Course Extinct
Whitesburg, GA 
Flyboy Aviation Share
Uploaded By: craigd Hole #6 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Mid-Fairway: Basket is around the bend to the right.



Reviews: 98
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  brad40866

5+    9/27/2010   10/2/2010
Review By: brad40866
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: This course has everything imaginable, the adrenaline starts to flow when you step on the third pad and look out 780ft to the pin placement on a beautiful peninsula that requires a 400ft drive to set you up for a 300ft shot across the water to give you a legit shot for EAGLE. There are just too many epic shots to descrbe that have not already been mentioned. This course definitley requires every shot in your arsenal. Great elevation shots without having to hike straight up and down just to make single shots. A great mixture of righty/lefty to equal out the course. The signs are great to explain the shot with a air photo and next tee directions. This is truly the best discgolf exprience I have had.
Cons: ZERO
Other Thoughts: Some people complain about non/concrete pads, but I have never slipped or had a problem with the rubber pads

6 of 16 people found this review helpful.

  The best home coarse ever

1    9/16/2010   9/30/2010
Review By: chilly730
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: The facility and the surrounding neighbor are fantastic but what makes this coarse in my top 5 is the unbelievable fairness of the coarse . You are rewarded for every good shot and penalized for every bad shot . Just the way a golf coarse should be. You are also asked to utilize every disc in the bag and every shot your arm can make.
Cons: That its not in my backyard
Other Thoughts: I have been playing this sport going on 25 years and have lived and played all over the world . I have had the privilege of playing such beauties like Delavega, Brooksville , Winthrop Gold , Brandywine and La Mirada Championship 18 and this coarse ranks right up there. If you ever get the chance its a must see and play.

4 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Stunning Course

5+    9/11/2010   9/11/2010
Review By: WAS1
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
4 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: Flyboy Aviation DGC is a stunning 27 hole, 14,000', par 101 disc golf course. Hole 18 at 1,600' is possibly the longest permanent disc golf hole in the world. Hole 3 is arguably Georgia's signature hole and the course is arguably Georgia's signature course.
Cons: Hole 26 can be a bit swampy during rainy weather.
Other Thoughts: This is a private course and you must receive permission to play. Kelly and his family are very gracious host and will do their best to accommodate you and make your visit a pleasant one. I recommend playing in one of occasional tournaments hosted by Flyboy Aviation.

4 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Truly Unique

1    9/4/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: KickMuttButt
Played: 155  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 34.2 Years
14 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fantastic golf course coupled with a one-of-a-kind, unique location and atmosphere. I had read all the reviews ahead of time but was completely unprepared for how SOLID this course was. Some courses are limited by the terrain they are in...open, wooded, mixed use recreational and so on. At Flyboy, they are fortunate to have a VERY wide variety of elevation, woods, open, and water, and length! Each successive hole offers something completely different than the one just played. The course very fairly split holes for lefties and righties (Man, do I need to develop a sidearm!). The long holes were great. The 1600 footer is now legendary; but the 1000 footer offers an opportunity to challenge a throw over water twice or keep to the left and stay safe. But even after the 2 long holes, you were rewarded with a pair of follow-up birdie-attempts. There is just GREAT diversity to this course!

I was overwhelmed at the incredible fortune I had to be playing this course. It was the first day that cool air moved into GA and it was sunny and in the 60's when we started. Blue sky and a decent but not too strong wind accompanied us during our round. College football kicked off too; but my priorities were correctly placed for the day! 27 holes went by in the blink of an eye.

The airpark backdrop provided a great sense of community acceptance of our sport. I did not feel that we were too close to any of the houses as some here have mentioned. In fact, it is part of the experience to view the various hangers and out buildings that are sprinkled throughout the course.
Cons: I only had time to play the course once. Seriously, "Con" infers a negative in my book and while most courses have them - this one does not.
Other Thoughts: Tremendous outreach from this community and in particular Kelly and family. Thank you for the opportunity to play and we enjoyed the aerobatic flyovers in the afternoon.

