Course Extinct
Whitesburg, GA 
Flyboy Aviation Share
Uploaded By: craigd Hole #23 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 390ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #23 Approach



Reviews: 98
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 A course and a museum

1    9/10/2011   1/4/2012
Review By: gaerith2
Played: 56  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.1 Years
7 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: - The neighborhood the course winds through is beautiful and the surrounding woods and elevation changes give the course plenty of challenges.
- The water holes are picturesque and very challenging. You are left with the decision to go for it or lay up more than a couple of times.
- I didn't get to meet Kelly but his parents and Brad, the course pro, were all very friendly and accommodating.
- Good mix of open holes, wooded holes, and water holes.
- Rewards big arms and accurate arms alike. You've gotta have EVERY SHOT to play this course well.
- The inside of the hanger is amazing. You have to see it in person to understand how cool it is.
Cons: - A couple of the walks from basket to teepad could be shorter.

Other Thoughts: I really can't think of anything negative about this course. The only reason I didn't give it a perfect score of 5 is because I have played a few other courses that were more fun. I can't really describe it but the course is missing a certain kind of solemnity due to all of the houses around the course.
I prefer courses that are in more remote locations because I find it peaceful that way. That's just a personal preference though.
There is nothing wrong with this course, definitely one of the top 5 courses I"ve played.

7 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  Flyboy varity is par none

2-4    4/17/2011   4/20/2011
Review By: rpetty1800
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.3 Years
13 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course is amazing. The course sets nestled in a private aviation community. With beautiful landscape. The course diversity with its rolling elevation changes, Open let her rip holes, tight ally shots, extreme dog legs, lake shots, elevated baskets, and yes even a sunken basket. This course has it all.I don't think any player who has played this course could say it was not fun and challenging. There is a pro shop on site and, a bed a breakfast as well.
Cons: The only three i can think of is the pads can be slick when they are wet... However better than mud. Losing disc in the lake wait thats not the courses fault. Ok it is an hour and a half away from my house. wait again not courses fault. Ok so only one thing could be improved on. The other two requires me to be a better golfer and richer so I could buy a house in the community and play all the time...
Other Thoughts: This course is amazing however due to some disc golfers lack of respect to the homeowners who allows us to play this beautiful course. ON THEIR PROPERTY I might add ! Guys this is not public land. We are at risk of losing one of the finest course in the southeast.
If you do get a chance to play this course be on your best behavior. Don't leave trash pick it up even if it is not yours. Respect the community's right to exist over yours... I think a majority of our parents or elders taught us to be on our best behavior when we are guest some where... well ladies and gentlemen on this course we are guest. If you don't think you can do this simple task. Then do us all a favor and go somewhere else.

13 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 REDESIGN....ed

1    12/6/2010   12/9/2010
Review By: Bakenstine
Played: 67  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.4 Years
18 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: World Class setup!
-Great use of property and maximized use of terrain.
-Plenty of distance, and plenty of short, tricky par 3s.
-Alternate pins/CTP shots to keep things interesting.
-Plenty of challenges, but risk/reward shots here are intense to put it mildly.
-Buried basket. Raised baskets. INSANE!
-Fantastic scenery and amazing to see planes take off during a drive. Well worth the noise to see such a display of aerial mastery during a round.
- I cannot overstate the hospitality and welcoming atmosphere, vibe, and actions of these hosts.
-Friendly hounds that actually LISTEN to "No" as they go for your disc. Sometimes the small things are the nicest details.
-The lakes, woods, fairways and runways are shockingly awe inspiring. Every turn is a bend through a magical experience (not exaggerating one bit).
Cons: Well, this is where the review gets hard for me. This was my first time ever to make it to this premium course, after years of sitting on the to-do list. It was my fault for not going sooner, and perhaps a really windy, cold December day was not the best time to go.

Regardless.... keep in mind, this is a review of ONLY the front 18 holes of the NEW setup here at Flyboy as of fairly recently apparently:

