Oak Grove, KY 
War Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: James4Chelsi Hole #3 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 292ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Pitch and Putt

5+    5/21/2013   5/24/2013
Review By: dad_of_dg_junkies
Played: 31  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 2.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a VERY nice park. The park is a memorial to our military and pays tribute to all the wars that the USA has been in. You will seee the maint. guys around the park most of the the time. The course itself has a nice layout. I would call this course lightly to moderately wooded. If you miss your line on this course, the problem WILL be the trees. The course is set up as a par 54 and plays very true to par. Most of the holes can be birdied with a well placed drive, but a bogey can be made on any missed line. This course will require you to work the disc. There are several holes that will require a fade,while there are a couple of big turn holes as well. There are 2 mando's on this course. Hole 5 has a double mando. There you are forced to throw the disc between 2 trees. When you first look at that mando, it doesn't seem to be much of a problem, but it is amazing how many times I miss that mando. Hole 8 also has a mando that requires a nice turn to a guarded basket. Holes 9 and 17 are the signature holes for me on this course. Both are very short and tight-lined holes. I can't find the correct line yet on 9, and I don't ever seem to be able to hit the very small window on 17. Holes 2 and 18 are really the only holes on the course that will allow you to really throw the disc. This is a perfect course for those trying to learn how to 'work' the disc in one direction or the other. The course has good signs and the tee pad are in good shape.
Cons: You can have some trouble with those walking around the course. They don't understand disc golf and can remain in the way and they don't even know it. The only thing that I don't like about the course are the short tee pads.
Other Thoughts: I really didn't like this course the first time I played it, but the more I play it, the more it like it. I have grown to love this course. No it won't rival the great courses of the world, but it is a nice little course to play for a quick round. There is some "Evil Genius" in this course. You can shot a great number here one day and the next day be 5-7 shots worse. You got to love a layout like that. Very Nice Short Course. The course is MUCH greener than the pictures on this site show.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great for getting wet behind the Ears!

5+    9/15/2012   2/16/2013
Review By: Stemplejg
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.5 Years
Pros: Good to learn on, it's not very long, it's open every day. It's never really crowded. Great area just off the course to practice drives, and they also have a practice basket.
Cons: Course could have been made more of a challenge, with the space. Bathrooms are closed during the winter, people can be rude when they don't understand what disc golf is and or the people that think the course is just a normal park.
Other Thoughts: For someone just getting started it's a great course. Just enough trees, and mando's to give a person with less then a year of play time a challenge.

Solid

5+    11/22/2012   11/27/2012
Review By: DG addict24
Played: 28  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: War Memorial park is a really nice park altogether. The teeboxes with every war America has been involved in is pretty cool. The course requires most of the shots, I threw hyzers, anhyzers, a roller, and forehands while I was playing. There aren't "a lot" of trees, but they're well placed and make for some tough drives. The mando on #5 is difficult and I think helps out with the hole. I'm usually not a fan of mandos but these weren't bad and i actually enjoyed them. They had good tee signs, pads, and the baskets were in good shape.
Cons: Not a very good mix up of holes. I think there should be a few open holes on a course and this one only had one. Some of the holes got repetitive and it seems like you're playing hole 1 a few times. Also a problem with finding the next tee. The toughest one is from 3 to 4. If you finish 4 just walk straight and a little right and you'll find the teepad.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a pretty good course. With a few next tee signs I would have given this a 3.5. Other than that a good job was done with the property and what was had to work this. I gave this the same rating as North Drive, just 20 minutes away from it, but it's really better. North Drive is like a 2.8 and this is more like a 3.2. I wish I could give it a 3.5 but I just can't.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 solid course

5+    12/10/2011   9/3/2012
Review By: Andrew_Wilson
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a nice well kept and clean course. It uses everything that the area has to offer making you throw accurate shots because of the trees. Concrete tee pads and tee signs are also great
Cons: The course just doesn't have that much challenge other than the tight shots on some of the holes it just has a bunch of short to Med length holes nothing good and long and it doesn't force you to use a bunch of shots you could stick with just backhanding the whole game if wanted
Other Thoughts: Even though it doesn't challenge it still is a great course very clean and that's a great thing. This is a great beginners course