14 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet Like A Peach

1    9/3/2010   9/3/2010
Review By: Fender088
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 7.4 Years
23 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is one of the most elite disc golf environments that the sport has to offer. No matter where you have played before, you have not played a course that offers the entire Flyboy experience. Before you even see the course, you get to see the beautiful hangar that Kelly and his family have decked out into a multi-use facility, housing planes and a pro shop amongst other things. Behind the hangar is a grass runway used by the entire neighborhood for their private planes.
Once you leave the hangar and begin the course you're in for a world-class experience. The course has multiple holes playing over water, forcing you to contemplate your disc selection constantly. There are plenty of open holes with manicured fairways, but also an excellent mix of thoughtful wooded holes that test your finesse. There's also a great mix of left and right hooking shots and tons of elevation changes for a relatively flat area of the state. Experienced players will love the extreme distances on a good amount of the holes as well. Also, there are lots of little extras throughout the course like the hangar basket that sits on the roof or the CTP basket over the pond in the middle of the course.
Although the course is beautifully designed and maintained, the amenities really set this place off. The fact that it is a private facility means that there are very few people playing at a time. There was absolutely no litter to be seen on the facilities either. Also, the design of the course allows for you to stop off at the hangar after 18. Coincidence? I think not.
Cons: Although concrete tee pads and permanent pins are the bees knees, the currently changing course setup doesn't make this practical at the time. The rubber tees worked great for me, but I thought a few of them could have been just a little longer. All of the temporary baskets were so steady that I didn't even give this factor any thought during my round.
Also, some might say that the longest fairway of the course that plays within the runway is "gimmicky", but I found it to be a strategically placed challenge directly before our lunch break. Take it or leave it, but if I had to I'd probably still take it.
Other Thoughts: This course is simply a joy to play for almost every reason you could think of. The proprietor and his family are kind and passionate about what they're doing. Most people would simply set up the baskets where the land seemed convenient, but in this case the designer has effectively explored all of his options to bring us what is arguably the best designed course in the Southeastern United States.
I also wanted to mention that the water holes on the course were extremely well thought out. The distances often force you to lay up right before the water, but even the lay ups are difficult to consider. In short, this course is going to challenge the hell out of your mental and physical game.
The last thing I want to mention is that if you have never seen an aviation neighborhood before then this will be an even better trip for you. The architecture of the different hangars and the planes taking off around you are great experiences.

23 of 25 people found this review helpful.

  It's the best. Around. Just like the Karate Kid song

5+    9/1/2010   9/3/2010
Review By: millayday
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
12 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Everything. The 27 holes are absolutely amazing, with a few that would rival any in the sport. There is a mix of every shot that you need to have in the bag. Many of the fairways are actually taxi ways from houses in the neighborhood that lead out to the runway, so you've got clear, very defined shots on most holes with no late trees to punish good drives. The water holes are so beautiful, it almost brings a tear to your eye. The course is constantly in a state of evolution, and Kelly (the proprietor) is always looking for feedback from everyone who plays so that he can make improvements. It's hard to improve upon perfection, but he always finds a way. And now he is installing a 9 hole pitch and putt course to cater towards those who might be intimidated by the monster 27 hole layout. One of the jewels of the course is the 1600 ft Longest Hole in the Universe par 7 hole 18 that goes right up the runway back towards the hangar. It's OB outside the runway lights, so you've got about an 80 ft area to land in. It sounds simple enough, but tell that to the many people who constantly shoot double digit scores on the hole. There's a basket on one of the more beautiful holes that is elevated about 6 ft up in a gnarly petrified tree. And there's a buried basket too. For anyone who thinks these things are gimmicky, play them once and I'm sure you'll change your mind. After all, he's got 27 holes to work with. Why make them all conform to what standard disc golf courses offer?
Cons: The ONLY con I can think of are the DB-5 baskets, and that is barely a con. They still catch great, and their mobility allows the course to be constantly tweaked and improved. Discatchers are on the way (already 9 out there), and that should take care of most complaints of cut throughs. The tee pads are rubber, but I have never once had any issue with slippage, and their mobility also allows for course tweaking that concrete pads would not
Other Thoughts: The course is incredible. While there are other courses in the country that might be able to rival the beauty and difficulty of the holes, I doubt that any can match the overall experience you get when visiting Flyboy. The way that Kelly and his parents have opened up their lives to embrace us disc golf hooligans is nothing short of miraculous. Wayne, Kelly's dad, is a gardener of the highest caliber, and he has a garden that is almost half the size of a football field. Plus they just added a fruit orchard. So it is hard to visit without coming away with bags of fresh tomatoes or peaches or corn or whatever happens to be in season at the time. Lillian, Kelly's mom, cheerfully fixes up lunch for those who want it during the break after 18. A pro shop has been added where you can replenish your disc supply after one of the water throws inevitably claims one of your soldiers. But, with regards to that, Kelly and his dad have created disc retrievers that have no equal (think Golden Retriever on steroids that is wide enough to grab 2 discs at a time) and there is an ongoing effort to comb the edges of the lake to return people's plastic back to them. On top of all that, since the course is in a flying community, there are planes flying around and you get to watch some pretty cool stuff going on. For the last tourney out there, Kelly and 2 friends put on an air show in their Zlin stunt planes. A bed and breakfast has been added in the hangar, along with an old silver Airstream trailer that will be situated out on the course, plus camping is welcomed on the property, so there is no shortage of lodging for those who want to stay for longer than a day. I'm sure I'm missing some things, but this course comes about as close to the perfect disc golf experience as you can get

