Course Extinct
Whitesburg, GA 
Flyboy Aviation Share
Uploaded By: craigd Hole #2 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 440ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket to tee.



Reviews: 98
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 New Fave Course!

1    8/28/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: RAM38105
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
7 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: This course has it all- short, medium, long, rediculously long, and longer all with very creative angles and landscapes to enjoy while playing. All the players around were received well by the neighbors around the course, so you feel like (and wish) you are playing in your own back yard. The course is very fair: you take the risk, you get the reward. No holes where luck is the only way to score well.
Cons: Better teepads would be nice, but the course is obviously on it's way there. Location is a bit far from Atlanta, but that's a pro in some ways if you like being out in the country.
Other Thoughts: I wish I could get out that way more often to play this course and I will definitely recommend it to any players I meet who have not been.

7 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 truly one of a kind

1    8/27/2010   8/28/2010
Review By: arrdee33
Played: 77  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 20.3 Years
19 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -nice, level, fly rubber pads
-handmade benches on almost every hole
-brooms to sweep pads on a lot of holes to clear any dirt/dust
-well maintained fairways, nicely mowed, reminds you of a ball golf fairway throughout much of the course
-private, scenic surroundings.
-lunch provided for a small fee
-new disc catcher pros being installed
-100% variety of holes, there is one for everyones liking
Cons: -some holes many feel as though your invading the privacy of the neighbors.
-pads can seem a bit smaller than most, but they are very level allowing for plenty of room for any style run up
-it's private, although you will find it hard to feel uncomfortable with such great hospitality of its designer/owner
Other Thoughts: This is a championship caliber course. It requires some distance shots in your game to overcome several of its challenging variety of shots.
The atmosphere of the surroundings are almost surreal from the planes taking off and landing as you battle the 1600ft hole 18, to the calm waters of its 3 peaceful lakes.
you will need a full 4-5 hours per twosome to play a round out here (including lunch)
don't forget your course fee includes 3 shots at the ace pool towards a basket perched atop the hanger
a full bed and breakfast is in the works in which you could literally spend a weekend of fun just taking in the views and challenging yourself to improve your scores on the course.
if you do happen to lose a disc in the waters, you can always replace it with one from the full pro shop within the hanger.

if your in the area you MUST play Flyboy!! I have no problem saying that this will become the #1 course in the southeast, if not the country when all is said and done.

Although they say giving a course a 5 should only be done if there is nothing that can be improved upon. In my opinion there could always be something done to improve any course, even if that meant something unrealistic such as supermodels for hire as caddies.

This course deserves a 5, you will just have to play it to see what an experience it truly is. I hope you get a chance to play it soon

19 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 Flyboy

2-4    8/6/2010   8/7/2010
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/7/2010
27 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is genuinely a phenomenal disc golf destination. To begin with, the course is just unbelievable and probably unlike any you've ever played. On top of that, the hospitality and generosity of Kelly and his family is just overwhelming. Flyboy Disc Golf from start to finish is an incredible experience. Everyone owes it to themselves to visit at least once.

Your excitement is sure to build as you pull into the driveway and notice a few baskets scattered around. Then you'll pull up to the hangar that proudly brandishes its rooftop basket. Later you'll enjoy three shots at that windsock topped basket during your chance at the "ace pot". As you step out of the car you're sure to be greeted by Max and Morgan, the friendly resident dogs. Be sure to give them some attention as you pass through. Be careful because Morgan is sneaky and will lovingly pilfer through your bags while you visit the pro shop. Speaking of the pro shop, you'll find a generous amount of discs among other goodies like towels, t-shirts, maps, scorecards, etc. You'll also find snacks and drinks all available at modest prices. Kelly, the owner, is really welcoming and is genuinely happy to have visitors come and play the course. Kelly's folks Wayne and Lillian live on site and keep things running at the hangar. They are equally enthusiastic about visitors. After meeting everyone be sure to let Lillian know when you're starting. For five dollars she'll have lunch fresh from "Lill's Cafe" ready for you when you finish eighteen. After a restful lunch break you'll be ready to tackle the last nine holes that top off what is probably one the most memorable round of disc golf you'll ever play.

