Huntsville, AL
Indian Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #12
4 / 720ft.   4 / 720ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee Sign



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
The Creek

5+    7/9/2013   7/11/2013
Review By: ChrisL430
Played: 58  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Great mix of holes
- A bench on ever hole
- Long pads and short pads on multiple holes to allow shorter arms a little relief
- Great Discatcher Pro baskets
- This course has a great run of par 4s that require different lengths and type of shots to get to the baskets
- Bathrooms at the beginning of the course
Cons: - Sometimes the city lets the grass get a little to tall before cutting it.
Other Thoughts: This course is a World Championship level course. If you can only play one course in Huntsville, this is it. The mix of wooded/open/uphill/downhill is great. It's a little on the longer side but I've seen people with shorter arms put up very good scores by being consistent.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Indian Creek DGC

1    1/14/2012   1/17/2012
Review By: 3OrangeWhips
Played: 96  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 2/8/2012
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Located in a newer community park with plenty of parking, restrooms, playgrounds, and the nicest paved greenway I have ever seen.
- Great variety of holes: long open holes, shorter/technical wooded holes, longer/wider wooded holes, trees for obstacles, creeks/ponds/pits for obstacles, rolling elevation.
- Long, level concrete tee pads.
- Benches on every hole.
- Some holes have multiple tees, some have multiple pins.
- Great signage throughout (course map, hole number, par, distance, next tee, warnings).
- Excellent course flow, although there are a couple of spots where you need the map.
- Both the park and the course are meticulously maintained.
- Great scenic vistas on the "middle nine" (holes #5 through #13).
- No interference with other park activities (with the exception of hole #15 that plays along the edge of the greenway--throw with care here).
Cons: As an amateur I would like to see an alternate set of official pars that makes sense for my skill level. Pretty nit-picky, which shows just how killer this place is.
Other Thoughts: I snuck in a round at this course while visiting Huntsville during a long weekend with the family. Wow--I have a new favorite! This course has everything I could ask for. Great variety of holes, nice rolling terrain with beautiful meadows, well maintained, and best of all: challenging but fair. Even though I posted a high score, I felt like all of my mistakes were caused by poor execution rather than failing to overcome a near impossible obstacle. To me, this is what ultimately results in having a fun round instead of a frustrating one, especially at a course as demanding as Indian Creek. I applaud the designers of this course, because their efforts really pay off in the quality of play. Hole #10 was an "instant classic" for me: long downhill across a rolling meadow with a scattered hardwoods, through a treeline across a creek to the basket atop a tall mound. A close second would be hole #14, another long downhill, this time 420 feet through a wooded corridor with the basket visible way down to the left. This course alone makes Huntsville a good destination when planning a disc golf road trip, which is great because I am really looking forward to playing here again.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Sick Course!

1    2/22/2011   2/22/2011
Review By: robasse
Played: 83  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.8 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I thought that the couse was super! The course is very easy to navigate and a great place to use distance as an advantage if you have it. The wooded holes are a solid challenge, but not ridiculous and the open holes are challenging due to distance, wind, and elevation.
Cons: Not many cons other than, I would like to have known going in that all of the pins were in one location or the other and not a mix. For an out of town player mixed pins are confusing.
Other Thoughts: Out of the 40 courses that I have played at this point in my career this course is atop the list. I love long courses and this one did great in soothing my urge to throw bombs. Just wish I would have had more tail winds.....

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/1/2010   6/21/2010
Review By: tamahawk
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 7.6 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Indian Creek DGC is a fantastic course that is designed on 50+ acres of varying terrain. Indian Creek contains many qualities of a great course, and I expect over time, as the course continues to develop and get more traffic that the ratings will easily hit 4.5.

Course Essentials:
-Baskets: Brand new Innova DISCatchers with marker flags on top, all baskets in excellent condition. Multiple pin positions on many holes. 18-holes with 2 additional baskets (A,B) for a total of 20 holes.
-Tee Pads: Level, concrete tee pads of adequate size on each hole.
-Tee Signs: The course has very nice tee signs that clearly depict the hole layout, varying pin locations and distances for each position.
-Navigation: Navigating this course was a breeze. The tee signs point the way to the next tee. Several holes have some long walks between tees, but navigation aids have been put in place to guide you in the right direction in these areas, very well done.

Course Design & Layout
-Fairway Variety: Good mix of straight, right, and left fairways.
-Course Length: Varies from 261ft to 735ft, great mixture throughout course.
-Elevation: Minimal to Moderate Elevations throughout the course are used effectively in the course design to provide a nice variety in uphill, downhill, and sidehill lies. Pin positions strategically placed on raised elevations or near the edge of a slope which requires a little more caution with the approach/putt making for some great risk/reward scenarios.

Indian Creek is a scenic course with great visual appeal. The course flows well and makes one continuous loop from start to finish. The fairways are well laid out and clearly defined throughout the course. The designer made great use of the available space utilizing open fields, available trees and tree lines, and varying elevations to create a fun and challenging layout. The course design offers multiple tees/pins which create great variations in the overall layout and several course configurations to continuously challenge players of all skill levels. Good mix of open, technical, and semi-technical holes as you progress through the course. The layout is designed to where you never feel like you are playing the same hole twice.

Course Amenities:
-Plenty of parking available
-Benches and trash receptacles located throughout the course
-Large course map located near first tee.
Cons: -Flooding: Water can be an issue with the creek that runs through several holes on the course. Also, there are several low-lying areas that retain water after a good rain.
-Fairway Maintenance: Several of the fairways had some very tall grass. I am not from the area, so I can't say if it is truly a maintenance issue, but it is worth mentioning. The grass through some areas actually came up to my knees. It could have been high due to recent rains that had come through the area, so again, just making mention, not listing as poor maintenance.
-Pedestrian traffic: There are walking/biking trails that run near, through, and along side several holes. Be aware of traffic in these areas.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course is fantastic! It was an all around great experience that left a lasting good impression. The park itself is new and very nice with lots of activities for the entire family. Although I don't think it is quite there yet, I am going to go ahead and rate this course at a 4.5 because I definitely feel it deserves more than a 4.0. The course is still very new, and as good as it is today, I feel like it will be maintained and continuously improved in the future. This course is definitely on my favorites list, and I highly recommend making the stop if you are in the area.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  indian creek

5+    1/21/2010   1/25/2010
Review By: DiscGolfMagician
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: very open. covers a big area. multiple pin and tee position on some of the holes are good for less advanced players
Cons: not great course for beginners. the water hazards are really annoying and i have lost multiple discs in the creek.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.