Galena, OH 
The Player's DGC Share
Uploaded By: jcf5083 Hole #11
4 / 225ft.   4 / 225ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Slightly above average course, too wooded

2-4    5/10/2015   6/9/2015
Review By: zetterbeard
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -This course has one of the longer holes in the Columbus area. I personally like airing it out, and it's nice to see a hole that I can say is a relatively legit par 5 (hole 2) since there seems to be so few longer holes in the Columbus area.

-A few holes are very scenic, overlooking the lake. An added bonus too if you're toasty and want to cool off!

-The first 9 or 10 holes in this course are great and provide a good challenge without being too hard or easy.
Cons: -Some of the wooded holes are far too wooded. On 11-15, you're pretty much praying not to hit a tree, but it's nearly impossible. It was very difficult to locate a "fairway," and those holes felt like they were plopped in the middle of a forest without much thought to the design.

-Water comes into play a few times on this course. On 7 you're forced to either throw over a beach or around a dense underbrush in order to get to the hole. It's not the end of the world to get your disc in the water, it's a shallow sandy beach after all, but you can easily lose a disc if you don't see where it landed. Hole 10 also plays over a shallow inlet of murky water that I doubt you'd want to go into to retrieve a disc. Perhaps water is a plus for some, but I'm not looking to lose a 20 dollar disc.

-One of the times I played this course, it was so buggy on 4-8 that one of my friends had to wait until we were out of the woods. Depending on what part of the season you come, bring some Off or long sleeves if you can handle the heat.
Other Thoughts: -This course is very average, at best. I like that it tries to put holes in the woods, but they need some work. Perhaps cutting a few more trees down to at least develop a fairway would be a good idea.

-Try this course once or twice to say you did, but if you're already driving 25 minutes from Columbus to play it, do yourself a favor and drive 15 more and go to the course in Delaware State Park.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Fun, Fairly Technical

1    9/15/2014   9/15/2014
Review By: Jaysauls
Played: 64  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 6.1 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice course winding around a fairly picturesque lake. Most of the holes can be reached using mostly a control driver or midrange. I found that I mostly through a Roadrunner of Buzz around the course.

It is fairly technical, but for the most part fair. The underbrush is minimal so errant shots were easy to find.

Water does come into play on about 6 holes (sorry, didn't keep a list) but only one hole - maybe 7? which is a long throw over the edge of the lake. Providing you don't flip the disc, you should be safe.
Cons: Navigation isn't the easiest. Hole 1 wasn't marked, and I had no idea where hole 2 was. Found it across the road with the help of some local players. I found navigating to the back nine tough to find as well

There's a good bit of debris on laying around some of the holes which took my rating down just hint due to being kinda ugly in places
Other Thoughts: Found the course fun to play, add some course maintenance and better signage and definitely a 3.5 course. With a little practice on this course could easily shoot 5 down, so not all that of a tricky course

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Near water and ugly

1    8/3/2014   8/3/2014
Review By: gabetaviano
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Concrete pads, nice baskets. Challenging.
Cons: Hard to find 1st tee from parking lot. Way too many downed trees. For amateurs, a few of the holes are impossible / unplayable.
Other Thoughts: Won't drive up from Westerville to play the course again, when there's Brent Hambrick DGC at Hoover.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful lakeside wooded course

2-4    7/26/2014   7/27/2014
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 225  Reviewed: 211  Exp: 3.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Players DGC in Alum Creek State Park is a challenging, intermediate level course that features wooded lanes and a couple of tricky water carries, utilizing nice, level concrete tees and quality discatcher baskets. They've undergone a bit of a redesign in the last couple of years, because the park extended and improved the boat ramp and parking area that divides the course. Along with the removal of numerous ash trees during 2013-14, the course actually opened up a bit to make formerly brutal woods lines more reachable, but still the kind of holes where a well-executed shot can give you a deuce opportunity, but a tree kick can leave you scrambling to save a four.

What makes this fun is the chance to challenge yourself in a beautiful, lakeside, wooded setting. You won't have much opportunity to bomb long drives, so bring your technical game here. Holes range from just under 200 feet to a handful just shy of 300, three under 400, and one 600 footer. Holes 5, 6, 9, 10, 11, & 13 all risk wetting your disc, with 6 being the feature challenge when the wind is coming at you, where you'll need to clear over 250 feet of lake to stay dry.

