Galena, OH 
The Player's DGC Share
Uploaded By: A.Mutt Hole #13 (Taken 3/2010)
3 / 228ft.   3 / 228ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Potential?

1    7/23/2011   7/24/2011
Review By: tsqrd
Played: 32  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
[Baskets]: DisCatcher, Excellent condition, well maintained. Practice basket available near Tee 1.

[Tee Signs/Maps/Markers]: Excellent online map of the course. Amazing detail! Basic signs at each hole including map of hole with distance marking.

[General Course Design]: Course flows well from hole to hole. Next tee signs available on some holes that are not obvious. Course starts and ends close to the parking lot. Course uses a figure 8 design which is nice.

[Foliage Maintenance]: Areas around the baskets were clear. Trees were nicely trimmed and paths were clear with bridges over creeks/low spots.

[Elevation]: Great use of mature trees and elevation changes. The course uses the open and wooded areas of the park to the fullest extent. The lake even comes into play on a few holes, making you choose your shot selection wisely.

[Signature Holes]: Several potential signature holes. A variety of hole distances requiring many different shot selections. The course offers a good mix of tight, technical shots and one or two opportunities for open bombs.

[Tee Pads]: Concrete (pro only), good condition, kind of narrow and not all the same length.

[Restrooms]: I noticed a couple restroom facilities throughout the course, but they looked pretty nasty. The one near the 18th tee has been closed.
Cons:
[Tee Signs/Maps/Markers]: Signs were very small, and hard to see. They were low to the ground and almost always covered in mud and grime. There was no par marking on the signs from what I could tell. Seemed like a last minute afterthought. Hopefully there is a plan to update with more permanent signage.

[Foliage Maintenance]: There were a lot of downed trees through the wooded area. This added to the hazard of the elevation changes, so you had to be careful walking up and down the hills through the woods. The grass had not been cut, but it was manageable.

[Benches & Trash bins]: I did not see any benches or trash cans. There was some trash littering the course and a lot of broken glass.
[Tee Pads]: I was only able to find the amateur tee at hole one. All others were non-existent, even though they are marked on the very detailed online map. Maybe I was blind, but I could not find any other tees, so I ended up playing from the pros or making up a tee myself.
Other Thoughts:
This course was challenging and very frustrating at times. The lack of locating amateur tees made for a discouraging start. When I looked online and found this amazingly detailed map, I was excited to play on a premier course. When I arrived, and the course did not live up to the map's initial impression, I was disappointed.
There is plenty of parking available with a short walk the first tee. Beware of traffic entering and leaving the boat docks as you cross the road.
This course has excellent potential. If the effort put into the online map is put into the tee signs, and concrete pads are added for the other tees, this will be a top rated course. Players shouldn't have to hunt for tees on a top rated course. Fix these things, and this will be a 4/5 easily.
If you are beginner, be prepared for a potentially frustrating round of disc golf pinball as the lanes through the woods are very narrow.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 You have to be kidding me!

1    7/23/2011   7/23/2011
Review By: Foofoohead
Played: 21  Reviewed: 21
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good hole layout!
Excellent baskets!
Plenty of parking.
Very technical layout.
Cons: Very difficult the first time, no map or directions.
Hole signs run down.
Concrete tees for pro but no markings for other tees.
Very littered course.
Other Thoughts: Was very surprised on how bad this course was. Not how difficult it was but how poorly it's been maintained. Looked like no one had done any maintenance for years. That's too bad because the course flow is really good.
If your traveling any distance to play this course forget it, not worth your time. Let's hope someone comes in and cleans things up here.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Ohio Course

1    8/8/2010   8/10/2010
Review By: SteveHalsell
Played: 30  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 10.8 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This was a great course. There was a great variety of holes in length, complexity, and variation of dogleg right and left. The course flowed pretty easily too. The pin of one hole is close to the teepad of the next one, and if they aren't obvious there are signs. This is a huge positive.

The fairways might be considered slim by some, but I really liked the challenge. The growth on sides of the fairways weren't overcrowded or thick with weeds of shrubs, so if you miss the fairways you should be able to find the disc pretty easily.

I also really enjoyed the course layout at the park. Others mentioned this, but it is really great to have the course designed in a figure eight pattern. Also, it is great to have open plains, deeper woods, and water coming into play all on the same course. You'll have both skill shots and ones you can grip and rip.

Finally, the environment was great. It was a pretty crowded park, but it never hindered my play on the course. Good to see a lot of people out on the lake on Saturday afternoon. Also, since the water comes into play it is nice to play alongside.
Cons: There are a few cons here that kept this from a 4.5 rating.

