Huntsville, AL 
Indian Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: MiketheGoalie Hole #11 (Taken 7/2015)
4 / 510ft.   4 / 510ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee Sign

Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3

1    9/26/2015   9/27/2015
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 78  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 12.3 Years
Pros: I can see why this is the second highest rated course in the state. The course is beautiful and has plenty of challenge. The course is pretty easy to navigate. I took a map and had to use it on a few occasions but would have been alright without it. The course is very pretty...rolling hills with some long bombs and a few tighter holes around the walking track. Tee signs and pads were would have been nice to know which pin placement it was in. This required a bit of scouting on a few holes to figure out where I was throwing. There was a really long hole on the back 9 that this really messed me up on throwing toward a row of trees with the pin tucked way back to the left but without knowing I just went straight ahead and lost a stroke or two. All of that speaks to the length of the course. Not a ton of birdies out there as the holes are pretty long with just enough OB to keep things interesting and make you either get creative or stick to the fairway. Undergrowth wasn't bad, which is a huge plus...losing a disc here would be pretty hard, another plus for the course. Benches were very, very handy and also made finding the next tee easier.

Just get ready to do A LOT of walking and you should be fine. It was nice how the course double back to the parking lot and had a bathroom facility at the start.

Just a heads up for first timers...when you walk up to the park and walk toward the course from the parking lot...walk out to the pad for hole 1 and throw along the tree line...the pin is tucked back into those woods, just be careful as there is a creek that runs alongside holes 1-2. You then have to cross the bridge and play a few tight blind holes that required a bit of scouting to figure out where I was throwing.
Cons: No pin markers on the signs. Grass was pretty high preventing rollers, which would have been awesome on this course. Other than that...nothing really to complain about. This is a solid course and one that you definitely need to try out if you are in the area.
Other Thoughts: Can't wait to play this course again some time. I played it pretty cautiously the first time through to not lose any plastic but now that I see that would be pretty hard to do I would play it more aggressively. Whoever keeps this course up...great job.

5+    8/13/2015   8/14/2015
Review By: top4874
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1 Years
Pros: Beautiful course along a greenway. Good mix of wide open and narrow tunnel shots. Some long holes to test those with big arms but also requires accuracy.
Cons: Grass isn't cut very often and it is very easy to lose a disc or five if you don't pay attention where your shots go. Even then you can lose them.

A bit of a challenge for those that don't have big arms. You really have to work for par on a good number of the holes and some of the par 3's should be par 4.

Sometimes families that don't know (or care) the course is there will picnic in the middle of some of the fairways.
Other Thoughts: Overall a great course. Bring you big boy game for some of the longer holes.

If you don't have a bit arm just forget about scoring and enjoy the course.

Long, Hot Buzzy

1    7/10/2015   7/23/2015
Review By: MiketheGoalie
Played: 46  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 8.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Plenty of elevation changes to keep the variety aspect high, plus a decent balance of righty and lefty fairway shots in the woods. The flow and navigation is pretty good with only one or two walk-and-hope trips between baskets and next tees. Typically, just follow the walking path and you're fine.

The biggest challenge on this course is the length. Seems like nearly every pin was in the longer position when I played on a recent July morning. About 75% of the course is in the open, so bring your sunscreen and your water. Lots of walking, lots of sweating. The back nine especially seem like plenty of grip, rip, repeat just to get you to the approach. Lots of the later holes have Par 4's to help the rec player out, but this course will wear you down which is a challenge in and of itself.

The creek is really only in play on 3 or 4 holes and usually only as a result of blowing past the basket on your approach. The rip-rap OB on 5 was a killer for me as multiple bad decisions had me card an 8 on that one...

Metal benches on every hole, garbage cans could be a little more plentiful however. That said, there wasn't much in the way of trash on the course and overall the park was in fantastic shape. Fairways in the open fields were a little longer than the mowed walkways and greens, but nothing egregious.
Cons: There's no annotation of the pin positions on the signs and that makes for some scouting for new players. Given the length discussed above, this adds even more steps to a long course. Based on my walk of the course it doesn't appear the baskets get changed to other pin positions EVER. I honestly looked for alternate pin positions based on the signage and could rarely find sleeves in the ground. No obvious, beaten-in greens at those alternate locations either. If that's how the course is being utilized, maybe update the signage somehow? Even stickers or an update sign on the main course sign? Here's my understanding of the set-up when I played:

1-A; 2-A; 3-A; 4-A; 5-B; 6-A; 7-A; 8-A; 9-B; 10-A; 11-B; 12-B; 13-A (I think); 14-B; 15-A; 16-A, 17-A, 18-BOTH

The open field fairways are nearly wildflower plots in places. Sounds pretty. In reality, it means bees. Lots of bees. Mostly bumblebees (non-stinging) but still disconcerting when you're hunting your second drive in the mid-calf grass and dozens of Ghostrider's are buzzing the tower. That reminds me: Leave your green discs at home or you'll likely leave them at the course!

