Oak Grove, KY
War Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: James4Chelsi Hole #7 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 269ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee: 5 trees make a line. Basket just rightof last tree.



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
  Thanks for a great afternoon

1    4/18/2010   4/18/2010
Review By: Badbub
Played: 35  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 17.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Grounds are in excelent condition. The weather was nice today with a slight NE breeze which held my disc up nicely on the longer uphill shots. Very nice layout and distances were just right for me to get plenty of birdies.
Cons: Lots of traffic from non disc golfers unknowingly getting in harms way. My disc was picked up by several people and thrown back to me. One person even wanted me to throw my disc so they could catch it. All in fun. I let them know they wouldn't want to try catching this disc.
Other Thoughts: All said, it was a fine day.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Relaxing and fun

2-4    2/20/2010   2/21/2010
Review By: peabody
Played: 43  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 11.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice pads and new baskets in a very clean park with no strenous walking means if you come and play this one you will have fun.
Some holes are easy but there are some that have lots of trees smack in the way and you have to navigate your way around them. A couple of mando shots and some out of bounds paths make easy holes not so easy.
Cons: No restrooms. Same look on most holes. No elevation changes and people are walking the walk paths. There is a grate on one of the holes where your disc could go into if it hit just right.
Some of the fairways are too close to each other.
Other Thoughts: HB did a good job here putting 18 holes where there is only room for 9 but this park will help spread the disc golf experience to young and old.
It's only an hour from Cedar Hill and 7 Oaks in Nashville so when the locals need to spread out a little after practicing here they have good courses nearby to choose from.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Updated Review...

2-4    11/24/2010   1/20/2010
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 228  Reviewed: 224  Exp: 17.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/24/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is another fine example of the good work HB is able to do given smaller areas to work with. There are 18 brand new concrete tees and Innova baskets. [Update]- New full color tee signs have now been installed with map and distance. This is War Memorial Park and each tee sign commemorates major U.S. wars. The events progress chronologically as you move from hole to hole. This is really nice touch that is definitely unique.

This is your typical city park style, many tall trees as obstacles with no undergrowth at all (with the exception of hole #17). Ability to pick and hit your lines through trees off the tee is a must in order to score well. The limited space did not allow super long holes in the design, but casual players will not be throwing past the baskets either.

The course is designed so holes #1 and #10 start at the parking lot and #9 and #18 end at the parking lot. There are no long walks from hole to hole.

It had rained quite a bit the day before both times I played here, but the course seemed to drain pretty well- squishy as you would expect, but no standing water, and the only mud was around the tees which will hopefully soon have grass all around. (I only say this as a comparison to the other course nearby- North Drive- which is always wet.)

This course is really easy to get to as it just a mile from I-24 off a major highway. Probably the biggest parking lot I have ever seen for a disc golf course.
Cons: The biggest con is that the course is surrounded by a paved walking trail that is very popular. Also look out for the picnic tables and playground (although these should not come into play, but you never know...). Winding through the front 9 is another mulched walking trail which seemed less popular, but I could see where afternoons and weekends could be so crowded, playing disc golf might be next to impossible.

Navigation is a little tricky as you can see multiple tees and baskets at all times, but the course is so confined that it is pretty easy to find the right hole with little exploration- again, Next Tee signs might be coming in the future.

There are no restrooms near the beginning and no trashcans on the course, and no place to get water that I saw so come prepared.
Other Thoughts: There is no danger of losing discs making this a great course for beginners and families to have fun yet still provide some challenges. More experienced players will find this a nice and decent course, but pretty easy due to its length and few penalizing obstacles. This course can and should be fun for most players of any level.

This is a pretty nice course for those that live near here to play regularly, and should give new players a great first time experience. I have driven an hour to play here a couple of times and there are two 9-hole courses within a few minutes drive.

It reminds me of Lover's Lane in KY or Brahan Springs in AL.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Big fun!