#1 Complaint: The REMOVAL of the LONGEST HOLE IN THE WORLD (UNIVERSE)... I understand the problem of having disc golfers run around on an active runway. I am totally sympathetic to the owners need to keep safety the main priority. That said, I was really looking forward to playing this hole. Now for the detailed reason it is hard to say that: I was told on the phone setting up my tee time that it would not be in play (I knew ahead of time, its not like I was rudely suprised). The new course guide is in the works, so I recieved an amendment sheet to go with the old guide, which states that the Longest hole CAN be played during events if a 'full-time runway moniter' is on duty with a 'golf cart, red/green flags, hand-held radio and whistle.' With all of those rules, I was still told that if we were careful, we could just play it since the transition was still underway. We were a little beaten down by the weather and it just felt a little better sticking to the new set of rules as it was our first time there. This complaint is not meant to be me whining about the removal of this legendary hole, but merely a way to let newcomers know what the deal is about to be. I will just be even more determined to play this course during some kind of tourney so that I know I can take on 1600 feet of raw runway power.
-The new setup was kind of difficult to navigate when seeing other baskets moved to seemingly random spots (between 7's pad and pin, off to the right of 13's pad, left in the woods on new 16/old 15)
-Perhaps another couple trashcans would be helpful
-Personally I love rubber pads and I really like the movable nature of these baskets, but 1/2 of my group felt differently so I guess, like most other people reviewing Flyboy, they fall under Con
-Loosing discs due to my own inability to set up shots near these tricky lakes.
Other Thoughts: I NEED TO GO BACK! To play the back back 9 (which would probably make me give this course a 5.0 according to the pictures). To play the longest hole in the world. To buy some of the premium plastic in the pro shop. To stop in and get lunch after 18 next time. To thank Kelly in person for his wonderful setup. If you haven't played here before, go ASAP, you won't regret a second of the drive after you're done. You will feel like you've cheated the owners for ONLY paying $5 greens fee. Take it from me and every other reviewer on this site: Theres a DAMgood reason this course is ranked 3rd in the world on the Homepage

18 of 21 people found this review helpful.

  A must-play course

1    11/7/2010   11/12/2010
Review By: ghankins
Played: 24  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 18 Not
Pros: Breathtaking views and a fantastic layout. Excellent mix of long workout holes to short technical ones. Incredibly well manicured and maintained.
Cons: Rubber tees and single chain baskets. I'm sure both will be replaced in the near future.
Other Thoughts: Kelly and his family were incredibly gracious hosts and we could not have asked for a better weekend.

5 of 23 people found this review helpful.

 Blip on your radar!

2-4    10/16/2010   11/11/2010
Review By: Mr Mirth
Played: 92  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 25.4 Years
27 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Flyboy Aviation is a premiere championship course in the making, challenging every aspect of your game with varied terrain, distance, elevation, water and obstacle. Often technical, most types of throws are needed to negotiate a wide variety of shots: left, right, open, tunnels, mixed, water hazards. Some excellent pin placements and shot shapes, particularly those near water (3, 4, 6, 9, 15, 25), present terrific risk / reward; a few shots as well lure you with their distance when perhaps a shorter more calculated flight could serve you better. The rubber tees and accurate signs serve their purpose while the benches and baskets are quite good. The CTP dock shot after #9 is fun and does well for the walk between holes 9 and 10(throw something you could do without for 5 holes unless you want a much longer walk to 10!). Flyboy certainly demands a good mental game and course management, requiring its flyers to deliver both bombs and short strafing runs, accurately. Most holes are picturesque with the unique 1600' runway being the Signature Hole; #3 gets my vote though. There's a good flow to the layout, easily followed while seamlessly winding through the community as well the adjacent woods.
All the amenities are here and golfers will want for nothing; Pro shop, hangout, B&B, showers, lunch service, etc.The hospitality and welcoming attitude of the community is top notch with the hangar-clubhouse providing a most unique epicenter for it all.
Cons: Since the course is still somewhat in flux, with potential changes ahead, the rubber tees and laminated signs are sufficient, but once the layout is finalized concrete tees and better signage should be installed. Most holes are away from the homes but several feel rather invasive: 20, 21, 25(one of my favorites!), and 27. Having to wait for landings and takeoffs between shots along #18 (10mins or more) can be a detriment.
Other Thoughts: Flyboy Aviation is no doubt a disc golf experience unlike any other, set in a well-manicured airpark community you get a unique "country club" feel, and it's all about flight - a destination every serious golfer should have on his/her radar. Pro or Con this course is not beginner friendly; one should be practiced and ready for a top tier pro level challenge.
Blip!

