Huntsville, AL 
Indian Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9
4 / 410ft.   4 / 610ft.   4 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee Sign



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

5+    7/27/2012   7/31/2012
Review By: DiscDawg015
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is one of the best maintained courses I have played on. All the tee pads a very grippy concrete and has very nice tee signs as well (except for 15). There are a lot of wide open holes to get your long throw in shape. The holes with trees in play are mostly fairly tight fairways with trees on each side. There are benches by every tee which is nice because you will be doing a lot of walking. The holes do a good job of leading you from one to the other. The scenery is very nice too. Nice rolling fields and some good throws down long hills.
Cons: Some of the pars don't seem possible, especially for those you don't have a big arm. Hole 18 is a par 3 and is around 600ft, so a big drive and big midrange is required. Hole 15 is lackluster. No tee sign and almost like they just put it there to get you to 16 on the other side of the stream.
Other Thoughts: For those you can't throw it really long consistantly I suggest playing by hole, whoever does the best on that hole recieves a point and so on. I really like this course and it has helped me to learn to throw further. It is done very well and it is definatly a must play.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

1    6/6/2012   6/7/2012
Review By: CodyManning
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: You get a workout, a variation between wide open shots and very difficult shots.
Cons: VERY easy place to lose a disk. I took a friend of mine there today my first time there his first time playing. He said he has found upwards to 30 disk there in the last year, he didn't realize what they were and had given them all to his 4 yr old. Couple holes aiming right at pedestrians. Beware of the creek she's a flowin'
Other Thoughts: I'm a newb only been playing 6 weeks but I have picked it up very well according to local pros. I average a 0 to +4 at my usual coarse, but the length absolutely killed me here. Will surely play again, but only when I start preparing for tournaments. Took 2 hours to play.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/15/2011   5/17/2011
Review By: Redneck Machismo
Played: 126  Reviewed: 23
3 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Some really good and well thought out holes on a good piece of land for disc golf. While some holes might appear "wide open" to a beginning player they in reality require good strategy to play them correctly with length playing a secondary role. True course management and real ability to hit lines and place shots is required to score well here. A rarity among new course is that there is very little luck on this course; you either play well or you don't.
Cons: Several holes seemed to just be filler holes. The 17th hole is one of them and is also the site of the now mandatory circus elevated basket. Even more pathetic than its mere existence is the fact that this one isn't even close to being level, upping the Benny Hill factor significantly. Perhaps one day the PDGA will move past their ostentatious worries like banning electronic cigarettes and chewing tobacco and address real game issues like a standardized basket height.
Other Thoughts: It seems like this course was designed around a few must have holes. This is a common mistake and always makes for a compromised track. It is saddening that a hall of famer like Wolfe would have made such a neophyte mistake; I would have thought he would know better than this. However on the bright side at least there aren't random trees in the middle of the line on every hole and, except for the clown-town basket on seventeen, everything is fair.

3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/22/2011   5/3/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Indian Creek is a fairly new course in the Huntsville area. It is in a large city park/greenway area in the back of a nice neighborhood. It has all the amenities you would expect with a newer city course- concrete tees, good baskets, detailed color tee signs with hole map, a colorful course map on the kiosk, a picnic pavilion next to the kiosk, and ample parking. The course map shows multiple pin locations, so I assume the baskets get moved/rotated from time to time to add some variety with different configurations. The park and course were very clean, the fairways were mowed, and nothing was in bad shape or broken. The course makes good use of the available land and is well spread out.

Indian Creek has 20 total holes: A, B, and then 1-18. There is a nice mix of various degrees of playing in the woods to wide open, although the course is more on the open side. (Even the holes in the woods have wide fairways with the only trouble being the edges and nothing to avoid in the middle.) I would not describe this course as hilly, but there are a few holes where elevation is a factor. Water is a factor on 5 holes in the form of a pond and a fairly large creek. Many of the holes have OB to add extra challenge. There is also a wide variety of hole length from the 200's to the 700's, several holes should be considered par 4's by amateurs due to the distance. This is the longest and most open of all the Huntsville courses and those with bigger arms are going to love having the chance to air out some drives. The distance challenged can still enjoy their rounds here as every hole is not super long and a few holes do have alternate tees.
Cons: The first problem is the standing water on A and B. They were virtually unplayable. And I am guessing since they are called A and B that they were an afterthought. (Maybe they weren't in the original design because they flood a lot? Or maybe they are A and B so you can leave them out and still feel like you played a complete round of 18?) Whatever the reason be aware that hole A may be underwater.

The walking trail comes into play on a few holes. Hole B especially since it plays on a narrow slice of land between the pond and creek, but the fairway IS the walking trail! Hole 15 is also dangerous as it is surrounded on two sides (the right and straight ahead) by the walking trail- this is just asking for injuries. (It was my favorite hole on the course though with a hyzer around trees to a basket next to the creek, but I can see this hole getting redone in the future.) You have to walk around/through the playground to get to hole #1, it just seemed weird, like we were interfering/intruding.

There are longer than normal walks from 2-3, 3-4, and 14-15. Navigation was pretty easy without a map, but a little more help from 2-3 would have been helpful as it is completely out of sight, down the walking trail, over the bridge, and across the creek.

Opinion cons- There are a few holes that are just too wide open. The baskets are always in good spots, but there is no skill involved in driving except for throwing far on these holes as there is no trouble to have to avoid, and to me it was boring until you get to the basket. Also, the elevated basket on #17 is there for no reason other than just to have one. I don't mind baskets up on a mound or on a boulder or in a tree, but it seems like every new course now insists on having their gimmicky elevated basket up high on a man-made structure. I know with this issue some people like it, others don't, and some don't care.
Other Thoughts: Indian Creek is definitely different than the other Huntsville courses, and most similar to UAH. Each course has its own style and I really like that about this city. Huntsville may not have any top 50 national courses, but it does have several solid courses each with their own personality and style. (For a good variety play more than one when you are here.)

Tournaments will be played at Indian Creek for sure. This is a good place to play that will challenge all aspects of your game, but it just doesn't quite pass my litmus test of being "Disc Golf Paradise" and worthy of a 4.0-5.0 rating (I can't use the words Excellent/Phenomenal/Best-of-the-Best to describe this course.) The main reason I feel this way is, even though each hole is unique from the others on the course, no holes really stood out as being signature holes. Even the best holes here would be considered average on most of the top rated courses. So I give it a strong 3.5 (Very Good). I only say all this because I was pumped about a new 4.5 course being so close to me, and then I was a little disappointed when I played it because my expectations were way too high.

*This review reflects the course conditions as I played it literally just a few days before the historic and devastating tornado outbreak on 4/27/11. I am unaware of any damage that may have occurred as a result since I live out of state. Obviously disc golf ranks way behind the loss of life and personal property, and my thoughts and prayers are with all those affected by this tragedy. Getting in and out of Huntsville may be difficult for a while, and I would suggest researching course playability before planning a trip to Alabama anytime soon.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center