12 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Must Play

5+    8/27/2010   9/2/2010
Review By: reggaB
Played: 102  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 29.7 Years
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful fairways, water hazards, Pro shop, restroom facilities and good old southern hospitality.
Cons: Only con I have is the DB5 baskets, BUT they are in the process of switching these out to Discatchers so this will not be an issue in the near future.
Other Thoughts: I have the luxury of only being about 30 minutes away from Flyboy so I can play this course fairly often. I have played many courses and this one is on the top of my list. The Gran Canyon in Florida was my all time favorite but now Flyboy has that honor. (along with the fact that the Gran Canyon is gone)
I can not stress enough how well taken care of this course is, you play down well groomed taxiways and around and over the lakes on your way back to the clubhouse/hanger where you can enjoy a bite to eat before you tackle the back 9. If you are in the area you owe it to yourself to check this place out. You WILL NOT be disappointed

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Top notch, top notch!

1    8/27/2010   9/2/2010
Review By: disccaddie
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/19/2011
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course does not hold back! You are required to play a variety of shots throughout this 27 hole layout. You get great views, elevation changes, water, long holes, technical shots and NEW DISCatchers. This is a course you put on your bucket list! If you travel looking for the best courses in the country, this one will fill your glass in a hurry.

The Leggette family hospitality is outstanding! You feel as though you've reunited with old friends. They are all very generous and super friendly. You feel right at home in the hangar looking out onto the beautiful view of the runway.
Cons: As most Cons go, it's a preference thing... Concrete tee pads are very nice however the current tee pad mats are really very good with excellent traction.
Other Thoughts: Please add this course to your list of "must play" courses as you will NOT be disappointed. This is a course that will set the standard for many and hopefully there will be a others that will spawn from this little piece of heaven Kelly has created for us!

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  It's a long one for sure...

1    8/28/2010   8/31/2010
Review By: Wookie
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 15.5 Years
10 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: All the different types of shots are needed to navigate this course.
The scenery is fantastic and they use all the land and elevation to their advantage.
The hospitality of everyone at Fly Boy was amazing and you couldn't ask for a better host.
Cons: The only thing I really didn't like were the single chain baskets. I know they are in the process of changing that but it's about the only con I had on the day.

Some of the "schule" needed to be trimmed here and there and I am sure as the course matures it will happen. For the course to be so new they have done a great job so far.

Other Thoughts: You really have to see this place and play it a few times before you try and score a good tournament round.

I liked the break after 18 to grab some food and take a few minutes to relax before the final 9. It was much needed on a hot summer day.

10 of 14 people found this review helpful.

  Best of the Best

2-4    8/27/2010   8/31/2010
Review By: JimSacks
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: So many to try and name. 27 awesome disc golf holes, great people, incredible views, small aircraft flying across the sky doing tricks and fly-overs. The whole community is extremely nice and all of the course is very well kept. Kelley and his people are constantly improving on anything and everything that can be better.

THIS IS A ONE OF A KIND PLACE. THE BEST OF THE BEST.
Cons: Some might say flypads, but I have not had any problems with slipping or the tees moving b/t rounds. Some of the baskets still have single chains.
Other Thoughts: Even if you are having a bad round at Flyboy, it's almost impossible to not have a good time. Everything is so perfect!

3 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.