Holes A and B are just tees, no baskets and that's probably a good thing as those are the only holes that play over the walking path and near the dog park.
Other Thoughts: This course is spread out around a large, popular park that features a playground, walking trails, a creek that runs through it, and plentiful picnic areas. A pavilion with water fountains is near #1's tee and the walkers and bike riders were out early on the midweek day I played. It takes a little navigating among the surrounding neighborhood to find the park, but it's definitely a hidden gem. This is a top-notch, well-maintained course. It's just more about endurance disc golf than tight lines and while challenging, the repetitive nature of that kind of course negatively impacts the fun. Maybe throw in a few more shorter pins to add some variety to the back nine?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Long, fun course

1    12/10/2014   12/11/2014
Review By: tnscboy
Played: 41  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 20.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I love the changes in elevation and great diversity of throw lines. Good mix of long and short holes, mostly long.
Cons: Sometimes unclear where next tee pad is, but I should have taken a pic of the clearly laid out map at the beginning of the course.
Other Thoughts: I love this course, I am in town about twice a year, will definitely make sure I hit this course up every time.
Highly recommended!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

5+    10/11/2014   11/25/2014
Review By: flickit
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course for anyone who wants a challenge or if you need to work on your driving form. Its long and open on most shots while still demanding some technique shots for getting to the basket.
Cons: It can get really hot and humid on this course during the warmer months.

There are a couple of holes (ahem 2, 4 and 14) that are really tight tunnel shots. That in itself would not be bad but the foliage on either side is quite thick and you can lose your disc VERY easily.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my go to courses to have fun. I would recommend playing this one with Brahan springs so as to work on technical shots as well as distance.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great for Long Throws

1    8/4/2014   8/4/2014
Review By: mateo4815
Played: 27  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Wide variety of shots
- Some very long holes
- Well maintained
- Good signage
- Bench at every tee pad
- Very challenging
Cons: - Sometimes difficult to determine pin position when the basket isn't visible from the tee
- Course can become very difficult for people who don't throw very far
Other Thoughts: This course was very nice and definitely one of my favorites. The park can be busy at times and there may be some waiting for joggers or bikers to pass by before you throw.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Worth the effort

1    6/24/2014   6/24/2014
Review By: Loomis
Played: 434  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging course and a great use of the space. It's fair and the mental challenges are just as tough as the lines. You don't have to be a big arm to be successful on this course. It's long and there are holes where distance is an advantage but unlike some courses that stress distance as the only challenge this course uses it as an added layer to the game play. Like all courses; putting confidently is what rules the day.
Cons: The tall grass issue is real if you get off the fairway. This is pasture land with creeks and running trails crossing through it. There are times when finding the disc will be more challenging than hitting the right line.

The first two holes A and B do not exist so do not play them. Go to hole 1 and don't waste your time.
Other Thoughts: Of the three courses I played in the area this was by far the best.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The Creek

5+    7/9/2013   7/11/2013
Review By: ChrisL430
Played: 64  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Great mix of holes
- A bench on ever hole
- Long pads and short pads on multiple holes to allow shorter arms a little relief
- Great Discatcher Pro baskets
- This course has a great run of par 4s that require different lengths and type of shots to get to the baskets
- Bathrooms at the beginning of the course
Cons: - Sometimes the city lets the grass get a little to tall before cutting it.
Other Thoughts: This course is a World Championship level course. If you can only play one course in Huntsville, this is it. The mix of wooded/open/uphill/downhill is great. It's a little on the longer side but I've seen people with shorter arms put up very good scores by being consistent.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Variety

1    4/18/2013   4/22/2013
Review By: davetherocketguy
Played: 45  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 11.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Well manicured park - at least it was when I was there.
- Baskets in good shape and this course was one where I actually appreciated the yellow bands that adorn the top of them for visibilities sake.
- There is a variety here that is rarely found anywhere with water hazards, wooded fairways, open field, fast greens and so on.
- There are benches scattered throughout which is definitely appreciated considering the length of this course.
- Excellent use of the existing topography.
Cons: (Time to be picky - read these cons with a grain of salt and consider the score I am giving this course before giving me a hard

- Several of the holes on the back nine starting with #9 going through #13 are just open and long just for the sake of being open and long. If there is any wind at all these holes are just brutal to the average player. Beginners will be discouraged and frustrated with these holes. #9 is absurd in the long position - 600+' uphill? Really?
- Some of the fairways play too close to the paved walkway that goes through the course for my taste and according to the signage is considered OB. There were several times I felt that being this close to that walkway was unneeded and posed unnecessary risk.
- The signage between holes could be updated a bit. Especially between #2 and #3 and #5 to #6.
- #18 seems to present hazards as well with the long basket and the walkway that goes down the middle of the fairway.
Other Thoughts: Okay, picky cons aside this is a must play course in my opinion in the Huntsville area. I am really glad I stopped by and I think any disc golfer that appreciates a well designed course will love this place. It is going to kick the tail of any dg'er out there.

As with any wooded course (not a con just an FYI) there are the assorted assembly of critters and irritants so come prepared.

This course has tremendous potential for more holes. While I am not completely sure where exactly the park boundaries are it does seem like another 18 holes could be added easily.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    9/26/2012   9/27/2012
Review By: loraski
Played: 74  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: My husband and I really enjoyed this course. We liked the mix of long open spaces and some narrow wooded ones as well.
Cons: Some of the par's were a little unrealistic. More should have been par 4 or even 5 in this novice's opinion!
Other Thoughts: It is a beautiful course in a great park setting. It took us 2 hours for our first time and it was great exercise.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.