27 of 30 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet Like A Peach

1    9/3/2010   9/3/2010
Review By: Fender088
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 7.4 Years
23 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is one of the most elite disc golf environments that the sport has to offer. No matter where you have played before, you have not played a course that offers the entire Flyboy experience. Before you even see the course, you get to see the beautiful hangar that Kelly and his family have decked out into a multi-use facility, housing planes and a pro shop amongst other things. Behind the hangar is a grass runway used by the entire neighborhood for their private planes.
Once you leave the hangar and begin the course you're in for a world-class experience. The course has multiple holes playing over water, forcing you to contemplate your disc selection constantly. There are plenty of open holes with manicured fairways, but also an excellent mix of thoughtful wooded holes that test your finesse. There's also a great mix of left and right hooking shots and tons of elevation changes for a relatively flat area of the state. Experienced players will love the extreme distances on a good amount of the holes as well. Also, there are lots of little extras throughout the course like the hangar basket that sits on the roof or the CTP basket over the pond in the middle of the course.
Although the course is beautifully designed and maintained, the amenities really set this place off. The fact that it is a private facility means that there are very few people playing at a time. There was absolutely no litter to be seen on the facilities either. Also, the design of the course allows for you to stop off at the hangar after 18. Coincidence? I think not.
Cons: Although concrete tee pads and permanent pins are the bees knees, the currently changing course setup doesn't make this practical at the time. The rubber tees worked great for me, but I thought a few of them could have been just a little longer. All of the temporary baskets were so steady that I didn't even give this factor any thought during my round.
Also, some might say that the longest fairway of the course that plays within the runway is "gimmicky", but I found it to be a strategically placed challenge directly before our lunch break. Take it or leave it, but if I had to I'd probably still take it.
Other Thoughts: This course is simply a joy to play for almost every reason you could think of. The proprietor and his family are kind and passionate about what they're doing. Most people would simply set up the baskets where the land seemed convenient, but in this case the designer has effectively explored all of his options to bring us what is arguably the best designed course in the Southeastern United States.
I also wanted to mention that the water holes on the course were extremely well thought out. The distances often force you to lay up right before the water, but even the lay ups are difficult to consider. In short, this course is going to challenge the hell out of your mental and physical game.
The last thing I want to mention is that if you have never seen an aviation neighborhood before then this will be an even better trip for you. The architecture of the different hangars and the planes taking off around you are great experiences.

23 of 25 people found this review helpful.

  It's a long one for sure...

1    8/28/2010   8/31/2010
Review By: Wookie
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 15.5 Years
10 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: All the different types of shots are needed to navigate this course.
The scenery is fantastic and they use all the land and elevation to their advantage.
The hospitality of everyone at Fly Boy was amazing and you couldn't ask for a better host.
Cons: The only thing I really didn't like were the single chain baskets. I know they are in the process of changing that but it's about the only con I had on the day.

Some of the "schule" needed to be trimmed here and there and I am sure as the course matures it will happen. For the course to be so new they have done a great job so far.

Other Thoughts: You really have to see this place and play it a few times before you try and score a good tournament round.

I liked the break after 18 to grab some food and take a few minutes to relax before the final 9. It was much needed on a hot summer day.

10 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 A Soon to Be Disc Golf Mecca

2-4    8/6/2010   8/6/2010
Review By: showdough
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
15 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Where to begin...

First things first, the hospitality of Kelly (the owner) and his family is gracious and outstanding.

The course is HUGE. par 4's, 5's, a 7. but has plenty of birdie opportunities. You just gotta play smart, and lots of shots are risk/reward.

The course plays through a neighborhood and the property surrounding a private airstrip. It is an effective use of the land and obstacles. Water comes into play on a handful of holes.

Hole 13 is my particular favorite. A huge downhill S-curve shot through the woods. Plenty of room to grip it and rip it, but requires accuracy to get down the tunnel for a solid eagle or birdie attempt.

Of course, the par 7, 1600 ft runway shot on 17 is amazing. It's a blast to see how far you can drive on the runway. each light is about 200-250 ft apart, a great way to measure up your drive.

In the woods, you get a nice break from the vast open and get some sweet shorter shots for solid birdie/ace runs.

THIS IS NOT A BEGINNER FRIENDLY COURSE.

you have to have a big arm, with lots of control and accuracy.

but that's the glory of it. a true championship caliber course in the works.
Cons: Hole 10 is shule - sorry Kelly. Either the pad needs to be relocated for a more valid run at the fairway through the woods, or another gap needs to be cut through for a better drive off the tee.

The course is not good for a forehand dominant player, not do many of the holes offer solid options for you flick throwers or lefties.

The baskets are a problem, single chain. But this is being remedied. Some nice shiny new baskets are about to be installed.
Other Thoughts: I prefer rubber teepads over concrete, so this was not an issue to me. They are necessary for the portable nature of the course, and with the course playing through a neighborhood.

the $5 fee and honor system set up get's you a lot of stuff - Lunch, 3 shots at the hanger basket for an ace fund, and access to one of the best courses ever.