1    12/16/2009   12/22/2009
Review By: tdortch
Played: 58  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 7.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great little course - challenging (even though it doesn't look it at first glance); fair (you don't need a huge arm to play well here - 350 is a really long shot on this course) and the kind of course that will make you better (technical in that you must use control shots). That's 3 things that will make for a great day of DG to me. I'm used to my home course in Paducah, KY, which is about 6500 ft and two rounds there usually wear me out. We played 3 here and I could have done at least one more. Very nice, large tee pads. Very few straight shots with no obstacles in the way. Hole 17 will give you fits - small uphill gap to an elevated basket. And, one of the very best things to me - no underbrush! My home course is brutal if you get off the fairway, and this one is pristine - no stickers! no nettles! Sweet!
Cons: It can be confusing. Even after two rounds, I was still having to think of where to go next. There are several tee pads where you could easily throw to the wrong basket, but even if you do, you won't be off too much and can still snag a 3. Those are both easily fixed with some signs, which I assume are coming - right now, it's only a number and distance written on a post. I didn't see any restrooms and there are very few trash cans, even where you park - we had to walk halfway across the course to throw our lunch bags away! I'm assuming this will change also. So, nothing really bad here, and all of them are easy fixes.
Other Thoughts: Overall, a great course, and if you're traveling past this course, you're making a mistake. So easy to get to - right off the interstate! Recommended! The designer - HB Clark - did a good job here and I hear he's putting in a lot of mandos to make it even more challenging. So, get there before he does that....Finally, this course is nowhere near HEAVILY WOODED. Come to Paducah if you want that. I would call this one Moderately or even lightly wooded. Now, HB did make excellent use of the trees that are there, so it seems really dense, but it's really not!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet little Gem

2-4    11/29/2009   11/30/2009
Review By: buzzinb
Played: 19  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/10/2010
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This little course boasts a full 18 holes in a mostly wooded, fairly small corner of a well maintained park. The park itself is adjacent to a visitors center near Ft. Campbell Army base. The layout is compact yet cleverly designed. While most of the holes fall in the 200-275' range, there are typically no "gimmie" routes to the basket. Drives must be well placed to avoid the plentiful, mature trees that threaten to separate the player from an easy par. Virtually every hole has more than one option to make a run at an ace or deuce. You really have to take a moment and consider which option will give your style of play the best chance--this adds to the fun and replay value. The straight ahead path is ususally very risky with little margin for error. Even when you do hit a tree, the lack of schule means that you will have an opportunity to regroup and save par if your upshot is true. Maximum use of this relativley little space was acheived through thoughtful design. Everything is brand spankin new! Discatcher baskets and textured teepads make for a pleasurable time. The park was immaculate and I even heard someone in a group behind us yelling at a fellow player to pick up his cigarett butt. This shows the kind of pride that will likely keep this park a great way to get in a couple of rounds while in the area.
Cons: Due to the limited size of the wooded area that the designer had to work with, the layout is very compact and somewhat congested. Many baskets and tees share roughly the same visual field so a little exploring is necessary to stay on track. The Tee for hole 4 is actually on the other side of the pavillion from the hole 3 basket. The park can get very crowded with players and walkers. There was an awful lot of "Fore" warnings being shouted--the most I've ever heard in a round.
Other Thoughts: The course offers a nice blend of fun and challenge. Even big arm players(which I'm definately not) can have fun by simply discing down and working on their mid/short game. There are only a couple of holes where an errant shot means a hike through the briars. I reccomend that anyone who plans on being in this area give it a shot.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 I Get The First One

2-4    11/22/2009   11/24/2009
Review By: SharpshootersDiscGol
Played: 18  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: An awesome course built by HB Clark...Mostly short with hole 2 being the longest on the course...new Innova DisCatchers, concrete tee pads, and a great setting for a course. I am very happy that this is now my home course.
Cons: I haven't really found any yet...all the shots are challenging with trees in play on every hole.
Other Thoughts: I wanted to take this time to thank everyone who was behind me in getting this amazing course built...from the Oak Grove Tourism to Mr, Charles Sanders, and even the Eagle Post...It's almost surreal to me that my dream of having a course here in my home town has come true...a very special thanks to my awesome wife for all of her support.
If anyone is in town to play give me a call i would love to meet you and get a round in....just ask for Benjamin 270-498-5454

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.