Oak Grove, KY 
War Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: James4Chelsi Hole #5 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 323ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Solid

5+    11/22/2012   11/27/2012
Review By: DG addict24
Played: 28  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 3.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: War Memorial park is a really nice park altogether. The teeboxes with every war America has been involved in is pretty cool. The course requires most of the shots, I threw hyzers, anhyzers, a roller, and forehands while I was playing. There aren't "a lot" of trees, but they're well placed and make for some tough drives. The mando on #5 is difficult and I think helps out with the hole. I'm usually not a fan of mandos but these weren't bad and i actually enjoyed them. They had good tee signs, pads, and the baskets were in good shape.
Cons: Not a very good mix up of holes. I think there should be a few open holes on a course and this one only had one. Some of the holes got repetitive and it seems like you're playing hole 1 a few times. Also a problem with finding the next tee. The toughest one is from 3 to 4. If you finish 4 just walk straight and a little right and you'll find the teepad.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a pretty good course. With a few next tee signs I would have given this a 3.5. Other than that a good job was done with the property and what was had to work this. I gave this the same rating as North Drive, just 20 minutes away from it, but it's really better. North Drive is like a 2.8 and this is more like a 3.2. I wish I could give it a 3.5 but I just can't.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 At War with the Wind

2-4    2/22/2012   2/22/2012
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 284  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 13.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Great Shot Design. Almost all of the holes used trees perfectly in order to force particular types of shots. Some of the holes had multiple options, but it was clear that certain shots were desired by the designer. Turnover… flick… hyzer… s-turn… etc.
- You have to Throw Shots. For an open course with reachable pins, you really have to throw shot to get birds. Nothing is freely given.
- Ends Strong. I value courses that finish on a strong hole, rather than a "let's just get back to the car" hole. Hole 18 was fantastic: 350 peninsula hole surrounded by OB with a fair gap and aesthetically pleasing look. Way to go!
- Close to the Border. I was at a conference in Nasheville and had a half day break. Because this course was so close to the Tennessee border, I was able to bag a new state and play a decently fun course. If the course had been further north, I might not have been tempted to make the trip. (State #18 for me).
Cons:
- I don't really know that there were any cons. The course had decent tee-pads, great tee-signs, great baskets, decent flow, a real nice mix of shot requirements, etc… The only real con would be that it isn't really "championship" level - but, not all course need to be.
Other Thoughts:
- Overall. I played War Memorial twice. It wasn't that I had so much fun that I had to play it again… Actually, quite the opposite. I was kinda ho-hum about it. But I had time to kill, so I went for a second loop. Upon playing the course a second time, I began to see the little intricacies that actually make the course pretty decent. Even though the course is wide-open, the holes require you to throw good shots to get birdies. Plus, the wind will test you.
- My Score: the first round I shot a miserable -2. The second round I shot a -10 with a bogey and missed birdie putt.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great for a quick game after work

5+    1/2/2011   1/17/2011
Review By: Corbie
Played: 24  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Easy access from Highway and Town; Great course for a laid back thrower. Not very crowded. Has trees, but no underbrush. Very hard to lose a disk on most holes. There is plenty of parking. The way the course is laid out is very clear, with tee signs at every tee. The way the course was designed around the trees was put to good use.
Cons: No obsticals other then trees. The restrooms are a long way from the golf course, and they are closed in the winter time. There is a possibility of losing a disk on hole 4 through a drain cover.
Other Thoughts: Not a very tecnical course and like I said it is pretty laid back and well taken care of. The walking path around the out side edge is lite, so you are able to finish up your game even after the sun goes down.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Quaint but Local

1    9/20/2010   9/21/2010
Review By: James4Chelsi
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Accessible: Right next to Fort Campbell, KY. 3 minutes from Gate 7.
-Great beginner course: Wooded but clear of underbrush, minimal obstructions but enough to start on/practice.
-Nearby mini playground for loved ones to pull kids away from course.
-LARGE PARKING: No problems in parking away from anyone, and still being able to see your car at all times.
Anyone wanting to get away from the hustle and bustle of a town or city come here - it's like a small grove of tress and some baskets to throw at...
Cons: Tight Squeeze: 18 holes in what should be 9. The holes are basically toe to heel, where one ends, the other starts.
Little challenge by way of obstacles.
-Not sure of local players maturity... most were very casual and professional, 1 group of people were obnoxious teens. I'll update after next visit to gauge atmosphere again.
Other Thoughts: Overall, great for someone like me. Very first course for me, sparse population, no parking problems. And there ARE bathrooms no more than 150m away. Wish the local town or Army base advertised about this place or held more public events to raise awareness of the sport!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Relaxing and fun

2-4    2/20/2010   2/21/2010
Review By: peabody
Played: 46  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 11.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice pads and new baskets in a very clean park with no strenous walking means if you come and play this one you will have fun.
Some holes are easy but there are some that have lots of trees smack in the way and you have to navigate your way around them. A couple of mando shots and some out of bounds paths make easy holes not so easy.
Cons: No restrooms. Same look on most holes. No elevation changes and people are walking the walk paths. There is a grate on one of the holes where your disc could go into if it hit just right.
Some of the fairways are too close to each other.
Other Thoughts: HB did a good job here putting 18 holes where there is only room for 9 but this park will help spread the disc golf experience to young and old.
It's only an hour from Cedar Hill and 7 Oaks in Nashville so when the locals need to spread out a little after practicing here they have good courses nearby to choose from.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet little Gem

2-4    11/29/2009   11/30/2009
Review By: buzzinb
Played: 19  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/10/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This little course boasts a full 18 holes in a mostly wooded, fairly small corner of a well maintained park. The park itself is adjacent to a visitors center near Ft. Campbell Army base. The layout is compact yet cleverly designed. While most of the holes fall in the 200-275' range, there are typically no "gimmie" routes to the basket. Drives must be well placed to avoid the plentiful, mature trees that threaten to separate the player from an easy par. Virtually every hole has more than one option to make a run at an ace or deuce. You really have to take a moment and consider which option will give your style of play the best chance--this adds to the fun and replay value. The straight ahead path is ususally very risky with little margin for error. Even when you do hit a tree, the lack of schule means that you will have an opportunity to regroup and save par if your upshot is true. Maximum use of this relativley little space was acheived through thoughtful design. Everything is brand spankin new! Discatcher baskets and textured teepads make for a pleasurable time. The park was immaculate and I even heard someone in a group behind us yelling at a fellow player to pick up his cigarett butt. This shows the kind of pride that will likely keep this park a great way to get in a couple of rounds while in the area.
Cons: Due to the limited size of the wooded area that the designer had to work with, the layout is very compact and somewhat congested. Many baskets and tees share roughly the same visual field so a little exploring is necessary to stay on track. The Tee for hole 4 is actually on the other side of the pavillion from the hole 3 basket. The park can get very crowded with players and walkers. There was an awful lot of "Fore" warnings being shouted--the most I've ever heard in a round.
Other Thoughts: The course offers a nice blend of fun and challenge. Even big arm players(which I'm definately not) can have fun by simply discing down and working on their mid/short game. There are only a couple of holes where an errant shot means a hike through the briars. I reccomend that anyone who plans on being in this area give it a shot.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.