Huntsville, AL 
Indian Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: MiketheGoalie Hole #1 (Taken 7/2015)
3 / 420ft.   3 / 420ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee

Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2

1    9/26/2015   9/27/2015
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 78  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 12.4 Years
Pros: I can see why this is the second highest rated course in the state. The course is beautiful and has plenty of challenge. The course is pretty easy to navigate. I took a map and had to use it on a few occasions but would have been alright without it. The course is very pretty...rolling hills with some long bombs and a few tighter holes around the walking track. Tee signs and pads were would have been nice to know which pin placement it was in. This required a bit of scouting on a few holes to figure out where I was throwing. There was a really long hole on the back 9 that this really messed me up on throwing toward a row of trees with the pin tucked way back to the left but without knowing I just went straight ahead and lost a stroke or two. All of that speaks to the length of the course. Not a ton of birdies out there as the holes are pretty long with just enough OB to keep things interesting and make you either get creative or stick to the fairway. Undergrowth wasn't bad, which is a huge plus...losing a disc here would be pretty hard, another plus for the course. Benches were very, very handy and also made finding the next tee easier.

Just get ready to do A LOT of walking and you should be fine. It was nice how the course double back to the parking lot and had a bathroom facility at the start.

Just a heads up for first timers...when you walk up to the park and walk toward the course from the parking lot...walk out to the pad for hole 1 and throw along the tree line...the pin is tucked back into those woods, just be careful as there is a creek that runs alongside holes 1-2. You then have to cross the bridge and play a few tight blind holes that required a bit of scouting to figure out where I was throwing.
Cons: No pin markers on the signs. Grass was pretty high preventing rollers, which would have been awesome on this course. Other than that...nothing really to complain about. This is a solid course and one that you definitely need to try out if you are in the area.
Other Thoughts: Can't wait to play this course again some time. I played it pretty cautiously the first time through to not lose any plastic but now that I see that would be pretty hard to do I would play it more aggressively. Whoever keeps this course up...great job.


5+    8/13/2015   8/14/2015
Review By: top4874
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.2 Years
Pros: Beautiful course along a greenway. Good mix of wide open and narrow tunnel shots. Some long holes to test those with big arms but also requires accuracy.
Cons: Grass isn't cut very often and it is very easy to lose a disc or five if you don't pay attention where your shots go. Even then you can lose them.

A bit of a challenge for those that don't have big arms. You really have to work for par on a good number of the holes and some of the par 3's should be par 4.

Sometimes families that don't know (or care) the course is there will picnic in the middle of some of the fairways.
Other Thoughts: Overall a great course. Bring you big boy game for some of the longer holes.

If you don't have a bit arm just forget about scoring and enjoy the course.

 Good Course

5+    10/11/2014   11/25/2014
Review By: flickit
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course for anyone who wants a challenge or if you need to work on your driving form. Its long and open on most shots while still demanding some technique shots for getting to the basket.
Cons: It can get really hot and humid on this course during the warmer months.

There are a couple of holes (ahem 2, 4 and 14) that are really tight tunnel shots. That in itself would not be bad but the foliage on either side is quite thick and you can lose your disc VERY easily.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my go to courses to have fun. I would recommend playing this one with Brahan springs so as to work on technical shots as well as distance.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Worth the effort

1    6/24/2014   6/24/2014
Review By: Loomis
Played: 434  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging course and a great use of the space. It's fair and the mental challenges are just as tough as the lines. You don't have to be a big arm to be successful on this course. It's long and there are holes where distance is an advantage but unlike some courses that stress distance as the only challenge this course uses it as an added layer to the game play. Like all courses; putting confidently is what rules the day.
Cons: The tall grass issue is real if you get off the fairway. This is pasture land with creeks and running trails crossing through it. There are times when finding the disc will be more challenging than hitting the right line.

The first two holes A and B do not exist so do not play them. Go to hole 1 and don't waste your time.
Other Thoughts: Of the three courses I played in the area this was by far the best.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Variety

1    4/18/2013   4/22/2013
Review By: davetherocketguy
Played: 48  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 11.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Well manicured park - at least it was when I was there.
- Baskets in good shape and this course was one where I actually appreciated the yellow bands that adorn the top of them for visibilities sake.
- There is a variety here that is rarely found anywhere with water hazards, wooded fairways, open field, fast greens and so on.
- There are benches scattered throughout which is definitely appreciated considering the length of this course.
- Excellent use of the existing topography.
Cons: (Time to be picky - read these cons with a grain of salt and consider the score I am giving this course before giving me a hard

- Several of the holes on the back nine starting with #9 going through #13 are just open and long just for the sake of being open and long. If there is any wind at all these holes are just brutal to the average player. Beginners will be discouraged and frustrated with these holes. #9 is absurd in the long position - 600+' uphill? Really?
- Some of the fairways play too close to the paved walkway that goes through the course for my taste and according to the signage is considered OB. There were several times I felt that being this close to that walkway was unneeded and posed unnecessary risk.
- The signage between holes could be updated a bit. Especially between #2 and #3 and #5 to #6.
- #18 seems to present hazards as well with the long basket and the walkway that goes down the middle of the fairway.
Other Thoughts: Okay, picky cons aside this is a must play course in my opinion in the Huntsville area. I am really glad I stopped by and I think any disc golfer that appreciates a well designed course will love this place. It is going to kick the tail of any dg'er out there.

As with any wooded course (not a con just an FYI) there are the assorted assembly of critters and irritants so come prepared.

