areas and finish those second Tee's, add some benches and more trashcans and then you're onto something. I would also suggest starting Hole #1 where Hole #3 is. The course will still flow just fine. The reason is because the area where Hole #1 is now is very tight and unsafe to gather at. I was there for a tournament and as the tournament finished we were in a constant state of awareness that a disc could be flying at us any second. There is so much more room to gather at Hole #3.
- I think the tape was still on the baskets directing you to the Next Tee (but my memory sucks so not sure)
- This course is challenging especially for the non-technical player that just wants to grip and rip. This is not a course for those people.
- The most challenging hole for me was Hole #16. Per the Tee Sign, this hole is all O.B. except for the putting area. A very tough shot to make and this hole will make or break a close game that you may be having with a friend.
- My favorite hole is definitely Hole #7! Loved throwing that huge hyzer bomb out over the water to watch it fade back to planet Earth and plop on the green for the birdie putt.
- This was a very fun course but I do not label this as a course to travel a long way to play, however, this course combined with some of the other courses located nearby would certainly be worth a long drive and make a great full day of disc golfing.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Potential?

1    7/23/2011   7/24/2011
Review By: tsqrd
Played: 32  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
[Baskets]: DisCatcher, Excellent condition, well maintained. Practice basket available near Tee 1.

[Tee Signs/Maps/Markers]: Excellent online map of the course. Amazing detail! Basic signs at each hole including map of hole with distance marking.

[General Course Design]: Course flows well from hole to hole. Next tee signs available on some holes that are not obvious. Course starts and ends close to the parking lot. Course uses a figure 8 design which is nice.

[Foliage Maintenance]: Areas around the baskets were clear. Trees were nicely trimmed and paths were clear with bridges over creeks/low spots.

[Elevation]: Great use of mature trees and elevation changes. The course uses the open and wooded areas of the park to the fullest extent. The lake even comes into play on a few holes, making you choose your shot selection wisely.

[Signature Holes]: Several potential signature holes. A variety of hole distances requiring many different shot selections. The course offers a good mix of tight, technical shots and one or two opportunities for open bombs.

[Tee Pads]: Concrete (pro only), good condition, kind of narrow and not all the same length.

[Restrooms]: I noticed a couple restroom facilities throughout the course, but they looked pretty nasty. The one near the 18th tee has been closed.
Cons:
[Tee Signs/Maps/Markers]: Signs were very small, and hard to see. They were low to the ground and almost always covered in mud and grime. There was no par marking on the signs from what I could tell. Seemed like a last minute afterthought. Hopefully there is a plan to update with more permanent signage.

[Foliage Maintenance]: There were a lot of downed trees through the wooded area. This added to the hazard of the elevation changes, so you had to be careful walking up and down the hills through the woods. The grass had not been cut, but it was manageable.

[Benches & Trash bins]: I did not see any benches or trash cans. There was some trash littering the course and a lot of broken glass.
[Tee Pads]: I was only able to find the amateur tee at hole one. All others were non-existent, even though they are marked on the very detailed online map. Maybe I was blind, but I could not find any other tees, so I ended up playing from the pros or making up a tee myself.
Other Thoughts:
This course was challenging and very frustrating at times. The lack of locating amateur tees made for a discouraging start. When I looked online and found this amazingly detailed map, I was excited to play on a premier course. When I arrived, and the course did not live up to the map's initial impression, I was disappointed.
There is plenty of parking available with a short walk the first tee. Beware of traffic entering and leaving the boat docks as you cross the road.
This course has excellent potential. If the effort put into the online map is put into the tee signs, and concrete pads are added for the other tees, this will be a top rated course. Players shouldn't have to hunt for tees on a top rated course. Fix these things, and this will be a 4/5 easily.
If you are beginner, be prepared for a potentially frustrating round of disc golf pinball as the lanes through the woods are very narrow.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.