A bed and breakfast is also available for rental, and the facilities are amazing.

15 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 You can't get much better than this

1    6/27/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: The Drake
Played: 90  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 11.4 Years
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is truly an amazing course. A 27 hole par 101/102 claiming the longest hole (a par 7 1600 ft hole) monster of a course that combines distance, accuracy, touch, endurance, shot making ability, persistence, and beauty this privately owned course raises the standard for disc golf course design.

The course plays through an aviation neighborhood complete with a 90ft wide grass airstrip. There is a pro shop at the designers hangar with course merchandise, etc. Kelly, the designer, and his parents are great hosts providing beverages and food to competitors with a lunch break midway through the round.

Now on to the course itself. As mentioned before 27 holes, most of which are unlike any others you've played. 13 holes bring water into play with 4 all but requiring you to throw directly across lakes. A variety of shots are REQUIRED to shoot well on this course. With majority par 4s the emphasis is not just on how far you can drive, but also how accurately to give yourself the best position for your approach shot. There are definitely some holes that will require you to throw 400ft to get par or even think about a birdie. Flyboy really does have almost every shot imaginable.
Cons: There really aren't many serious flaws with this course. I feel most cons on any review are most of personal preference than anything else. I'll group the cons similarly to how most have in their reviews.

Tee Pads - a personal preference really. I have no problem with rubber pads, carpet pads, natural pads, cement pads, or whatever. As long as they are consistent there are no real issues and I think the rubber works fine at flyboy. I will take a slightly different approach in looking at this and suggest more am pads. Especially for the really long holes (15 and 18 for sure) I think you need a shorter pad for sub 900 rated players.

Baskets - They are temp baskets with a single layer of chains but they do catch very well in general. Obviously the perfect basket is a debate to be had for eternity but this course could do much worse

Too many holes - Not even close. While I would agree a few of the par 3s are maybe a little too short to go with the flow of the rest of the course its still nice every now and then to have a hole that can give you a good birdie opportunity.

"Bad" holes:
4 - Really too short to be a par 4 and too long to be a par 3. A great hole otherwise I think either adding length or shortening this hole would work better.
10 - On this hole, which is played immidiately after the "CTP dock shot" you tee off from an open area into thick woods. A fairway isn't discernible from the tee and once you get into the woods you still can't really see much of one on the left side. The right side is more open. I spoke with Kelly about opening it up a bit and he agreed it could use some tweaking.
12, 14, 16 - all very short (under 200 ft) par 3s which are a nice break in the long holes but again may be just a little to short and easy.
17 - Great hole interms of the idea of require a good good tee shot before getting into the woods but the fairway beyond that may be a tad too small for such a long second shot. Many may disagree with me on this hole so its barely on the list.
22 - the "in-the-ground" basket. A little silly but not an end all be all.
Other Thoughts: I spoke with Kelly about many different aspects of this course which I truly believe raises the bar for how championship courses should be designed. One of the things I suggested was adding some fairway markers on the longer holes that denote given distances from the pin, ie a striped stake at 300ft out and a solid one at 200ft.

Flyboy is at the top of the list of courses I've played that are really a must for all serious golfers to play. Be prepared for a 4 hour round where you're going to be working hard on every shot you take. Truly amazing and I can't wait to go back.

The only reason this course doesn't get a 5.0 is because I feel every course has room for improvement though this one really doesn't have much.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

  One of the Best!

1    6/20/2010   6/23/2010
Review By: Phase
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Kelly has outdone himself, and many others, he has set up a private course that makes you feel like you belong to a disc golf country club. From the time you arrive and are greeted by his parents with fresh vegetables and a hole by hole description and map you feel like you're at home.

This course is sick, it plays like a ball golf course, minus the cart, a 4 wheeler would be nice. Huge holes, cut fairways, elevation change, water, it has it all.

Challenging, rewarding and fun - this course and all of its variety is a pleasure to play.
Cons: The only con I came across was the baskets, they are nice but have only a single chain and I got robbed of a few birdies because of it, but the course itself far outweighs that little con, still nicer than my basket.
Other Thoughts: I know some people have said they want concrete tee pads, I do love concrete, but for this course I think the rubber is perfect - they can be moved if a house is built on a hole for example, and it keeps it a bit more natural.

Again, Kelly, thank you so much for putting this together and allowing us to play - I can tell you are passionate about all you do, and I appreciate that -

Can't wait to play it again -

- Eric

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.