- No benches and trash cans along the course with and consistency.
- Bathroom facilities are not well maintained and the one at the beginning of the course could literally be the grossest bathroom I have ever used.
- No maps or scorecards available. Each hole has a map, but there was no big map at Hole 1 showing the course layout.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a nice course. Good layout, nice scenery, concrete teepads, professional baskets, and no fee to play.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice job MOOD crew

1    6/29/2010   8/5/2010
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 188  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
The Players Course is a solid all around course that will test your entire game. The targets are good quality multi-chain baskets. There are dual tees on most holes and at least one of them is a concrete pad of sufficient length. Practice basket by tee #1. The course is primarily a technical one with lots of trees in play on most holes, a benefit of which is that you get to play in the shade most of the time. The designers have done a good job balancing out the lefty vs. righty holes. There's some minor elevation in play and several holes on which the water is a factor. The configuration played at 2010 PDGA Am Worlds featured #16 as an island green which was cool. Typical state park restrooms are available as are picnic areas. Very nice scenery with older trees and a great lake view.
Cons:
Could stand to have a couple more open bomber holes to give big arm players a chance to air out some drives. Some holes may be considered too tight or fairways too rough, but being a new course this will break in over time and play. On nice summer days be wary of a lot of boat trailer traffic in the park as the course is adjacent to the marina and boat launch area.
Other Thoughts:
Like many Ohio courses it goes by many names: "The Players Course", "Galena", or "Alum Creek". Good figure-8 layout that has the hole 9-to-10 transition close to the parking lot so you can refill supplies if necessary. Props to the MOOD crew getting this course ready to play the 2010 PDGA AM Worlds tournament. I would definitely play this course again if I were in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Work on your accuracy first....

5+    7/27/2010   7/28/2010
Review By: thebuckeyeguy
Played: 102  Reviewed: 15
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great mix of shots; 18 concrete pads (from the longer selection); good use of water holes (2 over water, although water is potentially in play on 6 holes); mostly wooded, so nice shade in summer months; tight fairways but they offer a chance; pretty easy to navigate; not a long round time-wise; recently mowed and well-maintained; one of the courses in the 2010 PDGA Am Worlds; plays well for locals, as to really get this course you have to play it multiple times; never seen a crowd; hole 6 turns into a beautiful hole as you approach the pin...in fact, there is a fair amount of nice scenary with sailboats and jetskis.
Cons: If you are a little bit off, you will hit a lot of trees (but again, even though some holes are very difficult, there is a fairway); in the wet season, there is a bit of a flooding issue (not enough to make it unplayable, but count on getting muddy. I won't play it at all next spring); can be frustrating playing in the woods so close to water, as an unlucky strike on a tree can send you into the reservoir; lack of trash cans, benches, water, and updated signs.
Other Thoughts: This is the closest course to my house, so therefore the course I play the most. As an "experienced" Alum Creek player, take this advice: throw as far as you can WHILE STAYING ON THE FAIRWAY, and be aggressive on the water holes! Ive seen more lost discs from timid throws than anything else. As far as a road trip, this is not that course, but it is a fun addition to the growing central-Ohio scene. Considering this course went into the ground last November, it is in excellent shape. And for my money, it is the most difficult "Columbus" course (maintained by MOODGolf, not CFDGC).

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Alum Creek Disc Golf Course Review -- Buckeye Disc Golf

2-4    7/15/2010   7/16/2010
Review By: Buckeye Disc Golf
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/9/2010
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F2VfiyQBTPE

Check Out our Video Review of Alum Creek Disc Golf Course!
Other Thoughts: Enjoy our Video Review! More to Come!

Subscribe to Us on Youtube! http://www.youtube.com/buckeyediscgolf

Check Us Out at Facebook!
http://www.facebook.com/#!/pa...172398?ref=ts

!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 ALUM UP AND DOWN

5+    6/26/2010   7/7/2010
Review By: HIGHFLYER
Played: 19  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.4 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: * Course has a peaceful setting by a dam and beautiful vistas from around the course.

* The difficulty of the course can hone your accuracy and make other courses feel childish.

* The addition of the concrete tees has dramatically improved the course, and is the only reason it got a 3.5 rating.

* Challenges even the most skilled players
Cons: * Unless you are playing at the top of your game course will eat you up.

* Fairways are too tight....sometimes no more than a disc width wide.

* Course fun factor, on a scale of 1-10, can be as low as 2 or 1. Unless you are on top of your game like I said before.

*
Other Thoughts: NOT FOR BEGINNERS!

The course has its good parts but when it is so tight that even the best players can struggle to break even....I just think that they would do themselves a service by looking at some of the Columbus Flyers courses and realize that having fun playing the course is half the experience!

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 My New Favorite

5+    4/12/2010   4/12/2010
Review By: roadtripstuff
Played: 111  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 11.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2011
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
New Baskets
Nice Concrete Tee Pads (Long Tees Only)
Great Layout
Great Pin Placements
Great Variety of Shot Types
Distances Vary
Water in Play on Several Holes
Tape on Spokes of the Basket Point to Next Tee
Practice Basket Near 1st and 18th Hole
Front Nine and Back Nine End Near the Parking Lot
Great Scenery
Ample Parking
Restrooms Near First Hole and Ninth Hole
Cons:
Lacks Trash Cans (Resulting in litter on course)
Needs Permanent Tee Signs (Some are missing or broken.)
Short Tees Are Not Marked/Hard to Find
Not Beginner Friendly/Not for All Skill Levels
Many Downed Trees and Driftwood Littering the Course

Other Thoughts:
This is a great new addition to the central Ohio courses and my new favorite in the area. Located along Williams Lake in Alum Creek State Park, the designers made great use of the terrain. The lake itself comes into play on several holes and provides beautiful scenery throughout the course.