The course itself has a lot of meat on its bones. It's a big par 101 ringing up at over 14,000 feet through 27 holes. It's truly a big throwers delight. But the course also really demands accuracy while putting a premium on long drives. The scenic design features a dramatic mix of hole types and they're just a pleasure to play. While long holes dominate the course, a few shorter holes are peppered here and there. The course also really takes advantage of the many natural and man made features. It'll have you playing along and over three beautiful lakes, neighborhood roads, an active grass runway and taxiways, and more. You'll find 27 strait, right and left turning, and "S" shaped holes all over the course. They're all accentuated by the up and down hill shots, flat shots, water shots, open shots, and as mentioned, really long shots. There are even a couple of ace runs. Wooded hole lovers will enjoy the 10-14 transition along with 17 for a change of pace. 10's bridge tee pad was pretty unique too. It seems to give yet another personality to the course. Also scattered around the course you'll find a basket sunk in the ground and an elevated basket set upon a twisted fallen tree. Both are also pretty unique. For a break in the round and some friendly action between friends, you'll find a 195' CTP shot between holes nine and ten which doesn't count towards your score. You'll throw from a dock across the water to a basket just 15'-20' from the shore. As cliche as it sounds, this course really has it all. Every hole will have you thinking about your next shot. It really is a battle of stamina while keeping a clear head. From a couple of relatively tame par threes to the spectacular 1600' par seven, you'll find a unique, challenging, fun, and overall lengthy course. As much as I wish they could, words and pictures of the course don't do it justice. As I mentioned earlier, you really don't want to miss this course.
Cons: You'll have to dig deep to find major cons here. Most of the things people see as cons will hardly be noticed because the course itself is just that good. Some would say the biggest cons are its lack of permanent bells and whistles. There are no concrete pads and no permanent tee signs. The non-fans of DB5 baskets (aka "deuce busters") are sure to complain. None of these can be considered deal breakers though. In the course's defense, there are nice rubber tee pads and laminated tee signs. There are even some "next tee" signs to point you in the right direction after you finish a hole. Further, brand new DISCatchers are gradually replacing the before mentioned single chain models. Finally, there are some longer than usual walks between some of the holes.

The course is also a little out of the way and it'll involve a little driving for most and there's not much else to do in the area.

Being a private course you don't have the luxury of just showing up on a whim and playing. The owner Kelly does seem to be rather accommodating though.
Other Thoughts: The whole package at Flyboy Disc Golf really is a disc golf enthusiast's dream. As if the course wasn't enough, the accommodations at the bed and breakfast are unbelievable. Model airplanes hang from the ceiling, airplane memorabilia, antiques, and even some furniture made from airplane parts are all around. Several beds are available along with all the comforts of home. It's a bargain at $50 a night per person. That includes lunch and the course fee!

Camping is also available with plenty of room for tents for a nominal fee. A rustic cabin with bathrooms and showers are currently under construction and will be another great option for visitors.

Expect a 4+ hour round including lunch, longer if you take your time and really soak it up. It really fly's by quickly though. If you are traveling through, I would plan to spend most of the day at the course and don't rush through trying to squeeze other courses in. Just relax and enjoy the whole experience.

I have updated/upgraded my rating to a 5 from my previous 4.5. Although the DGCR scale say's that 5's should be reserved for a course that has nothing that can be improved, I have to give it a 5. I feel like there's always a little something that can improve on any course no matter what. In other words, there are always those little tweaks. Therefore, in my opinion, there's no such thing as a course that has nothing that can be improved. I give Flyboy a strong 5 because hands down it is one of the best of the best, period.

To borrow a line from Kelly, "Flyboy Aviation is dedicated to providing the Atlanta disc golfers the absolute best possible disc golf venue on the planet". I think he has conquered that feat. Come and see for yourself. Enjoy!

27 of 29 people found this review helpful.

 A Soon to Be Disc Golf Mecca

2-4    8/6/2010   8/6/2010
Review By: showdough
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
15 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Where to begin...

First things first, the hospitality of Kelly (the owner) and his family is gracious and outstanding.

The course is HUGE. par 4's, 5's, a 7. but has plenty of birdie opportunities. You just gotta play smart, and lots of shots are risk/reward.

The course plays through a neighborhood and the property surrounding a private airstrip. It is an effective use of the land and obstacles. Water comes into play on a handful of holes.

Hole 13 is my particular favorite. A huge downhill S-curve shot through the woods. Plenty of room to grip it and rip it, but requires accuracy to get down the tunnel for a solid eagle or birdie attempt.

Of course, the par 7, 1600 ft runway shot on 17 is amazing. It's a blast to see how far you can drive on the runway. each light is about 200-250 ft apart, a great way to measure up your drive.

In the woods, you get a nice break from the vast open and get some sweet shorter shots for solid birdie/ace runs.

THIS IS NOT A BEGINNER FRIENDLY COURSE.

you have to have a big arm, with lots of control and accuracy.

but that's the glory of it. a true championship caliber course in the works.
Cons: Hole 10 is shule - sorry Kelly. Either the pad needs to be relocated for a more valid run at the fairway through the woods, or another gap needs to be cut through for a better drive off the tee.

The course is not good for a forehand dominant player, not do many of the holes offer solid options for you flick throwers or lefties.