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 At War with the Wind

2-4    2/22/2012   2/22/2012
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 271  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 13.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Great Shot Design. Almost all of the holes used trees perfectly in order to force particular types of shots. Some of the holes had multiple options, but it was clear that certain shots were desired by the designer. Turnover… flick… hyzer… s-turn… etc.
- You have to Throw Shots. For an open course with reachable pins, you really have to throw shot to get birds. Nothing is freely given.
- Ends Strong. I value courses that finish on a strong hole, rather than a "let's just get back to the car" hole. Hole 18 was fantastic: 350 peninsula hole surrounded by OB with a fair gap and aesthetically pleasing look. Way to go!
- Close to the Border. I was at a conference in Nasheville and had a half day break. Because this course was so close to the Tennessee border, I was able to bag a new state and play a decently fun course. If the course had been further north, I might not have been tempted to make the trip. (State #18 for me).
Cons:
- I don't really know that there were any cons. The course had decent tee-pads, great tee-signs, great baskets, decent flow, a real nice mix of shot requirements, etc… The only real con would be that it isn't really "championship" level - but, not all course need to be.
Other Thoughts:
- Overall. I played War Memorial twice. It wasn't that I had so much fun that I had to play it again… Actually, quite the opposite. I was kinda ho-hum about it. But I had time to kill, so I went for a second loop. Upon playing the course a second time, I began to see the little intricacies that actually make the course pretty decent. Even though the course is wide-open, the holes require you to throw good shots to get birdies. Plus, the wind will test you.
- My Score: the first round I shot a miserable -2. The second round I shot a -10 with a bogey and missed birdie putt.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!

2-4    12/25/2011   12/25/2011
Review By: hoyle7780
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 22.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located close to interstate
Very well maintained
Nice Tee Signs
Concrete Tee's
Nice flow
Not very crowded
Good parking
Nice area

Played this course a few times while in town & was very impressed, My 10 yr old son & I had a blast. Short enough a newer player won't get frustrated, challenging anough a aqdvanced player will not get bored.
Course also has street level lights placed throughout the course allowing for night play (SWEET!)
Cons: Some holes can be a little confusing the first time around on wich basket to throw @ but nothing a semi-intelligent person couldnt figure out.
Some holes might interfere with others that are in play if the course is a little crowded.
Other Thoughts: Great course. Reccomend stopping & checking this one out.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable Round

1    2/23/2011   3/6/2011
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 198  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 26.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well marked and there is a map on this web site.

Tee pads for every hole.

Very nice well kept wooded area.

Good use of the trees.
Cons: A Mando is not a good course design.

The course may be a little short for the good players.



Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing this course and will play it again next time I am in the area.

My favorite hole was #2, yes I got the birdie with a very nice roller that landed under the basket.

Make sure you read the map going from #3 to #4, that was the only hole I even needed a map to find the tee box.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great for a quick game after work

5+    1/2/2011   1/17/2011
Review By: Corbie
Played: 24  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy access from Highway and Town; Great course for a laid back thrower. Not very crowded. Has trees, but no underbrush. Very hard to lose a disk on most holes. There is plenty of parking. The way the course is laid out is very clear, with tee signs at every tee. The way the course was designed around the trees was put to good use.
Cons: No obsticals other then trees. The restrooms are a long way from the golf course, and they are closed in the winter time. There is a possibility of losing a disk on hole 4 through a drain cover.
Other Thoughts: Not a very tecnical course and like I said it is pretty laid back and well taken care of. The walking path around the out side edge is lite, so you are able to finish up your game even after the sun goes down.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Quaint but Local

1    9/20/2010   9/21/2010
Review By: James4Chelsi
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Accessible: Right next to Fort Campbell, KY. 3 minutes from Gate 7.
-Great beginner course: Wooded but clear of underbrush, minimal obstructions but enough to start on/practice.
-Nearby mini playground for loved ones to pull kids away from course.
-LARGE PARKING: No problems in parking away from anyone, and still being able to see your car at all times.
Anyone wanting to get away from the hustle and bustle of a town or city come here - it's like a small grove of tress and some baskets to throw at...
Cons: Tight Squeeze: 18 holes in what should be 9. The holes are basically toe to heel, where one ends, the other starts.
Little challenge by way of obstacles.
-Not sure of local players maturity... most were very casual and professional, 1 group of people were obnoxious teens. I'll update after next visit to gauge atmosphere again.
Other Thoughts: Overall, great for someone like me. Very first course for me, sparse population, no parking problems. And there ARE bathrooms no more than 150m away. Wish the local town or Army base advertised about this place or held more public events to raise awareness of the sport!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 boring course

1    9/1/2010   9/19/2010
Review By: Jenn
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It's disc golf, an opportunity to throw at the baskets.
Cons: couldnt hit a tree if you tried, all baskets are wide open, and all flat land. You spend half the time trying to figure out which basket to throw at.
Other Thoughts: very lame. good practice for throwing because there are no obstacles.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.