Course Extinct
Whitesburg, GA 
Flyboy Aviation Share
Uploaded By: craigd Hole #15 (Taken 9/2010)
5 / 960ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee: "Damnit" (Righty's Revenge); Challenging 960' that plays along the shore and dam then uphill just to the right of the woods. There is a tight route through the woods to the left for the lefty's, but it is tough.



Reviews: 98
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Add playing this course to your bucket list!

2-4    11/7/2010   11/9/2010
Review By: Atrain
Played: 65  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 21.2 Years
6 Helpful / 27 Not
Pros: This could take awhile...
The course plays around a beautiful airport community. Many of the holes are along the perfectly manicured and maintained grass taxiways. There are three ponds that come into play on 7 holes. Many of the holes would be signature holes on any other course and the others are awesome must-have holes. Even if you took away the amazing, unmatched aesthetics, this would still be a premier 5 out of 5 course. If you play disc golf, add playing this course to the list of things to do before you die.
Cons: Ummmm... let me think. ???? Trying real hard here...
Oh, I know. It takes me over 3 hours to drive there from my house. It should be closer to me.
Other Thoughts: Flyboy Aviation Disc Golf Course is the epitome of a course. I can't imagine anyone ever duplicating this kind of quality. I can't wait to go back.

6 of 33 people found this review helpful.

  Amazing Course

2-4    11/7/2010   11/8/2010
Review By: dadukefan32
Played: 60  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.3 Years
3 Helpful / 32 Not
Pros: They have everything at this coarse. Open, wooded, water, up hill, down hill, short and super duper long holes. It is the next step for the best sport in the world. It is worth the drive so try to make it out.

3 of 35 people found this review helpful.

 1st SECO / 1st time there

2-4    11/7/2010   11/8/2010
Review By: Part-Time Ninja
Played: 54  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.6 Years
2 Helpful / 29 Not
Pros: Tee pads nice rubber mats w/ a broom at nearly every hole. The fairways are manicured and kept beautiful.
The "greens" pin placement is well thought out with some open pins and other protected. Scenery is amazing rolling hills, wildlife, beautiful water, play through a gorgeous community.
Amazing club house a nice pro shop.
Cons: Honestly...none.
Other Thoughts: It is an absolute must for every disc golfer.

2 of 31 people found this review helpful.

 Everything a course should be

2-4    11/7/2010   11/8/2010
Review By: coolhand
Played: 23  Reviewed: 23
6 Helpful / 23 Not
Pros: played the first annual south east collegiate open this past weekend. first time to the course. it is EVERYTHING one could want in a course. private, no traffic. elevation change. tight wooded holes. long open holes-1600 ft signature runway hole w/planes taking off and landing, grab your stuff and run. adds some excitement. water hazards, OB's, long technical holes, placement shots, par 4's and 5's and a 7. great clubhouse, pro shop, hospitality. kelly leggette is a super nice guy. lunch was provided. he let some guys from asheville stay in his home basically. manicured, pristine course. brooms on almost every teepad. 27 holes of mentally and physically challenging golf.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: play it. just go play it so you can see for yourself. and then you can tell everyone what a disc golf course could and should be.

6 of 29 people found this review helpful.

 Unique Course

2-4    11/7/2010   11/8/2010
Review By: JimDK27
Played: 30  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/15/2011
18 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course has 27 holes that have rubber tee pads and signs, but it also has a reverse course and a night course setup that aren't listed. The reverse course is still a work in progress.
The night course is a short course setup around the hangar that I'm sure Kelly would explain to you.
Cons: These cons are more like warnings. If you are on the runway hole and a plane is moving towards the runway in any shape, form, or fashion, you need to take all of the stuff around you that is yours or the players with you off the runway. This does not include the discs you have thrown down the runway, just the discs, bags and minis in your immediate vicinity.
Another note is if you have a driver you like to throw a lot, then bring multiples of that driver, because there is a lot of water in play. Kelly has provided retrieval nets on a few holes, but this is only good for discs within 10 ft or so of the shore.
Other Thoughts: This course is managed by Kelly Leggette, and he is a very generous man for allowing people to play his course. Respect the houses and other hangars around the course. If there is a plane out on the hole you are playing do not even throw towards it. If nothing else is possible then take a stroke or two and walk past the plane. This course goes through multiple properties and one angry neighbor could ruin the course's future. Please keep this in mind when you play this course.

18 of 22 people found this review helpful.

  THE Disc Golf Experience

5+    9/12/2010   10/25/2010
Review By: Treeman
Played: 32  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 20.6 Years
16 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: When you pull into the gravel driveway after a nice fifteen minute back road drive off the interstate you can tell that you are about to have the time of your disc golf life. The airplane hanger with the words "Fly Boy Aviation Disc Golf" painted on it in about 20" letters is one of the first things you'll see upon arrival. There's also a basket strategically placed on top of the hangar that has some action associated with it if you decide to throw at it. The hangar is an awesome display of flight from the RC planes hanging from the ceiling to the table that used to be an old jet engine. It's hard not to be in awe and that is just the hangar. The hangar is also the living quarters of Wayne, Lillian, Max and Morgan. Wayne and Lillian are some of the most generous people out there. They will kindly greet you, offer you some food and make sure that you are taken care of. True southern hospitality. Max and Morgan are the resident fly dogs, you'll eventually figure out which is which. If you leave any food around, Morgan will find a way to claim it. Take a look around at all the cool stuff, stop by the pro shop, donate your money to play then get a good stretch in.