There are opportunities to shape shots left to right, right to left, S-shapers, and fair, but guarded approaches. What's interesting is that the holes on the East side of the boating lot (9-18) don't have an excessive amount of undergrowth to hide an errant shot. That's not to say you shouldn't keep an eye on some of the other holes (or send a spotter ahead), particularly on holes 1 (if you go long), 2 (right), 5 (right), & 6 (left).

There are some picnic tables, benches, and logs out on the course to sit and take a breather, there is a course sign and practice basket in the middle where the front and back nine loop nicely together, at least three bathrooms adjoining the course, and plenty of parking for easy accessibility. There really don't appear to be any trash cans out on the course itself, so carry in, carry out, please. Finally, there are plenty of activities here in the state park for the non-disc'ers in your party to enjoy a visit.

In all, this is a fun course when they've made it tourney ready (like this past weekend), and it will draw a lot of Intermediate level players who enjoy a technical challenge.
Cons: Though I've drawn up a new Aerial map for dgcr, the pictures (as of July, 2014) are dated, and out of synch with the current hole layout and numbering. Presently, tee signs are simple PVC pipes with hole, par and distance painted on them, so they're visible and basic, but the distances are slightly different than listed here on dgcr (so that, and new pictures, need to be a priority for members who live in the Columbus area to update).

The flow of the course leads to a couple of long walks between basket and tee, particularly on 7 to 8 and 8 to 9. Hole 18 shoots out through the trees just left of the 17th basket and the practice basket, where the likely tree kicks may be a risk to folks on those greens. Use caution going for the big throw on 2 (and 8), because the fairways parallel, and errant shots could spell trouble).

The low lying areas (I'm talking to you, holes 3, 4 & 5) can be a harbor for mosquitoes and other insects in the rainy season.
Other Thoughts: Some courses tend to be a little unsatisfying because you always get a similar result (a hole just out of your reach will always yield a three, for instance, once you've steadied out your game). The Players course is fun, because it's not unusual here to have a great, accurate shot on particular hole one time through, and a tree kick leaves you in trouble on the same hole the next time you play it. The fun comes when it works the other way around!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Good layout, needs maintenance

2-4    3/21/2014   3/21/2014
Review By: Rlyehable
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 36.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Concrete pad for all holes. Layout is very nice. Wooded and open holes. Water comes into play on several holes.
Cons: Not all holes with short and long tees have both marked, and few have both tee pads. Listed tee distances are questionable. Course needs maintenance (fallen trees, vandalized signs, etc.).

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Central Ohio's Gem Course

5+    8/22/2013   8/23/2013
Review By: ChuckinDeucesACE
Played: 28  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 15.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course will require every shot in your bag. It plays very technical and tight with a few breathing holes. Not for the faint of heart and could scare the beginner but boy is it fun. Woods! And, lots of them. Water also comes into play and frames some of the more scenic holes on the course. The baskets are in good condition. The tee pads are in good condition. But, they should be at every tee position similar to the Brent Hambrick Memorial DGC.
Cons: Slight over growth in some areas, although I can imagine up keep on this course would be quite the chore. There are also some holes that could use downed trees cleaned up. Use them to line some of the tunnel shots and fairways. The course can be muddy after weather but that's to be expected. The tee signs are also a little vague. They aren't signs but more of a general direction of the pin.
Other Thoughts: It'd be nice to see a course map on the course welcome sign near the practice basket.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/27/2013   7/27/2013
Review By: philio37
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Scenic
Good Variety (Distance, Location)
Clearly Labled Tee and Pin Locations
"Next Tee -->" signs
Cons: Very dangerous water hazards (not for beginners or the un-"clutch")
Too many small trees and obstacles to hit
Other Thoughts: Very enjoyable, but it can easily discourage

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Tight, unforgiving, and fun. Continually improving!

5+    3/28/2013   3/28/2013
Review By: Puckstopper
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 14.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/2/2015
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All basic amenities present including concrete teepads for long tees and all but 2 of the short tees, bathrooms, abundant parking and high quality baskets

Bonus amenities include a water fountain on the course and a convenience store a mile up the road that sells discs.

Good use of available elevation and water adds an element of interest

As of 7/1/15 10 holes have 2 concrete tee positions, and 2 holes have 3. 1 hole has a second tee made of gravel, and it appears plans are in place to add concrete here too.
Cons: Course is in need of a very minor amount of pruning, as certain holes feel like a crap-shoot as opposed to a test of skill. Update: This has been mostly fixed with recent work done too the course.

Two of the short tees don't have concrete teepads, but the dirt has been replaced with carpet, so that's an improvement.