One great feature of the course is that it is set up so that playing 9 or 18 holes is easy with a nice figure-8 design, holes 9 and 18 ending back at the parking lot. The walking distances from hole-to-hole aren't bad, and navigation is a breeze with something as simple as orange tape that they put on the spokes of the basket pointing in the direction of the next tee pad.

The variety this course has is amazing. Both a good variety of shot types and distances make this course both challenging and a lot of fun. While the park doesn't have a lot of elevation the designers did a great job of using what is there to its fullest extent. I think there was enough to keep the variety there, and until I thought about this review I didn't even notice the lack of any big uphill or downhill shots.

One thing that doesn't vary on this course are the trees. There are trees in play on every hole with most holes being, what I would consider moderately to heavily wooded. If you don't enjoy tight technical courses, then this probably isn't the course for you. One thing that does stand out about this course is that as tight and technical as it is, they didn't spare any distance. Don't get me wrong, there are some short, aceable shots throughout the course, but there are also some huge shots to contend with as well with the longest hole nearing the 600 foot mark.

The only real cons that I can think of are with the maintenance and amenities the course lacks. With all of the flooding that took place this spring there is a lot of drift wood and downed trees littering the course. Not only is it unsightly, they definitely affect your game stopping skip shots, gouging discs, and just making it hard to walk both on and off the fairways. The next thing I would address are the lack of trash cans. The course isn't the longest I have played, but it's not the shortest either so putting in a couple trashcans could really help cut down on the litter. Many times you see empty bottles and cans near the tee pads and on the fairways that many times were probably just set down and forgotten. The last con that I noticed are that some of the tee signs were washed away in the flooding and haven't been replaced. While this isn't the worst thing in the world some nice permanent tee signs would go a long way to raising both the enjoyment and asthetics of the course.

Overall The Player's Course is a solid and really well-designed course. With a little bit of maintenance and some updates, tee signs, marking the short tees and maybe even getting in concrete on the shorts, this course could be one of the best in the state by far. If you are in the area hit this one up, you won't regret it, it's challenging, fun, and an all around good time.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Alum Creek

2-4    3/6/2010   3/7/2010
Review By: kyle420420
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/28/2010
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Beautiful scenery
-Technical Course
-Water in play on multiple holes
-Great use of the land
-Great pin positions
Cons: -Dirt Tee pads
-Sings dont say what par is
-Sings could use some work
-Kinda hard to navigate from hole to hole
-Needs small bridges to cross water
-
Other Thoughts: this a good technical course. it is new so it needs alot of work. i think this course has alot of potential. its not to far from columbus. alot of parking avalible. new baskets. the holes are mostly wooded and unforgiving

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Bring an Ax

5+    5/14/2010   12/28/2009
Review By: mcmyers640
Played: 40  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/25/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Variation of Shots
-Signs with distances on tee pad. Signs have been moved to their final tee location so most distances are inaccurate. Use your best judgement!
-Technical Course
-Variety of Distances for mids and drivers
-Dirt tees have been turned into concrete. There are still a few holes that need to be poured.
-Water in play
-A 10 stroke lead means nothing here!

Cons: -Small margin for error. You really have to know where your disc is going.
-Trees will punish even the best of shots
-Tough to find certain holes. You really have to know where you are going for a handful of holes.
-Rain makes for very muddy and soggy conditions. I would wait a few days after a storm.
Other Thoughts: Another M.O.O.D. masterpiece. I can't wait to see this course after they get done with everything. This course will make you think! The first basket you see when you get to the course, take a left and the first hole is right after the gate. The red basket is there for practice. Holes 1-2 are easy to find with two being past the bathrooms and to the left. Cross the road for hole 3 which has the tee box to the right and on the edge of the woods. Be sure to play this safe because any pull of the disc to the right will cost you a good 10-30 minutes of looking. The brush is thick. If you lose one, go behind the brush to look (it's more clear). After the 400'+ hole 3, hook around to the right to continue. 4,5, and 6 are easy to find as they lead into each other. Once you finish hole 6. Turn around and follow the edge of the woods to the right to get to hole 7. The water is up, but there is a good wind that will push your disc back to the shore. After finishing this hole take a left into the woods and follow this path until you get to #8. It will hook around to the right. To get to hole #9 go past the building and you'll see a teebox straight ahead. Hole #10 is across the road. Very risky to go up the center, even when the water is down. Hole #11 is to the right about 30-40 feet. My buddy just aced hole 11 too. I thought I would give him some props. The rest of the holes are very easy to get to. Hole #15 requires you to take the path on the left to get to the concrete teebox. #16 is about 100' up and take a left into the woods. Just follow the paths. They have logs that edge the paths and make it easy to navigate.

Overall, this course is very challeging. I really enjoyed it and I just went back when the water levels are up. I feel like this course is a practice of self-control; there is a fine line, or small tree, between courage and stupidity. Play for par! Oh, leave your entry-level plastic at home and bring your four-leaf clover or rabbit's foot.

Don't be afraid to play with just a putter and midrange!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.