The baskets are a problem, single chain. But this is being remedied. Some nice shiny new baskets are about to be installed.
Other Thoughts: I prefer rubber teepads over concrete, so this was not an issue to me. They are necessary for the portable nature of the course, and with the course playing through a neighborhood.

the $5 fee and honor system set up get's you a lot of stuff - Lunch, 3 shots at the hanger basket for an ace fund, and access to one of the best courses ever.

A bed and breakfast is also available for rental, and the facilities are amazing.

15 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 You can't get much better than this

1    6/27/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: The Drake
Played: 89  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 11.3 Years
15 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is truly an amazing course. A 27 hole par 101/102 claiming the longest hole (a par 7 1600 ft hole) monster of a course that combines distance, accuracy, touch, endurance, shot making ability, persistence, and beauty this privately owned course raises the standard for disc golf course design.

The course plays through an aviation neighborhood complete with a 90ft wide grass airstrip. There is a pro shop at the designers hangar with course merchandise, etc. Kelly, the designer, and his parents are great hosts providing beverages and food to competitors with a lunch break midway through the round.

Now on to the course itself. As mentioned before 27 holes, most of which are unlike any others you've played. 13 holes bring water into play with 4 all but requiring you to throw directly across lakes. A variety of shots are REQUIRED to shoot well on this course. With majority par 4s the emphasis is not just on how far you can drive, but also how accurately to give yourself the best position for your approach shot. There are definitely some holes that will require you to throw 400ft to get par or even think about a birdie. Flyboy really does have almost every shot imaginable.
Cons: There really aren't many serious flaws with this course. I feel most cons on any review are most of personal preference than anything else. I'll group the cons similarly to how most have in their reviews.

Tee Pads - a personal preference really. I have no problem with rubber pads, carpet pads, natural pads, cement pads, or whatever. As long as they are consistent there are no real issues and I think the rubber works fine at flyboy. I will take a slightly different approach in looking at this and suggest more am pads. Especially for the really long holes (15 and 18 for sure) I think you need a shorter pad for sub 900 rated players.

Baskets - They are temp baskets with a single layer of chains but they do catch very well in general. Obviously the perfect basket is a debate to be had for eternity but this course could do much worse

Too many holes - Not even close. While I would agree a few of the par 3s are maybe a little too short to go with the flow of the rest of the course its still nice every now and then to have a hole that can give you a good birdie opportunity.

"Bad" holes:
4 - Really too short to be a par 4 and too long to be a par 3. A great hole otherwise I think either adding length or shortening this hole would work better.
10 - On this hole, which is played immidiately after the "CTP dock shot" you tee off from an open area into thick woods. A fairway isn't discernible from the tee and once you get into the woods you still can't really see much of one on the left side. The right side is more open. I spoke with Kelly about opening it up a bit and he agreed it could use some tweaking.
12, 14, 16 - all very short (under 200 ft) par 3s which are a nice break in the long holes but again may be just a little to short and easy.
17 - Great hole interms of the idea of require a good good tee shot before getting into the woods but the fairway beyond that may be a tad too small for such a long second shot. Many may disagree with me on this hole so its barely on the list.
22 - the "in-the-ground" basket. A little silly but not an end all be all.
Other Thoughts: I spoke with Kelly about many different aspects of this course which I truly believe raises the bar for how championship courses should be designed. One of the things I suggested was adding some fairway markers on the longer holes that denote given distances from the pin, ie a striped stake at 300ft out and a solid one at 200ft.

Flyboy is at the top of the list of courses I've played that are really a must for all serious golfers to play. Be prepared for a 4 hour round where you're going to be working hard on every shot you take. Truly amazing and I can't wait to go back.

The only reason this course doesn't get a 5.0 is because I feel every course has room for improvement though this one really doesn't have much.

15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Truly, Disc Golf Heaven!

1    6/27/2010   6/27/2010
Review By: cmcolomb
Played: 122  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.6 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This is an amazing course. Kelly has done a wonderful job and I cannot say enough about this course. There is no reason for me to review hole by hole, just refer to the links/files section to review hole by hole info. This course truly has it all, mostly par 4s with a good mix of 3s and 5s.. great use of the land. good mix of straight/left/right shots
Cons: nothing? it was uber hot when I was there, but I didn't even mind, got a great sweat in and a good long walk at this amazing course.
Other Thoughts: Best private course I have ever had the privilege to play!!

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  One of the Best!

1    6/20/2010   6/23/2010
Review By: Phase
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Kelly has outdone himself, and many others, he has set up a private course that makes you feel like you belong to a disc golf country club. From the time you arrive and are greeted by his parents with fresh vegetables and a hole by hole description and map you feel like you're at home.

This course is sick, it plays like a ball golf course, minus the cart, a 4 wheeler would be nice. Huge holes, cut fairways, elevation change, water, it has it all.