Layout is somewhat chopped up due to recent redesign caused by expansion of the nearby boat ramp. Course forces you to cross the parking area twice, which could be a problem if you aren't attentive.

The course didn't buy me dinner before it f@#ked me.

7/1/15: The new concrete tees are 1-2' shorter than the originals. Given that they are mainly set in longer positions than the original tees and are also slightly elevated, this is a MAJOR drawback.
Other Thoughts: This tightly wooded course is certainly one of the toughest in the Columbus area. There are no truly wide open holes, every one has at least a few trees to force you to hit a certain line. You will need every shot in your bag to have success here. As I mentioned in my Cons, there are a few holes that need to be reconsidered slightly as there are scrub trees that are clogging up already small openings between mature trees (again this has been mostly fixed...)

While the course is challenging even from the short tees, it does lack what I would call a signature hole. Despite this, many of the holes will reward you with a memorable shot if you have the skill to hit it.

As I jokingly alluded to in my cons, this course roughed me up badly, and has continued to do so over time. Overall this is a great course to separate the skilled players in your group from the "lucky chuckers" as it's almost impossible to get lucky 18 times.



Update: After some trees were removed last fall the course seems to be a little more open. There are still a couple "chuck and pray" holes, but they are now few and far between.

3/15 Update: The local club has been doing WORK!!! Many of the downed trees have been cut up and stacked along the fairways of several back 9 holes. These serve to force you to shape shots on some holes, but help keep you out of a nasty swampy area on the 2 holes that play along it. Overall this change is very positive. Otherwise the course is still quite challenging. Bring your A game, you'll need it.

7/1/15 The new tee positions required additional clearing of trees and brush and this is a major positive for this course. The new tee positions are worth a half point bump, and I'm deducting half a point due to the tees being too short. Overall I'm raising my score on this course by half a point due to the clearing of brush that was done in conjunction with the new tees, and the fun new shots the tees open up.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 review after the changes

5+    10/4/2012   10/4/2012
Review By: AceWraith
Played: 74  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.1 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Concrete tee pads
-Discather baskets
-Good course flow
-Difficulty in holes
-Long bombers and short finesse shots
-Lots of water hazard/Great use of the water
-Half wooded Half mostly open
-If you're not afraid to get wet you can retrieve your disc
-Scenic
-Good use of what little elevation is available
Cons: -No trash cans or benches
-A lot of the back 9's baskets are right next to the water, one hit off a tree and bye bye disc
-No 'Next Tee' signs
- If it rains a lot I have seen 2 baskets underwater
Other Thoughts: This course just got a facelift due to a growing marina which the course plays around. Hole one is now on the other side of the road from the practice basket and is kind of all by itself considering you have to cross the road again to play the rest of the front 9. But all in all this is definitely worth the drive, hole 6 (use to be 7) is a shot where the fairway is the lake! And hole 15 (use to be 16) is an island by OB out of the woods. AWESOME! On that note this course is not a 'learn to play' on but more so for someone who has played a few good rounds.

This course will test you! I was on fire with -4 up till hole 10 and finished out at +4! the front 9 has nice fairways with some great aceruns, the back 9 has wooded fairways with no relief but if you hit the right line it will pay out nice. Also on the back 9, as stated up top, a lot of the baskets are located on the waters edge and being wooded there is a decently big risk of ricocheting in the water. now the water isnt that deep up to 13' feet out so fishing for your disc inst that hard.

Final Thoughts:
PLAY IT, LOVE IT, OWN IT

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Going to be a nice course

1    7/4/2012   7/6/2012
Review By: bigMIKE05
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Tee boxes
*Difficulty
*Makes you use every shot you have
*Water comes into play
Cons: **Recently had work done
*No signs
*Course cover with downed trees
Other Thoughts: This was the first time I had played the course. So first thoughts is that it is a nice course but needs some work. They have recently expanded the parking lot for the boat ramp and thus moving around the first couple holes. Holes 1, 2 and 3 were all different. We spent 10 minutes trying to find the first hole, and then the second. I understand that they are still working on it, so I gave it a 3. Lucky for me, I went with someone who had been there several times before. If he was not there it would have been very difficult to play. There were no signs on the entire course, all they had were tiny little flags with the hole number on it. We had no clue our distance or weather it was a par 4 or 3. So this made it difficult to keep track of the score. There were also trees and limbs down everywhere from a storm a couple weeks back. Will be nice to have them cleared to make easier to move through the course. But all in all, it was a decent course. I will probably go back and play again, but not until late summer or even fall. To give them time to do the final work that NEEDS to be done.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.