This course has tremendous potential for more holes. While I am not completely sure where exactly the park boundaries are it does seem like another 18 holes could be added easily.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    9/26/2012   9/27/2012
Review By: loraski
Played: 74  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: My husband and I really enjoyed this course. We liked the mix of long open spaces and some narrow wooded ones as well.
Cons: Some of the par's were a little unrealistic. More should have been par 4 or even 5 in this novice's opinion!
Other Thoughts: It is a beautiful course in a great park setting. It took us 2 hours for our first time and it was great exercise.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Indian Creek

1    6/25/2011   7/1/2011
Review By: pbgolfpb
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. I liked the layout of the course. They Park was nice and it had a stream running thru the middle. Even had an area right behind one of the baskets that had a rope swing so you could cool off after the round.
2. Nice T-signs and T-pads.
3. There were signs warning walkers of discgolfers and discgolfers of walkers. and plenty of signs to guide you around.
4. Nice Map of the course, not very hard to remember.
5. I liked the different elevation shots that some holes offered.
6. Plenty of shade to find when playing the course.
7. to me this is a Championship level type course. You need to bring your long game for this course and plan on a couple of hours to play.
Cons: 1. The only con I see is that this is a long course and the grass needs to be kept cut. It was low for me, but still had issues sometimes to find disc thrown down the middle.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I really enjoyed the course. Levon did a great job creating a championship type course that I think every city should have. At least those with multiple course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Thoroughly enjoyed

1    5/29/2011   5/29/2011
Review By: heywillard90
Played: 31  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Long, short, tight and open shots. Plentiful distance overall. Good signs and pads. Beautiful park with open areas, woods, a flowing stream and nice bike path.
Cons: Most of the open areas and filled with weeds instead of grass; the thistles will bite if you have shorts on. I had trouble navigating the course, the signs can only help you so much. The course is too spread out.
Other Thoughts: I loved most aspects of this course. The main issue is how spread out everything is. It felt more like a ball golf course, and for those of us who play know how tiring it can get without a golf cart. Otherwise enjoy the course

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Really Diverse Course

1    4/22/2011   5/17/2011
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 144  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 11.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The most glaring positive aspect of Indian Creek DGC is the design. The holes vary in length, style, terrain, and elevation. Whoever designed this course was very deliberate in their work. It forces the player to execute a number of various shots.

Baskets were in excellent condition...probably a given since the course is fairly new.

While there are a few holes near the front of the facility, a number of the holes are very secluded with only the Indian Creek Greenway in the vicinity.

There are a number of multiple throw holes. While some may not care for the distance, I like it better that way. It gets boring taking aim at the basket on every tee shot. I like the consideration involved in determining an efficient landing zone so that you set yourself up with a high-percentage approach. This leads to more dispersion in scoring and penalizes errant tee shots to a greater degree.
Cons: As bjreagh mentioned, the drainage on Hole A was pretty bad. We played it anyway, but you had to walk back around the playground to finish the hole.

The design of Hole B necessitates throwing over the walkway...which is obviously bad.

Hole 17 was a throw-away hole. It was wide open. The only memorable aspect of the hole is the pin located on the man mad steps. To mee, it is just silly to use these devices. I guess they were just trying to take away the "filler hole" label...but let's call it what it is...a "filler hole".
Other Thoughts: This park is accessed by driving through a nice neighborhood. I would absolutely love to live within 200 yards of a course of this caliber...and there were houses for sale this close to the course. The park seems like a great place for families as it had a very nice playground, a dog park, and greenway access. The course itself is not beginner/family friendly, but you can take the wife and kids and let the kids play while you get in a round.

I know I mentioned the design in the "Pro" section, but I feel it bears mentioning again. The terrain that is used is conducive to disc golf. There are some amazing holes here. Some may be long for intermediate players...but I love the challenge. Hole 15 with the pin position close to the creek is a beautiful hole. Easy, but aestheticly pleasing.

In short, Indian Creek is an excellent addition to the Huntsville course list. It is my favorite course that I have played in Huntsville. (haven't played Redstone...which I hear is good) If you are in the area, it is definitely worth a stop. If you are going to Huntsville for a few days, this course is a must-play. It is not quite good enough to plan a specific trip solely for this course...but it is still an excellent course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Break out your driver

1    4/20/2011   4/20/2011
Review By: The Drake
Played: 100  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 12.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a long arms dream to play. Set in a beautiful public park the fairways are very well maintained. Because its so open its pretty easy to navigate. I'm used to playing shorter courses so this was a nice change of pace for me. The course also offers something more than just distance. There are some shorter holes which flow pretty well with the rest of the course and really test your accuracy. Lots of elevation change makes each hole very unique despite being relatively open on the whole. Tee signs are excellent and despite being in a pretty well used park the holes themselves are out of the way so you don't really have to worry about colliding with other park patrons.
Cons: There can be some "longer" walks between holes, but really they aren't extreme. This is NOT a course for short arms. If you throw less than 300ft you will probably hate this course. Otherwise not a lot of "cons" I can think of.
Other Thoughts: I love longer courses as most of the ones I've played (and especially my current home courses) are shorter with maybe 1 hole over 350ft to air one out. This was a great breath of fresh air. I drove up from Birmingham just to play this course and was definitely not disappointed. While its not the best course I've played its a very good one. Along with the many other courses in Huntsville, Indian Creek provides one more element to the local disc golf scene to truly make Huntsville a destination for disc golfers.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.