Huntsville, AL 
Indian Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #12
4 / 720ft.   4 / 720ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee Sign



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 INDIAN CREEK DGC

2-4    8/14/2010   8/15/2010
Review By: chainbanger14
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Best course ive ever played! great layout and mixture of open and wooded holes. mowed fairways and putting circles around each basket! Water on some holes but not too hazardous! Not close to busy traffic or loud noise, really peaceful until someone misses that 10 foot putt hahah! A and B holes. fun long rip it holes and great short tunnel vision ones. RECAMEND!!!! Go play it
Cons: walk to hole 3 was a little tricky, wouldnt hurt to have some next tee signs but thats it
Other Thoughts: Might want to print out a map on the comp, but there is a big one at the course so its your call

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/1/2010   6/21/2010
Review By: tamahawk
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 8.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Indian Creek DGC is a fantastic course that is designed on 50+ acres of varying terrain. Indian Creek contains many qualities of a great course, and I expect over time, as the course continues to develop and get more traffic that the ratings will easily hit 4.5.

Course Essentials:
-Baskets: Brand new Innova DISCatchers with marker flags on top, all baskets in excellent condition. Multiple pin positions on many holes. 18-holes with 2 additional baskets (A,B) for a total of 20 holes.
-Tee Pads: Level, concrete tee pads of adequate size on each hole.
-Tee Signs: The course has very nice tee signs that clearly depict the hole layout, varying pin locations and distances for each position.
-Navigation: Navigating this course was a breeze. The tee signs point the way to the next tee. Several holes have some long walks between tees, but navigation aids have been put in place to guide you in the right direction in these areas, very well done.

Course Design & Layout
-Fairway Variety: Good mix of straight, right, and left fairways.
-Course Length: Varies from 261ft to 735ft, great mixture throughout course.
-Elevation: Minimal to Moderate Elevations throughout the course are used effectively in the course design to provide a nice variety in uphill, downhill, and sidehill lies. Pin positions strategically placed on raised elevations or near the edge of a slope which requires a little more caution with the approach/putt making for some great risk/reward scenarios.

Indian Creek is a scenic course with great visual appeal. The course flows well and makes one continuous loop from start to finish. The fairways are well laid out and clearly defined throughout the course. The designer made great use of the available space utilizing open fields, available trees and tree lines, and varying elevations to create a fun and challenging layout. The course design offers multiple tees/pins which create great variations in the overall layout and several course configurations to continuously challenge players of all skill levels. Good mix of open, technical, and semi-technical holes as you progress through the course. The layout is designed to where you never feel like you are playing the same hole twice.

Course Amenities:
-Plenty of parking available
-Benches and trash receptacles located throughout the course
-Large course map located near first tee.
Cons: -Flooding: Water can be an issue with the creek that runs through several holes on the course. Also, there are several low-lying areas that retain water after a good rain.
-Fairway Maintenance: Several of the fairways had some very tall grass. I am not from the area, so I can't say if it is truly a maintenance issue, but it is worth mentioning. The grass through some areas actually came up to my knees. It could have been high due to recent rains that had come through the area, so again, just making mention, not listing as poor maintenance.
-Pedestrian traffic: There are walking/biking trails that run near, through, and along side several holes. Be aware of traffic in these areas.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course is fantastic! It was an all around great experience that left a lasting good impression. The park itself is new and very nice with lots of activities for the entire family. Although I don't think it is quite there yet, I am going to go ahead and rate this course at a 4.5 because I definitely feel it deserves more than a 4.0. The course is still very new, and as good as it is today, I feel like it will be maintained and continuously improved in the future. This course is definitely on my favorites list, and I highly recommend making the stop if you are in the area.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Very Nice

1    3/8/2010   3/9/2010
Review By: jeramie75
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great signs, well marked,Lots of area to work with, elevation changes, big arm and tight wooded shots needed, OB on some holes, Nice park.
Cons: Although I played on a sunny day, I could tell that mud would be a problem after a hard rain.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course. A lot of variety to keep things fresh. Wind on the open holes also adds to the challenge. A "must play" if you are in the area!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  indian creek

5+    1/21/2010   1/25/2010
Review By: DiscGolfMagician
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: very open. covers a big area. multiple pin and tee position on some of the holes are good for less advanced players
Cons: not great course for beginners. the water hazards are really annoying and i have lost multiple discs in the creek.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  challenging disc golf

1    12/26/2009   12/27/2009
Review By: drc3b
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located at a very nice park, this course has good variety, from shorter 250'-300' holes through tight fairways, to 500'+ bombs. This course requires finesse and arm strength to shoot well. There is good news for those of us withOUT cannon arms however, and that is alternate tee pads and/or baskets on several of those holes. Good elevation changes, good scenery, and well kept in general. Also, there are two extra holes, A and B, for a total of 20 holes. With all the alternate locations, this course is playable several different ways for a fun experience every time you go.
Cons: Mud. Indian Creek, which runs through the middle of the course, has a tendency to flood the lower parts of the area. I had to scrape mud off my shoes at almost every tee pad. Make sure you bring a towel if it has rained in the past week. Walking from the tee pad to the basket on hole 14 should be left for those with waterproof boots. Also, the bicycle/walking trail was directly in line with the basket on a couple of holes, and was crowded on the day I played there.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful course! Hole 17's basket is up on a platform about 4 feet higher than normal for an added challenge. The park is well maintained and very beautiful. Very windy! I would recommend this course for anyone looking for a challenge in the Hunstville area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.