Ambitious is my favorite word to describe this course. The course designer/the man Kelly Leggett along with Brad Orman have used this amazing piece property to it's fullest. The property is a 600 ish acre neighborhood that is considered a fly-in, fly-out community. The focal point for the neighborhood is the grass runway that used to be and still is a busy runway for the residents of the neighborhood but it is now the Longest Disc Golf Hole in the World. The bulk of the 27 hole layout is not for the short arm type of player. But that shouldn't discourage, it is still THE Disc Golf Experience. Each hole challenges every type of player and you really need every disc in your bag for Fly Boy. You might lose a few to the water because there is plenty of it. If you do, there are discs for sale in the hangar/pro shop. The course offers very wide open beautiful holes to very narrow, somewhat tricky wooded holes. If you love disc golf enough to be reading this then grab your favorite people to play with and treat yourselves to THE disc golf experience which is Fly Boy Aviation.

16 of 23 people found this review helpful.

  One of a Kind!!!

1    10/16/2010   10/19/2010
Review By: Ricker112
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: Did you ever say to yourself "Self, I wish My local course had fill in the blank"? If so then get on your phone call Kelly dig 5 smackers out of Your pocket and take a ride to Whitesburg for a day of disc golf that You won't soon forget.

Everything about this course is perfect and from what Kelly has in store it's only going to get better. This course is challenging to say the least but makes up for in unique holes. You will see a lot of A tiers and NT's played at this course very soon. Every pro that comes through makes a stop.

Oh yea by the way when you are coming from out of town there is a B & B in the Hangar that is equivalent to the nicest B & B's I've ever seen. Don't forget your 5 bucks for lunch as Kelley's Mom made us a AMAZING lunch......

Get here and play.....period
Cons: It's not in My backyard

3 of 18 people found this review helpful.

  Review of flyboy aviation

1    10/14/2010   10/15/2010
Review By: heritagegeneral34
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5 Years
3 Helpful / 21 Not
Pros: It is very challenging with the longest hole in the world. It is awesome!! It is the most beautiful course I have and probably will ever play at!
Cons: The only con I can think of is that if you cant throw very far you will probably lose a disc! there are alot of water hazards

3 of 24 people found this review helpful.

 Flyboy Aviation

1    9/4/2010   10/9/2010
Review By: 3OrangeWhips
Played: 96  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5 Years
11 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros:
• Championship caliber course with a unique atmosphere
• Superb use of land; course plays almost three miles through a residential airpark community
• Diverse assortment of holes: open, wooded, righty, lefty, over water, around water, uphill, downhill, thousand footers, etc.
• Signature holes that keep on coming: the 1600' runway hole; the 960' wooded hole with the basket high atop a dead tree; the buried basket hole; hole #3 down a grass taxiway and over the lake, and many more
• The water in play is not just for show
• Level rubber tee pads & benches at every hole
• Scorecards and course guide booklets available in pro shop
• Great course hosts; friendly, accommodating and helpful
Cons: None!
Other Thoughts: Wow…where to begin? Flyboy Aviation is a course that is experienced rather than played. As soon as you enter the private airpark community that hosts the course, you immediately realize you are about to come upon something special. First you see the homes with airplane hangars instead of garages. Then you spot the grass runway that is manicured more immaculately than the front lawn of the White House. Then you start seeing baskets and the adventure begins. There is no way my review could accurately reflect just how amazing this course is, so I'll just wrap up by saying this place is like Disney World for disc golfers. Special thanks go out to Brad and Kelly for hosting our gang and for a truly memorable outing.

11 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Are you kidding me!

2-4    9/28/2010   10/4/2010
Review By: Quest_
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
6 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Everything about this course screams country club of disc golf. Kelly just recently took us on the complete tour of his amazing facility. It now has a proshop with numerous discs for sale along with a well organized lost and found box. The Leggettes have to be the nicest people I have met since I have moved to Georgia. For an additional $5 you get an amazing lunch hand cooked by a true southern belle ( Kelly's Mom) Some things have changed since the last time we were there but its not anything that will change your day at the course. They have a 3 putter challenge which now costs $5 but if you hit it you get $100. This is a nice treat at the end of the day if your feeling froggy.
Cons: Seriously? The only thing that could possibly be a Con is the water that comes into play but Kelly has combated it somewhat by having drop zones if you are not comfortable throwing over the huge lakes.
Other Thoughts: This must be the greatest course I have ever been to since playing Discgolf. I would highly recommend traveling to this course, you will not be disappointed. I will be hitting this place at least 3 more times before it gets to cold down here to play in the very open area that it provides

6 of 14 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.