Challenging, rewarding and fun - this course and all of its variety is a pleasure to play.
Cons: The only con I came across was the baskets, they are nice but have only a single chain and I got robbed of a few birdies because of it, but the course itself far outweighs that little con, still nicer than my basket.
Other Thoughts: I know some people have said they want concrete tee pads, I do love concrete, but for this course I think the rubber is perfect - they can be moved if a house is built on a hole for example, and it keeps it a bit more natural.

Again, Kelly, thank you so much for putting this together and allowing us to play - I can tell you are passionate about all you do, and I appreciate that -

Can't wait to play it again -

- Eric

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Flyboy

5+    4/11/2010   6/21/2010
Review By: Dollar26045
Played: 135  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2010
9 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: ***9 of the DB5s have been replaced with new Discatchers***

Best course in GA, maybe in the South. Great Variety of shots and hazards. Beautiful views and very entertaining holes. The course allows you to air it out many times but very rarely without aiming carefully. Kelley is an amazing host, and the few guys lucky enough to be "regulars" are always returning discs from the several lakes on the course. The course has 27 GOOD disc golf holes, and that's something you won't find many places.
I love all the par 5s!
Cons: Rubber pads, single chains on some baskets. NOTHING ELSE.
Other Thoughts: If I could play here everyday I would. This course is what disc golf should be all about.

9 of 16 people found this review helpful.

  If you build it, they will come...

1    6/9/2010   6/11/2010
Review By: Rob Case
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
11 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: In my opinion, this course is the Field of Dreams for disc golfers. This is the first time I have been able to play this course due to several missed opportunities. I am now wondering what was so important that I missed those other chances. My experience was phenomenal. The course winds through an airplane community using the grass taxiways and runways as the fairways for the course. Additionally, the course utilizes the community lake and other water features to develop some of disc golf's most picturesque and challenging holes I have ever played. The course is a great blend of wooded & open, long & short, grass & water, as well as lefty & righty shots. The Par 5 - 730 ft - Hole #3 is the best disc golf hole I have ever played. The exhilaration of throwing a 350 foot shot from a manicured fairway over a lake to a basket located on a protruding peninsula defies description. You have to experience it for yourself!

One of the biggest pros of playing here has nothing to do with disc golf at all…lunch. After completing 18 holes, my group and I sat done to a lunch prepared by Kelly's mom that included corn and peaches fresh out of their garden. Did I mention that this was included as part of my $5 course fee! What a great way to refuel and rest before tackling the last 9 holes of the 27 hole course. Kelly and his family are incredibly friendly and gracious hosts. My groups course guide, Brad, was very thorough in detailing what not to do on the more difficult holes. Brad is one hell of a nice guy that made the round both competitive and fun for all.
Cons: Honestly, I was hard pressed to find any cons of this course. So, I thought I would address some mentioned in other posts.

Rubber Teepads - I prefer concrete teepads to all other teepads. That said, I feel that rubber teepads may be the only option at Flyboy since many of the teepads are located on airplane taxiways, runways, and neighbors property.

Baskets - I prefer double-chained baskets. This course has a lot of single-chained baskets. However, everyone is equally handicapped by the baskets.

Too Many Holes - I personally didn't think that 27 holes were to many holes. Although the course doesn't flow seamlessly through all 27, I think the layout is outstanding. Besides, the break for lunch during the round will make you feel like you only played 18.
Other Thoughts: The Flyboy Aviation Disc Golf course has immediately become my favorite course in GA! I can see many a "daycation" being spent there. Make a point of calling Kelly and getting your tee time reserved as soon as you can break away!

11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

  Awesome Course!

1    4/14/2010   5/18/2010
Review By: Val Jenkins
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
28 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This was my first time ever to get the chance to play such a unique home course especially on in an airplane community. The experience alone was unforgettable. The course is wrapped around this community, using grass taxiways as fairways, throwing across the community lake, and along neighbors property lines.
The landscape of the course has woods, open holes, water holes, lefty and righty shots. I think it has a great mix of unique holes and everything was picturesque.
and Lastly, Kelly and his family are some of the nicest people you will ever meet.
Cons: The temporary teepad locations would have to be relocated in order to install cement teepads. This would be the only way to have a true championship disc golf course.
The flow of the course could have been better, and from the last I heard, has been changed into an 18 hole layout. The 27 holes were overwhelming with the courses many par 4s and 5s (and 7s), but slowed down by the short wooded birdie holes. I think it would work best by using the best 18 the land has to offer. So the change would be great, as it would allow the player to play their best through the whole course.
Other Thoughts: If you've got a chance and you're in the area, call Kelly up and experience it for yourself!

28 of 35 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.